Official LNXXA650 Calibration/Settings Thread - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 3905 Old 05-14-2008, 06:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Evil4blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I own the original DVE and the new Blu-ray HD Basics disc. As for the difference in the products, I would say use the one you like best. I had used DVE in the past and like it, that's why I own 2 different versions today. Truthfully, you can just download the HD.709 disc that some of the forum members made over in the calibration section and use it. What DVE and Avia disks get you is the colored gels (which you can order separately off the net for like $6).

In the end, all that matters is that you get accurate color standard charts...however you want to.
Evil4blue is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 3905 Old 05-14-2008, 06:52 PM
Member
 
TraffordGeist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Went with DVE. found it for under twenty as you mentioned. Thanks for the help.
TraffordGeist is offline  
post #363 of 3905 Old 05-14-2008, 08:00 PM
Newbie
 
Conker.GFs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am pretty amazed at the range of tastes in terms of TV appearance. I'm surprised that anyone who wants to set dynamic contrast on, backlight 8 and contrast 100 could like the same TV I do. I was using backlight 2, energy saving medium, and black level adjust low. Gamma to +2 or +3 to compensate.

I don't think I could possibly live with that level of lightness of my blacks.


I was one that posted those settings, and it is pretty bright...but I get use to it easily, even in a dark room. I just like my screen bright. The thing is, I only like that when I'm playing games, because if you set it darker you can't see some of the objects when it's a darker/night-time setting.

In movies I have been using similar settings to cnets or evil's.

Also, the blacks look pretty good to me with those dynamic settings for games. I swapped back and forth between standard/movie and the dynamic settings I had, and the blacks look pretty similar.*shrug*
Conker.GFs is offline  
post #364 of 3905 Old 05-15-2008, 11:40 AM
Member
 
toenut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have some setting questions that I figured I should post in here instead of the main thread.

1)Why do all of the posted settings have edge enhancement off? Are there downsides to it? When I turn it on for the Xbox360, it makes everything look nice and sharp. When I turn it on for TV, it makes text a bit sharper and doesn't seem to do anything to the rest of the picture.

2)What does film mode do? I see that this is always off in all the settings as well.

3)This is probably more of a preference question, but why do most settings use Warm1 or Warm2? It makes everything look too yellow to me, so I use Normal with the rest of Evil's settings.
toenut is offline  
post #365 of 3905 Old 05-15-2008, 11:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tigerfan33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Looks like I may be one of the few to use standard mode.

In standard, film mode is not grayed out. It gives you the option to have on auto or off. What is the benefit if any to have this function???
tigerfan33 is offline  
post #366 of 3905 Old 05-15-2008, 12:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
skibum5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 3,587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by tigerfan33 View Post

Looks like I may be one of the few to use standard mode.

In standard, film mode is not grayed out. It gives you the option to have on auto or off. What is the benefit if any to have this function???

It would help if the manual would say more than
Film mode on turns film mode on, haha

but on 71 series current guess is that On makes it apply optimal de-interlacing to stuff shot at 24fps but will often make combing show up on video 30fps stuff and that Auto tries to pick the right mode with a bias toward using optimal for video.
skibum5000 is offline  
post #367 of 3905 Old 05-15-2008, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ready2Mosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Central US
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The people over in the 2008 Sony bravia thread crack me up. They seem like the same breed as apple snobs, lol.

Mosh~~

Nothing against Apple people, I own a ipod.
Ready2Mosh is offline  
post #368 of 3905 Old 05-16-2008, 11:13 AM
Member
 
osserpse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bah I really wish I could find some way to lower the sharpening setting in game mode. Halo 3 glitters like crazy because it's so high.
osserpse is offline  
post #369 of 3905 Old 05-16-2008, 08:33 PM
Member
 
iamluvinlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Boston, Ma
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
anyone have new calibration settings for new firmware?

------------
IAM
iamluvinlife is offline  
post #370 of 3905 Old 05-16-2008, 08:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sharkcohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamluvinlife View Post

anyone have new calibration settings for new firmware?

I just stuck with the same, and it looks the same. I guess I should go back with HD DVE and double check. Maybe later tonight once it gets dark.

Back off man, I'm a scientist.
sharkcohen is offline  
post #371 of 3905 Old 05-16-2008, 11:02 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
cbolton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I have my 40" 650 Series LCD now and I am very pleased with the purchase thus far. I have read this thread from start to finish and I am wondering about settings for this LCD when being used as the monitor out on the Denon 3808CI? I have the IP Scaler disabled on the 3808CI.

