Problem mounting camera over single gang box - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 09-03-2013, 08:41 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
killswitch1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought a Vivotek camera - FD8151V for outdoor use. It's to be mounted outside but the Cat5e wire is comes out of a gang box. The camera is not meant to be mounted over a gang box just over a small hole where the wire comes out, so it doesn't fit properly and leaves gaps (picture of wire below).

What are my options here? Do I just put a plate over it and mount it on that? Is there a 3rd party mount that would work? The manufacturer offered no solution.


killswitch1968 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 09-04-2013, 06:57 PM
Member
 
bravonoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I would return the camera and get a bullet style camera to mount over a plain wallplate. Or mount that dome camera on the wallplate, either way would be ok but I cant be positive without seeing the camera.
bravonoj is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 09-05-2013, 08:14 AM
Senior Member
 
M1chael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
M1chael is offline  
Reply Home Automation

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off