Lutron Lighting Systems - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By spiwrx
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 04-25-2014, 05:11 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bankoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10

In the Lutron Homeworks or RadioRA2 systems, if you press a "Scene" button to turn on the scene, can you press it a second time to turn it off?

 

Also, I found some info on the older Grafik panels in other threads, but didn't find an answer to this question: can you still change a dimmer to a switch to control fans or vents?

bankoms is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 04-25-2014, 09:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,883
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by bankoms View Post

In the Lutron Homeworks or RadioRA2 systems, if you press a "Scene" button to turn on the scene, can you press it a second time to turn it off?

Yes, you can define the button (and therefore the scene) to be a toggle (forget the term in the software)...
Quote:
Also, I found some info on the older Grafik panels in other threads, but didn't find an answer to this question: can you still change a dimmer to a switch to control fans or vents?

Each zone (load) can be configured as a "non-dim" zone... Although I'd suggest looking for another way to control such things rather than consuming a GE zone for that... 12V trigger from the AVR is a good way to turn on fans/vents. I use the switched outlets on my power conditioner for this purpose (controlled by 12V trigger from the pre-amp).

Jeff


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

jautor is online now  
post #3 of 8 Old 04-26-2014, 08:09 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bankoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thanks for the advice.  For a fan, you'd suggest putting the speed control switch in a two rocker panel, at an alternate location where a hybrid keypad is planned?

bankoms is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 04-26-2014, 11:12 AM
Senior Member
 
az1324's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jautor View Post

Yes, you can define the button (and therefore the scene) to be a toggle (forget the term in the software)...
Each zone (load) can be configured as a "non-dim" zone... Although I'd suggest looking for another way to control such things rather than consuming a GE zone for that... 12V trigger from the AVR is a good way to turn on fans/vents. I use the switched outlets on my power conditioner for this purpose (controlled by 12V trigger from the pre-amp).

Jeff

It doesn't seem like he is talking about rack/equipment closet fans but rather ceiling fans and or bathroom fans.
az1324 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 04-26-2014, 01:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,883
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by az1324 View Post

It doesn't seem like he is talking about rack/equipment closet fans but rather ceiling fans and or bathroom fans.

Agreed - I was just covering both cases. I wouldn't "waste" a GE zone on a ceiling fan or a vent, regardless.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

jautor is online now  
post #6 of 8 Old 04-26-2014, 02:00 PM
Senior Member
 
az1324's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Even if it was not needed for lighting?
az1324 is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 04-27-2014, 12:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,883
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by az1324 View Post

Even if it was not needed for lighting?

Assuming the GE is being used for its intended purpose as a single room controller (likely for a theater), I bet there's a better use for it by dividing up another zone. But sure, if it's truly extra, go ahead...


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

jautor is online now  
post #8 of 8 Old 08-05-2014, 02:18 PM
Member
 
spiwrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by bankoms View Post
Also, I found some info on the older Grafik panels in other threads, but didn't find an answer to this question: can you still change a dimmer to a switch to control fans or vents?
Yes, but please isolate with a small relay, this can be done for less than $10 and it will protect your $700+ Grafik Eye (or HW or RR2 Dimmer or Keypad). Lutron also sells a "interface" for this purpose. Only 1/2hp rated (more than enough for most fans) http://www.lutron.com/TechnicalDocum...ry/369-357.pdf


Most people set the zone to non-dim and this will work fine usually. But a problem with a motor will wreck the grafik eye, and it is simple for someone to take it out of non-dim mode and also potentially fry the Grafik eye when they try to "dim" a motor load.
jautor likes this.

Paul W.
'Lutron Grafik Eye & Radio Ra Specialist - or anything Lutron'
Hanks Electrical Supply

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
spiwrx is offline  
Reply Home Automation

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off