Official Samsung LNxxA650 Owner's Thread - Page 529 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15841 of 23507 Old 09-10-2008, 05:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
DavidML3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I just bought a ln52a650 from amazon and I have firmware 2004.0

Does anyone else have this firmware?
DavidML3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15842 of 23507 Old 09-10-2008, 06:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jp_tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,061
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidML3 View Post

I just bought a ln52a650 from amazon and I have firmware 2004.0

Does anyone else have this firmware?

Look at the post directly above yours.
jp_tech is offline  
post #15843 of 23507 Old 09-10-2008, 06:16 PM
Member
 
darelldd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oooh, I'm gonna get in trouble... I just know it. I saw the answer in this very thread, and now can't find it after 15 minutes of searching.

How the heck do I check what firmware I have? No, I have no issues, and don't wish to upgrade. I'm just curious. I go to "SW update" and it searches for USB... and fails. Doesn't tell me what the current firmware is. Can't figure out for myself how to find it...and can't find the answer in the thread. I'm not worthy.

Help?

Oh, and then one more while I'm in the dog house already... I keep hearing people talk about pressing the info button, and seeing what the resolution is of the source. I press the info button and get NOTHING. What magic thing do I need to be doing to have that info button actually tell me something?

Thanks tons.

- Darell
darelldd is offline  
post #15844 of 23507 Old 09-10-2008, 06:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jp_tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,061
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by darelldd View Post

Oooh, I'm gonna get in trouble... I just know it. I saw the answer in this very thread, and now can't find it after 15 minutes of searching.

How the heck do I check what firmware I have? No, I have no issues, and don't wish to upgrade. I'm just curious. I go to "SW update" and it searches for USB... and fails. Doesn't tell me what the current firmware is. Can't figure out for myself how to find it...and can't find the answer in the thread. I'm not worthy.

Help?

Don't hit the enter/ok button. Just HIGHLIGHT SW Update and then press the Info button and the info will display on the bottom.
jp_tech is offline  
post #15845 of 23507 Old 09-10-2008, 06:23 PM
Senior Member
 
tgrinch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Hit menu->Setup, highlight SW Upgrade. then hit Info on the remote-- it'll show the firmware version on the bottom of the screen.
tgrinch is offline  
post #15846 of 23507 Old 09-10-2008, 06:55 PM
Senior Member
 
mekkerl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidML3 View Post

I just bought a ln52a650 from amazon and I have firmware 2004.0

Does anyone else have this firmware?

I purchased a 46 from CC and it came with 2004.0; about 3 days old and no problems yet!! (that I know of)
mekkerl is offline  
post #15847 of 23507 Old 09-10-2008, 07:38 PM
Member
 
webdzynes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all I'm trying to upgrade the firmware but the set isnt recognizing the USB drive. I downloaded the file to the drive and there is a folder (T-AMBAUSC) showing up but nothing that seems executable. Will the TV know enough to open the folder and seek the necessary files and install them?
webdzynes is offline  
post #15848 of 23507 Old 09-10-2008, 08:55 PM
Member
 
darelldd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the firmware/info info!

Apparently 1004.2 for me. And build date of April 16, 2008 (apparently everybody with this firmware has the same build date. (purchased from Amazon in August).

Doesn't sound like there is any advantage in updating as I've not had any issues.

- Darell
darelldd is offline  
post #15849 of 23507 Old 09-10-2008, 09:08 PM
Member
 
WetLight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the 46a650 and i have Comcast as my cable company.
I have 3 problems now and i very much apreciate any assistance with any of them.

1. When i click on CC on the remote it says "not available".

2. Has anyone heard of a 650 series which the AMP does not work? I have tried the demo, tried it off and then on, and both me and my wife cannot see any difference.

3. All my SDs channels are so pixelated that i cannot watch, it is horrible. Any settings you advice to improve it?

Thanks a lot!!
WetLight is offline  
post #15850 of 23507 Old 09-10-2008, 10:05 PM
Senior Member
 
ninjachicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jp_tech View Post

There is no comparison between HD LCD's and a 35mm movie theater projector. The LCD blows it away in PQ - detail, sharpness, brightness etc. The main reason for going to theater is for the giant screen IMO. I don't know why so many people compare their HD sets to a theater. Of course, digital projection and IMAX theaters are starting to close the gap.