I don't know if I should start with one of the settings on the first page - I am assuming that whatever I sent on HDMI1 will apply to anything I pass through the receiver?

One other question - the Power LED blinks red regularly when the TV is on - is this normal?

Craig
cbolton is offline  
post #372 of 3905 Old 05-17-2008, 04:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wtfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Did anyone try to calibrate the TV with DVE with the Dynamic Contrast being on?
I ask this because turning on Dynamic Contrast anywhere from low to high will automatically give a darker black level (completely blank screen) in a pitch black room.
wtfer is offline  
post #373 of 3905 Old 05-17-2008, 12:08 PM
Newbie
 
Road Angel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i bought my 52" 650 3 weeks ago..it looked like crap for the first few days, after playing around with different setting i settled with the movie mode, i pretty much left all setting as they were with the exception of brightness i brought it up to 70 so i could get a little black detail...then i got the shut off problem so i did the upgrade as samsung suggested...then when i started using my xbox 360 right in the middle of a game it would black out as if i was going thru the inputs, so i took it back to circuit city yesterday and replaced it with another one, so far so good... has anyone encountered this problem before?
Road Angel is offline  
post #374 of 3905 Old 05-17-2008, 12:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sharkcohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by wtfer View Post

Did anyone try to calibrate the TV with DVE with the Dynamic Contrast being on?
I ask this because turning on Dynamic Contrast anywhere from low to high will automatically give a darker black level (completely blank screen) in a pitch black room.

I played around with it, but as far as I can tell Dynamic Contrast is just moving the white point around. Wherever you set Dynamic Contrast, you need to readjust Contrast to correct for it, so the feature seems pretty pointless to me.

If you want to set Contrast correctly and you have a DVE release that has the color ramps (Basics, for whatever hair brained reason, does not have them), then use the red color ramps pattern to adjust contrast. Red clips first on this display before the other primaries. Set Contrast up until the brightest 2 bars in the pattern just clip. I wouldn't go any higher than that. For my current set, that setting is 87, but where red clips will depend on settings such as Dynamic Contrast, and even your Color Space settings.

Back off man, I'm a scientist.
sharkcohen is offline  
post #375 of 3905 Old 05-17-2008, 12:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ready2Mosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Central US
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Road Angel View Post

i bought my 52" 650 3 weeks ago..it looked like crap for the first few days, after playing around with different setting i settled with the movie mode, i pretty much left all setting as they were with the exception of brightness i brought it up to 70 so i could get a little black detail...then i got the shut off problem so i did the upgrade as samsung suggested...then when i started using my xbox 360 right in the middle of a game it would black out as if i was going thru the inputs, so i took it back to circuit city yesterday and replaced it with another one, so far so good... has anyone encountered this problem before?


The new firmware (2001.3) fixes the blackout of 360 on 1080p through component, everyone had this issue as far as I've seen, so your return wasn't necessary.

Mosh~~
Ready2Mosh is offline  
post #376 of 3905 Old 05-17-2008, 04:08 PM
Member
 
keyweez360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So what were the final settings among evil4blue, znuts and the other guys? Was a general consensus reached?

Thanks.
keyweez360 is offline  
post #377 of 3905 Old 05-17-2008, 04:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Transcend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm using cnet's settings with the following differences:

white balance g-gain: 22
AMP: low or medium
energy saving: auto
Transcend is offline  
post #378 of 3905 Old 05-17-2008, 04:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Transcend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by keyweez360 View Post

Was a general consensus reached?

Thanks.

Each is best in their own environment.
Which is best for yours? Only you (or a professional in-home calibration) can decide.
Transcend is offline  
post #379 of 3905 Old 05-17-2008, 06:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sharkcohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by keyweez360 View Post

So what were the final settings among evil4blue, znuts and the other guys? Was a general consensus reached?

Thanks.

I think these kind of threads are good for seeing how consistent the sets can be between each other. My recommendation is get one or more high def calibration discs and dialing in your set yourself.

Back off man, I'm a scientist.
sharkcohen is offline  
post #380 of 3905 Old 05-17-2008, 08:33 PM
Member
 
thespy007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am a newbie on color space and white balance. How do you adjust these settings with just a calibration dvd/bd?
thespy007 is offline  
post #381 of 3905 Old 05-17-2008, 08:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sharkcohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by thespy007 View Post

I am a newbie on color space and white balance. How do you adjust these settings with just a calibration dvd/bd?

