Official Samsung LNxxA650 Owner's Thread - Page 785 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #23521 of 23538 Old 02-12-2015, 04:05 AM
Member
 
merlot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by merlot View Post
I have read that too. I'm considering removing the back panel to push all the connections to make sure they are tight. On the other hand, I've read this is the sign the panel is starting to go bad. Luckily, about a day or two after this happened, my wife won a Vizio 500i-B1 at work, so it's waiting in the wings in case the LN completely fails.

If I eventually open it up to do the connectors, I'll post an update here, but as it is, I can live with it. Long live the LN52A650!
Since we are having our family room painted, I used this opportunity to remove the back cover. Everything looked fine connection wise, but now I have NO PICTURE! I'm not sure what happened, whether it was during the moving process (removing TV from wall mount), or me removing the back cover. I hit power and the backlight turns on, but I have no on screen display, no picture on any inputs. I can hear the startup and shutdown sounds, and see the red light blink when sending remote codes.

Can anyone provide some guidance?
merlot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23522 of 23538 Old 02-12-2015, 10:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
Itwillneverend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: On the planet Earth
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 505 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by merlot View Post
Since we are having our family room painted, I used this opportunity to remove the back cover. Everything looked fine connection wise, but now I have NO PICTURE! I'm not sure what happened, whether it was during the moving process (removing TV from wall mount), or me removing the back cover. I hit power and the backlight turns on, but I have no on screen display, no picture on any inputs. I can hear the startup and shutdown sounds, and see the red light blink when sending remote codes.

Can anyone provide some guidance?
Yes, its time to buy a new tv.
Itwillneverend is offline  
post #23523 of 23538 Old 02-12-2015, 05:51 PM
Member
 
merlot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Itwillneverend View Post
Yes, its time to buy a new tv.
Thanks but no thanks. I got it working again! I took the cover off again and rechecked the connections. One of the ribbon cables was not connected - which is odd since I did check them. Anyway, it's working again, but the red line is still there during the warm-up period, so I think my panel is going bad. I'll milk every last once out of it until that happens or a nice 60" set finally lands at an attractive price point (translation - my wife says yes).
merlot is offline  
post #23524 of 23538 Old 02-13-2015, 12:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Itwillneverend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: On the planet Earth
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 505 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by merlot View Post
Thanks but no thanks. I got it working again! I took the cover off again and rechecked the connections. One of the ribbon cables was not connected - which is odd since I did check them. Anyway, it's working again, but the red line is still there during the warm-up period, so I think my panel is going bad. I'll milk every last once out of it until that happens or a nice 60" set finally lands at an attractive price point (translation - my wife says yes).
LIke I said, time for a new set. There are a lot of tv under 2K at 60". Look at online stores.
Itwillneverend is offline  
post #23525 of 23538 Old 02-13-2015, 10:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Vipfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 65
My 47 has been a champ #knockonwood til now. My landlord was putting up new curtains for me (love them) but accidentally stepped on the cord for the antenna ripping that part out. I'm now trying to figure out how i can get local free over the air tv on it. I have a 2 tuner silicon dust dvr, but no way to get it on the tv atm via hdmi. Maybe I'll just cave and get a i7 mini pc. Dunno yet. Anyway everything else works just fine.

My Summer Motto: "When Nature turns off the damn heat I'll turn off my A/C"
Vipfreak is offline  
post #23526 of 23538 Old 03-23-2015, 11:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
theroys88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: midlothian, va
Posts: 1,866
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 44
I lost mine 52" last year. Vertical stripes began to appear and would go away after 30 minutes but after some time they stayed full time. I still have my Lnt 5265F and last May bought a UN65H6350.
theroys88 is online now  
post #23527 of 23538 Old 03-23-2015, 11:28 PM
Member
 
nokian93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine has been getting those stupid vertical lines on the far left of the screen! But after a while they go away. She turned 8 years old this month! I love it and hope she keeps on ticking!
nokian93 is offline  
post #23528 of 23538 Old 06-17-2015, 08:43 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
ln52a650 right side screen flicker

The left side of the screen flickers at startup until I manually warp the right side of the screen....but its really hit and miss, because I don't really know where the pressure should be and stuff.

What causes this, and is there a solution I can apply?

Thank you for any and all help!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1684.PNG
Views:	101
Size:	822.8 KB
ID:	782066  
selahmoment is offline  
post #23529 of 23538 Old 06-22-2015, 08:51 PM
Newbie
 
TRADICLES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: BROOKHAVEN,PA
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thumbs down Lna950

Quote:
Originally Posted by selahmoment View Post
The left side of the screen flickers at startup until I manually warp the right side of the screen....but its really hit and miss, because I don't really know where the pressure should be and stuff.

What causes this, and is there a solution I can apply?

