Official Samsung LNxxA650 Owner's Thread - Page 511 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15301 of 23508 Old 08-27-2008, 07:43 PM
Member
 
vas377's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post

Anyone who has ordered this set from Amazon and is still in their price-protection window, you might want to check the current price there.

Ordered mine last Saturday, and i have already gotten back $79.79 Now, if the darn set would only get here.
vas377 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15302 of 23508 Old 08-27-2008, 08:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lamonsasa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 3,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
DaverJ, couldnt agree more btw , AMP is disabled when GAME MODE is enabled?
lamonsasa is offline  
post #15303 of 23508 Old 08-27-2008, 08:14 PM
Member
 
vas377's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My husband and I, have been scouring the LN52A650 pdf file that we downloaded, anxiously anticipating the arrival of our new LCD TV. One thing we have been looking for in it, is if there are provisions for dressing the cables ( HDMI, etc ), down the back of the set, and ( down through ? ), the stand that it comes with. I know another day or two and we will probably know for sure, but i thought maybe someone on here could tell me if there is provisions for the dressing of cables. Also, is this shown in a setup guide or something?
vas377 is offline  
post #15304 of 23508 Old 08-27-2008, 08:19 PM
Member
 
WatchdogXC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is a rubber strap that reminds me of some laptop chargers on the back that you could tidy up your wires on the back.
WatchdogXC is offline  
post #15305 of 23508 Old 08-27-2008, 09:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rahzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 145
can someone with the 46" model tell me how wide the base is please? i searched the thread, and i guess the 52" model is 27.6", but i'm hoping the 46" is a little smaller.
rahzel is offline  
post #15306 of 23508 Old 08-27-2008, 10:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Gmo0ve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rahzel View Post

can someone with the 46" model tell me how wide the base is please? i searched the thread, and i guess the 52" model is 27.6", but i'm hoping the 46" is a little smaller.

For the 46" the base is roughly 25 1/2".

Version #3: My (current) settings for Samsung LNxxA650
Let's make this clear: Calibration IS NOT synonymous with copying settings!
Join the Samsung LCD Owners Social Group! :)
Gmo0ve is offline  
post #15307 of 23508 Old 08-27-2008, 10:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rahzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 145
thanks a lot!
rahzel is offline  
post #15308 of 23508 Old 08-27-2008, 10:15 PM
Member
 
Martinet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: So Cal
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question regarding the different picture modes. I'll be hooking up a 360 and a PS3 as well which will be run through my Marantz 5002. (so a single HDMI to the display). The PS3 will double as a gaming machine and a Blu-ray/DVD player. Now my question is, if I set up the Movie/cinema mode and game mode the way I like it, can I switch back and forth depending on the current use and will the TV remember the setting I had set?

I believe I read this is the case and that individual picture mode settings are saved to that picture mode, but I do want to know. Having to view a DVD or Blu-ray in a less than ideal calibration setting is not what I want.

Thanks a lot.
Martinet is offline  
post #15309 of 23508 Old 08-27-2008, 10:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lamonsasa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 3,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
btw DaverJ, i forgot to thank you for letting me/others know about the price drop @ amazon. feels good to save 70$
lamonsasa is offline  
post #15310 of 23508 Old 08-28-2008, 01:52 AM
Member
 
hdtvtrouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm new to this forum and i'm having trouble deciding which TV to get. I bought a Samsung LN40A650 but it had the "purple haze" so i exchanged it for a another one, the second set was worse than the first one, not only did it have the purple haze but it also had clouding among other minor issues.
I'm thinking of upgrading to the LN40A750 but i'm not sure yet if the 750 has the purple haze or not, i made a post on the 750 thread asking owners if they experienced this problem. One owner of a 650 mentioned that his set was manufactured in july 2008 and not having the haze, so my questions is: is there a pattern or a particular batch related to a specific manufacturing date to avoid?
Both sets i got were manufactured in mexico in may 2008.
I got mine from "big river" and it was a really good deal so if i could i'd rather exchange it a third time and ask for one from a specific batch to make sure i don't get the haze again.
If that's not possible i will consider paying the extra $$ to get the 750(provided the 750 don't have this haze problem).
Any suggestions will be appreciated
hdtvtrouble is offline  
post #15311 of 23508 Old 08-28-2008, 02:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rahzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 145
the A750 wasn't meant to replace the A650; therefore, its just a matter of getting a TV that was manufactured at a later date. i know its not fun hauling a fairly large TV to a store (or ship, i dunno where Big River is as i'm in Canada) but personally, i don't think its worth it to jump up to the A750.

just my opinion...
rahzel is offline  
post #15312 of 23508 Old 08-28-2008, 02:36 AM
Member
 
hdtvtrouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rahzel View Post

the A750 wasn't meant to replace the A650; therefore, its just a matter of getting a TV that was manufactured at a later date. i know its not fun hauling a fairly large TV to a store (or ship, i dunno where Big River is as i'm in Canada) but personally, i don't think its worth it to jump up to the A750.

just my opinion...

