DIY Whole Home Automation System Choices - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 01-09-2007, 01:25 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone - First I apologize for the length of this post, but I am trying to get a view of the entire system

I am new to the home automation DIY area, but am not new to DIY projects. I have a fair bit of experience in home remodeling, electrical, etc as well as quite a bit of technology experience (I have been designing product architectures for smart phones for the last 6 or 7 years). My project is a complete home remodel and addition (4000 sq ft) that I plan on living in till the end, and has a limited possibility for upgrades internally later because the entire house is made of adobe (we are burying the wires directly under the stucco, so no future fishing of additional cables, etc is going to be possible). I'd like to avoid professional installers and save the cash because I am relatively resourceful (though have no experience in C+ programming) and I also have a fair bit of time on my hands. The kinds of things I would like to do are also a bit cross functional - ie, a kid runs by the pool, the motion sensor goes off, which turns the camera on, and displays it automatically on all the in-wall LCDs. I don't foresee a ton of over the top things like hallways that light up as you walk down them, etc, but a few cool features would be nice. So, basically, I'd like to bounce my system ideas off of you guys, and get some feedback. The biggest things I am worried about are:
- Cost
- Reliability
- Ease of use - esp for a wife who can be very intimidated by technology, but understands it can improve a quality of life
- Support from the parent companies for DIYers
- Presentation - I am going through all this, and I def want a few color touchpanels and nice looking light switches, volume controls, etc. This is a multimillion dollar home that is putting me in debt till 2036.