Official Samsung LNxxA650 Owner's Thread - Page 532 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15931 of 23512 Old 09-13-2008, 06:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wtfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by vanylapep View Post

Hi guys,

I have heard that Toshiba tv can show the full 1080p frame without garbage chopping*. However, it seems that this tv doesn't have such options, does it?

*Usually, on the tv, it cuts out maybe 1cm from each side of the full image, loosing about 5% to 10% of picture.

If you are connected to HDMI, you can move the picture by a few cm in any directions to get rid of the noise.
wtfer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15932 of 23512 Old 09-13-2008, 06:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wtfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Oh to any owners who watch in complete darkness, I really recommend bias lighting.

I bought the Cryon 6 pack from amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Cyron-Light-Sy.../dp/B000V1NW7G

Best $60 I ever spent.
Place them behind the TV & turn off all the lights in the house & you get much better black levels due to the contrast of the lights behind the TV. Of course you still have to lower the backlight some & not have it at max or anything like that.
Normally there is some faint glow to the blacks, but with the bias lighting, the black levels look as good as any Pioneer Kuro plasma in a complete dark room.

In fact I did some messing around & got the black levels to a point where they completely faded into the bezel.
wtfer is offline  
post #15933 of 23512 Old 09-13-2008, 07:06 PM
Member
 
lleka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What's up eveyone
Can anyone tell why when I'm watching bluray over ps3 I'll hit the info button and it'll read 1920x1080@60Hz and sometime it'll read 1920x1080@24Hz. Do some bluray discs show differently normally and which of the two #s are better for PQ.
lleka is offline  
post #15934 of 23512 Old 09-13-2008, 07:13 PM
Member
 
lleka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hello everyone

Can someone explain what the difference is between 1920x1080@60Hz and 1920x1080@24Hz is cuz I sometime see these different #s when watching bluray over ps3. And which is better PQ wise.
lleka is offline  
post #15935 of 23512 Old 09-13-2008, 07:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
taurus2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 4,322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Get into your PS3 menu and set it to 24Hz if you watch a blu-ray movie on it.

Go 24
taurus2007 is offline  
post #15936 of 23512 Old 09-13-2008, 07:26 PM
Member
 
lleka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by taurus2007 View Post

Get into your PS3 menu and set it to 24Hz if you watch a blu-ray movie on it.

I'll try but I didn't see that option
Thank's
lleka is offline  
post #15937 of 23512 Old 09-13-2008, 07:28 PM
Member
 
lleka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can you tell me what the difference between the two are
lleka is offline  
post #15938 of 23512 Old 09-13-2008, 08:28 PM
Newbie
 
SeauxCrazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by studdad View Post

If you have the DNR setting on, turn it to OFF.

Thanks, that helped some. Anybody else have any ideas on cutting out the blur.

I'm at a lost at what to do though, its kind of starting to annoy me hah!


Anyone think I should update the firmware? Is there any issues relating to this?
SeauxCrazy is offline  
post #15939 of 23512 Old 09-13-2008, 08:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,648
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by lleka View Post

Can you tell me what the difference between the two are

Filmed movies are usually shot to playback at 24 frames per second. Interlaced video (e.g. "1080i") is 30 frames per second, also called 60 fields per second.

So depending on the input source (how the Blu-Ray was mastered), the info when you hit "display" will change.

Console gamers curious/interested in PC gaming? Click here.
DaverJ is offline  
post #15940 of 23512 Old 09-13-2008, 08:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wtfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeauxCrazy View Post

Thanks, that helped some. Anybody else have any ideas on cutting out the blur.

I'm at a lost at what to do though, its kind of starting to annoy me hah!


Anyone think I should update the firmware? Is there any issues relating to this?

