Ipad as wall mount touchscreen - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 75 Old 03-06-2013, 06:49 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
horsegoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know the iPad is a MOBILE device but I am really set on having something wall mounted and think this mY satisfy my needs for ac control mostly. I have been reading/researching on here about different touchscreen HA options e.g. Lutron, Homeseer, control 4 etc. But they are somewhat involved and expensive. Has anyone here us an IPad as I suggested? Are they mounts that can enabled the IPad to be removed? It needs to be charged/updated so I would need to run the wires to the iPad for this. All my walls are open now for the next few days.... Thanks.

beau
horsegoer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 75 Old 03-06-2013, 08:31 PM
Member
 
haslip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?partnumber=183-235&utm_source=google&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=pla
haslip is offline  
post #3 of 75 Old 03-07-2013, 01:50 AM
Member
 
greenbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NZ
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
greenbone is offline  
post #4 of 75 Old 03-07-2013, 01:52 AM
Member
 
greenbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NZ
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
ive got a 10m usb cable attached, running back through the wall to a 5v usb charger in an AV closet ... works perfectly
greenbone is offline  
post #5 of 75 Old 03-07-2013, 02:52 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
horsegoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks guys. I would really like it to be recessed/flush mounted. Wonder if they make some sort of bracket like that. Can an iPad mini be used just the same? Most of the frames seem to be for iPad and not mini. Are there limitations, besides screen size, for the mini? It does have Wifi.

beau
horsegoer is offline  
post #6 of 75 Old 03-07-2013, 04:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Vidabox makes an iPad mini mount, but not flush.

Cocoontech has a searchable database for iPad mounts.

Vidabox also makes a remote charging system which uses category cable.

Vidabox's mounts are as thin as picture frames.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #7 of 75 Old 03-07-2013, 06:05 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
horsegoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I saw the Vidabox stuff. Thanks. So a mini will do the same as a regular ipad?

beau
horsegoer is offline  
post #8 of 75 Old 03-07-2013, 06:06 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
horsegoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenbone View Post

ive got a 10m usb cable attached, running back through the wall to a 5v usb charger in an AV closet ... works perfectly

Where did you buy that? Thanks

beau
horsegoer is offline  
post #9 of 75 Old 03-07-2013, 06:32 AM
Member
 
MMMorish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by horsegoer View Post

I saw the Vidabox stuff. Thanks. So a mini will do the same as a regular ipad?

Yup! Only smaller!
MMMorish is offline  
post #10 of 75 Old 03-07-2013, 09:16 AM
Member
 
AlphaG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I use wall mount and mobile iPad's (with Savant home automation). Personally I think a hybrid option would be much better, like iPort's LaunchPort solutions. I am going to implement that as the best solution (with iPad mini's). Look it up ...
horsegoer likes this.
AlphaG is offline  
post #11 of 75 Old 03-07-2013, 09:44 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
horsegoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i want to mount my ipad recessed/flush on the wall(would really like a mount(not surface) that will enable me to "pop" the ipad out if I wanted to. I
m looking for ideas on where to run the usb to so I will have charging and updating capabilities. Just pop it out near an outlet? I know Vidabox has the Vcharger but I still need to mount the usb unit close to the ipad as I need to run the cable from the unit to the ipad so the USB can't be too long.

This looks good but what happens when I need to update my ipad if I can't readily remove it from the wall? If I run a usb a short length through the wall near a power outlet this will be ok but I'm not getting where the wire would end up near the outlet.....like I said before.....just hanging out? No......maybe a foot or two coiled in a box with a removable cover next to it.


http://www.vidabox.com/products_vcharger_moreimages_08.html

beau
horsegoer is offline  
post #12 of 75 Old 03-07-2013, 11:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 79
That Vidabox vCharger allows the power to be extended over category cable - power cable converted from USB to category cable. IIRC, can extend to 60 feet. That blue cable running into the wall, in this pic, is a category cable.





I'm no apple expert, but I'm pretty sure you don't need to physically connect the iPad to a PC anymore for updates - wireless updates.

http://www.macworld.com/article/1163060/up_close_with_ios_5_wireless_syncing_and_updating.html

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #13 of 75 Old 03-07-2013, 11:54 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
horsegoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neurorad View Post

That Vidabox vCharger allows the power to be extended over category cable - power cable converted from USB to category cable. IIRC, can extend to 60 feet. That blue cable running into the wall, in this pic, is a category cable.





I'm no apple expert, but I'm pretty sure you don't need to physically connect the iPad to a PC anymore for updates - wireless updates.

http://www.macworld.com/article/1163060/up_close_with_ios_5_wireless_syncing_and_updating.html

Thanks. I know it is POE. My dilemma is getting the USB connected to my mac if I have the ipad recessed(pretty much fixed) in the wall.

beau
horsegoer is offline  
post #14 of 75 Old 03-07-2013, 12:20 PM
Senior Member
 
az1324's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by horsegoer View Post

Thanks. I know it is POE. My dilemma is getting the USB connected to my mac if I have the ipad recessed(pretty much fixed) in the wall.

Why do you need to connect the USB to your mac? You can use wireless sync and the iPad can install its own software updates. Unless you are worried about jailbreak it probably isn't necessary.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neurorad View Post

Vidabox's mounts are as thin as picture frames.

