LCD TVs with 10-bit panels - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-27-2008, 11:27 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jtedesco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having a heck of a hard time finding specifications on some LCD TVs I am looking at. Can anyone please confirm if these have 10-bit panels?

Samsung LNT4669F
Samsung LN46A550
jtedesco is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-27-2008, 12:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
SaltwaterCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't know about those two but the Toshiba xf550/xv540 are and the Sony xbr4's too

A bad day fishing beats a good day at work!
SaltwaterCat is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 12:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
8IronBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Suburbs of Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 2,735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe that Sharp has some 10-bit panels in their most recent models, too, in their Aquos line. I believe their D92U line appears to be the one getting all the buzz right now.

AVS Forum...The Final Frontier. My continuing mission. To explore strange, new equipment, to seek out new movies and technology. Boldly going where no enthusiast had gone before.
8IronBob is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 12:38 PM
Member
 
Themajickman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stone Mountain, Georgia
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8IronBob View Post

I believe that Sharp has some 10-bit panels in their most recent models, too, in their Aquos line. I believe their D92U line appears to be the one getting all the buzz right now.

Actually, it's the new Sharp 94 series that has 10 bit panels.

I did little bit of research on the two Samsung models that you mentioned and I couldn't find anything about them being 10 bit panels. Normally a feature like that would be mentioned in their literature.
Themajickman is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 12:44 PM
Member
 
dbyun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know for sure Samsung's 6 series are 8 bit.
dbyun is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 12:44 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jtedesco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info and for checking on that. If anyone knows these answers, please let me know.
jtedesco is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 01:24 PM
Senior Member
 
TechJunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sony S, V, W, & XBR series all have 10bit panels.
TechJunky is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 01:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jtedesco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechJunky View Post

Sony S, V, W, & XBR series all have 10bit panels.

Is the concensus that a 10-bit panel has an inherent large advantage over an 8-bit panel? From what I have read, that seems to be the case, but with so many informed owners here still buying TVs with 8-bit panels, I have to wonder.
jtedesco is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 01:57 PM
 
TheBeginning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern Arizona
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So the 64u's have?
TheBeginning is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 02:01 PM
Senior Member
 
TechJunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtedesco View Post

Is the concensus that a 10-bit panel has an inherent large advantage over an 8-bit panel? From what I have read, that seems to be the case, but with so many informed owners here still buying TVs with 8-bit panels, I have to wonder.

Probably b/c there's not that many out there. And just b/c a panel is 8 bit, doesn't mean it doesn't have quality processing and excellent PQ. But compare them side by side and you WILL see a difference.
TechJunky is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 02:33 PM
Member
 
Porter_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: WA
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechJunky View Post

Probably b/c there's not that many out there. And just b/c a panel is 8 bit, doesn't mean it doesn't have quality processing and excellent PQ. But compare them side by side and you WILL see a difference.

QFT. this is why i exchanged the Sony KDL-40V2500 for the KDL-40V3000. Circuity city happend to have the V2500, V3000, and W3000 all side by side with the same feed, and the difference was night and day between the V2500 and V3000. To my eyes, with that particular feed, the V3000 and W3000 were identical.
Porter_ is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 02:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
8IronBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Suburbs of Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 2,735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbyun View Post

I know for sure Samsung's 6 series are 8 bit.

Hmm, how about their new 120Hz models?

AVS Forum...The Final Frontier. My continuing mission. To explore strange, new equipment, to seek out new movies and technology. Boldly going where no enthusiast had gone before.
8IronBob is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 03:05 PM
Senior Member
 
vipergts2207's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So is it safe to assume that the KDL-32XBR6 coming this spring will have a 10-bit panel?

Sony KDL-37XBR6 :-D
80GB PS3
vipergts2207 is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 03:06 PM
Member
 
slyguy10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The Toshiba RF350u has a 10 bit panel
slyguy10 is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 03:13 PM
 
TheBeginning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern Arizona
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But a 14bit processor, which would not benefit that tv at all really.
TheBeginning is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 03:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PanamaMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Austin, TX, US
Posts: 2,794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sharp's have 10-bit panels. 94 SE

Reuters 94SE
PanamaMike is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 03:31 PM
 
TheBeginning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern Arizona
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But what about the 64u's? Not asking about the 94
TheBeginning is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 04:04 PM
Member
 
Themajickman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stone Mountain, Georgia
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBeginning View Post

But what about the 64u's? Not asking about the 94

I believe that the sharp 94 is the only sharp that has a 10 bit panel.
Themajickman is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 04:24 PM
Member
 
redman733's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what does the Mistubishi have? anyone know?
redman733 is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 04:55 PM
Member
 
bigjsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbyun View Post

I know for sure Samsung's 6 series are 8 bit.

