Home automation - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 15 Old 05-18-2006, 08:32 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I am very new to this and have many questions about home automation. Right now I am building a new house and we are about a month or two from moving in. I have already had someone prewire my house for speakers, sound control, the network, and video. I have been looking into whole house audio/video systems. Recently I had an epiphany that I am in way over my head. I have been researching this religiously every night.

Some of the questions I have are:

For lighting control, is there an special type of extra wiring that needs to be installed for each light?

Where should I begin to look for whole house audio/video equipment?

What do you think of the homelogic control system?

My dealer is recommending mostly niles equipment, what do you think of their products?

For a house that is prewired for speakers what is a ballpark estimate for a system that has speakers in 6 rooms plus outdoor speakers and is zoned, and can control some of the things that homelogic can do like audio, security, climate, lighting, video, and irrigation

If I have been to vague about things please post questions and I will check back regularly.

Thanks,
Andrew
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 05-18-2006, 09:39 PM
IVB
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrico4
Well I am very new to this and have many questions about home automation. Right now I am building a new house and we are about a month or two from moving in. I have already had someone prewire my house for speakers, sound control, the network, and video. I have been looking into whole house audio/video systems. Recently I had an epiphany that I am in way over my head. I have been researching this religiously every night.

Some of the questions I have are: