Official Samsung LNxxA650 Owner's Thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 23519 Old 03-15-2008, 04:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Mikl1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Moscow Russia
Posts: 447
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by clau View Post

The 6 series and the 7 series share the same panels, which is to be expected. That means the Frame Rate Conversion is identical, and that means AMP is just about identical.

These new panels are significantly different than the 71 series:

1. FRC and T-Con inside panel. This has the important advantage of using a common memory for the two blocks, saving cost.
2. The cable that runs from the mainboard to the panel now carries 60Hz data instead of 120Hz data. Much better for RF interference control, and saves power.
3. The 6/7 series have a new backlight system that operates at twice the frequency of the 71 series. This helps reduce flickering and may have better motion blur.
4. The new T-Con reduces pixel response time to the 4 ms spec'd level.
5. The new T-Con is supposed to improve gamma response.

All in all, pretty good updates. But wait for the 9 series if you want major improvements in motion blur handling.

Good analysis
But only one bad point - in European service manual pointed that all those panels are 6 ms
Most interesting question now - which Micronas Chip used?
The same as in Europian F8 - FRC9459M ?
http://forum.ixbt.com/topic.cgi?id=62:12202:656#656
Mikl1984 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 23519 Old 03-15-2008, 04:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
clau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 2,734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikl1984 View Post

Good analysis
But only one bad point - in European service manual pointed that all those panels are 6 ms
Most interesting question now - which Micronas Chip used?
The same as in Europian F8 - FRC9459M ?
http://forum.ixbt.com/topic.cgi?id=62:12202:656#656

Service manual numbers on contrast ratio and response time are not to be trusted . In any event, there are many ways to measure response time, and the only thing to know is that it is a smaller number than for the 71 series. Whether that difference is perceivable or not, who knows at this time. You probably know that major problem with LCD blur today is not response time, but the hold-type nature of LCD. Even if response time is 0, there will still be blur, and that's where AMP/120Hz comes in to the rescue.

Not sure if the European sets do 120 Hz, but at 100Hz, you can get by with a slightly longer response time.

Micronas chip is most likely the same: FRC-M that was introduced last April.

CLau
clau is offline  
post #183 of 23519 Old 03-15-2008, 04:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
borf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by clau View Post

3. The 6/7 series have a new backlight system that operates at twice the frequency of the 71 series. This helps reduce flickering and may have better motion blur.

It seems like you are saying this TV uses scanning backlight? Or does this refer to the dynamic contrast function. Can I ask where you see that.
borf is offline  
post #184 of 23519 Old 03-15-2008, 05:02 PM
Member
 
eltigre15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see that there is a fan pointed out in that diagram a couple of pages back in the 40" only? How loud is it?
eltigre15 is offline  
post #185 of 23519 Old 03-15-2008, 05:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
clau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 2,734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by borf View Post

It seems like you are saying this TV uses scanning backlight? Or does this refer to the dynamic contrast function. Can I ask where you see that.

No, I did not say that. I said that the backlight frequency is 2X higher than on the 71 series. Check out the Samsung Korea's site's description. They call it "Speed Backlight".

CLau
clau is offline  
post #186 of 23519 Old 03-15-2008, 05:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Manaburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fenix31 View Post

I noticed in the pre set settings that you can go in and see what they have those settings at at least on that first page of settings is it possible to clone those pre made settings? or is there more happening behind the scenes?

This im not sure about, however on the 71 i was never able to clone the settings. I supose you would have to know exactly what each setting was set on on each mode. I did go into the menus and turn ever VP setting to of and TBE was still present on all amp settings so this leads me to believe there is more going on but im not sure.
Manaburn is offline  
post #187 of 23519 Old 03-15-2008, 05:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
Manaburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mikl1984 can you coment on my post #164 does this make a lick of sense or am i way off?
Manaburn is offline  
post #188 of 23519 Old 03-15-2008, 05:49 PM
Senior Member
 
mitsu2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10


Mega, is this 5 stuck pixels I see?
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/attac...6&d=1205546286
mitsu2k is offline  
post #189 of 23519 Old 03-15-2008, 06:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
TheBrandon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: On a boat
Posts: 816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Here is the Service Manual I uploaded for the A650. http://files.filefront.com/Service+M.../fileinfo.html
TheBrandon is offline  
post #190 of 23519 Old 03-15-2008, 06:22 PM
Member
 
Leftoverchinese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Orlando, Fl.
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got back from Best Buy with the TV. Took over an hour for them to bring it to the front. Seemed they were confused about the paper work and the fact that it was the only one they had and that they had never gotten any in before. Absolutely ridiculous. On the plus side, my brother got approved for the best buy card so he will be picking one up in the next few days too.

