Official Samsung LNxxA550 (Series 5) Owners Thread NO PRICE TALK! - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 8397 Old 03-21-2008, 06:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Amiable-Akuma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think we should discuss this much more since its off topic - but I'll say that I just do not like universal remotes. I think things like the Harmony are too tiresome to program and cumbersome to use once you do get them set up. Honestly, I do not know how some of you guys are even using such remotes regularly. I prefer the remotes with all the dedicated buttons necessary, that make things as clear and easy to navigate as pie.
Amiable-Akuma is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 8397 Old 03-21-2008, 06:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Amiable-Akuma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would someone care to venture a guess as to when places like Amazon will have the 32", 32A550 in stock?
Amiable-Akuma is offline  
post #123 of 8397 Old 03-21-2008, 07:36 AM
Member
 
scubadiverdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry about the TBE comment. From what I have read in other post about Samsung, I did not know that the TBE and the 120 Mhz went together. You are right, I am very happy with the set and only use the clothe that came with the TV to clean it. The air cleaner is helping out alot with the dust.

What are some of the other owners calibration setting?

My line is this:

Mode - Dynamic
Backlight - 5
Contrast - 80
Brightness - 80
Sharpness - 80
Color - 90
Tint - G50/R50

Picture Options
Color Tone - Normal
Size - 16:9
Digital NR - Auto
DNIe - On
HGMI Black Level - Normal
Film Mode - Auto
Blue Only Mode - Off

I did this just by trial and error. I do not have any kind of special device or color sapper thingy expert to compare it to. Also, on the speaker settings, I did not bother since I have 7:1. Question is, which setting do I need to adjust?

David
scubadiverdj is offline  
post #124 of 8397 Old 03-21-2008, 07:55 AM
Newbie
 
Crucial9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amiable-Akuma View Post

Would someone care to venture a guess as to when places like Amazon will have the 32", 32A550 in stock?

BB should have it in stock (at store) next week. I'll try and get a definitive date and price for you at lunch.
Crucial9 is offline  
post #125 of 8397 Old 03-21-2008, 01:15 PM
mz_
Member
 
mz_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crucial9 View Post

BB should have it in stock (at store) next week. I'll try and get a definitive date and price for you at lunch.

Got my 46550 at BB today. They had 1 in stock, the guy (manager) said it was there display unit. They did have employees taking down older models, and rearranging the sets. So I'm sure they should be getting a supply in soon, or go and see if they have that "1" you can buy.

Everything is pretty much stick setup right now, I'll be tweaking more later on.
mz_ is offline  
post #126 of 8397 Old 03-21-2008, 07:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Amiable-Akuma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^^^Thanks for the info, guys - very helpful. Yes, BTW, I also wrote some online vendors with the same question and they all essentially say that they should have "the bulk" or almost all of the Samsung "march '08" series lines (3/4/5/6 but not 7/8, right?) in within the next couple weeks, if not sooner.
Amiable-Akuma is offline  
post #127 of 8397 Old 03-21-2008, 07:25 PM
Member
 
Tuffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 40" A550is up-and-running and I'm grinning at this point. I'm not sure if that's the $$ deal, the "1st HDTV" reaction, or if it looks that good, but I'll take it for now. I have run into some odds-and-ends between my inexperience, TWC/4250HDC, this thread's comments, and, of course, the TV itself.

1. I have an inexpensive HDMI cable connected and it is really good with one glaring exception for a while. I was really getting TERRIBLE reds in the picture. They were pure pink and no amount of adjustment would make any difference. The colors from the component inputs that I first connected were great, so I was trying to run both and compare when I discovered that the HDMI apparently "takes control" and there is no component out when it is connected. There is also no effect of the STB volume control when using HDMI. Both of those things consistent with the experience of others and this STB? Anyway, after unplugging and replugging the HDMI, the colors deepened and I reverted back to the default settings. I'm still not perfectly satisfied, though, as I think it has come back now and then. Anyone experience the PINK effect?

2. That might lead me into the picture mode issue. Personally, the Entertainment Modes haven't impressed me. The same lock-out of adjustments is true here as in the 650 series when Ent is engaged and they are bright, bright, and weak...IMO. For the evening, I'm in Movie, but was content with "Standard" this afternoon. Yes, I Reset the details after messing with the HDMI. I'm not above playing with the calibration later, but will have to find a good reason beyond brightness that the given modes handle pretty well.

3. Relative to an earlier posting: This is NOT the same remote that is shipping with the 6 Series; I believe this is the same as the 4 Series. It's ugly and awkward, but seems effective. I suppose everyone of us would have arranged the menus differently, but we will learn it all. While on the remote, what don't I understand about multiple remotes. Am I stuck with using the 4250 one to change channels on the box and only volume/mute/power on the TV while using the TV remote for all TV adjustments? It sure would be nice if the Samsung remote would change channels and control power on the STB.

4. I'm going to enjoy the TV, but the pink thing is worrisome. As I type, I am seeing a commecial that I watched earlier in good color and it is back to pink helmets on the Cardinals again. The NC State Wolfpack seem to have pink lanes on their court.....GRRRRR...

