Looking For Some Help re: Control4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By ezlotogura
  • 1 Post By Mntneer
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 26 Old 08-15-2014, 07:25 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CT-Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Looking For Some Help re: Control4

So I stopped by the local AV dealer today to discuss home automation with the new theater system that is getting installed in a couple of weeks. Here is a list of the equipment that will be installed:

Sony 4K Display - haven't decided on the 850B or the 950B
Anthem MRX-710 AVR
Anthem A2 Amp
Paradigm Studio 100's in the front
Paradigm Studio 20's in the rear
Paradigm CC690 Center
Paradigm Sub12
Oppo BDP-105D

I was quoted $1100 for a C4 system including the 250 controller and remote.

Eventually I want to add lighting, IP security cams, and curtains/blinds control.

Most importantly is the WAF - a single, easy to use remote is an absolute must.

Sources will include the Oppo, a Sonos Connect, AppleTV, Dish Network DVR, and a HTPC running XBMCBuntu, and potentially a PS4.

Does $1100 for the initial install/integration seem reasonable? Is there a better way to go? I work 12 hr rotating shifts and don't have the time to learn how to do this myself using Crestron or something similar.

Thanks,

Mike

Last edited by CT-Mike; 08-24-2014 at 02:39 AM.
CT-Mike is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 Old 08-16-2014, 03:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
R_Willis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Lebanon, OH; 45036
Posts: 885
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sounds high if its just the controller, remote, & programming. If its installing all the other stuff you have listed as well maybe not.
R_Willis is offline  
post #3 of 26 Old 08-16-2014, 03:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CT-Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Actually the $1100 was just for the remote, processor, and programming. Installation of the system was going to be another $300 or so.
CT-Mike is offline  
post #4 of 26 Old 08-16-2014, 06:42 AM
Member
 
ezlotogura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT-Mike View Post
Actually the $1100 was just for the remote, processor, and programming. Installation of the system was going to be another $300 or so.
You are getting the HC 250 (controller), SR 250 (remote) and programming for $1100? Don't think that is super unreasonable.

Installation quote can vary based in wiring costs (both wire quality and length of runs and difficulty etc) so hard to judge the quote

If you like the dealer and can talk to good references that's important. System is only as good as your programmer.
ezlotogura is offline  
post #5 of 26 Old 08-16-2014, 12:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
SMHarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 43
We'll the MSRP is 750 for the 250 plus 250 for the Sr 250. If the is a tax included rate it Sino the money.
300 to install and program is a great rate. Likely taking the profit margin on the product to pay his install Guy who will be there a while making sure it works.

As a 1400 package that seems fair.

Likely a marginal sale to suck you into the magic of C4 and more sales.
SMHarman is offline  
post #6 of 26 Old 08-16-2014, 02:56 PM
Member
 
ELECTRICDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The $1100 is perfectly in line with this install.
ELECTRICDON is offline  
post #7 of 26 Old 08-16-2014, 05:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Hookedonc4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I think that is a fair price.

As stated above once you start with C4 you more than likely will be hooked...

You can add things as you want and afford...

As for the SR-250 remote you can't get much easier than this.

We have 5 of them and they are wife and kid approved.. Did I say grandma approved too... Lol

Also with this controller you will get iPad/iPhone control at the house(site license).

I see you talked about Sonos is this music?

I ask because the controller will also come with Tunein Internet radio. We also have Rhapsody and this will be available for a price with the C4 system too...

VSX-53, VSX-51,VSX-81 Pioneer Elites and Denon 1611
James loudspeaker inwalls main and future theater
Control4
Other speaker zones DefTech, Polk, Russound, Boston Acoustics

Last edited by Hookedonc4; 08-16-2014 at 05:31 PM. Reason: Add
Hookedonc4 is offline  
post #8 of 26 Old 08-24-2014, 02:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CT-Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Made the appointment with the installer yesterday. They are coming a week from Friday and installing/integrating the following:

- Anthem MRX-710 AVR
- Anthem A2 Amp
- Oppo BDP-105D
- AppleTV
- Dish STB
- 3 Liftmaster 8500 garage for openers
- Dimmers/Controls for the outside lights near the front steps and the ones near the garage doors
- Sonos driver

I think that's going to do it for now. Eventually I will be looking at door locks, and more lighting to enable vacation lighting scenes, etc.