Once again, pics will be forth coming. Time to unpack it and set it up.
Leftoverchinese is offline  
post #191 of 23519 Old 03-15-2008, 06:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
Manaburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBrandon View Post

Here is the Service Manual I uploaded for the A650. http://files.filefront.com/Service+M.../fileinfo.html

wow nice find man!!!!! do you happen to have the 750 too, we could do some pretty indepth comparisons if we had both
Manaburn is offline  
post #192 of 23519 Old 03-15-2008, 06:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
TheBrandon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: On a boat
Posts: 816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manaburn View Post

wow nice find man!!!!! do you happen to have the 750 too, we could do some pretty indepth comparisons if we had both

I do not. I own the Samsung LN-T5265 thats trident processor was replaced by the Cortez so I was doing some research on it since its picture quality with firmware 1016 is far superior to my Trident with board 1011/ 1037 firmware. I stumbled across this thread and thought I seen someone mention the 650 using the Cortez Processor and I noticed that the part numbers weren't the same on Samsungs Tech site. I grabbed the Service manuals on both and uploaded them. Just trying to share a little.
TheBrandon is offline  
post #193 of 23519 Old 03-15-2008, 06:38 PM
Member
 
Leftoverchinese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Orlando, Fl.
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I love that it came with batteries for the remote. My friends sharp didn't. One question for the other owners though, mine doesn't swivel on it's stand. Is there something I need to do in order to make that happen or is that a feature lost on this model from the 71?
Leftoverchinese is offline  
post #194 of 23519 Old 03-15-2008, 06:40 PM
Senior Member
 
megapopular's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leftoverchinese View Post

I love that it came with batteries for the remote. My friends sharp didn't. One question for the other owners though, mine doesn't swivel on it's stand. Is there something I need to do in order to make that happen or is that a feature lost on this model from the 71?


Which model do you have?
megapopular is offline  
post #195 of 23519 Old 03-15-2008, 06:41 PM
Senior Member
 
megapopular's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm... it says that the TV's are "6" ms...
megapopular is offline  
post #196 of 23519 Old 03-15-2008, 06:51 PM
Member
 
_tool_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is killing me that my tv won't be here till Tuesday. To satisfy my urges can someone plug there PC up to the 650 via dvi to hdmi and let me know how it looks.

Thanks in advance
_tool_ is offline  
post #197 of 23519 Old 03-15-2008, 06:52 PM
Member
 
Leftoverchinese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Orlando, Fl.
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, I just got my TV setup and the PS3 set to 1080p from 1080i and watched the first thing ever on the TV, the trailer for the dark knight. I will say, HOLY **** the blacks are damn black!!!! I love the look of the red, err crimson, bezel and don't think anyone has to worry about that. Also, for those curious, the blacks still look amazingly black with the lights off. The set doesn't look like it is turned off or anything, but still damn black.
Leftoverchinese is offline  
post #198 of 23519 Old 03-15-2008, 06:54 PM
Member
 
Leftoverchinese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Orlando, Fl.
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by megapopular View Post

Which model do you have?

LN46A650A1F is the full model number on the side of the box.
Leftoverchinese is offline  
post #199 of 23519 Old 03-15-2008, 07:00 PM
Member
 
Leftoverchinese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Orlando, Fl.
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also, I wanted to say that I don't think that I disagree with all the previous people saying that the remote is too touchy. I dig the wheel. Being a cab driver, Sat. is one of my busiest nights, and I think I am gonna take the night off and check this bad boy out. Not that I would be able to concentrate on the job anyway if I DID go to work, lol.
Leftoverchinese is offline  
post #200 of 23519 Old 03-15-2008, 07:03 PM
Member
 
