Touch Screen Wiring Help. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 03-03-2013, 05:35 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
horsegoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We jut started demo of ceilings today and will do the wall next but everything will be closed up in a week. We would like to mount a wall touch screen that can control music, shades and some lights. photo(8).JPG 113k .JPG file photo(9).JPG 120k .JPG file

I just want a very basic system but I want/need to get the wires in now. Is there anyway I an run the wires now even though I'm not sure what touch screen I will get? Which wires should I run? Two Cat 6 cables? Do most touchscreens get plugged in at there location or are they hardwired? Thanks very much.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg photo(8).JPG (113.1 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg photo(9).JPG (120.4 KB, 3 views)

beau
horsegoer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 03-03-2013, 06:32 PM
Senior Member
 
petern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Most touchscreens have or are moving to PoE (Power over Ethernet). If you use an in-wall iPod / iPad dock, options exist to power over cat5 cable. So cat6 is a sensible option. Might not hurt to run a 2-conductor (16/2) either.

Keep in mind that (for the most part) the touchscreen is just the user-facing part of a control system. The touchpanel will store GUI graphics and communicate button-presses and actions back to a head-end processing unit; maybe it can also receive video and other feedback from that control system processor. But the actual communication to and from av equipment, lights, shades, & thermostats is managed by a control system processor. The touchscreen is not the central hub of the system.
petern is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 03-04-2013, 02:58 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
horsegoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. Can you recommend a simple solution/brand that I can DIY for a touchscreen and the processor. Maybe something under 500-600 dollars?What about this?

http://www.homeseer.com/support/newsletters/current-promo.htm

beau
horsegoer is offline  
Reply Home Automation

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off