Fixed.
az1324 is offline  
post #15 of 75 Old 03-07-2013, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Hehe, yeah. But very nice picture frames, I might add.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #16 of 75 Old 03-07-2013, 08:51 PM
Member
 
Travisleo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Crestron's in-wall iPad dock is pretty sweet. We use a lot of them in high-end residences. Here's a picture of one if you want to see how it looks in a real project.

http://www.residentialsystemsinc.com/gallery/?album=1&gallery=16

Travis Leo
Denver, CO
Residential Systems, Inc.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Travisleo is offline  
post #17 of 75 Old 03-07-2013, 10:49 PM
Member
 
SweetSpot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Agreed on Crestron's docks, they do look and work nicely. Travis, I like how you're using Crestron docks with a Savant system. Any reason you decided against Savant's own docks aside from the ability to easily remove the iPads?
SweetSpot is offline  
post #18 of 75 Old 03-08-2013, 02:55 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
horsegoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Crestron dock looks very sweet. Want a iPad mini dock though(Crestron says its coming soon)....sh$@? I do have the iPad 1(lol I know...only use it for Internet)..... should/could I use that or is it too old thus might have limitations as a controller?

beau
horsegoer is offline  
post #19 of 75 Old 03-08-2013, 12:29 PM
Member
 
mystikjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
to me the crestron looks like crap! i'm using two of the iport docks that i'm totally in love with. you would loose the ability to take ipad with you vs on walls. I have two installed one in family room area and one in theater. I run an assortment of apps mainly lutron home control and roomie remote. I use It as well with spotify to use as a juke box for my Marantz av 7005 with airplay! http://www.amazon.com/iPort-CMIW2000-Control-Mount-White/dp/B0046LWK3E/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1362774473&sr=1-2&keywords=iport
mystikjoe is offline  
post #20 of 75 Old 03-08-2013, 07:42 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
horsegoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mystikjoe View Post

to me the crestron looks like crap! i'm using two of the iport docks that i'm totally in love with. you would loose the ability to take ipad with you vs on walls. I have two installed one in family room area and one in theater. I run an assortment of apps mainly lutron home control and roomie remote. I use It as well with spotify to use as a juke box for my Marantz av 7005 with airplay! http://www.amazon.com/iPort-CMIW2000-Control-Mount-White/dp/B0046LWK3E/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1362774473&sr=1-2&keywords=iport

I like it. Is the ipad esily removable from the mount/case? Are they going to make on for the mini? Thanks.

beau
horsegoer is offline  
post #21 of 75 Old 03-09-2013, 06:47 AM
Senior Member
 
ClemsonJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ashburn, VA
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by horsegoer View Post

I like it. Is the ipad esily removable from the mount/case? Are they going to make on for the mini? Thanks.

Yes, you can easily take the ipad out of the case, but there isn't really a point. It doesn't add that much bulk to it.

Their website says the mini sleeve is "coming soon" -- whatever that means. They also say the iPad 4 sleeve is "coming soon" and the iPad 4 has been out for a long while now -- likely they are having issues with the lightning port. So who knows how long it will take.

My Home Theater Build:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ClemsonJeeper is offline  
post #22 of 75 Old 03-09-2013, 07:58 AM
Member
 
mystikjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
licensing from apple is the hold up.
mystikjoe is offline  
post #23 of 75 Old 03-18-2013, 12:11 AM
Newbie
 
Mike Gibson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi there,

try Iroom Idock - flick me an email mike@northbrooktech.co.nz and I can send you through photos and specs. iPad can charged and be removed. http://www.iroomidock.com.au/downloads/iRoom_iDock.pdf
Mike Gibson is offline  
post #24 of 75 Old 03-19-2013, 02:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
K Shep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Trufig is the cleanest product I've seen. Out of your budget horsegoer but I'd like to share for those who haven't seen this product.

http://www.trufig.com/home.php
K Shep is offline  
post #25 of 75 Old 03-19-2013, 08:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 79
I wish I could talk my wife into spending the money on Trufig.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #26 of 75 Old 03-21-2013, 08:28 AM
Member
 
mystikjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
here's some pics of my kitchen install in-wall paid 200 for mount on amazon and i'm very please with end results!
mystikjoe is offline  
post #27 of 75 Old 03-21-2013, 08:32 AM
Member
 
mystikjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
(TRUFIG) People who balked at the $500 iPort mount ... hold onto your breeches. This iPad is likely to cost more than $2,000, like iPort's other touchscreen mounts.

to me that's insanity! I mean yes it looks better but for 10x as much money as I paid!
mystikjoe is offline  
post #28 of 75 Old 03-21-2013, 09:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Unusual height for the touchscreen, at switch level. Next to a chair, or kitchen table? Kid height?

Really nice looking mount!

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #29 of 75 Old 03-21-2013, 09:34 AM
Member
 
mystikjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I use it to control my radiora2 system (lights and hvac) and with roomie remote to control living room entertainment works good to quick browse shows on directv. use it with airplay to stream spotify or iTunes works like a jukebox! I use it to browse my cameras to see what's going on around my home as well. I have one in that area one in theater and one mobile that I use. It was a lot of extra money buying 3 ipads and mounts but the end result I love!
mystikjoe is offline  
post #30 of 75 Old 03-21-2013, 09:41 AM
Member
 
mystikjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
here's the one that's in my theater (white spot was spackle touch up it's since been painted) I comfortable level to use when sitting! works amazing for lighting and av control without ever having to get up. I can even see who's at my front door without having to get up!

**
mystikjoe is offline  
Reply Home Automation

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off