Of course I'm going to compare my HDTV to theater. Isn't that the reason people buy big TVs? To have the big picture experience at home. What else would I compare my HDTV to? A microwave?

I'm not trying to make an argument. I'm just enjoying the quality this LN52A650 has given me for the past few months and I'll thank most of the people in this thread/forum for that
ninjachicken is offline  
post #15851 of 23507 Old 09-10-2008, 10:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
Gmo0ve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ninjachicken View Post

Of course I'm going to compare my HDTV to theater. Isn't that the reason people buy big TVs? To have the big picture experience at home.

Minus the gum on the floor and seats, kids running around, people who have to make a comment for every scene and the dizziness I feel after the movie is over. The nausea is something I can do without. Other than that I agree.

Version #3: My (current) settings for Samsung LNxxA650
Let's make this clear: Calibration IS NOT synonymous with copying settings!
Join the Samsung LCD Owners Social Group! :)
Gmo0ve is offline  
post #15852 of 23507 Old 09-10-2008, 10:22 PM
Member
 
lleka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm reading some have a new FW 2004.0 if this is our where can I get it. Samsung sight only shows 2001.3 under new FW that is available for down load.
lleka is offline  
post #15853 of 23507 Old 09-10-2008, 11:30 PM
Member
 
recorder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lleka View Post

I'm reading some have a new FW 2004.0 if this is our where can I get it. Samsung sight only shows 2001.3 under new FW that is available for down load.

Samsung has not issued any further f/w updates.
Their tech support people say any later factory installed f/w is stable. No need to upgrade at this time. My 52A650 is 2003.0. It works fine.
If it ain't broke, don't fix it!
recorder is offline  
post #15854 of 23507 Old 09-10-2008, 11:42 PM
Member
 
WetLight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by recorder View Post

Samsung has not issued any further f/w updates.
Their tech support people say any later factory installed f/w is stable. No need to upgrade at this time. My 52A650 is 2003.0. It works fine.
If it ain't broke, don't fix it!

Although it might be working fine for you, then why is Samsung sending the new TVs out with new firmware?
WetLight is offline  
post #15855 of 23507 Old 09-11-2008, 03:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
Gmo0ve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've just created a social group for all Samsung LCD owners for the fun of it. Let's see how many cool owners we can get in the group. The more the merrier!

Click here for the link to all of the Social Groups available, including Samsung LCD Owners.

I haven't posted in the other Samsung LCD threads yet. In the meantime, spread the word to the other Samsung LCD owners!

Version #3: My (current) settings for Samsung LNxxA650
Let's make this clear: Calibration IS NOT synonymous with copying settings!
Join the Samsung LCD Owners Social Group! :)
Gmo0ve is offline  
post #15856 of 23507 Old 09-11-2008, 05:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,572
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by WetLight View Post

2. Has anyone heard of a 650 series which the AMP does not work? I have tried the demo, tried it off and then on, and both me and my wife cannot see any difference.

Try a movie with pans/zooms... you should see a difference.


Sub-1080p/60fps is not next-gen.


Console gamers curious/interested in PC gaming? Click here.
DaverJ is offline  
post #15857 of 23507 Old 09-11-2008, 11:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jonnyozero3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: 000000N 0000000E
Posts: 1,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hello Gents,

I'm trying to help out my dad who wants to purchase a new Samsung LN40A650. Are there any forum vendors I can point him to with excellent pricing? (I know, no talk). He ordered from Amazon but is having a boondoggle with their $200 rebate that really isn't a rebate crap, even though they listed it as cash (a rebate on sports memoriablia, wtf is that?). Just looking to point him in a good direction if I can and he can't get Amazon to honor the rebate.

Thanks for the help. I'm searching through vendors on the top links right now too....

Edit - I see plasma concepts carries them, but the price isn't the best I've seen. Any other places I missed? Or is there a coupon for AVS members I don't know about?

