New house build automation question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 22 Old 10-14-2013, 08:59 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all!
I have been sitting on the sidelines for a few years, enjoying the topics brought up by members, but now have joined to get some advice on my new house build. To start it is a 2900 square feet 2 story walkout and is currently just a hole in the ground with the foundation just poured. I plan on using control 4 for the home automation. Looking to control the lights, HVAC, Distributed audio, video, security, etc... I will be running CAT6a and CAT5e in a few weeks after it is framed. My first question is how many wires would you recommend I pull to each location? Also how many of each kind? I will be buying it from Monoprice and am unsure how much to order, so far I think 2 1000' boxes of CAT 6a and 3 1000' boxes of CAT5e. 2nd question is what switch to get? I was thinking a 48 port POE switch. I want a good quality switch that will provide Optimum transfer rates. I also would like recommendations on a good router as well. The brains of the system will be a control 5 HC-800, with HC-250's at each TV.
Thanks for the help. I have lots of questions but don't want to write a novel and put everyone to sleep.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 Old 10-15-2013, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 283
Generally speaking, to any TV location I want one control wire (cat5), one video wire (cat6), one Ethernet wire (cat5/6), and one spare (cat5/6) as a minimum. I typically will put in one or two extra wires to my equipment rack location (head end) if I am doing full video distribution. I also typically pull coaxial wire to the room from the head end so if there is ever need to put a cable box in the room, that can occur easily enough.

So, minimum of 2 cat5, 2 cat6, and one coax to each TV location.