Ipad as wall mount touchscreen - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 78 Old 12-17-2013, 03:54 PM
Member
 
tadr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by holyindian View Post

Have a quick question guys. Can you keep your iPad or any android pad on when mounted on the wall only to turn off at night, turning off meaning sleep mode or the mode when the tablet need to be awakened with the push of the button. Will it cause the tablet to go bad if it is turned on all the time during day time? Does any one keep it turned on screen mode all the time?

I keep my android tablets on all the time in daydream mode with the click. Touch to wake it up and go to my custom launcher. Works great (so far)
tadr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 78 Old 12-23-2013, 03:11 AM
 
harryofto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

whatever that means. They also say the iPad 4 sleeve is "coming soon" and the iPad 4 has been out for a long while now -- likely they are having issues with the lightning port. So who knows how long it will take.

ec5F

harryofto is offline  
post #63 of 78 Old 02-10-2014, 09:14 PM
Newbie
 
avbrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I used a mount from amazon. I flushes into the wall. It's difficult to remove but I like that so it doesn't go missing.

 

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00GUDZKLU

 

There's one for the iPad mini too.

 

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00GUDZKLU

avbrett is offline  
post #64 of 78 Old 02-11-2014, 07:28 PM
Member
 
allthetime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I don't know what level of customization you are after but...

 

If you are using a computer with access to wifi as your control, I would highly recommend checking out TouchOSC and the OSC protocol in general.

 

Here is a very simple example of what it can do... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5gEyp1TGS4E

 

Interfaces are simple-looking and completely customizable.

allthetime is offline  
post #65 of 78 Old 03-01-2014, 06:40 AM
Member
 
vrbrunzr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Loxone has a US web shop as well as US support.  Here is link to their wall mount.  

 

http://shop.loxone.com/enus/wallmounts.html

vrbrunzr is offline  
post #66 of 78 Old 03-01-2014, 09:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
gadgetfreaky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I've now had my launchports for a few months. They are definitely worth it. White, with white cases. I have four launchports throughout the house, and 2 ipad mini's. so when there's nothing on them it looks fine, and it's super easy even for my 6yr old to pull it on and off to charge.
gadgetfreaky is offline  
post #67 of 78 Old 05-15-2014, 02:07 PM
Member
 
ojuicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
has anyone found a in-wall (not on wall) mount that will fit the old HP Touchpads (besides to $400 iPort). Thanks!
ojuicy is offline  
post #68 of 78 Old 05-15-2014, 03:30 PM
Member
 
haworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
How about idocxonline? I don't know much about this stuff, but I saw these today and thought I would share.
haworld is offline  
post #69 of 78 Old 07-17-2014, 07:35 PM
Senior Member
 
bwhitmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone found a way to hard wire the Launchport Wall station in?

I love the look and functionality of the Launchport, but looking at that stupid plate down below that's simply plugged into an outlet sure is tacky.

There's gotta be a way to hard wire it in so you don't see any wires?

thanks!
bwhitmore is offline  
post #70 of 78 Old 07-17-2014, 08:34 PM
Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwhitmore View Post
Has anyone found a way to hard wire the Launchport Wall station in?

I love the look and functionality of the Launchport, but looking at that stupid plate down below that's simply plugged into an outlet sure is tacky.

There's gotta be a way to hard wire it in so you don't see any wires?

thanks!
The LauchPort gets DC power from it's "wall wart" transformer. I don't see why you couldn't run your own power line (longer than the one they supply) to some other location where you do want to put the transformer (and wall plate). The room on the other side of the wall you want to put the Port on would be easy. Other locations are certainly possible, such as an attic or basement. Just be sure to use in-wall rated wire of an appropriate size for the power. And check the environmental rating of the wall-wart if you decide to put it in the attic, it might not be rated for the temperatures you might get there.
FlyingDiver is online now  
post #71 of 78 Old 07-19-2014, 09:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
SMHarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Use a poe type supply.
Run two cat cable to the launch port one for pore and one for data.
SMHarman is offline  
post #72 of 78 Old 07-20-2014, 05:44 AM
Senior Member
 
bwhitmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SMHarman View Post
Use a poe type supply.
Run two cat cable to the launch port one for pore and one for data.
Interesting idea. Could you please elaborate?

POE is defined as "power over Ethernet?" How would this be done?
bwhitmore is offline  
post #73 of 78 Old 07-20-2014, 11:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 8,220
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwhitmore View Post
Interesting idea. Could you please elaborate?

POE is defined as "power over Ethernet?" How would this be done?
If the end device doesn't support PoE, there's little reason to go through the expense and hassle, since PoE gear isn't inexpensive.

If you're going to run wires anyway, a 2-conductor thermostat wire (basically anything rated for low-voltage and in-wall usage) spliced onto the correct DC plugs at both ends and you're done.

