Zwave Thermostat that runs on batteries (no common 24v wire) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 03-02-2013, 12:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
brendan_dj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a very basic heating system and there is only a 2-core wire leading to the existing battery-operated Honeywell thermostst. The wires are currently connected to the terminals marked "R" and "W/AUX". I do not have a "common 24v" wire. I want to replace this thermostat so that it can be controlled by my GE 45601 Advanced Z-WAVE remote. All z-wave thermostats i have researched require a common 24v wire. Are there any Z-Wave thermostats out there that runs on batteries and will work with my simple 2-core wiring?

Thanks in advance!
brendan_dj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 03-02-2013, 06:37 PM
Senior Member
 
az1324's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 19
2gig CT100 ?
az1324 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 03-03-2013, 06:53 AM
Newbie
 
jtechcs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I really like the Honeywell thermostats, with the z-wave model being the TH8320ZW series. They offer a 'wire saver' module ( THP9045) that is designed to be used where a 24V common is required and there are not enough wires, but it looks like it still requires at least 3 wires. Link to pdf file: http://www.smarthome.com/manuals/300673.pdf
jtechcs is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 03-03-2013, 10:47 AM
Newbie
 
gfstv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
agree the honeywells via zwave are good... i have 4 solid
gfstv is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 03-22-2013, 10:11 AM
Newbie
 
mayar1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had the same problem. The 2gig thermostat is a zwave stat that takes batteries as well as common 24volt. I have it set up with a vera 2 and it works great.
mayar1 is offline  
Reply Home Automation

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off