More later.
Tuffy is offline  
post #128 of 8397 Old 03-21-2008, 08:03 PM
Newbie
 
Blue Max's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, I was watching 'Bob the Builder' with my 2 year old and Bob's face was very red in many of the shots but not in all of them. Im really not sure how to adjust it so that he's consistently colored.

Watching F1 Friday Practice in Malaysia however showed the Ferrari's in proper Ferrari red (or at least proper Ferrari F1 red). In this case the greens were a little bright but that could also be the fake-ish grass they have around the circuit.

In any case, I still dont have my DTV HD set up so the overly red faced Bob could be due to my SVideo cable.

I was also watching Michael Clayton via my DVD player and component and I no problem with Flesh colors.

So take this as you will but I did notice a little too much red/pink and couldnt figure out how to diminish its presence in Bobs face.
Blue Max is offline  
post #129 of 8397 Old 03-21-2008, 10:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dubz4lif3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any guess as to when BB or amazon will have 32 & 37" 5Series? and MSRP?
Dubz4lif3 is offline  
post #130 of 8397 Old 03-21-2008, 11:07 PM
Senior Member
 
JayPSU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Right now I have my eye set on the 61/65 series (either 40" or 46"), but does anyone know if the new line coming out which would be comparable to the 61/65 (450?) will be better? What about price, which one will drop faster in price to be the best deal for both quality and price?
JayPSU is offline  
post #131 of 8397 Old 03-21-2008, 11:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dubz4lif3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well the 40" A550 is 1700 so i guess 1500 for 37" maybe?
Dubz4lif3 is offline  
post #132 of 8397 Old 03-22-2008, 03:03 AM
Newbie
 
ebergen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got the 40A550. Ill post more on it later...overall its great. But, I thought this TV had a 120 mhz chip...and it's now my understanding that its only a 60. Can anyone verify this? If it indeed is a 60, can someone make me feel better and tell me reasons why I dont need the 120.
ebergen is offline  
post #133 of 8397 Old 03-22-2008, 04:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CHRISGEOFROMGREE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unfortunately the tv is 60Hz....
CHRISGEOFROMGREE is offline  
post #134 of 8397 Old 03-22-2008, 05:12 AM
Member
 
STL Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Many people who buy 120 mhz sets end up not utilizing it due to tbe. I was considering the Sam 61 series or the Sony W3000. However after seeing the A550P series Im sold that it is superior to both. In my opinion the new A550P is better than the Sony w3000 series which is better than the Sam 61. The A550P also has the matte screen.
STL Mike is offline  
post #135 of 8397 Old 03-22-2008, 05:59 AM
Newbie
 
sdeleve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just brought home my 40A550 and have it hooked up to my SA8300HD DVR via my HDMI. There is a horizonal white flickering line at the very top of my screen??? It only appears on the screen size "just scan" I can adjust the screen up and it disappears (most of the time), but I'm wondering why it's there in the first place. Any one else seeing this or can explain what is happening????
sdeleve is offline  
post #136 of 8397 Old 03-22-2008, 06:03 AM
Senior Member
 
D92Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdeleve View Post

Just brought home my 40A550 and have it hooked up to my SA8300HD DVR via my HDMI. There is a horizonal white flickering line at the very top of my screen??? It only appears on the screen size "just scan" I can adjust the screen up and it disappears (most of the time), but I'm wondering why it's there in the first place. Any one else seeing this or can explain what is happening????

This is normal...what you are seeing is closed caption information on SD channels. You usually won't see it on HD channels. You can do a search and find many people who ask about this. Use 16:9 if it bothers you.
D92Mike is offline  
post #137 of 8397 Old 03-22-2008, 06:05 AM
Senior Member
 
D92Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Most people in the 650 thread are reporting that their LCD's are shutting off by themselves intermittently. Are any owners of the 550 series experiencing this?
D92Mike is offline  
post #138 of 8397 Old 03-22-2008, 06:21 AM
Member
 
bigshooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by STL Mike View Post

Many people who buy 120 mhz sets end up not utilizing it due to tbe. I was considering the Sam 61 series or the Sony W3000. However after seeing the A550P series Im sold that it is superior to both. In my opinion the new A550P is better than the Sony w3000 series which is better than the Sam 61. The A550P also has the matte screen.

The 120hz feature should always be on, it's just how many times a second the screen is being updated. I believe AMP was the cause of the TBE because it was trying to interpolate the "in-between" frames that didn't exist instead of just playing the same frame 4 times (in the case of 30fps source content). From what I've learned reading on here and other places, the only thing that 120hz (or 72hz in the plasma world) should be good for is 5:5 pulldown on 24fps content, and for allowing extra frames so that AMP or other technologies that perform the same effect can be used.

I'm leaning towards either a Toshiba 42XV40U with the 120hz feature because their processors seems to be a step up from Samsungs (no TBE when you turn on clearmotion or whatever their version of AMP is called), or the 46A550 because it seems to be one of the better 60hz sets on the market and for a reasonable price as well. Has anyone actually sat down and compared a 60hz set on 24fps material versus a 120hz set? Everyone talks about "judder" caused by 3:2 pulldown, but I don't think I've ever really experienced or noticed it.
bigshooter is offline  
post #139 of 8397 Old 03-22-2008, 06:49 AM
mz_
Member
 
mz_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D92Mike View Post

Most people in the 650 thread are reporting that their LCD's are shutting off by themselves intermittently. Are any owners of the 550 series experiencing this?