"big River" is a term used here on the forum for amazon.com, i didn't know what it was at first either but i kept seeing the term while reading this forum and figured it out.
It shouldn't be a problem returning the set as long i can get one without the haze but i'm not sure if you can get to pick and choose as far as manufacturing dates.
I bought my set a couple weeks ago and both the first and the replacement were manufactured in may 2008.
Did anyone purchase their LN40A650 recently from amazon.com and got one without the haze and with a different manufacturing date than may 2008?
hdtvtrouble is offline  
post #15313 of 23508 Old 08-28-2008, 05:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,574
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvtrouble View Post

"big River" is a term used here on the forum for amazon.com, i didn't know what it was at first either but i kept seeing the term while reading this forum and figured it out.

Well, ok... thanks for that explanation -- I had no idea either.

Any reason not to simply say Amazon? Is it against forum policy to mention them, or is it just fun to have confusing .net terminology?


Sub-1080p/60fps is not next-gen.


Console gamers curious/interested in PC gaming? Click here.
DaverJ is offline  
post #15314 of 23508 Old 08-28-2008, 05:49 AM
Member
 
hdtvtrouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post

Well, ok... thanks for that explanation -- I had no idea either.

Any reason not to simply say Amazon? Is it against forum policy to mention them, or is it just fun to have confusing .net terminology?


I'm not sure if it's against forum policy, i'm new to this forum and i've noticed that the term is being used a lot so i figured there must be a reason
hdtvtrouble is offline  
post #15315 of 23508 Old 08-28-2008, 06:08 AM
Member
 
buffalofloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I bought my LN52A650 from CC on 05/23/08 and returned it 3 weeks later because of a stuck pixel, still under the 30 day warranty. They delivered me a new one and it has no pixel issues. Unfortunately when they delivered it I left for vacation the next day and was gone for over a month. I came back to watching the tv and noticed there are most certainly flashlight issues when the screen is very dark or black. This is extremely upsetting becasue my other tv didn't have this problem at all and I didn't really bother to check it out before I left for vaca. I don't have the extended warranty from CC and my 30 days has expired.

Does anyone have any suggestions? Are others having these flashlight issues in the corners? Please help, I'm listening!

Thank you,
Jim
buffalofloyd is offline  
post #15316 of 23508 Old 08-28-2008, 06:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
phousley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dublin, OH (Columbus area)
Posts: 636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post

Well, ok... thanks for that explanation -- I had no idea either.

Any reason not to simply say Amazon? Is it against forum policy to mention them, or is it just fun to have confusing .net terminology?

It's against forum policy to discuss pricing, where to buy, find deals, etc. Big river was just a lame attempt to avoid detection by the moderator.

SA8300HDC - ODN 5.2.0_9 - 1TB eSATA

phousley is offline  
post #15317 of 23508 Old 08-28-2008, 06:49 AM
Member
 
whooty-who's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vas377 View Post

Ordered mine last Saturday, and i have already gotten back $79.79 Now, if the darn set would only get here.

Heads up on something I just now discovered when tracking my shipment.

I checked the website for the shipper listed at amazon, put in the tracking info from amazon and discovered that they show it arriving 3 days earlier than listed at amazon.

That'll help on planning ahead to be home on that day.
whooty-who is offline  
post #15318 of 23508 Old 08-28-2008, 07:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jp_tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,061
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by phousley View Post

It's against forum policy to discuss pricing, where to buy, find deals, etc. Big river was just a lame attempt to avoid detection by the moderator.