Thank you for any and all help!
Mine is doing the same thing, guess i'll try to get it fixed if it doesn't cost 1/4 the price of a new tv
TRADICLES is offline  
post #23530 of 23538 Old 06-23-2015, 09:46 AM
Newbie
 
patrickd314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Samsung LN32A -- Repairable?

The TV model is Samsung LN32A450C1D, purchased in 2009.

I tried to turn it on and heard a loud pop, and it turned off. I turned the TV on again and seemed to work fine with no picture/sound issues. A few days later, my wife turned it on and heard the same loud pop and said she saw spark(s) come out of the back. I didn't try to turn it on after that because something was obviously wrong and I didn't want to risk further damage.

Looks like the jumper J839 has melted, maybe the associated capacitor is fried. Any suggestions?

(I first posted this on the "LCD Flat Panel Displays" thread, but this one looks more appropriate.)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Samsung3.jpg
Views:	99
Size:	143.9 KB
ID:	791874  
patrickd314 is offline  
post #23531 of 23538 Old 06-24-2015, 05:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Let me know if there was a good fix! I am still manually troubleshooting mine.
selahmoment is offline  
post #23532 of 23538 Old 07-09-2015, 07:21 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hoping you guys can help, I have a LN46A750, yes I realize this is the 650 thread but the tv's are obviously very similar... The set has had some HDMI issues for a while. All of the rear hdmi ports stopped working about 6 months ago but I was able to still use the side one. Long story short we had an electrical storm the other day and now the side port is not working either, just a no signal displayed on the screen. Yes I have tried several devices and hdmi cables. I can still use the composite connections on the side, not sure about he component on the back.

I really only need to get one HDMI port working since this isn't my primary tv, I ordered a used Side AV Board off of ebay since it was only $10, I have no idea if this will solve the problem. I am looking for other suggestions from someone who may have experienced HDMI issues with this TV...
jblizz is offline  
post #23533 of 23538 Old 08-10-2015, 12:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Just shy of 7 years old, a month ago my ln46a630 started to show the negative picture where everything looks bluish. Its probably the t-con board I may replace it at some point. However in the mean time I got a js8500.
johnny531 is offline  
post #23534 of 23538 Old 08-24-2015, 03:03 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Samsung LCD LN52A650 - picture dissapparing

Hello,

I have a Samsung LCD LN52A650 (seven years old) that I had powered off for 6 month and not used. The other day I wanted to use it again, and found to my amazement that the pictures disappeared after 5 minutes. I turned it off and back on and had a picture again. This happened several times with the viewing time becoming longer and longer. Now being an old "relay guy" I figured the "clicking you year turning it off and on or selecting inputs would come from relays. Relays by design have "self cleaning" contacts and if not in use for a long time they will oxidize and make poor contact. I believe that that caused my disappearing picture problem and it appears I'm good now. Normally problems don't solve itself but this maybe one of those rare incidents. - Perhaps it will solve your picture problems too, since a bad capacitor or cold solder joint will not get better with time. - Good Luck
fatcattara is offline  
post #23535 of 23538 Old 11-03-2015, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
oryan_dunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Auburn, IN
Posts: 1,856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by crakarjax View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by oryan_dunn View Post
When I first got my A650, I ran through and did a calibration using my HD DVE (on HD-DVD). I didn't get into the super advanced menus where you can adjust the colors individually, but I got it looking really good doing a basic calibration. I then flipped it to the Cinema "E. Mode", and it looked the same as what I'd arrived at. Since then, I've just been using Cinema mode.

Friends have bought several different sets, and none look as good as my A650. The only thing that has really bothered me is gaming. Since you must use game mode to reduce the input lag, and settings in game mode cannot be adjusted, games just look bad. Games look far better on my old HD CRT than they do on my A650. If only one thing was changed on game mode, I'd want the sharpness turned off and color temp set to warm. Those two things would vastly improve the picture in game mode.
I think that you can reduce lag further by using HDMI2/DVI and renaming it to "PC" fwiw. Has the same drawbacks though. I do believe that sharpness is 0 by default in those modes though, as sharpness control is a processing step that can be eliminated (set to 0) to reduce lag. What console do you game with? I'm wondering if there is a color temp. setting in the console itself?
Quote:
Originally Posted by oryan_dunn View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by crakarjax View Post
I think that you can reduce lag further by using HDMI2/DVI and renaming it to "PC" fwiw. Has the same drawbacks though. I do believe that sharpness is 0 by default in those modes though, as sharpness control is a processing step that can be eliminated (set to 0) to reduce lag. What console do you game with? I'm wondering if there is a color temp. setting in the console itself?

Right now, the 3 consoles I have connected are a PS2, Xbox 360, and a Wii. All use component (my 360 is a launch model without HDMI). I remember hearing the trick of naming it PC, but that also messed with the picture, but in different ways.