- Jon
"010 Meh"
jonnyozero3 is offline  
post #15858 of 23507 Old 09-11-2008, 11:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Tiyuri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyozero3 View Post

Hello Gents,

I'm trying to help out my dad who wants to purchase a new Samsung LN40A650. Are there any forum vendors I can point him to with excellent pricing? (I know, no talk). He ordered from Amazon but is having a boondoggle with their $200 rebate that really isn't a rebate crap, even though they listed it as cash (a rebate on sports memoriablia, wtf is that?). Just looking to point him in a good direction if I can and he can't get Amazon to honor the rebate.

Thanks for the help. I'm searching through vendors on the top links right now too....

i would stick with Amazon. Assuming he bought it before 9/1 he can play the POPG game and get refunds as the price drops. Amazon's price is fair compared to other vendors and CEVA in my experience does a good job with delivery. I don't think you find it for $200 less from a reputable vendor,
Tiyuri is offline  
post #15859 of 23507 Old 09-11-2008, 02:30 PM
Senior Member
 
snsguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not sure this has been asked, I've searched through this thread and have found what seems to be similar but isn't exactly the same problem. I am having a split second delay happening between my LN46A650 LCD and my Onkyo HTR540. The audio is a split second fater then the picture. I've noticed people having that problem plugged only into the tv, which that doesn't seem to be a problem. It's when I am using my reciever as the audio source and going directly from the the source to the tv. Exanple, XBOX 360 plugged directly to the tv component, audio to reciever from the 360 fiber optic. Sony NS75H Upconverter dvd player using HDMI to tv and fiber optic to reciever for audio. Both sources are a split second faster for the audio and a split second late to the tv. I've tried using the ms audio delay on my dvd player but tat makes it worse rather then better. Anyone have any ideas. Thanks.

SNSGUY
snsguy is offline  
post #15860 of 23507 Old 09-11-2008, 03:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jonnyozero3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: 000000N 0000000E
Posts: 1,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiyuri View Post

i would stick with Amazon. Assuming he bought it before 9/1 he can play the POPG game and get refunds as the price drops. Amazon's price is fair compared to other vendors and CEVA in my experience does a good job with delivery. I don't think you find it for $200 less from a reputable vendor,

Great, thanks!

- Jon
"010 Meh"
jonnyozero3 is offline  
post #15861 of 23507 Old 09-11-2008, 04:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fjerina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 1,451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
How do I check the firmware verison on my 650? Could not find it in my owner's manual. Thanks.
fjerina is offline  
post #15862 of 23507 Old 09-11-2008, 04:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jp_tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,061
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fjerina View Post

How do I check the firmware verison on my 650? Could not find it in my owner's manual. Thanks.

Go back one page. Post #15862 and 15863.
jp_tech is offline  
post #15863 of 23507 Old 09-11-2008, 04:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fjerina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 1,451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks jp_tech, I have version 2004.0.
fjerina is offline  
post #15864 of 23507 Old 09-11-2008, 04:28 PM
Member
 
recorder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WetLight View Post

Although it might be working fine for you, then why is Samsung sending the new TVs out with new firmware?

It is standard practice to create a new firmware each time the production run changes.
My set was mfg 6/30/08.
A set with a panel mfg in August would not have the same.

Firmware is only released to the public for bug fixes, or feature enhancements.
recorder is offline  
post #15865 of 23507 Old 09-11-2008, 08:31 PM
Senior Member
 
snsguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by snsguy View Post

I'm not sure this has been asked, I've searched through this thread and have found what seems to be similar but isn't exactly the same problem. I am having a split second delay happening between my LN46A650 LCD and my Onkyo HTR540. The audio is a split second fater then the picture. I've noticed people having that problem plugged only into the tv, which that doesn't seem to be a problem. It's when I am using my reciever as the audio source and going directly from the the source to the tv. Exanple, XBOX 360 plugged directly to the tv component, audio to reciever from the 360 fiber optic. Sony NS75H Upconverter dvd player using HDMI to tv and fiber optic to reciever for audio. Both sources are a split second faster for the audio and a split second late to the tv. I've tried using the ms audio delay on my dvd player but tat makes it worse rather then better. Anyone have any ideas. Thanks.

