Zwave thermostats for dummies - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 11-09-2013, 05:40 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
pboulay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hello all!

 

Before I buy zwave controler and stuff, I want to understand what is the possibility with the zwave technology thermostats................

There is a lot of expensive thermostats that you can program the degrees for each day of the week but I have a thermostat in every room so it's expensive to switch  on zwave technology.

 

My question, is it possible to have a cheap zwave thermostat(with only + and - button) that you can program with the zwave controler using an Android device for example? Or we absolutely need an expensive thermostat with programming options?

 

What I want to do is to have cheap controller in each room and go on an app in my phone to program each room to change the temperature depending the time of the day. Is it possible?

 

Or if someone can suggest me an other solution, you are welcome! :)

 

Thanks!

Pat

pboulay is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 11-09-2013, 08:52 PM
Senior Member
 
az1324's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 19
You have a thermostat in every room? That sounds like a zoned system. You usually can't replace equipment in zoned systems with off the shelf single zone stuff.
az1324 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 11-11-2013, 02:26 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
pboulay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

So there is no zwave solution for people like me with a thermostat in each room?

pboulay is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 11-11-2013, 09:39 PM
Senior Member
 
az1324's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 19
You're going to have to post the type of thermostats and heating/cooling devices you have. If you do have a zoned system there may be a way to interface it to a home automation controller other than replacing the thermostats.
az1324 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 11-13-2013, 04:14 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
pboulay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I have baseboards heaters and this is the kind of thermostat that I have:

http://www.rona.ca/en/thermostat---non-prog-electronic-thermostat

pboulay is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 11-14-2013, 12:38 AM
Senior Member
 
az1324's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 19
az1324 is offline  
Reply Home Automation

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off