Please help me get started with HA in a new loft - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 12 Old 09-02-2013, 10:40 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My brother just bought a really nice new loft. I want to give him a gift of home automation for it. I'm fluent in about 10 computer programming languages, have some experience in electronic system design, etc. However, I have zero knowledge of the current state of the home automation industry.

The loft has lots of beautiful lighting tracks, all halogen and incandescent. There are currently 10 Lutron Maestro digital (non-wireless) master dimmers (MA-600) and about 15 slave dimmers (MA-R). I don't *think* any of this stuff is compatible with an HA solution.

IMMEDATE GOAL: We'd like to add to this a network/computer control bridge, a couple motion/occupancy sensors, and one daylight/photo-sensor.

LONG-TERM GOAL: Add temperature management. Add some habit/living-preference responsive features. He has a Sonos system and 5-room audio distribution. I'd like to integrate this too, although the existing separate control from phones/tablets is fine for now.

Can you recommend a product line for me?

Shannon
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 09-02-2013, 04:38 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Check out CQC (Charmed Quark). There aren't many control systems that can integrate with Sonos. I think CQC (pro and DIY options) has some integration, but not total. I think it's similar to other control systems, in that regard.

Spend some time in the CQC forum. Read a bunch, before starting the free trial.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
post #3 of 12 Old 09-03-2013, 03:06 AM - Thread Starter