Can I play Ipod through my home stereo? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 12-26-2007, 07:58 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm a newbie when it comes to IPods. I just got one for Christmas and before investing in a new IPod stereo to play my music out loud I want to know if I can connect my Ipod to my current home CD stereo. I thought I read somewhere I could use a Get a Y audio cable from Radio Shack - mini RCA on one end to plug into mp3 player; dual rca connectors on the other end to connect to stereo audio input (AV1 or AV2) on the LH-T9654S.

Is this what I would need? Is it even possible to get a cable to connect into the headphone jack to connect to regular stereo speaker system? Am I better off spending a few hundred dollars for an IPod stereo? Any advice would be great and also whats a good FM Transmitter for my car stereo System??
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 12-26-2007, 08:29 PM
AVS Club Gold

Liked: 20
You could most definitely get by with a mini-plug to r/l RCA analog plugs as you stated. There are also many third-party iPod docks (such manufacturers such as Belkin, Griffin, DLO, and others) that you just set the iPod in (the female port on the bottom of your iPod would attach to the male connector in the dock), and you can navigate your music on your TV. These have either a y-connector, composite video and audio cables, or R/L stereo analog and S-Video cable outputs. This also charges your iPod while it's in it. Don't fall for the "iPod-compatible" marketing ploy and buy a new receiver. All these third-party docks work fine in an open input on any receiver with composite/S-video inputs.