Help! Information OVERLOAD! - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!

Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By SMHarman

post #1 of 9 Old 08-25-2014, 11:10 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Help! Information OVERLOAD!

I need help putting these systems together. We are in the beginning stages of constucting our dream home (3br 2 bth 2600sqft.) I want to automate the..Lighting, A/V, Alarm system and Whole home audio system (HTD). I've been reading up on INSTEON and they seem to have a pretty good system, but IM VERY NEW to HA and not real sure on how to differentiate between "Good or Bad". Im in the process of ordering all of my wiring for the prewire (3cat5e, 2RG6, 14/2 per room). Any advice on where/how to begin will be GREATLY appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 08-25-2014, 12:36 PM

Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Two things off the top of my head. One, wire in neutrals to EVERY switchbox without fail. This is NEC code since 2011 so should be done, but I see it being skipped to save money all the time. You will be sorry if you do not have neutrals later because almost every HA switch requires them. Second, run at least 2 Cat 6e to every room. Sounds like you are doing 3 cat5e, 2 RG6 and 14/2 which is probably fine, not sure whether 6e matters except I know for the future it will so thats a cost option up to you. I am not familiar with costs today, but you def need neutrals everywhere even for 3-way circuits where you will need 14/3 at least.
post #3 of 9 Old 08-25-2014, 12:46 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atgayde View Post