I haven't experienced this problem at all with the 46550. I'm going to snap some pictures, and post in a bit.

Right now, I have Cable (SA8300HD) hooked up by component, and haven't had the above "pink" effect or any strange colors. I'm using the settings from the link posted on the first page. For those that don't want to go back, here;

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...postcount=1500

Also have a Wii hooked up, 480i, as I haven't bought the 480p cables yet. No issues with that at all.
mz_ is offline  
post #140 of 8397 Old 03-22-2008, 07:18 AM
Senior Member
 
D92Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mz_ View Post

I haven't experienced this problem at all with the 46550. I'm going to snap some pictures, and post in a bit.

Right now, I have Cable (SA8300HD) hooked up by component, and haven't had the above "pink" effect or any strange colors. I'm using the settings from the link posted on the first page. For those that don't want to go back, here;

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...postcount=1500

Also have a Wii hooked up, 480i, as I haven't bought the 480p cables yet. No issues with that at all.

Thanks for the link (I haven't been in that thread in ages). Most people are saying that these new series 5 and 6 handle motion well. Can you watch some fast action like auto racing or hockey and let us know what you think? Thanks.
D92Mike is offline  
post #141 of 8397 Old 03-22-2008, 07:22 AM
mz_
Member
 
mz_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D92Mike View Post

Thanks for the link (I haven't been in that thread in ages). Most people are saying that these new series 5 and 6 handle motion well. Can you watch some fast action like auto racing or hockey and let us know what you think? Thanks.

I'll be watching NASCAR this weekend for sure. So I'll post back. During some fast movements I do notice some quick "blocking".
mz_ is offline  
post #142 of 8397 Old 03-22-2008, 07:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
taurus2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 4,322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mz_ View Post

I'll be watching NASCAR this weekend for sure. So I'll post back.

MASCAR is having tomorrow off due to Easter. Next race will be a week from tomorrow unless you have recorded an earlier race.

Go 24
taurus2007 is offline  
post #143 of 8397 Old 03-22-2008, 08:06 AM
Senior Member
 
D92Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mz_ View Post

I'll be watching NASCAR this weekend for sure. So I'll post back. During some fast movements I do notice some quick "blocking".

That "blocking" is almost always the source compressing the MPEG signal, not the LCD.It shows up on fast moving scenes.What I am looking for is blurring.
D92Mike is offline  
post #144 of 8397 Old 03-22-2008, 08:07 AM
Senior Member
 
D92Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by taurus2007 View Post

MASCAR is having tomorrow off due to Easter. Next race will be a week from tomorrow unless you have recorded an earlier race.

What are they racing, Mastadons?

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedi..._rendering.jpg
D92Mike is offline  
post #145 of 8397 Old 03-22-2008, 08:10 AM
mz_
Member
 
mz_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by taurus2007 View Post

MASCAR is having tomorrow off due to Easter. Next race will be a week from tomorrow unless you have recorded an earlier race.

Nationwide is on today.

Here is a flood of pictures, hope no one minds. Camera really doesn't do it justice, but a basic idea anyways.

















mz_ is offline  
post #146 of 8397 Old 03-22-2008, 08:12 AM
mz_
Member
 
mz_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
3 More.





mz_ is offline  
post #147 of 8397 Old 03-22-2008, 08:13 AM
Senior Member
 
D92Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mz_ View Post

Nationwide is on today.

Here is a flood of pictures, hope no one minds. Camera really doesn't do it justice, but a basic idea anyways.

I want mine Thanks for the pics...lucky bastard
D92Mike is offline  
post #148 of 8397 Old 03-22-2008, 09:02 AM
Member
 
Tuffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Toucing on earlier posts:

1. I have seen the 37A550 in BB, although it is not on the website. It was $1399. I think that will be the sweet spot once discounts kick in.

2. I haven't seen what I think of the "motion blur" present in the store sometimes in some sets. I have seen what was referred to as "blocking", but it was clearly associated with camera movement/focus...IMO. Personally, the times that I have seen this at all in any set always seemed more associated with the input signal (WALL of sets doing it on a specific video) than TV sensitive. Eye-of-the-beholder?

3. I still haven't mastered the reds/pinks. I have it a little "Hot" right now and that's not the way to go, but it is deepening the colors. It's time to see some calibration settings. I'll play with the one here and may have to break down and try a DVD soon.

Tuffy
Tuffy is offline  
post #149 of 8397 Old 03-22-2008, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ready2Mosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Central US
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mz_ View Post

3 More.






You from Chicago? Millenium park is great, love cloudgate.
Mosh~~
Ready2Mosh is offline  
post #150 of 8397 Old 03-22-2008, 10:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dubz4lif3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
guess on price of the 37A550 after a few months on amazon? maybe a $1100?
Dubz4lif3 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off