Actually I have been told the 5 series and 6 series are 10-bit panels???? The fact that the Toshiba RF350U has a 10 bit panel shows that you can have a 10bit panel and still get a less than stellar set. I would put much more weight into finding a set with a good video processor rather than worrying about the panel bits.
bigjsd is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 05:31 PM
Senior Member
 
rocky01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some report here on AVS according to Sharp engineeers the 64 series sets are 10-bit panels. No word on the processing though.

See also:

http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/pro...gon=&langid=EN
rocky01 is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 07:04 PM
 
TheBeginning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern Arizona
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjsd View Post

Actually I have been told the 5 series and 6 series are 10-bit panels???? The fact that the Toshiba RF350U has a 10 bit panel shows that you can have a 10bit panel and still get a less than stellar set. I would put much more weight into finding a set with a good video processor rather than worrying about the panel bits.

Again Toshiba has a 14bit processor, reason that tv does not benefit from the 10bit panel much.
TheBeginning is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 09:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bigjohns1997SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Pearland, Texas
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
As far as I know the sony xbr4's and newer will have 10-bit panels, I heard the samsung 6 series has them and it seems that the sharp se94 series has them. So far the only real confirmed by the manufactuer as having 10-bit panels is sharp 94's and sony xbr4's.

And yes there is a diffrence, but there also seems to be a black smearing issue with the 10-bit panels, but i really am not bothered by the black smearing on my xbr4 and it's nowhere near as bad as some of the videos i have seen on this board.

Samsung D7000 65"
Onkyo 905
BIH F12
6x Energy RC-10
WMC ceton4 DVR/Media PC
bigjohns1997SS is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 09:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
EscapeVelocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,704
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 122
I dont think any of the standards have 10bit information, 8bit is the standard. 10 bit seems like marketing hype, to me.

Vizio VP322 Plasma / Vizio GV42LF LCD / Denon 2200 Silicon Image DVD / Panasonic S97 Faroudja Genesis DVD / Oppo 970HD Mediatek DVD / Oppo 983H Anchor Bay DVD / Panasonic LX-600 Laserdisc / Aiwa MX100 Multi-region VCR / JVC S7600 S-VHS / PS2 / Sega Genesis / Nintendo SNES / Roku 2 XS & HD-XR / Realistic STA-90 Reciever / Realistic Minimus 7 / Antennacraft G1483 Hoverman / Belden 7915A RG6 / Channel Master 7777 Titan 2 UHF/VHF / Panasonic AX-200u / Optoma Graywolf 92" / Draper Luma 92"
EscapeVelocity is online now  
Old 03-27-2008, 10:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Carled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,965
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by EscapeVelocity View Post

I dont think any of the standards have 10bit information, 8bit is the standard. 10 bit seems like marketing hype, to me.

There is no 10 bit source material, but that doesn't mean there is no advantage to having extra bits. Displaying 8 bit material on an 8 bit display leaves no margin of error mathematically.
Carled is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 06:26 PM
Member
 
loganharpdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbyun View Post

I know for sure Samsung's 6 series are 8 bit.

Where is your source???

The SERVICE MANUAL for the 6 series states the panel is 10 bit.
loganharpdawg is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 06:27 PM
Member
 
loganharpdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8IronBob View Post

Hmm, how about their new 120Hz models?

6 series and 7 series are 120hz (these both came out in 2008). According the the SM (service manual) the panels are 10 bit.
loganharpdawg is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 07:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Zarich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I believe the LGs are 10 bit. Specifically the 47lg50 which replaced the 47lb5d which was 10 bit.
Zarich is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 07:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
EscapeVelocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,704
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 122
JVC 898 series

Vizio VP322 Plasma / Vizio GV42LF LCD / Denon 2200 Silicon Image DVD / Panasonic S97 Faroudja Genesis DVD / Oppo 970HD Mediatek DVD / Oppo 983H Anchor Bay DVD / Panasonic LX-600 Laserdisc / Aiwa MX100 Multi-region VCR / JVC S7600 S-VHS / PS2 / Sega Genesis / Nintendo SNES / Roku 2 XS & HD-XR / Realistic STA-90 Reciever / Realistic Minimus 7 / Antennacraft G1483 Hoverman / Belden 7915A RG6 / Channel Master 7777 Titan 2 UHF/VHF / Panasonic AX-200u / Optoma Graywolf 92" / Draper Luma 92"
EscapeVelocity is online now  
Old 04-24-2008, 08:07 PM
Member
 
Turbolader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by redman733 View Post

what does the Mistubishi have? anyone know?

All 2007 Mits (133, 144, 244) were 10 bit S-PVA panels. All Mits 2008 models are 10 bit, 120hz S-PVA.
Turbolader is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off