Home Theatre Room Automation - Please suggest - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 05-11-2014, 11:41 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am of the opinion that Z-Wave is a good place to start in order to automate my home theatre room. I need to control all the AV gear from an iPad-Mini or iPhone. I also need basic light control (dimmers) that switch-on when I pause the movie and switch-off when I resume. I am not a programmer but have a good understanding of IT. Hence, I need an easy to use and easy to configure system. What controllers do you recommend ? - Vera Lite seems to be cost effective but then there is Fibaro Home centre lite and the SmartThings Hub. Furthermore, I have read good things about iRule and their excellent support.

All in all, I want a cost effective, easy to use, reliable and expandable system.

Any advice / help will be appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 05-11-2014, 01:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member

Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Actually, Z-Wave would have little to do with home theater automation, except perhaps for the lighting. The big problem with home theater automation is the gear itself, which Z-Wave doesn't address. Does any of your gear support serial or IP connections for control? That would be optimal. If not, you are down to IR control, which will be one-way control only, though you can make it more reliable than a remote control.

If it's all IR only, most of our customers would end up using something like a GC-100 for up to six zones of IR and a couple relays if you need that for screen control or something. You'd use stick-on emitters and set up CQC to invoke the commands required for various activities. And it would typically handle the browsing of media to select what you want to play as well.