Please help X10 having too much problem with signal noise - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 07-29-2013, 09:18 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
cgott42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Spring Valley, NY USA
Posts: 2,234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have the X10 light module XPS3-IW (WS13A)
It controls my LED "shop lighting" that I have in my HT room. My light is a terminal wire (not sure of exact name, but point is the electric wires end at the switch)

I also have the X10 home control software, and a x10 handheld remote to turn the lights on/off.

The one problem that I have is that VERY often the lights will shut off on their own. I checked the s/w and it indicates noise on the line, and called X10 and their tech's said that's the cause.
Another issue is that often times I need to press the remote many times until the light will turn back on, even if I'm standing close to the actual module (I've tried changing batteries on the remote)

I imagine having an electrician "fix the noise" or buying a line filter would be expensive. Is there a different product which is also inexpensive which is less sensitive to the line noise and won't shut off on it's own?


thanks
cgott42 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 07-29-2013, 11:27 AM
Member
 
MrGreeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've not tried installing a noise filter though they are available.

Do you have a phase coupler installed?
I had a terrible time with noise and a weak signal in my first house..
I installed a coupler/repeater and now it works great.

If you're not familiar with it, what it does is couple the two phases together via a capacitor that allows the X10 signal to pass from one phase to the other without having to travel out to the transformer.
Mine is like the one linked below but the one I own has an active repeater circuit that relays the signal from one phase to the other.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/X10-Smarthome-SignaLinc-4816-Phase-Coupler-/221260568092?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item338428561c

A toast to Bill Brasky!
MrGreeno is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 07-29-2013, 11:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
cgott42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Spring Valley, NY USA
Posts: 2,234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Spoke with someone who mentioned getting Z-Wave devices - he explained that they are not affected by line noise as they don't send their on/off signals via the electric line, but rather via RF....
anyone know what module I'd need - i.e. what would be the Z-Wave counterpart to the X-10 WS13A?

Also - not a deal breaker, but is Z-Wave compatible with Harmony remotes?
cgott42 is online now  
post #4 of 4 Old 07-29-2013, 02:56 PM
Senior Member
 
az1324's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 19
az1324 is offline  
Reply Home Automation

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off