Official Samsung LNxxA550 (Series 5) Owners Thread NO PRICE TALK! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8397 Old 03-09-2008, 06:56 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SeanM5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
These are available now.

Samsung Series 5 LCD (2008) HDTVs Model Numbers:
* LN32A550P - 32-Inch
* LN37A550P - 37-Inch
* LN40A550P - 40-Inch
* LN46A550P - 46-Inch
* LN52A550P - 52-Inch
(The above links go to Samsung's support pages which includes manuals and quick start guides for each).

Something I would like to point out is that the 32" and 37" models have worse technical specs than the 40", 46", and 52". A 15,000:1 contrast ratio compared to a 30,000:1 contrast ratio (and possibly other differences). So even though they are in the same 550 series they are not all the same!

Interesting posts in this thread:
- Service Menu stuff
- Pictures of the set in action: here, here, here, here, and here.

CALIBRATION THREAD:
Official LNXXA550 Calibration/Settings Thread
SeanM5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8397 Old 03-10-2008, 07:53 AM
Newbie
 
mtaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: corpus christi tx
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks can't wait to see
mtaz is offline  
post #3 of 8397 Old 03-10-2008, 07:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
taurus2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 4,322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Make sure you calibrate the set first. Then, post pictures of SD, HD (from cable or satellite), and Blu-ray if you have them. That way, people can judge the picture qualities of the set with three different sources.

Go 24
taurus2007 is offline  
post #4 of 8397 Old 03-10-2008, 10:48 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SeanM5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got mine about an hour ago!

First thing is physical appearance.
1) The screen is matte and not glossy. I did not notice any reflections but I'm also not in direct sunlight or anything either.
2) The front part of the panel is piano black while the back part is a dark-ish gray plastic.
3) It has a very small chrome strip on the bottom which may not have been noticeable in the internet promotional pictures that Samsung released.
4) There is no touch-sensitive buttons on the side, they are real physical buttons.
5) The stand came pre-attached (already assembled) which was nice.
6) There is a piano black remote which has a backlight too. Not sure if this is new or not since my last Samsung was a 3251D (two years old I think?).


I tried a Mac Mini (using the included DVI to VGA adapter) and the Apple Mac OS X boot-screen logo appeared but after that it said "mode not supported". Not sure what is going on... This was one of the reasons I wanted a 1080p TV, hope I can use it.


As for picture quality, I'm seeing a bunch of artifacts ("blocks") and stuff (from Comcast HD DVR). I'm not sure if it's the source feed or what, I did not notice this on my previous (720p) TV. I'll be testing a Blu-Ray on my PS3 very shortly. I'm using these settings which were done for Samsungs previous models.
SeanM5 is offline  
post #5 of 8397 Old 03-10-2008, 11:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ready2Mosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Central US
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm no expert on these types of TVs, or any type of Tv for that matter, but you have to think when your calibrating it that you'll need a whole new set of values.

Mosh~~
Ready2Mosh is offline  
post #6 of 8397 Old 03-10-2008, 12:27 PM
Senior Member
 
D92Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are a few good links for calibrating:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=852536
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=948496
http://www.cnet.com/4520-7874_1-5108...=main.optimize

I don't anticipate this thread getting as large as the 6 and 7 series threads so we should be able to post our settings here without starting a separate calibration thread. Our settings will be different as the series 5 uses the matte screen, and likely has a different video processor than the 6 and 7 series.
D92Mike is offline  
post #7 of 8397 Old 03-10-2008, 05:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SeanM5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
few pics... my [6 year old] camera stinks though, as you can see the flash is way too bright and ruins the pictures.

box:


remote:


pics of tv:

SeanM5 is offline  
post #8 of 8397 Old 03-10-2008, 05:54 PM
Senior Member
 
fireballz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
nice, i like the design - simple and sleek. Remote looks cool too. If only it had a glossy screen!! ahh oh well You said you saw blocks/artifacts and such... has PQ improved with adjustments? How do you like it so far?
fireballz is offline  
post #9 of 8397 Old 03-10-2008, 06:01 PM
Senior Member
 
D92Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeanM5 View Post

few pics... my [6 year old] camera stinks though, as you can see the flash is way too bright and ruins the pictures.

Congrats. What size is that? What do you think of the silver bar at the bottom?
D92Mike is offline  
post #10 of 8397 Old 03-10-2008, 06:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
taurus2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 4,322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D92Mike View Post

Congrats. What size is that? What do you think of the silver bar at the bottom?

I think the box from the first pic says 40 so I assume it's 40".

Go 24
taurus2007 is offline  
post #11 of 8397 Old 03-10-2008, 06:38 PM
Newbie
 
ebergen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I can get one of these at $1399...and it looks like I just might. Does this not have the Red tints on the side of the frame? I thought this was supposed to? Or was that the 6 and 7 series?

