Panasonic TC-37LZ85 - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 117 Old 11-18-2008, 08:19 PM
Member
 
Ricey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It was asked earlier in the thread but didn't get an answer. Can someone check if the component will do 1080p? I currently have a Westinghouse 37W3 and it can do 1080p over component. Asking because I will have a Xbox 360 to connect to this if I get it (Westy going into guest room) and since it doesn't have VGA I need the component to do 1080p. Thanks
Ricey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 117 Old 11-18-2008, 08:29 PM
Member
 
Strife67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricey View Post

It was asked earlier in the thread but didn't get an answer. Can someone check if the component will do 1080p? I currently have a Westinghouse 37W3 and it can do 1080p over component. Asking because I will have a Xbox 360 to connect to this if I get it (Westy going into guest room) and since it doesn't have VGA I need the component to do 1080p. Thanks

According to the operating instructions (download link) the maximum input signal that can be displayed over component is 1080/60i (not "p").
Strife67 is offline  
post #93 of 117 Old 11-18-2008, 08:57 PM
Senior Member
 
ellpolo_loco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricey View Post

It was asked earlier in the thread but didn't get an answer. Can someone check if the component will do 1080p? I currently have a Westinghouse 37W3 and it can do 1080p over component. Asking because I will have a Xbox 360 to connect to this if I get it (Westy going into guest room) and since it doesn't have VGA I need the component to do 1080p. Thanks

i used my xbox 360 on it using component and you can set the xbox to do 1080i and its almost no difference PQ wise to me compared to 1080p. this Tv is a great gaming TV i must admit and i have a high end samsung as well that i do 1080p on.
ellpolo_loco is offline  
post #94 of 117 Old 11-19-2008, 12:55 AM
Member
 
Ricey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ah ic. That puts a dent into what would have been the perfect PC/Console monitor for me. Still one of the better ones though. Does anyone know of another TV that has the IPS panel but can do 1080p through vga or component?

Edit: How does the 37LG50 from LG compare to the Panny 37LZ85?
Ricey is offline  
post #95 of 117 Old 11-22-2008, 07:31 PM
Newbie
 
Mike631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Someone help me. The Buzzing noise is unbearable! I might return the beautiful TV back on Monday. Does those surge protector with power filters help my situation?
Mike631 is offline  
post #96 of 117 Old 11-22-2008, 07:52 PM
Member
 
Strife67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike631 View Post

Someone help me. The Buzzing noise is unbearable! I might return the beautiful TV back on Monday. Does those surge protector with power filters help my situation?

According to this post a surge protector might get rid of any hissing sound, not sure if it's the same "buzzing" sound you are experiencing, though. If you decide to give it a try, I would recommend a voltage regulator instead such as this one.
Strife67 is offline  
post #97 of 117 Old 11-22-2008, 08:15 PM
Newbie
 
Mike631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Strife67 View Post

According to this post a surge protector might get rid of any hissing sound, not sure if it's the same "buzzing" sound you are experiencing, though. If you decide to give it a try, I would recommend a voltage regulator instead such as this one.

Thanks for the recommendation. Cause the noise is unbearable and you can escape it. I would say the noise sounds like a high freq whistle.
Mike631 is offline  
post #98 of 117 Old 11-23-2008, 11:58 AM
Senior Member
 
TRD Supra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Palos Heights, IL
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally Posted by SurfingMatt27 View Post
that's a shame, this is really the only dealbreaker for me, otherwise it would be a near perfect tv. Well the 37" 37LZ85 is on sale at BESTBUY this week for $750, sounds like a steal but the text issues are turning me off. Another IPS tv i'm considering is the LG 37LG50, i wonder how that compares in the mix of things.

Thats a good price for the 37lz85. But does anyone know if the 37lz85 has the same gray out at angles as the 32lx85?

Samsung 43D490 3D Plasma owner
TRD Supra is offline  
post #99 of 117 Old 11-24-2008, 07:42 PM
Newbie
 
Mike631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I exchanged for another one(took them a long time though). Anyways no buzz so far.
Mike631 is offline  
post #100 of 117 Old 11-26-2008, 06:15 PM
Senior Member
 
TRD Supra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Palos Heights, IL
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
People with the 37LZ85 does the panel get grayed out looking at an angle?

Samsung 43D490 3D Plasma owner
TRD Supra is offline  
post #101 of 117 Old 11-27-2008, 06:07 PM
Newbie
 
Mike631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRD Supra View Post

People with the 37LZ85 does the panel get grayed out looking at an angle?

No gray out. I stand at my door a couple of times.
Mike631 is offline  
post #102 of 117 Old 11-29-2008, 06:48 AM
Member
 
rmae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sacramento, California, USA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello I snapped like a twig and ordered a TC-37LZ85 on Wednesday when I saw Amazon had them for a great price. Now they don't have them at all and those that do have raised the $$$. Glad I got it when I did before Black Friday or even Thanksgiving.