A policy that no one seems to comply with.
jp_tech is offline  
post #15319 of 23508 Old 08-28-2008, 09:12 AM
Newbie
 
Cootroc7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does anybody have firmware 2003.0 and experienced any audio dropouts via HDMI? my cable box (motorola) seems to cut in and out every so often for about a second at a time. I checked my PS3/BR player, and they dont have this issue. switched cables and inputs, and the poroblem seems to solely exist with the cable box. should i get the 2001.3 version? my tv came with the 2003.0, so that how i have this newer version.
Cootroc7 is offline  
post #15320 of 23508 Old 08-28-2008, 09:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
phousley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dublin, OH (Columbus area)
Posts: 636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cootroc7 View Post

does anybody have firmware 2003.0 and experienced any audio dropouts via HDMI? my cable box (motorola) seems to cut in and out every so often for about a second at a time. I checked my PS3/BR player, and they dont have this issue. switched cables and inputs, and the poroblem seems to solely exist with the cable box. should i get the 2001.3 version? my tv came with the 2003.0, so that how i have this newer version.

If you've established that it only happens with your cable box, why would you want to change your TV? You've already established that it works with your PS3. I'd have a discussion with your cable provider or just switch to component.

SA8300HDC - ODN 5.2.0_9 - 1TB eSATA

phousley is offline  
post #15321 of 23508 Old 08-28-2008, 09:38 AM
Senior Member
 
mkaz527's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post

I bought the 46A650 specifically for a gameroom I'm building. It also doubles as occasional TV viewing during morning coffee and I just hooked up a DVI to HDMI cable to connect it to a PC.

Hooking it up to an Xbox360 and/or PS3 via HDMI, setting the consoles for 1080p and putting the TV into game mode and you have a SENSATIONAL display -- beautiful, bright colors, super-deep blacks with little to no discernable lag. Going into game mode turns off most of the image tweaking and processing options like AMP, but it doesn't bother me one bit because it looks so good.

I can't imagine a better gaming TV.

I think Game Mode looks terrible. The adjustable options are so limited, it's hardly worth it. Sharpness is out of control, my 360 and PS3 games have worse jaggies on Game Mode than my Wii. Color is over saturated and the gamma is whacked.

I've had zero issues with lag on my A650. From Rock Band to Madden to GTA, it's been a seamless experience. To me, Game Mode is for people who think games should be bright and shiny, no one else.

Just my opinion. Your results may vary.

LN52A650
42HDS69
mkaz527 is offline  
post #15322 of 23508 Old 08-28-2008, 09:50 AM
Member
 
vas377's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just received the first of 3 packages from "big river" ( unfortunately its not the LN52A650 ).

I ordered a couple of different HDMI cables from them. One was for $10, and the other one for $1.50 ( both were HDMI ).

I'm sure there must be a difference in the quality of the cable vs the price. I bought one for the cable box - TV, and one for the Oppo player - TV. The higher priced one is gonna be for the cable box, and the cheapy for the DVD player.

So.... just what is the difference between them ( besides the price ). And if i order anymore HDMI cables, is there something i should be looking for, like a specific quality ( cause there is nothing on the cable that was delivered today ), that is was higher quality than any other cable.
vas377 is offline  
post #15323 of 23508 Old 08-28-2008, 10:36 AM
Senior Member
 
jdang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: san diego
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvtrouble View Post

"big River" is a term used here on the forum for amazon.com, i didn't know what it was at first either but i kept seeing the term while reading this forum and figured it out.

Thanks, I kept typing thenile.com
jdang is offline  
post #15324 of 23508 Old 08-28-2008, 10:49 AM
Member
 
vas377's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vas377 View Post

Just received the first of 3 packages from "big river" ( unfortunately its not the LN52A650 ).

I ordered a couple of different HDMI cables from them. One was for $10, and the other one for $1.50 ( both were HDMI ).

I'm sure there must be a difference in the quality of the cable vs the price. I bought one for the cable box - TV, and one for the Oppo player - TV. The higher priced one is gonna be for the cable box, and the cheapy for the DVD player.

So.... just what is the difference between them ( besides the price ). And if i order anymore HDMI cables, is there something i should be looking for, like a specific quality ( cause there is nothing on the cable that was delivered today ), that is was higher quality than any other cable.

Never mind folks. Did some surfing on Google and got the answer. For those who don't know the answer..... there is NO difference in the quality of the video or the audio, cause in HDMI, the signals are either ON or OFF. There is no degration with a poorer cable..... if the cable is of such inferior quality, that the signals are no longer ON or OFF, then there will be no signal delivered.

Read this on several different threads ( by supposed experts ). So the difference between a $100 HDMI cable and a $2 HDMI cable of equal lenghts, is $98. No difference in the quality of the signal at video or audio levels.

