Best brand of Cat 6 cable and RG-6 Cable? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 04-05-2007, 12:52 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
planters49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I'm about to start wiring up my house with is currently being built. I'm going to run Cat 6 throughout the house for internet/phone and other components. What is the best brand of Cat 6 to use and what gauge etc? the house is about 4000 square feet total.

I'm also going to run RG-6 quad sheild throughout the house, what's the best brand for this?

Thanks
planters49 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 04-05-2007, 02:24 PM
IVB
AVS Special Member
 
IVB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Left Coast
Posts: 5,325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
are you running just a single RG6 or multiple?

For multiple runs, I love my planet waves minicoax bundle. Ludicrously simple to use their screwless connectors, plus it's pretty flexible.

I have to admit, some of the recent posts about distributing CAT6 vs RG6 for component, and using baluns have been pretty compelling though. Enough for me to think twice about what it is that i'd recommend...

------------------------------------
I'm on 
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
a lot more than online forums now, contact me there if you want something.

IVB is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 04-05-2007, 02:24 PM
Senior Member
 
HTScotty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
We're in the finishing stages of our new home as well and I ran all the stuff you're talking about. I used Belden Quad-Shielded RG6 throughout. I personally can't see a reason to run CAT6 for phones, even if you're using VOIP. WAY overkill. I ran CAT5e for all the phone and security cameras. I ran CAT6 everywhere else for data. As for brand of cable for the UTP stuff, it really doesn't make that much of a difference what you use as long as it's a quality cable.
Here's a link to what I used for data.
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...ormat=2&style=

Here's what I used for phone/cameras.
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...ormat=2&style=

And here's what I used for RG6.
https://www.tselectronic.com/belden/...0d4f46a161e1f9
HTScotty is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 04-05-2007, 02:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
herdfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boondocks
Posts: 2,826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Without reservation: Belden. For both CAT6 and RG6.

Its not cheap, but its good.

Please do not send me PM's asking for software! You will not get it.
herdfan is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 04-05-2007, 02:52 PM
Senior Member
 
LathanM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Romeoville, IL
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just completed the first run through of wire for my new house and for the cat5e I went cheap. The differences with cat5e are more in the termination than the cable. Cat6 was not worth it even though I have a good switch (Extreme Summit 400).

For RG6 I went with a local supplier Windycity Wire. They have a unique marking system on the cable that makes identification easier. Quality of the cable looks good but as with any termination is really the deciding factor. Even good cable with bad connections will suck.

Worry more about the install and less about the cable.

LathanM - Who brought the popcorn?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
LathanM is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 04-05-2007, 07:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
herdfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boondocks
Posts: 2,826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LathanM View Post

Quality of the cable looks good but as with any termination is really the deciding factor. Even good cable with bad connections will suck.

Worry more about the install and less about the cable.

I agree, but if you have ever tried to put a Snap-N-Seal fitting on Home Depot QSRG6 vs. Belden, you will find the fitting slides on Belden easily and you really need to work it to get it on the HD stuff. My guess is the Belden will a better connection since the cable was not contorted getting the fitting on.

Please do not send me PM's asking for software! You will not get it.
herdfan is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 04-05-2007, 09:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Les Auber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 1,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I agree with herdfan. The good stuff may not make a functional difference in many cases but it's loads easier to work with. Terminating Canare vs Radio Shack cable is night and day different. Ditto for CAT 5. The cheap stuff with the occasional color bands or blotches is a real PITA compared to the little better stuff in which the pairs are continous color. Especially true if one is color challenged.

Les
Les Auber is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 04-05-2007, 09:53 PM
Senior Member
 
LathanM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Romeoville, IL
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by herdfan View Post

I agree, but if you have ever tried to put a Snap-N-Seal fitting on Home Depot QSRG6 vs. Belden, you will find the fitting slides on Belden easily and you really need to work it to get it on the HD stuff. My guess is the Belden will a better connection since the cable was not contorted getting the fitting on.

I have used both and never noticed a difference when attaching ends, Snap-N-Seal or old style crimp. I guess I developed a knack for it from dealing with coax networks and wireless antennas. Nothing like attaching a couple of hundred ends in computer labs and wiring closets to build up your skills.

LathanM - Who brought the popcorn?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
LathanM is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 04-07-2007, 11:19 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
planters49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for everyone's comments!
planters49 is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 03-16-2014, 05:27 AM
Newbie
 
Thawdi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Belden RG6 quad is definitely the way to go with RG6. As for data the best cabling you can purchase is siemon cat 6a, its all going to cat 7 so cat 6a will definitely future proof you. Keep in mind that for long runs you can use your data cable as hdmi, do not purchase any hdmi over 15 meters long as the signal strength is dramatically reduced, i ran data over 35 meters and have had no problem whatsoever with my hdmi terminations. At my house on each of the five t.v points i ran 4 x cat 6a, 4 x RG6 quad, 1 optic and 1 hdmi for lengths shorter than 15 meters, they all go back to my server cabinet. One major thing you need to think of is to segregate as much of the cabling as possible from 240 volt cables as they cause havoc to the quality of your signal. Siemon is shielded and is the best but you are also paying premium for both the cabling, patch leads, patch panels and the jacks but it will definitely future proof you and your family for atleast 20 years in a domestic environment. 

Thawdi is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 03-16-2014, 05:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Way to go! Must be a record. You resurrected a thread that has been dead for almost 7 years.
Colm is offline  
Reply Home Automation

User Tag List



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off