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht
jautor is online now  
post #74 of 78 Old 07-24-2014, 10:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
SMHarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwhitmore View Post
Interesting idea. Could you please elaborate?

POE is defined as "power over Ethernet?" How would this be done?
Quote:
Originally Posted by jautor View Post
If the end device doesn't support PoE, there's little reason to go through the expense and hassle, since PoE gear isn't inexpensive.

If you're going to run wires anyway, a 2-conductor thermostat wire (basically anything rated for low-voltage and in-wall usage) spliced onto the correct DC plugs at both ends and you're done.
Yeah, I did not explain this very well.

The back of the launchport looks like this.




There is nothing to stop you running thermostat wire, UL rated speaker wire, CAT5 and connecting it to the two power wires on the back. Running that wire to a remote location and then manking the power connection at the remote location. As many homes of people on this forum have structured cable wired in the walls and have surplus wired in the wall, I was pointing out that you could use one of these to make the power connection to the launchport and only need to cut the wall where the launchport and a suitably close piece of CAT5 are located. No need to fish a new wire through the wall.

https://www.launchport.com/shop/ipad...l-station.html

Even details the AWG of the wire for different run lengths.

Wire Size ChartMax Length Gauge25'24 AWG40'22 AWG60'20 AWG100'18 AWG150'16 AWG
16 AWG is a basic speaker wire such as this from monoprice, good for a ridiculous 250' from launchport to power supply.
http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...seq=1&format=2

CAT5 is 24 AWG so good for that 25' run.
http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...seq=1&format=2

As Jautor points out, true POE is a 48V power supply, what I was talking about was running a CAT5 cable and putting power through it, so 'running power over a spare ethernet cable' not running POE.
SMHarman is offline  
post #75 of 78 Old 07-24-2014, 01:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 8,220
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by SMHarman View Post
As Jautor points out, true POE is a 48V power supply, what I was talking about was running a CAT5 cable and putting power through it, so 'running power over a spare ethernet cable' not running POE.
Let's coin a new term for everything that came before PoE... DCoC "DC over Category"

And yes, anything with enough AWG and UL ratings will work perfectly fine. And to echo your 'spare' cable suggestion - if you're going to run *something*, cat5e is a really good choice, especially if there isn't one there already...
SMHarman likes this.

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht
jautor is online now  
post #76 of 78 Old Yesterday, 08:20 AM
Senior Member
 
AnnapolisSony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Davidsonville, MD
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Ever since I completed my room, I’ve been using an iPad to control things like my Sonos, my OPPO and my Yamaha AVR. My iPad was in a protective case and would either sit up on the bar top or the on the chairs. For the longest time I’ve wanted to mount it in the wall and recently I decided to finally tackle it. Honestly, I was blown away at the prices of some of the iPad wall mounts out there. Some of them even topped $300-$400 (iPort, etc.) which I knew right off the bat I was NOT going to pay.

After going back and forth and back and forth I decided to take a leap and purchase a $99 mount from a guy on eBay. I later found he sells his mount on a website at:

http://www.simplewallmount.com

I needed two things in a wall mount: 1) An attractive looking, easily-removable flush mount with home button exposed 2) Option to hook up a charger/power cable.

This product delivered both and for a fraction of the cost of most others on the market. It actually comes with two face plates so you have a couple of different looks if desired.

I installed it last night and it was a piece of cake. The wall that I installed it on backs right up against my equipment rack room so I was able to run the charger cord thru the wall and plug it into an outlet on the other side. Very simple. I especially like this mount because the faceplate is removable by way of magnets (strong magnets at that). It comes off easily and the iPad pops right out. Wifi signal is not affected by the mount whatsoever. I still have to spackle and touch up a couple of holes from something that was hanging there before but here are a couple of shots of the new wall mount shortly after I finished:





Close up:



Face plate off:


Back of face plate:


If you are in the market for a nice, AFFORDABLE iPad wall mount, I highly recommend this product!!

A/V Gear: EPSON 5030UB | 100" Elite Screen | Samsung UN46F5500 LED TV | Yamaha RX-A1010 | Emotiva XPA-3 | OPPO BDP-103 | Panamax M5300 Power Cond.| Pro-ject Carbon Debut Turntable | Polk 265-RT (L/R) | Polk 255C-RT (C) | Polk 65RT (L/R SUR) | Polk RC80i (L/R REAR SUR) | PSA XV-15 | Sonos | Apple TV

904WMC Media Room Thread
AnnapolisSony is offline  
post #77 of 78 Old Yesterday, 09:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
oktoberrust11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Posts: 3,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Nice find! Looks great, thanks for the feedback & pics!

Xbox Live: oktober rust | Mii: 5207 2388 9861 4135 | Steam ID: detroit820 | Origin ID: oktoberrust11

oktoberrust11 is offline  
post #78 of 78 Old Today, 03:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 3,420
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 313 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Woot! Redskins!

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
Reply Home Automation



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off