It's my first non-CRT TV so I'm hoping I ordered a good one.
rmae is offline  
post #103 of 117 Old 11-29-2008, 11:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
jdrumm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Brunswick, Maine
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[edit]Sorry, posted prices. Now know I shouldn't have[/edit]
jdrumm is offline  
post #104 of 117 Old 11-30-2008, 10:38 AM
Newbie
 
conquer42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how do you make it show whats playing on your tv when you press the info button? on page 16 in the guide it shows when you press info on that station its showing the news... on mine its just blank. can anyone help me please?
conquer42 is offline  
post #105 of 117 Old 11-30-2008, 05:00 PM
Member
 
subhash_i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I too got this tv from bestbuy for my second room.Could anyone share their settings who has this tv for a while.I saw some mentioned in 37lz800 forum but the tv appears very dark to me with those

Also will increasing backlight to around 50 will it cause any problems with picture quality.It appears brighter to me with that backlight other wise dark
subhash_i is offline  
post #106 of 117 Old 12-01-2008, 01:52 AM
Member
 
Schvidah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: MoCo Maryland
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I just ordered it. Vann's has a package deal with the Pioneer DV-48AV upconverting DVD player that I wanted anyway. The only thing I am concerned about is the buzzing or hissing that some are hearing. If I do not use the speakers will I still hear this, or does the noise come from the TV itself?
Schvidah is offline  
post #107 of 117 Old 12-01-2008, 04:20 AM
Newbie
 
Stongatola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm seriously considering this TV, but I'm curious about how SD is on it. Opinions would be greatly appreciated....

Dave
Stongatola is offline  
post #108 of 117 Old 12-01-2008, 08:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
jdrumm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Brunswick, Maine
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by conquer42 View Post

how do you make it show whats playing on your tv when you press the info button? on page 16 in the guide it shows when you press info on that station its showing the news... on mine its just blank. can anyone help me please?

It won't show any info with SD channels, only digital OTA or Clear-QAM cable channels (assuming you're not using a digital cable/satellite box). And of course the broadcaster needs to be sending that information.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schvidah View Post

Well, I just ordered it. Vann's has a package deal with the Pioneer DV-48AV upconverting DVD player that I wanted anyway. The only thing I am concerned about is the buzzing or hissing that some are hearing. If I do not use the speakers will I still hear this, or does the noise come from the TV itself?

I'm not hearing any buzzing/hissing from mine. I believe the reports I heard stated that the noise came from the speakers, though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stongatola View Post

I'm seriously considering this TV, but I'm curious about how SD is on it. Opinions would be greatly appreciated....

SD quality is very good. We watch both analog cable and ReplayTV-recorded material (the latter through the S-Video connection), and are very pleased with the results. We were previously using an Olevia LT30HV for that, and the improvement is quite noticeable.
jdrumm is offline  
post #109 of 117 Old 12-01-2008, 07:19 PM
Member
 
cozbyrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Van,TX
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricey View Post

Ah ic. That puts a dent into what would have been the perfect PC/Console monitor for me. Still one of the better ones though. Does anyone know of another TV that has the IPS panel but can do 1080p through vga or component?

Edit: How does the 37LG50 from LG compare to the Panny 37LZ85?

I was under the impression that all component cables could not pass anything higher than 1080i, but I have been wrong before.

By the way are there any suggested setting for this tv? My mom and my in-laws are both expecting this tv for christmas and I want it to look it's best.

2011 Buick Regal turbo owner
cozbyrt is offline  
post #110 of 117 Old 12-16-2008, 07:25 AM
Member
 
banditt101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone been experiencing poor performance with black levels? They just don't look natural (almost washed out). I know consumer reports reported this as a problem. I've played with the setting, but haven't seen many improvements.
Anyone else with better luck.
I’d like to also get some of the picture setting from people in this forum if possible.

Thanks!
banditt101 is offline  
post #111 of 117 Old 12-16-2008, 03:35 PM
Senior Member
 
TRD Supra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Palos Heights, IL
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You mean that the blacks look washed out when your looking at it dead center?

Samsung 43D490 3D Plasma owner
TRD Supra is offline  
post #112 of 117 Old 01-04-2009, 07:07 PM
Member
 
rmae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sacramento, California, USA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know how I can access the Service Menu on this rig? Thanks!
rmae is offline  
post #113 of 117 Old 01-04-2009, 07:18 PM
Member
 
Strife67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmae View Post

Does anyone know how I can access the Service Menu on this rig? Thanks!

Just replied about this in the LZ800 thread.

On an unrelated note, for those looking for reviews of this specific model (TC-37LZ85), there's one by the guys from CNET and another from a site called TelevisionInfo.com.
Strife67 is offline  
post #114 of 117 Old 01-10-2009, 05:51 AM
Member
 
Ricey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Finally received my 37LZ85. This set replaced a Westy 37W3 as a PC monitor and its a bit better I think. Anyone have some settings to try? I tried one that was posted by someone who reviewed the unit in this forum but wanted to see if there were any other good ones. I tried some from the LZ800 thread but since that unit is glossy it doesn't look quite right with the LZ85.
Ricey is offline  
post #115 of 117 Old 02-02-2009, 11:29 PM
Member
 
rmae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sacramento, California, USA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The TC-37LZ85 is in stock again from couple of Amazon.com sellers for a real decent price.
rmae is offline  
post #116 of 117 Old 02-09-2009, 08:29 PM
Newbie
 
BarbaraThompson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PS3 + TC-37LZ85 + SC-PT960

Have you ever got this working together ?

I am trying PS3 --> HDMI --> TC-37LZ85 --> Optical --> SC-PT960

Can't hear a thing... ;(
BarbaraThompson is offline  
post #117 of 117 Old 02-17-2009, 02:38 PM
Newbie
 
sexconker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sadly, you can NOT do 5.1 out over optical on this set!

I just got it yesterday, and in the fine print on the bottom of on one page in one of the several Viera Link Setup sections (the one towards the end, about hooking up external gear) it states that HDMI in and optical out gets you AMAZING DIGITAL stereo SOUND.

It's back to a mess of optical cables, crappy switches/selectors that have to be constantly jiggled/replaced (thinking about super gluing a set...), and other such tomfoolery for me.
sexconker is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off