I never saw any blurring during the scrolling text during NBC/ABC/FOX etc segments. Are you watching in SD or in HD?
wtfer is offline  
post #15941 of 23512 Old 09-13-2008, 09:04 PM
Newbie
 
vtinwv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just purchased a 40a650 today and unfortunately, I am already experiencing a couple of problems. After my tv has been on for approx. 5 minutes, my remote no longer works, even though the tv light turns on as though it is receiving a signal from the remote. In addition, the volume goes off and is replaced by a loud, intolerable, buzzing/humming noise.
If I unplug the tv, wait a few seconds and plug it back in, then it works, but only for about 5 minutes or so and then these problems start all over again. Has anyone else experienced this?
I called customer service and they are sending a technician - they think it might have something to do with a firmware update that was installed.
vtinwv is offline  
post #15942 of 23512 Old 09-13-2008, 09:41 PM
Senior Member
 
mkaz527's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wtfer View Post

Oh to any owners who watch in complete darkness, I really recommend bias lighting.

I bought the Cryon 6 pack from amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Cyron-Light-Sy.../dp/B000V1NW7G

Best $60 I ever spent.
Place them behind the TV & turn off all the lights in the house & you get much better black levels due to the contrast of the lights behind the TV. Of course you still have to lower the backlight some & not have it at max or anything like that.
Normally there is some faint glow to the blacks, but with the bias lighting, the black levels look as good as any Pioneer Kuro plasma in a complete dark room.

In fact I did some messing around & got the black levels to a point where they completely faded into the bezel.

I was just about to post this! Just bought them today (half that price at Cosco, amazing!) and I am soooo impressed. The black level and contrast is through the roof. Oh yeah, and any flashlighting problems I was experiencing are completely gone! Gone I tell you. I was considering returning the set due to the flashlights, but boy am I glad I held onto this. Get these lights. Get them today. You have not seen this TV until you set this up. Best part: Setup took less than an hour.

LN52A650
42HDS69
mkaz527 is offline  
post #15943 of 23512 Old 09-13-2008, 10:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
studdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lleka View Post

What's up eveyone
Can anyone tell why when I'm watching bluray over ps3 I'll hit the info button and it'll read 1920x1080@60Hz and sometime it'll read 1920x1080@24Hz. Do some bluray discs show differently normally and which of the two #s are better for PQ.

It sounds like your PS3 is set to auto, which is what you want. In this setting, the PS3 will deliver 60hz unless the BD supports 24hz. In that case it will send 24. In 24 it will do a 5:5 pulldown, which is what a lot of people want because then there is no Judder caused by a 3:2 pulldown (when doing 60hz). However, if you use AMP, your judder goes away anyway, so either is fine. To be honest, I really cannot tell much if any of a difference. So, I just leave it on auto and let it do what it wants, lol.

52" Samsung 750, finally satisfaction
studdad is offline  
post #15944 of 23512 Old 09-13-2008, 10:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
42041's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 3,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 54
With the 650 it doesn't seem to matter if its 24hz or 60hz, the TV is smart enough to do 5:5 pulldown on both sources.
42041 is offline  
post #15945 of 23512 Old 09-13-2008, 10:47 PM
Newbie
 
irdmoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 42041 View Post

With the 650 it doesn't seem to matter if its 24hz or 60hz, the TV is smart enough to do 5:5 pulldown on both sources.

Well, I just finished watching Transformers on BD, and this set simply blew me away. I haven't seen the "flashlighting" effect you guys are talking about (of course I'm not 100% sure either since I haven't really researched this tread a whole lot), but I must say... If you have a BD 2.0 compatible player, you MUST get Transformers.

Only major problem I have is I just got this set replaced @ BBY because the last one had pixels dying in the first week. The minor one is that when hooked up to my PC certain reds seem to smear a bit either through VGA or HDMI/DVI.

Anywho, I'm in love with this thing, and asside from certain reds being funky it's great as a close-up (within 24" from the screen) PC monitor.

Moose
irdmoose is offline  
post #15946 of 23512 Old 09-13-2008, 10:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Gmo0ve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Reds being "funky" is either red push or a skewed value in the Grayscale. Color, Tint and Color Space are helpful for red push while White Balance is for Grayscale. Using the right color temp is critical too.