And, just to make sure, it is the matte screen not the shiny right?
ebergen is offline  
post #12 of 8397 Old 03-10-2008, 07:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mark_1080p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Looks to me like a glossy screen with some dirty film on it. Hope it looks better in person.
mark_1080p is offline  
post #13 of 8397 Old 03-10-2008, 08:30 PM
Senior Member
 
fireballz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeanM5 View Post

1) The screen is matte and not glossy. I did not notice any reflections but I'm also not in direct sunlight or anything either.

...
fireballz is offline  
post #14 of 8397 Old 03-10-2008, 08:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 11,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 394
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #15 of 8397 Old 03-10-2008, 09:37 PM
Senior Member
 
viper98912's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just the one i want
viper98912 is offline  
post #16 of 8397 Old 03-10-2008, 09:41 PM
 
NathanC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Black levels? Nothing else matters to me.
NathanC is offline  
post #17 of 8397 Old 03-11-2008, 04:19 AM
Senior Member
 
viper98912's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeanM5 View Post

I tried a Mac Mini (using the included DVI to VGA adapter) and the Apple Mac OS X boot-screen logo appeared but after that it said "mode not supported". Not sure what is going on... This was one of the reasons I wanted a 1080p TV, hope I can use it.

As for picture quality, I'm seeing a bunch of artifacts ("blocks") and stuff (from Comcast HD DVR). I'm not sure if it's the source feed or what, I did not notice this on my previous (720p) TV. I'll be testing a Blu-Ray on my PS3 very shortly. I'm using these settings which were done for Samsungs previous models.

There might be hdcp issues between the two of them.

As for the pq, I really hope this artifacting is something that can be calibrated, because my brother's 4661 also had the same thing. If so, I might be stepping down to a Series 4 (which I assume is similar to the 4053).
viper98912 is offline  
post #18 of 8397 Old 03-11-2008, 07:35 AM
 
NathanC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by viper98912 View Post

As for the pq, I really hope this artifacting is something that can be calibrated, because my brother's 4661 also had the same thing. If so, I might be stepping down to a Series 4 (which I assume is similar to the 4053).

Sounds like typical macroblocking on a cable feed to me. Nothing the TV can do about it. That you can see it is a testament to the TV's quality. A bad TV would just blur the movement and mask the macroblocking. Unless it's being seen on multiple Blu-Rays or games, then it's absolutely nothing to worry about.
NathanC is offline  
post #19 of 8397 Old 03-11-2008, 03:29 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SeanM5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D92Mike View Post

Congrats. What size is that? What do you think of the silver bar at the bottom?

It's 40" (LN40A550) and the silver bar is very nice looking IMO. Certainly not distracting at all.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NathanC View Post

Black levels? Nothing else matters to me.

The black levels are pretty good I'd say. Not perfect or pitch black but I would say 90-95% there maybe? And I have not really calibrated it either so maybe that would improve it. I took a pic of a commercial where most of the screen was black (again, disclaimer - my camera is bad).



Quote:
Originally Posted by NathanC View Post

Sounds like typical macroblocking on a cable feed to me. Nothing the TV can do about it. That you can see it is a testament to the TV's quality. A bad TV would just blur the movement and mask the macroblocking. Unless it's being seen on multiple Blu-Rays or games, then it's absolutely nothing to worry about.

Yes, it only happens on my Comcast HD/DVR (most noticeable in fast motion scenes). Blu-Rays and video games have been fine so far. I guess Comcast compress the video feed too much or something. I didn't notice those on my old TV (a Samsung 720p 3251D) so you're probably right - the display on this is better and it shows more of the flaws I guess.
SeanM5 is offline  
post #20 of 8397 Old 03-11-2008, 03:41 PM
Senior Member
 
D92Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeanM5 View Post

It's 40" (LN40A550) and the silver bar is very nice looking IMO. Certainly not distracting at all..

Thanks for posting Sean. So far, you are the only one posting pics of one of these new sets from your home. I think I'm going to get the same model. I noticed in your earlier pics some screen reflection. Can you compare that with say the Samsung 4053 which also has the matte screen. And can you confirm minimal motion blur?
D92Mike is offline  
post #21 of 8397 Old 03-11-2008, 03:47 PM
 
NathanC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeanM5 View Post

Yes, it only happens on my Comcast HD/DVR (most noticeable in fast motion scenes). Blu-Rays and video games have been fine so far. I guess Comcast compress the video feed too much or something. I didn't notice those on my old TV (a Samsung 720p 3251D) so you're probably right - the display on this is better and it shows more of the flaws I guess.

Yep, sounds like standard compression artifacts then. Unfortunately it's only going to get worse as Comcast tries to squeeze more and more HD offerings into their already crowded pipeline. The move to a larger screen size also makes these artifacts more prevalent.
NathanC is offline  
post #22 of 8397 Old 03-11-2008, 05:26 PM
Senior Member
 
viper98912's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NathanC View Post

Yep, sounds like standard compression artifacts then. Unfortunately it's only going to get worse as Comcast tries to squeeze more and more HD offerings into their already crowded pipeline. The move to a larger screen size also makes these artifacts more prevalent.