Does anyone control their hot tub via C4?

Last edited by CT-Mike; 08-24-2014 at 02:49 AM.
CT-Mike is offline  
post #9 of 26 Old 08-24-2014, 08:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Hookedonc4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
What control4 equipment did you end up going with?

HC-250 or HC-800?

VSX-53, VSX-51,VSX-81 Pioneer Elites and Denon 1611
James loudspeaker inwalls main and future theater
Control4
Other speaker zones DefTech, Polk, Russound, Boston Acoustics
Hookedonc4 is offline  
post #10 of 26 Old 08-24-2014, 08:33 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CT-Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Going with the 250, but I plan on asking the installer if it makes more sense to go with the 800 from the get go to allow for future growth.
CT-Mike is offline  
post #11 of 26 Old 08-24-2014, 08:39 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CT-Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Do you feel the 250 has enough horsepower to do what I want initially?
CT-Mike is offline  
post #12 of 26 Old 08-24-2014, 09:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Hookedonc4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I'm sure the HC-250 will do the job and you can always move the HC-250 to another room in the future.

If you are asking me I would just get the HC-800 (if fits budget) this will let you do what ever you need now and in future.

I started with a HC-200 and then went out of control from there. Lol

Have fun and enjoy your new system.

VSX-53, VSX-51,VSX-81 Pioneer Elites and Denon 1611
James loudspeaker inwalls main and future theater
Control4
Other speaker zones DefTech, Polk, Russound, Boston Acoustics
Hookedonc4 is offline  
post #13 of 26 Old 08-24-2014, 09:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Hookedonc4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
We now have:

1 HC-800 director
3 HC-300C
1 HC-200B
And my original HC-200. These are just the controllers.

My 1000 is now just storage for our music.

We use Rhapsody and the Tunein.

VSX-53, VSX-51,VSX-81 Pioneer Elites and Denon 1611
James loudspeaker inwalls main and future theater
Control4
Other speaker zones DefTech, Polk, Russound, Boston Acoustics
Hookedonc4 is offline  
post #14 of 26 Old 08-25-2014, 02:30 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CT-Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 14
For HVAC control can I use any wifi thermostat or do I need a specific one to work with C4?
CT-Mike is offline  
post #15 of 26 Old 08-25-2014, 03:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Hookedonc4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
We have two C4 stats. One upstairs and one downstairs.

VSX-53, VSX-51,VSX-81 Pioneer Elites and Denon 1611
James loudspeaker inwalls main and future theater
Control4
Other speaker zones DefTech, Polk, Russound, Boston Acoustics
Hookedonc4 is offline  
post #16 of 26 Old 08-25-2014, 03:52 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CT-Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hookedonc4 View Post
We have two C4 stats. One upstairs and one downstairs.
Do you mean stats made by C4, or controlled by?
CT-Mike is offline  
post #17 of 26 Old 08-25-2014, 04:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Hookedonc4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT-Mike View Post
Do you mean stats made by C4, or controlled by?
They are a control4 thermostat and controlled by C4.

iPhone/IPad away from home or at home we can control. Even from my tv screen if home.

VSX-53, VSX-51,VSX-81 Pioneer Elites and Denon 1611
James loudspeaker inwalls main and future theater
Control4
Other speaker zones DefTech, Polk, Russound, Boston Acoustics
Hookedonc4 is offline  
post #18 of 26 Old 08-25-2014, 04:08 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CT-Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Nice,

That's what I'm looking for. Can I get that with any wifi thermostat, or only ones made by C4?

I appreciate all the help, install appointment is set for 05SEP.
CT-Mike is offline  
post #19 of 26 Old 08-25-2014, 04:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
SMHarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT-Mike View Post
For HVAC control can I use any wifi thermostat or do I need a specific one to work with C4?
Ease of integration use the c4 one.

It has remote y temp sensor so you can hide it in a closet if you don't like the aesthetics.

Nest still won't Integrate.

Others you need to check someone has written a driver.
SMHarman is offline  
post #20 of 26 Old 08-25-2014, 04:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CT-Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Ok, the C4 t-stat is easier for the installer to add to the system. Can one C4 stat control 2 stages of heating and 1 stage of cooling?
CT-Mike is offline  
post #21 of 26 Old 08-25-2014, 04:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Hookedonc4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thanks SMHarman that's what I was thinking and my next statement would have been double check with dealer.

