Quick one...it fits here...remote lamp turn on. - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 08-24-2017, 07:57 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
DavidinCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Someplace in CT
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quick one...it fits here...remote lamp turn on.

Hey all,


I have played with X-10 stuff and Homesear to automate things in the past, it was a pretty advanced setup at the time. Cool stuff but, I need a TEMP fix for an issue..

We just bought a home. And the light switches have all switched outlets. The problem is the lamp placement in BOTH rooms as no where near the switched outlet is. This requires going into a dark room to find the lamp to turn on. I am looking for a cheap option like X-10 or something else, that will detect that the light switch has been turned on(getting power), and then turn the remote lamp on. Running a cord would be a royal PIA never mind the WAF. Each one will be in the same room.

The long term goal is to put cans in each room so the need for this will be gone but, right now, I would like a work-around for this. And as cheap as possible I don't want to invest much as they will be worthless in a year or so.

After stubbing my foot a few times, I need to find an option for this.

Thanks in advance !

-Dave

MCSE 2003
Windows Media Center specialist - MVP and Certified Home Theater specialist

Avid gamer and home theater junkie..

Last edited by DavidinCT; 08-24-2017 at 08:00 AM.
DavidinCT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 08-24-2017, 08:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 19
You could go with something like the Lutron Maestro Wireless system - you can mount the remote on the wall if you want a fixed placement. Or you could go more automated like the Caseta system. Or you could use Hue bulbs in the lamps and then the remote dimmer. Problem with the latter is that if someone turns off power at the switch, the Hue won't operate it. The Maestro (or Caseta) replaces the switch so it can always control the state of the light.
freeoscar is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 08-24-2017, 08:46 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
DavidinCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Someplace in CT
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by freeoscar View Post
You could go with something like the Lutron Maestro Wireless system - you can mount the remote on the wall if you want a fixed placement. Or you could go more automated like the Caseta system. Or you could use Hue bulbs in the lamps and then the remote dimmer. Problem with the latter is that if someone turns off power at the switch, the Hue won't operate it. The Maestro (or Caseta) replaces the switch so it can always control the state of the light.

Thanks for the reply !


Sounds a lot more complex and expensive than I am looking for, I want to walk into the room, turn on a light switch that is on the wall that will active a remote module (like a X10 thing) that will turn on the light. Nothing more than that. I don't want an extra switch or anything, just to use the switch that is already there (WAF)


Will go automation at a later point but, looking for a quick cheap, quick fix this this. As I hurt my foot the other day whacking a toy when I walked into the room trying to find the lamp !

-Dave

MCSE 2003
Windows Media Center specialist - MVP and Certified Home Theater specialist

Avid gamer and home theater junkie..
DavidinCT is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 Old 08-24-2017, 09:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I'm not sure how you would accomplish that without changing out the switches which currently controls the lights, and then having a new, third switch at the remote location - other than re-wiring to make them 3-way. The Maestro option would run you about $150 in total. You would only need one pico remote which could be programmed to turn on/off and dim the 2 lamps.
For a Hue starter kit w/remote and 2 bulbs it would run you $100. Advantage with that is you could move the bulbs and switch to a different location when you put in the recessed lights, and it can be automated, used with Siri/Alexa, etc.
freeoscar is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 08-24-2017, 11:22 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
DavidinCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Someplace in CT
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by freeoscar View Post
I'm not sure how you would accomplish that without changing out the switches which currently controls the lights, and then having a new, third switch at the remote location - other than re-wiring to make them 3-way. The Maestro option would run you about $150 in total. You would only need one pico remote which could be programmed to turn on/off and dim the 2 lamps.
For a Hue starter kit w/remote and 2 bulbs it would run you $100. Advantage with that is you could move the bulbs and switch to a different location when you put in the recessed lights, and it can be automated, used with Siri/Alexa, etc.

Thanks again !


I completely understand what your saying. The recessed lights are maybe a year out, once this done, this is no longer needed. I didn't want to invest a lot of money ($100+ would be crazy expensive for what I need here). The house has nothing in automation now. These are for kids rooms, so even if I went to automation type setup, the kids rooms would not be touched , at least in my plans I have sort of laid out.


I know I could do something like this (can be had on ebay for $10+)
https://www.x10.com/ws12a.html


Simple, change the switch and just use an X-10 lamp module, problem solved. I figured there was a "kit" of some type to do this. A simple 1 to 1 wireless setup.


I was really trying to avoid changing the switch.


I want a device that when it detects power, it sends a ON command to remote module, a 1 to 1 connection, when the power is cut, no more signal, the light goes off.


I honestly figured something like this was available in a kit of some type.

-Dave

MCSE 2003
Windows Media Center specialist - MVP and Certified Home Theater specialist

Avid gamer and home theater junkie..
DavidinCT is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 09-21-2017, 12:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Northern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Philips HUE is the best way to deal with this. Their system is bullet proof, the wireless motion sensors are affordable..and the system just plain works. Ambient light sensing, scheduling etc. is all built in to the system. A philips HUE starter kit ($69) and motion sensor (39) will get you started. I'd be willing to bet that once you play, you'll be adding bulbs and sensors. Their screw in A19 white bulb is $10-14.

This is the only lighting system that has simply worked for us flawlessly over two sites and a lot of automation hardware. The HUE lights don't mysteriously lose connections to the hub if manually turned off..so work very well in a typical home where a light switch might be turned off manually for days.
dennwood is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Automation

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off