I hope this doesn't get me flamed, for posting this
vas377 is offline  
post #15325 of 23508 Old 08-28-2008, 10:59 AM
Newbie
 
Cootroc7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by phousley View Post

If you've established that it only happens with your cable box, why would you want to change your TV? You've already established that it works with your PS3. I'd have a discussion with your cable provider or just switch to component.

i dont want to change my TV, just possibly the firmware. i have talked with time warner, and they have no newer model boxes than the one i have, and even had them switch out box anyways. guess i will just live with the component cable until i get a new provider in my area.

was just trying to see if someone has run across this problem and knew what the problem was, and how to fix it.
Cootroc7 is offline  
post #15326 of 23508 Old 08-28-2008, 11:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,574
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkaz527 View Post

To me, Game Mode is for people who think games should be bright and shiny, no one else.

I guess that's me.

Ever since my 46A650 arrived a couple weeks ago, I've played Gears of War, Ratchet and Clank Future Tools of Destruction, Geometry Wars 2, Battlefield: Bad Company, Mario Galaxy, Rock Band and currently Too Human... all look awesome (exception: Mario... I can't do standard def gaming anymore! )

Unlike movies, I think games are to be rich, sharp, and detailed. When I'm playing a game, I need to see everything in the darkest cave with zero black crush. I also want bright scenes to pop and colors to look better than real life.

And when I push a button on the controller, I better see the reaction on-screen at that precise instant.

Game Mode gets me all of the above. I'll admit it is a little frustrating not being able to tweak the settings -- this TV has such a sharp and contrasty image that jaggies are pronounced.

But I'll take the jaggies when they look this good.


Sub-1080p/60fps is not next-gen.


Console gamers curious/interested in PC gaming? Click here.
DaverJ is offline  
post #15327 of 23508 Old 08-28-2008, 11:11 AM
Member
 
ChuckSF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: San Francisco peninsula
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Last night I purchased a Samsung LN19A650 to be used in a master bath or possibly a kitchen or even an exercise room.

I picked Samsung after reading that the Sharp 19" had inferior speakers and weak sound.

At the time I noticed that the Sharp screen looked very squished vertically (or stretched horizontally) compared to the Samsung. This is consistent with the resolutions:

Sharp = 1366 x 768 which is 16:9
Samsung=1440 x 900 which is 16:10

It seemed that since the Samsung had more pixels, it didn't matter that it was 16:10. (Afterall, 720p is 1280 by 720 which corresponds to neither product.) When I got home and tuned to some live HD, then I realized that the Samsung shape wasn't ideal. Samsung allows you to either:

a) Fill their screen by stretching the HD image vertically or
b) Display a true 16:9 image and leave black bars above and below the image

Should I have buyer's remorse?

Chuck
ChuckSF is offline  
post #15328 of 23508 Old 08-28-2008, 11:12 AM
Senior Member
 
jdang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: san diego
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vas377 View Post

Never mind folks. Did some surfing on Google and got the answer. For those who don't know the answer..... there is NO difference in the quality of the video or the audio, cause in HDMI, the signals are either ON or OFF. There is no degration with a poorer cable..... if the cable is of such inferior quality, that the signals are no longer ON or OFF, then there will be no signal delivered.

Read this on several different threads ( by supposed experts ). So the difference between a $100 HDMI cable and a $2 HDMI cable of equal lenghts, is $98. No difference in the quality of the signal at video or audio levels.

I hope this doesn't get me flamed, for posting this

Not the right thread but this is wrong IMO. Just like when digital phones came out they said the signal will always be perfect, or no signal at all.

I'm no expert, but 0's and 1's can still be lost.
jdang is offline  
post #15329 of 23508 Old 08-28-2008, 11:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
phousley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dublin, OH (Columbus area)
Posts: 636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdang View Post

I'm no expert...

Then you might want to do a little research.

SA8300HDC - ODN 5.2.0_9 - 1TB eSATA

phousley is offline  
post #15330 of 23508 Old 08-28-2008, 11:29 AM
Newbie
 
wildcatgc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys,

This is my first post - great forum.

I recently purchased the LN52A650 model.

1) I know this sounds funny, but people's skin on the HD channels sometimes looks "splotchy". I don't know if this is relevant to this "problem", but I have digital cable (couldn't get a certain satellite provider due to trees in my back yard). Has anyone else experienced this?

2) Again, this may be a cable issue, but every time an HD broadcast shows a camera change, the screen gets a little blurry.

3) Would switching to a competing satellite service (if available) be better than cable???

Thanks in advance.

wildcatgc
wildcatgc is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung 37 Inch Lcd Hdtv Ln37a550 , Samsung 19 Inch Lcd Hdtv Ln19a650 , Lcd Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off