SNSGUY

Anyone????
snsguy is offline  
post #15866 of 23507 Old 09-12-2008, 03:33 AM
Senior Member
 
MonkeyGoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Santa Ana, CA
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are 4 things you can do on the TV to lessen the video delay:

1) Turn ON Game Mode (its one of the entertainment modes)

2) Use the TV's VGA input

3) Turn OFF 120hz motion enhancement

4) Relabel your video input to "PC"

#1 & 2 will be most effective and will rid almost all of the delay

#3 & 4 will lessen it marginally, but should still help
MonkeyGoD is offline  
post #15867 of 23507 Old 09-12-2008, 04:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
wstanko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canonsburg, PA (Steeler Country)
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by snsguy View Post

I'm not sure this has been asked, I've searched through this thread and have found what seems to be similar but isn't exactly the same problem. I am having a split second delay happening between my LN46A650 LCD and my Onkyo HTR540. The audio is a split second fater then the picture. I've noticed people having that problem plugged only into the tv, which that doesn't seem to be a problem. It's when I am using my reciever as the audio source and going directly from the the source to the tv. Exanple, XBOX 360 plugged directly to the tv component, audio to reciever from the 360 fiber optic. Sony NS75H Upconverter dvd player using HDMI to tv and fiber optic to reciever for audio. Both sources are a split second faster for the audio and a split second late to the tv. I've tried using the ms audio delay on my dvd player but tat makes it worse rather then better. Anyone have any ideas. Thanks.


SNSGUY

I had a DVD last week that was out of sync. Thank goodness it is not the rule of thumb, but I had already started the "remedy process" in my mind. One think that I was going to try was rerouting my audio optical using the Samsung's 5.1 out to the receiver. I thought that this would put the television's processor in charge of syncing the audio/video.
wstanko is offline  
post #15868 of 23507 Old 09-12-2008, 04:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
Gmo0ve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With my Onkyo 606 I've set the A/V Sync to 40ms delay. I didn't bother adjusting the DVD sync. I'm using HDMI connections. If your Onkyo has an A/V sync delay, try that.

Version #3: My (current) settings for Samsung LNxxA650
Let's make this clear: Calibration IS NOT synonymous with copying settings!
Join the Samsung LCD Owners Social Group! :)
Gmo0ve is offline  
post #15869 of 23507 Old 09-12-2008, 04:41 AM
Senior Member
 
vanylapep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have finally experienced the sound glitch problemS when i'm on HDMI/Satellite receiver. Three variations:

1. A 'pop' sound then goes to mute.
2. A 'noise' (bzzz bzz bzzz) looping sound taking over.
3. A lighter 'noise' (bip bip bip) looping sound on top of tv sound.

Anyone got tips for this one? I see people in this thread exchanging their units instead of fixing it.. I have my tv for about 3.5 weeks? I bought the last one at the time.

Is this a tv problem or a receiver problem?
vanylapep is offline  
post #15870 of 23507 Old 09-12-2008, 05:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
HeffeMusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by snsguy View Post

I'm not sure this has been asked, I've searched through this thread and have found what seems to be similar but isn't exactly the same problem. I am having a split second delay happening between my LN46A650 LCD and my Onkyo HTR540. The audio is a split second fater then the picture. I've noticed people having that problem plugged only into the tv, which that doesn't seem to be a problem. It's when I am using my reciever as the audio source and going directly from the the source to the tv. Exanple, XBOX 360 plugged directly to the tv component, audio to reciever from the 360 fiber optic. Sony NS75H Upconverter dvd player using HDMI to tv and fiber optic to reciever for audio. Both sources are a split second faster for the audio and a split second late to the tv. I've tried using the ms audio delay on my dvd player but tat makes it worse rather then better. Anyone have any ideas. Thanks.

SNSGUY

The Delay has nothing to do with your TV, it is the amp. and the Cable/satalite feed. You have to go into the Onkyo settings and change the delay times.
HeffeMusic is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung 37 Inch Lcd Hdtv Ln37a550 , Samsung 19 Inch Lcd Hdtv Ln19a650 , Lcd Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off