Why don't we have ip control - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 11-07-2013, 08:25 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
intertan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With a lot of devices ( tv,players,amp and so on) having a Ethernet port why don't manufactures allow us to using phones or automation devices?

Sure better that an ir emitter stuck on a tv or something
intertan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 11-07-2013, 08:38 PM
Senior Member
 
az1324's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Lots of TVs and A/V receivers have apps. Some protocols are available, others have been reverse engineered.
az1324 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 11-07-2013, 10:30 PM
Newbie
 
Markov Ilya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Many devices have their own apps for control. You can find them on stores: Google Play, AppStore. Also the majority of devices supports UpNP or DLNA standards. If the device or it's box has a sticker UpNp\DLNA, you can use a Universal App taken from the stores. Moreover there are universal software packages - like iRidium mobile for example - that can control smart homes, AV and automation equipment using iPhone, iPad, Android devices, etc.. Such packages have a prepared/ready to integrate list of supported devices (tvs, players, media-servers, receivers, etc.). With help of such software you can create your own project which will include/control all your devices.


Ilya Markov

Software Developer

iRidium mobile Ltd.

Markov Ilya is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 11-08-2013, 06:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
intertan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It would be nice if C4, Crestron,Elan and so on could control these devices without ir
intertan is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 11-08-2013, 06:10 PM
Member
 
357mustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
i don't think manufacturers care about 3rd party control.
357mustang is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 11-10-2013, 08:59 PM
Senior Member
 
cshepard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
They can. I use IP drivers for TVs, AVRs, BD players & DirecTV receivers all the time with the Control4 systems I program.
cshepard is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 11-10-2013, 09:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Dean Roddey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 19,547
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 102
I just checked and CQC has IP drivers for sixty'ish devices. A few of those are software programs, the rest are lighting, security, A/V receivers and processors, media players, projectors and TVs, sat boxes, automation panels, IR blasters/receivers, power monitors, thermostats, etc...

Dean Roddey
Chairman/CTO, Charmed Quark Systems, Ltd

www.charmedquark.com

 

Dean Roddey is online now  
post #8 of 8 Old 11-10-2013, 09:42 PM
Newbie
 
Markov Ilya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

intertan, What devices does you want to control? I think we can find good solution


Ilya Markov

Software Developer

iRidium mobile Ltd.

Markov Ilya is offline  
Reply Home Automation

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off