RF fan dimmer?? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 16 Old 01-21-2007, 06:02 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have searched for a very long time for a eperiance fan dimmer. I only need one, it really doesn't seem like a complicated problem, but apparently it is. I am new to home automation, so I know very little about this. I would like dimmer that would replace the current dimmer I have, but is RF. I would also like a way I could use my infrared 880 to control it, so an infrared to RF converter would also be needed.

I have seen infrared to RF converters for z-wave, however I can find no dimmers that support fans, just lights. The dimmer I had before my current one was not designed for fans, and made a loud hum whenever the fan was in use.

For a dimmer to work with a fan, is there something special about the circuitry, or is it just a dimmer designed for a greater electrical load?

Thank you for your time and patience, I am new to home automation, and wold love advice from people with more knowledge and experience.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 01-21-2007, 07:04 PM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 11
You would be better to run a powerline technology dimmer and then an IR to powerline.
If you are thinking about PC based automation, this is simple. Just some standard hardware parts and some off the shelf software to load and configure. And the basis of your rest of automation.

CEO
Tallus LLC
post #3 of 16 Old 01-21-2007, 07:50 PM
IVB
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Martin over at AutomatedOutlet who knows *much* more than I told me that you cannot (should not?) run a dimmer to a motor to alter it's speed b/c it's more likely to burn it out.

Yet another thread in which i've quickly exhausted my knowledge. But, as I was searching for the same holy grail and was baffled why I couldn't find anyone who'd advertise a fan dimmer, it's the answer I was given.