Are stats work great with great integration and to me that makes it nice.

VSX-53, VSX-51,VSX-81 Pioneer Elites and Denon 1611
James loudspeaker inwalls main and future theater
Control4
Other speaker zones DefTech, Polk, Russound, Boston Acoustics
Hookedonc4 is offline  
post #22 of 26 Old 08-25-2014, 04:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Hookedonc4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT-Mike View Post
Ok, the C4 t-stat is easier for the installer to add to the system. Can one C4 stat control 2 stages of heating and 1 stage of cooling?
You will have to ask your dealer that question.

Sorry I can't answer. Would hate to tell you wrong answer.

VSX-53, VSX-51,VSX-81 Pioneer Elites and Denon 1611
James loudspeaker inwalls main and future theater
Control4
Other speaker zones DefTech, Polk, Russound, Boston Acoustics
Hookedonc4 is offline  
post #23 of 26 Old 08-26-2014, 12:46 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT-Mike View Post
Actually the $1100 was just for the remote, processor, and programming. Installation of the system was going to be another $300 or so.
Awesome price, great to go ahead
MariaJohn1 is offline  
post #24 of 26 Old 08-26-2014, 08:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
SMHarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT-Mike View Post
Ok, the C4 t-stat is easier for the installer to add to the system. Can one C4 stat control 2 stages of heating and 1 stage of cooling?
Here is the datasheet, based on the supported systems I think you are golden. It may not look as purdy as the Nest but it can be hidden and use a remote temp sensor (and then you can put a separate occupancy sensor where you really need one also) and it works with a heck of a lot of systems. Nest struggles with Geothermal as the temp gradient is too slow so it turns on the electric backup - no money saved there.

https://dealer.control4.com/Images/D...rmostat_DS.pdf

Supported HVAC systems

Single-stage conventional heating and cooling
Multi-stage conventional heating and cooling
Single-stage heat pumps
Dual-stage heat pumps
Geothermal heat pumps
Radiant heating
SMHarman is offline  
post #25 of 26 Old 08-28-2014, 01:05 PM
Member
 
ezlotogura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I have the C4 stats with remote wall sensors. C4 stats in a room downstairs, out of sight, out of mind. Sensors check the temps, and I interface with the stats thru C4. Easy, neat and clean.


Quote:
Originally Posted by SMHarman View Post
Here is the datasheet, based on the supported systems I think you are golden. It may not look as purdy as the Nest but it can be hidden and use a remote temp sensor (and then you can put a separate occupancy sensor where you really need one also) and it works with a heck of a lot of systems. Nest struggles with Geothermal as the temp gradient is too slow so it turns on the electric backup - no money saved there.

https://dealer.control4.com/Images/D...rmostat_DS.pdf

Supported HVAC systems

Single-stage conventional heating and cooling
Multi-stage conventional heating and cooling
Single-stage heat pumps
Dual-stage heat pumps
Geothermal heat pumps
Radiant heating
SMHarman likes this.
ezlotogura is offline  
post #26 of 26 Old 08-28-2014, 09:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mntneer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Martinsburg, WV
Posts: 2,737
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hookedonc4 View Post
I think that is a fair price.

As stated above once you start with C4 you more than likely will be hooked...

You can add things as you want and afford...

As for the SR-250 remote you can't get much easier than this.

We have 5 of them and they are wife and kid approved.. Did I say grandma approved too... Lol

Also with this controller you will get iPad/iPhone control at the house(site license).

I see you talked about Sonos is this music?

I ask because the controller will also come with Tunein Internet radio. We also have Rhapsody and this will be available for a price with the C4 system too...
Over the years I've gone through different brands and types of remotes. Was a dedicated Pronto Loyalist and programmer for years, even tampered with Logitech's Harmony and their awful software for a while, but I really like the feel and ease of use of the SR-250 and 150, and the wife and kids can operate the system without asking me "How do I watch TV?"

But you're correct... it's easy to get hooked and start adding more and more to the system as you go.

I'd also ask your dealer about Composer HE (Home Edition) and how much he'll charge you for it. It allows you to do more programming (if you're comfortable with it) with your system, though you'll still need him should you wish to add a new piece of hardware.
SMHarman likes this.
Mntneer is offline  
Reply Home Automation

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off