Just as an update (almost 2yrs after my original post above), I recently got an Xbox One and moved some items around. I also started playing a few of the 360 games that I hadn't played in a while. During this period, I also noticed that my 360 component cables had a slight ghost on the right edge of on screen items. I decided to try out the VGA output from my 360, so I ordered a set of Monster VGA and Optical cables (still new) from ebay. After getting everything connected, I can't believe I waited all this time to get VGA cables for the 360. Games looked awesome, no ghosting, and no more flipping between Cinema and Game mode. I've also moved my HDMI from my receiver (Xbox One, Dish, Blu-ray, HDDVD), to HDMI 2 and named it PC. I had always had almost all the picture options disabled anyways, so VGA and HDMI 2 named PC, both set to Movie mode with color temp warm 2 look very good to my eye. In fact, I think it looks the same as Cinema mode, which I was very happy with for TV and movies.

All in all, I'm very happy with A650 for games now. My PS2 still is component only, obviously, but it's not going to look all that great anyways, so game mode it is. Sadly, the never used Wii was removed, and my Wii U will stay connected to another TV centrally located so the gamepad will work to a longer range.

Before I ordered the VGA cables, I had considered perhaps replacing my A650. But, it seems most new TVs aren't any better for input lag, and I'd likely have to spend 1k or more to get a 120Hz set that can do 5:5, has modes for low input lag for games, and decent off axis viewing. I would have hoped that they'd have all this sorted out in the ensuing 7 years since I bought my 650, but it appears not. I think for now, I'll be keeping my A650 till it dies as I've not found anything that's worth upgrading to.


tl;dr: If you like Cinema/Movie mode and have most options disabled anyways, and want low lag, VGA or HDMI 2 named PC is definitely the way to go for gaming. I know this has been known for quite some time, but there are still slow people like myself who may just be getting around to gaming on an A650.


PS: I've run into a few gotchas with PC mode on this set, but have solved them.
1. VGA input expects 0-255, so the 360 needed to be set to Expanded, instead of the default Standard. In 360 land, Expanded is 0-255, Standard is 16-235 (which is what it was set to for component output).
2. With HDMI 2 named PC, when it is receiving an RGB signal, the TV locks HDMI black level to normal (0-255). Since the Xbox one outputs RGB, I had to set it's black level to full (0-255) instead of the default limited (16-235).
3. When receiving a 1920x1080p60 signal, in VGA and HDMI 2 named PC, the only picture modes are 16:9 and 4:3 (no JustScan). It's deceiving, but in PC mode, 16:9 is 1:1 pixel mapping. Not sure why it's called 16:9, when all other modes 1:1 is JustScan. I was a bit confused at first, since 16:9 usually has a bit of overscan.
4. Even when in PC mode, 1920x1080p24, 16:9 has overscan, and JustScan is available to be selected.

Give a man a fish; you have fed him for today. Teach a man to fish; and you have fed him for a lifetime

Last edited by oryan_dunn; 11-03-2015 at 10:46 AM.
oryan_dunn is offline  
post #23536 of 23538 Old 12-15-2015, 12:47 PM
Newbie
 
Acksull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Rialto, California
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just an update on my LN52A650. I bought mine in 2008 (build date July 2008) and it still working like it's brand-new. I've probably used it every day since I bought it. Never had cap issues or anything. The only gripe I have with this TV is that it gives off a ton of heat, and you can't see the buttons on the front. Other than that it's been the perfect TV for the last eight years.
Acksull is offline  
post #23537 of 23538 Old 01-20-2016, 05:39 PM
Newbie
 
kameleongt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acksull View Post
Just an update on my LN52A650. I bought mine in 2008 (build date July 2008) and it still working like it's brand-new. I've probably used it every day since I bought it. Never had cap issues or anything. The only gripe I have with this TV is that it gives off a ton of heat, and you can't see the buttons on the front. Other than that it's been the perfect TV for the last eight years.
I've used my LN46A650 since about the same time but I did have the warranty work done way back but ever since still working well.
kameleongt is offline  
post #23538 of 23538 Old 01-27-2016, 09:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Woobieizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Good Ole' Copper Fan
Posts: 1,376
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Refurb pwr supply and main board

The Set was knocked out by lightening back in summer of 2015. All one heard was the relay clicking.

I started by getting a power supply, but it did not rectify the sets condition. (still had the relay click)

Purchased a refurbish main board, and the set now lives. ENSURE that your ribbon cables are taped down (do not bulge away from the panel into the units back housing, and that the contacts are clean and firmly inserted.


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2016-01-27_114515.jpg
Views:	280
Size:	364.0 KB
ID:	1214010   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20160127_100942.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	183.5 KB
ID:	1214018  
Woobieizer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung 37 Inch Lcd Hdtv Ln37a550 , Samsung 19 Inch Lcd Hdtv Ln19a650 , Lcd Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off