Version #3: My (current) settings for Samsung LNxxA650
Let's make this clear: Calibration IS NOT synonymous with copying settings!
Join the Samsung LCD Owners Social Group! :)
Gmo0ve is offline  
post #15947 of 23512 Old 09-13-2008, 11:04 PM
Newbie
 
irdmoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gmo0ve View Post

Reds being "funky" is either red push or a skewed value in the Grayscale. Color, Tint and Color Space are helpful for red push while White Balance is for Grayscale. Using the right color temp is critical too.

Welp, unfortunately all of those options are disabled in "PC" mode. Hopefully when the BBY guy comes to calibrate the set in a couple weeks, he'll be able to tune it out. I've noticed by switching to the "Cool" color temps it helps reduce the smearing, but the colors don't display properly then (i.e. whites are bluish, etc.). I've tweaked the color space on the other inputs... it just won't let me on the PC inputs.

Like I said it's minor (I think my previous A550 had it, but was reduced because it was a 37" panel vs. a 40" A650).
irdmoose is offline  
post #15948 of 23512 Old 09-13-2008, 11:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Gmo0ve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ah, I should read more thoroughly. I didn't see the PC parts.

Hopefully the calibrator can save the day.

Version #3: My (current) settings for Samsung LNxxA650
Let's make this clear: Calibration IS NOT synonymous with copying settings!
Join the Samsung LCD Owners Social Group! :)
Gmo0ve is offline  
post #15949 of 23512 Old 09-13-2008, 11:51 PM
Senior Member
 
snsguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wtfer View Post

Oh to any owners who watch in complete darkness, I really recommend bias lighting.

I bought the Cryon 6 pack from amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Cyron-Light-Sy.../dp/B000V1NW7G

Best $60 I ever spent.
Place them behind the TV & turn off all the lights in the house & you get much better black levels due to the contrast of the lights behind the TV. Of course you still have to lower the backlight some & not have it at max or anything like that.
Normally there is some faint glow to the blacks, but with the bias lighting, the black levels look as good as any Pioneer Kuro plasma in a complete dark room.

In fact I did some messing around & got the black levels to a point where they completely faded into the bezel.

Do you have to have the lights bright or can the be low as more of anambience to get good black and contrast?
snsguy is offline  
post #15950 of 23512 Old 09-13-2008, 11:53 PM
Newbie
 
SeauxCrazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wtfer View Post

I never saw any blurring during the scrolling text during NBC/ABC/FOX etc segments. Are you watching in SD or in HD?

It's in HD. Even during the Demo mode, there is no difference in the scrolling text.
SeauxCrazy is offline  
post #15951 of 23512 Old 09-14-2008, 12:01 AM
Senior Member
 
ninjachicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wtfer View Post

Oh to any owners who watch in complete darkness, I really recommend bias lighting.

I bought the Cryon 6 pack from amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Cyron-Light-Sy.../dp/B000V1NW7G


http://www.amazon.com/Good-Earth-Lig...1375056&sr=8-2

currently using this, but that multi color looks awesome.
ninjachicken is offline  
post #15952 of 23512 Old 09-14-2008, 01:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dubz4lif3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hows the black levels on this set? could some1 post an all black screen?

i was gonna go Pioneer 5020 but $$$ is gonna be an issue so its come down to these:

Panasonic PZ800U or the 650/750

Which has the better black levels?
Dubz4lif3 is offline  
post #15953 of 23512 Old 09-14-2008, 01:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
42041's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 3,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dubz4lif3 View Post

Hows the black levels on this set? could some1 post an all black screen?

i was gonna go Pioneer 5020 but $$$ is gonna be an issue so its come down to these:

Panasonic PZ800U or the 650/750

Which has the better black levels?