Do you know if you would get these same things with satellite?

And if it's more prevalent on a 1080p, then would it be worth it to go instead to a 720p set? Seeing that it's 40", viewing distance isn't EYE KILLING CLOSE, price is probably about $400 less, and I'm not going to be using this tv for a super-crazy audiophile setup?
viper98912 is offline  
post #23 of 8397 Old 03-12-2008, 11:12 AM
Senior Member
 
fireballz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok so the 46a550 is on the samsung website... the spec sheet is here:
http://www.samsung.com/us/system/con...6a550_spec.pdf

Ok so sorry to beat a dead horse here, but it says "Clear Panel" ... are you sure its matte? Perhaps it is a semi-gloss kind of screen that Sony has going on? Can you confirm?
fireballz is offline  
post #24 of 8397 Old 03-12-2008, 11:16 AM
Senior Member
 
D92Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fireballz View Post

ok so the 46a550 is on the samsung website... the spec sheet is here:
http://www.samsung.com/us/system/con...6a550_spec.pdf

Ok so sorry to beat a dead horse here, but it says "Clear Panel" ... are you sure its matte? Perhaps it is a semi-gloss kind of screen that Sony has going on? Can you confirm?

My guess it that the series 5 is a little glossier than previous matte screens but less glossy than the new "super-clear" panels the 6 and 7 series are sporting. I will be able to tell when I see one in person
D92Mike is offline  
post #25 of 8397 Old 03-12-2008, 11:22 AM
Senior Member
 
fireballz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yup that is my thinking too mike. I look forward to your impressions
fireballz is offline  
post #26 of 8397 Old 03-12-2008, 11:26 AM
Senior Member
 
D92Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Haven't heard from Sean in a while....must be enjoying his new set. I take this as a good sign
D92Mike is offline  
post #27 of 8397 Old 03-12-2008, 11:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bpmurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 3,948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by D92Mike View Post

My guess it that the series 5 is a little glossier than previous matte screens but less glossy than the new "super-clear" panels the 6 and 7 series are sporting. I will be able to tell when I see one in person

Sounds like the XBR4 panel to me.

55HX950 l SC-1522-K l SP-PK51FS l RW12-D l XBox 360 Slim l PS3 60GB l RNG200 l P31 LIVE:BPMURR PSN:BPMURR

bpmurr is offline  
post #28 of 8397 Old 03-12-2008, 01:13 PM
Senior Member
 
D92Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"Big River" is showing the LN40A550P as available but know that it is from the Datavision vendor, not "Big River"....check vendor ratings (and shipping costs) before ordering.
http://www.resellerratings.com/store/Datavision
D92Mike is offline  
post #29 of 8397 Old 03-12-2008, 06:04 PM
Member
 
Tuffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Circuit City shows them available online and the in-store system shows stock in "the warehouse". I notice that Samsung's site now has the detail pages for the 46A550; that's the first time for any 08 model, I think.

It was interesting that the CC Product Description mentions a 42" screen, but that is apparently a mistake as the manual shows it to be 34.9 x 19.7. That sounds like the standard 40" to me.

I expect to close on one next Thursday, but would really love to see some detailed experiences added here (or someplace) between now and then.
Tuffy is offline  
post #30 of 8397 Old 03-12-2008, 06:41 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SeanM5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D92Mike View Post

Thanks for posting Sean. So far, you are the only one posting pics of one of these new sets from your home. I think I'm going to get the same model. I noticed in your earlier pics some screen reflection. Can you compare that with say the Samsung 4053 which also has the matte screen. And can you confirm minimal motion blur?

The screen reflection is only from the flash on my camera being way too bright. I don't see reflection in normal use (but I guess it would depend on where your TV is, how bright your room is, etc). I don't have any experience with the 4053 so I couldn't compare them, sorry.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fireballz View Post

ok so the 46a550 is on the samsung website... the spec sheet is here:
http://www.samsung.com/us/system/con...6a550_spec.pdf

Ok so sorry to beat a dead horse here, but it says "Clear Panel" ... are you sure its matte? Perhaps it is a semi-gloss kind of screen that Sony has going on? Can you confirm?

I just checked and it does say "Clear Panel" on the box. It certainly doesn't seem very glossy at all to me though. My iMac and MacBook computers have glossy screens and this seems nowhere near as glossy as those. Not sure if that helps you or not.

Quote:
Originally Posted by D92Mike View Post

Haven't heard from Sean in a while....must be enjoying his new set. I take this as a good sign

Haha yeah that is true, sorry about the late responses... I've been replaying a lot of Xbox 360 games and watching a lot of Blu-Ray disks and stuff. Crank on bluray looks absolutely stunning on this set.
SeanM5 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off