I just leave those settings alone. Those are the kinds of settings you really need calibration equipment to play with.

Back off man, I'm a scientist.
sharkcohen is offline  
post #382 of 3905 Old 05-17-2008, 10:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
studdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tigerfan33 View Post

Looks like I may be one of the few to use standard mode.

In standard, film mode is not grayed out. It gives you the option to have on auto or off. What is the benefit if any to have this function???

When I get my set, I will probably be using standard, as I have on the past two 71's. I just found it was closest to what I like right out of the box, and it was fairly easy for me to calibrate it.

52" Samsung 750, finally satisfaction
studdad is offline  
post #383 of 3905 Old 05-17-2008, 10:53 PM
umr
AVS Club Gold
 
umr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 10,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I had the opportunity to calibrate my first Samsung A650 today. The results of which are attached.

Based on what I saw this is the best LCD I have ever worked on. The colors post calibration were very close to what a Pioneer Elite plasma is capable of. The resolution was fabulous and the processing was also excellent. The blacks were also very good. I liked the 71 series that proceeded this, but the A650 is even better.

 

Samsung A650 Calibration Report.pdf 414.1982421875k . file
umr is offline  
post #384 of 3905 Old 05-17-2008, 11:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sharkcohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by umr View Post

I had the opportunity to calibrate my first Samsung A650 today. The results of which are attached.

Based on what I saw this is the best LCD I have ever worked on. The colors post calibration were very close to what a Pioneer Elite plasma is capable of. The resolution was fabulous and the processing was also excellent. The blacks were also very good. I liked the 71 series that proceeded this, but the A650 is even better.

Jeff, just curious, were you able to calibrate the LCD with the available user settings, or did you have to enter the 'experts' area of the service menu?

Back off man, I'm a scientist.
sharkcohen is offline  
post #385 of 3905 Old 05-17-2008, 11:08 PM
umr
AVS Club Gold
 
umr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 10,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharkcohen View Post

Jeff, just curious, were you able to calibrate the LCD with the available user settings, or did you have to enter the 'experts' area of the service menu?

All of the necessary controls are in the user menu, but it takes great tools and some knowledge to get quality results.
umr is offline  
post #386 of 3905 Old 05-17-2008, 11:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sharkcohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by umr View Post

All of the necessary controls are in the user menu, but it takes great tools and some knowledge to get quality results.

Heh, not suggesting I'd be able to even remotely calibrate professionally on my own. Like I said, I was just curious. If I were to get it ISF calibrated, I don't know if I would want someone going into my service menu.

Thanks for the response.

Back off man, I'm a scientist.
sharkcohen is offline  
post #387 of 3905 Old 05-17-2008, 11:15 PM
umr
AVS Club Gold
 
umr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 10,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharkcohen View Post

Heh, not suggesting I'd be able to even remotely calibrate professionally on my own. Like I said, I was just curious. If I were to get it ISF calibrated, I don't know if I would want someone going into my service menu.

Thanks for the response.

No problem.

It seems to me that too many are focused on the service mode instead of understanding what it takes to get a good image.
umr is offline  
post #388 of 3905 Old 05-17-2008, 11:17 PM
umr
AVS Club Gold
 
umr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 10,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Hopefully, my client will post since he swapped a Pioneer 1150 Elite for this display. The precalibration performance was also based on using the settings document posted here.

He seemed to be very happy with the results when I left.
umr is offline  
post #389 of 3905 Old 05-17-2008, 11:20 PM
Member
 
jkim0321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by umr View Post

I had the opportunity to calibrate my first Samsung A650 today. The results of which are attached.

Based on what I saw this is the best LCD I have ever worked on. The colors post calibration were very close to what a Pioneer Elite plasma is capable of. The resolution was fabulous and the processing was also excellent. The blacks were also very good. I liked the 71 series that proceeded this, but the A650 is even better.

What were your settings that you used?
jkim0321 is offline  
post #390 of 3905 Old 05-17-2008, 11:21 PM
umr
AVS Club Gold
 
umr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 10,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkim0321 View Post

What were your settings that you used?

Copying settings is a fools game. All displays behave differently. You must measure and adjust your own. Just look at the precalibration colors versus the final. It is not even close.
umr is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Playstation 3 160gb System , Xbox 360 250gb Console With Kinect
Gear in this thread - 160gb by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off