Unless you have both TVs in the same shot for comparison, a photo of a black screen won't be much help, given the variables of camera exposure and your monitor's brightness.
They're pretty good for a non-LED backlit LCD, but not really on par with Pioneer plasma.
42041 is offline  
post #15954 of 23512 Old 09-14-2008, 01:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dubz4lif3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well of it wont match the Kuro lol i know that but how about against the 81F or the Panasonic PZ800U?
Dubz4lif3 is offline  
post #15955 of 23512 Old 09-14-2008, 02:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dubz4lif3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok how does this compare to the entry level Panasonic PX80U in terms of Black level?
Dubz4lif3 is offline  
post #15956 of 23512 Old 09-14-2008, 02:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wtfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by snsguy View Post

Do you have to have the lights bright or can the be low as more of anambience to get good black and contrast?

Yup. there are like 8 or so colors to choose from & each color go like from dim to bright & brightest.
Selecting them kinda sucks though, by that I mean you cycle through different speeds were the colors fade & than switch into a new colors & have to hit the pause button to get that color/tone you want.

I'll post some screen shots later on.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dubz4lif3 View Post

Ok how does this compare to the entry level Panasonic PX80U in terms of Black level?

Apparently a few sites rated the black levels on the these Samsung LCDs to be the equal of the new Panasonics.

Both the Samsung 6 & 7 series have been rated at around 0.0090 fL (lower is better) while all the 11 generation Panasonic plasmas have been rated basically the same 0.0090 fL.
A few sites gave a slight edge to the Panasonic in a pitch black room by a few degrees, but that is ONLY in a pitch black room. With any ambient light & the Samsung gets superior blacks over the Panasonics.

FYI last years Pioneers were at 0.0040 fL black & this years Pioneers are at 0.0010 fL. Of course the new Smasung 9 LED series can get even darker than that.
wtfer is offline  
post #15957 of 23512 Old 09-14-2008, 02:51 AM
Senior Member
 
snsguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=wtfer;14659492]Yup. there are like 8 or so colors to choose from & each color go like from dim to bright & brightest.
Selecting them kinda sucks though, by that I mean you cycle through different speeds were the colors fade & than switch into a new colors & have to hit the pause button to get that color/tone you want.

I'll post some screen shots later on.

Thanks looking forward to it. Cold you get some shots from the back where you placed the lights also? I would apreciate it.

SNSGUY
snsguy is offline  
post #15958 of 23512 Old 09-14-2008, 03:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wtfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 29
[quote=snsguy;14659516]
Quote:
Originally Posted by wtfer View Post

Yup. there are like 8 or so colors to choose from & each color go like from dim to bright & brightest.
Selecting them kinda sucks though, by that I mean you cycle through different speeds were the colors fade & than switch into a new colors & have to hit the pause button to get that color/tone you want.

I'll post some screen shots later on.

Thanks looking forward to it. Cold you get some shots from the back where you placed the lights also? I would apreciate it.

SNSGUY

Sure, I post them tomorrow night.
Pretty easy to put on. There are little hooks that hold the lights & you just apply the included two side stickers on the back of the hooks & just attach them on the TV.
wtfer is offline  
post #15959 of 23512 Old 09-14-2008, 07:08 AM
Member
 
lleka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post

Filmed movies are usually shot to playback at 24 frames per second. Interlaced video (e.g. "1080i") is 30 frames per second, also called 60 fields per second.

So depending on the input source (how the Blu-Ray was mastered), the info when you hit "display" will change.

thanks
lleka is offline  
post #15960 of 23512 Old 09-14-2008, 07:37 AM
Newbie
 
User38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chevy-SS View Post

My new Sammy LN52A650 is very nice, but I only sit about 12 feet away, so it's kinda big. Great for movies but a little large for regular viewing (news and such).

Is there a way to reduce the screen when viewing HD input signal (normally fullscreen)?

thanks

Chevy-SS

You are in luck - there is a very simple "hack" that will solve your problem. As you would no doubt have learned at school, the apparent size of an object varies inversely with respect to the distance between the observer and the object. In your case you can make the apparent size of the television screen smaller by moving your head further away from it. Conversely you can increase the apparent size of the screen by moving your head closer.

Try it and let me know if this "hack" works out for you.
User38 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung 37 Inch Lcd Hdtv Ln37a550 , Samsung 19 Inch Lcd Hdtv Ln19a650 , Lcd Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off