olevia won't turn on - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 04-12-2008, 07:29 PM - Thread Starter
Lkr
AVS Special Member
 
Lkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Problem just started this week, when ever I go to turn it on, it won't turn on and I gotta hit the switch and then hold down the power button a few times until it finally comes on. anyone else have this problem?
Lkr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 04-12-2008, 07:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dad1153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 34,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 164
No, not with my Olevia 747i. What model of Olevia LCD do you have? Better check your warranty/return policy because no HDTV should work the way you're describing.
dad1153 is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 04-12-2008, 09:18 PM - Thread Starter
Lkr
AVS Special Member
 
Lkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
its an olevia 323v. i've had it for more than a year, so I'm pretty sure it'll cost to get it repaired
Lkr is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 04-12-2008, 09:46 PM
Member
 
Vizcaya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am getting my 3rd Olevia 52 inch LCD delivered next week.

My first 2 had power problems as well. Both seem to be power supply problems. I had the 252tfhd.
Vizcaya is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 04-13-2008, 10:19 AM - Thread Starter
Lkr
AVS Special Member
 
Lkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
did you have to pay to get them replaced/repaired after the first year?
Lkr is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 04-14-2008, 06:44 PM
Member
 
Vizcaya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Both were in the first month. Still under warranty.
Vizcaya is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 07-23-2008, 03:01 PM - Thread Starter
Lkr
AVS Special Member
 
Lkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm going to bump this because the problem is persisting. No one else has this issue?
Lkr is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 07-23-2008, 03:13 PM
Senior Member
 
The Bruiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
answer: it's an OLEVIA!!! THAT'S WHY

the thread hijacker
The Bruiser is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 07-23-2008, 08:50 PM - Thread Starter
Lkr
AVS Special Member
 
Lkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yea, I couldn't justify paying $1000 for a 23" TV for the bedroom
Lkr is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 07-24-2008, 03:44 PM
Newbie
 
ftirduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Olevia 532 just started the same routine. I hit the power button on the TV or on the remote and the blue power light blinks off, then comes back on. Normally it would blink off, the Olevia screen would show up, and then the TV would kick into the station.

Anyone resolved this issue before?

Thanks,
Greg
ftirduke is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 07-24-2008, 03:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
westgate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: ʇuoɯɹ
Posts: 5,624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
something like youse guys problem has occured 2wice on my element lcd hdtv about a week ago.
i unplugged power cable from back of tv (unplugging wall plug would probably accomplish the same) for ~15 secs, plugged it back in, and its been ok since.
good luck!
westgate is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 03-10-2010, 08:56 AM
Newbie
 
Icanfixit4you's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
3 years ago i purchased Syntaxbrillian Olevia LCD HDTV from walmart it only cost me 750$ instead of 1300$. I said oh yeah, then this year I ran into the same issue you guys are describing. First you need to take out the 30 screws from back of the tv. Then find the power source(where the power cable plugs into) follow the wires there will be three one is ground you want to follow the blue wire. Once you locate and follow this wire you will see a little fuse (1.5 oa h/250v ceramic) they are hard to find and i settled for glass instead of ceramic but once replaced my tv worked fine and never had the issue again....well not yet lol. If this fix doesnt work for you then i might have to say the actual power source may have burned out on your tv. Also there are alot of different components on the boards that could have burned out and without proper knowledge of the circutry of the tv you will neeed a proffesional to fix it . I hope this works for you guys the same way it worked for me
Icanfixit4you is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 03-31-2010, 09:03 AM
Newbie
 
sunicda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does this fix work for the 237-s11 model too? there was a pop sound and now there is no power at all coming to the tv... thanks for your advice

Summer
sunicda is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off