Slain93gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brookfield, WI
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
some of the stores need to get this set up on display in the milwaukee area.. the 52 would look good in the living room. the wife is already digging the colored bezel.

i'm curious on how deep the black looks on this set.
Slain93gsr is offline  
post #201 of 23519 Old 03-15-2008, 07:10 PM
Senior Member
 
D92Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manaburn View Post

wow nice find man!!!!! do you happen to have the 750 too, we could do some pretty indepth comparisons if we had both

Manaburn,

You can get about any manual here:

http://www.manualuniverse.com/manage.../catalogue.asp

Choose Samsung, enter LN46A750, click on LN46A750
D92Mike is offline  
post #202 of 23519 Old 03-15-2008, 07:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Manaburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D92Mike View Post

Manaburn,

You can get about any manual here:

http://www.manualuniverse.com/manage.../catalogue.asp

Choose Samsung, enter LN46A750, click on LN46A750

I tryed to get the 650 one already and he said they were not available yet
Manaburn is offline  
post #203 of 23519 Old 03-15-2008, 07:50 PM
Senior Member
 
D92Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manaburn View Post

I tryed to get the 650 one already and he said they were not available yet

Did you click on LN46A750 next to where it says "description not available"? It should take you to the .pdf purchase page.
D92Mike is offline  
post #204 of 23519 Old 03-15-2008, 08:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
Manaburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D92Mike View Post

Did you click on LN46A750 next to where it says "description not available"? It should take you to the .pdf purchase page.

i had an email conversation with the guy that i guess owns the site, i purchased the 650 and he refunded my money and told me it was unavailble, i assume the same is true of the 750
Manaburn is offline  
post #205 of 23519 Old 03-15-2008, 08:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ready2Mosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Central US
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK someone, throw me a couple of calibration settings to try. I really like it so far.
Ready2Mosh is offline  
post #206 of 23519 Old 03-15-2008, 08:42 PM
Member
 
COLLOSUS76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
BB has the 40inch model on their site finally. Just a heads up for those looking at the 40 incher.

Thanks mosh for the info, One more question, That's the tax rate at bloomingdale? If so, gonna for sure go and get it there, May have to wait till next weekend. Need someone with a bigger car to go and pick it up LOL.

I can fit the tv itself fine in my back seat but not with the box
COLLOSUS76 is offline  
post #207 of 23519 Old 03-15-2008, 08:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
metal83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 2,300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So how is the blur on the 650 compared to the 750. Any thoughts on that yet?
metal83 is offline  
post #208 of 23519 Old 03-15-2008, 09:01 PM
Member
 
Leftoverchinese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Orlando, Fl.
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slain93gsr View Post

i'm curious on how deep the black looks on this set.

As deep as the grand canyon. It is deep enough for me to do a Rick James, F*%# YOUR COUCH on a Kuro. In short, I don't think you will be disappointed.
[b]

Manaburn, does your TV swivel on it's stand? Mine doesn't. I was just wondering if that was a feature lost on the 6 series.
Leftoverchinese is offline  
post #209 of 23519 Old 03-15-2008, 09:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wtfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leftoverchinese View Post

Ok, I just got my TV setup and the PS3 set to 1080p from 1080i and watched the first thing ever on the TV, the trailer for the dark knight. I will say, HOLY **** the blacks are damn black!!!! I love the look of the red, err crimson, bezel and don't think anyone has to worry about that. Also, for those curious, the blacks still look amazingly black with the lights off. The set doesn't look like it is turned off or anything, but still damn black.

Do you happen to know how the black levels compare to the 71 series as well as the reflective glass & the if the AMP looked toned down at all?

All potential owners know right now is that the Triple ball effect was fixed in the Entertainment mode.
So far there has been no stutter on anyones the set, so far. No one has mentioned if they saw any vapors/distortions yet either.

borf, also posted a good test to check motion handling with that .zip file back a page or two. If anyone can test it.
wtfer is offline  
post #210 of 23519 Old 03-15-2008, 09:06 PM
Senior Member
 
megapopular's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine swivels just fine... give it a good twist! Don't be scared!
megapopular is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung 37 Inch Lcd Hdtv Ln37a550 , Samsung 19 Inch Lcd Hdtv Ln19a650 , Lcd Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off