Any Z-Wave to Ethernet/WiFi Bridge/Repeater ? - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 07-20-2014, 12:49 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
geeji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Any Z-Wave to Ethernet/WiFi Bridge/Repeater ?

I am trying to install a centralized Z-Wave network in a large, multi-flats, building.
My problem : Z-Wave range inside a building is a paltry 20 feet, and I need at least ten-twenty times that end-to-end.
I tried a Z-Wave repeater (DSD37 from Aeon Labs), but it adds only 20 more feet, and you cannot have more than 4 of those sequentially.

So at that point, I am stuck.
What I would like is a "Z-Wave to Ethernet bridge" or a "Z-Wave to WiFi bridge" which would use longer range Ethernet (and power lines couplers) or WiFi to replicate the Z-Wave network transparently.
But after hours spent searching Internet, I could not find any.
It is especially frustrating since it seems all the hardware is there : for instance the RaZberry Pi or the Sigma Designs ZM5304 serial interface.
But it seems such DIY components need a lot of low level programming to achieve anything, and I need something closer to "plug & play".

I know I would probably be able to do what I want with multiple slaved Vera 3, but my budget goal is around $50 per (long range) repeater, not 4-5 times that.

Any suggestions ?
geeji is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 07-22-2014, 08:54 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Home Depot and Amazon.com have the new Wink hub that might work or the Staples Connect both are only $49.99 are limited in what they do and are close to plug and play but might fit your needs.
Cfreeland is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 08-03-2014, 06:26 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Your switches act as a repeater.
gmmeyerIII is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 08-03-2014, 11:09 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
geeji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks to both of you for the pointers, but I finally found something very close to the simple Ethernet<->Z-Wave bridge I was looking for : the SmartThings Hub
It is more expensive than the $50 or so I was aiming for (it is a full Z-Wave controller), but otherwise has most of the right attributes :
- Ethernet connection
- multi-hubs / multi-locations controller application on iOS
- multiple Z-Wave or ZigBee sensors/actuators supported
- compact box
- coming EU version (currently US only : 908MHz Z-Wave)

This kickstarter project, launched in 2013, has the right philosophy : heterogeneous protocols and sensors/actuators support, elegant "Apple-like" design, open programming environment, ...
I now have just to test it !
geeji is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 12-06-2014, 04:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HMenke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern Kentucky (Greater Cincinnati)
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Great topic geeji. I'm already running InControl HA software from my HTPC with an Aeon Labs USB Z-Stick. Now I'd like to extend my Z-Wave network into my remotely located garage building. I have wi-fi over powerline out there with good local coverage and strong bandwidth, so I have been wondering how to set up an Ethernet-to-Z-Wave bridge in order to control Z-Wave devices out in the garage.

Have you made any further progress or discoveries? Can the SmartThings Hub be integrated into my existing control system or will I end up with a separate Z-Wave control system out in the garage?
HMenke is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 12-09-2014, 01:24 PM
Newbie
 
aa6vh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oxnard CA
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Multiple Vera controllers can be "bridged" together using ethernet. So you could have a seperate Vera in different areas that controls the modules in that area. The Veras then talk to each other via the ethernet connection. Check out the Vera support forum on bridging for details.
aa6vh is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 12-11-2014, 12:28 AM
Member
 
turbotrdcelica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
NEXIA has repeaters that do a excellent job. I have a large home and have 2 repeaters ranging about 150ft total distance from the last zwave device to the Thermostat which is my zwave bridge!
turbotrdcelica is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 12-12-2014, 12:34 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
geeji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
@HMenke, @aa6vh : multiple SmartThings Ethernet hubs can be used in a single "location", in the same LAN or on different LANs, and each of those hubs can control multiple Z-Wave devices.
The issue then becomes the unit cost of those hubs ($99 for the SmatThings hub), which adds to the cost of the Z-Wave device, especially when you need 1 Ethernet hub for every Z-Wave device you connect...
@turbotrdcelica : thanks, but AFAIU, the Nexia repeater is just a regular Z-Wave repeater, which has all the limitations of the low power Z-Wave radio network : range within buildings is MUCH less than 150ft.
That's why I was looking for an Ethernet bridge.
geeji is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 12-12-2014, 06:35 AM
Member
 
turbotrdcelica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by geeji View Post
@HMenke, @aa6vh : multiple SmartThings Ethernet hubs can be used in a single "location", in the same LAN or on different LANs, and each of those hubs can control multiple Z-Wave devices.
The issue then becomes the unit cost of those hubs ($99 for the SmatThings hub), which adds to the cost of the Z-Wave device, especially when you need 1 Ethernet hub for every Z-Wave device you connect...
@turbotrdcelica : thanks, but AFAIU, the Nexia repeater is just a regular Z-Wave repeater, which has all the limitations of the low power Z-Wave radio network : range within buildings is MUCH less than 150ft.
That's why I was looking for an Ethernet bridge.
I have 2 repeaters and 1 bridge I have 150ft between the bridge and the last device which is a door lock, and motion detector. No problems communicating with the door or motion detector. From my personal experience, you are incorrect.
turbotrdcelica is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Automation



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off