Official Samsung LNxxA530 Owner's Thread - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 1094 Old 08-15-2008, 10:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dubz4lif3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
a few questions guys!

is this model discontinued? if i wanted to wait around early Dec. you think i would find this model in stores or online like BigRiver?
Dubz4lif3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 1094 Old 08-15-2008, 10:49 PM
Newbie
 
gar3618's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the 37 inch.. I think it lacks the specs of the larger screen sizes but please so far. HD looks great as does the xbox 360. I have a question I have the components cord for the 360 it allows me to choose from HDTV and Standard. Does using component and switching it to HDTV give me the same quality as using a HDMI cord?
gar3618 is offline  
post #633 of 1094 Old 08-16-2008, 06:09 PM
Senior Member
 
ingramba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Texas, East of the Pecos!
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dubz4lif3 View Post

a few questions guys!

is this model discontinued? if i wanted to wait around early Dec. you think i would find this model in stores or online like BigRiver?



...It doesn't appear to be atm. I just checked a few stores and it's still listed as regular sale item. I think by Dec. it will no longer be available in store but will be available online.
ingramba is offline  
post #634 of 1094 Old 08-17-2008, 12:06 PM
Newbie
 
Otogi Ninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all, I am new here.

First off I'd like to say this is my first post in this site and two weeks ago I got the LN40A350 (40 inch 1080 Samsung) and I really love it ALOT! I ended up paying $1447 (HDTV was $1199 minus taxes) and change with a 4 year service plan.

I guess the only slight imperfection is that I got a dead pixel on the lower left hand side of it. It doesn't bug me much. It's only noticedable if the entire screen is white which rarely happens and if I concentrate on the tiny bugger. Despite that, I really don't care about it.

Any how, I would like to give a heads up for those who recently bought this HDTV that Best Buy (place I bought it from) has a $100 price break. So Instead of paying $1199, you pay $1099. If the store you bought it from has a price match guarantee (I believe the HDTV must be not older than a month from this ad), you should be getting back $108.

I just went to my Best Buy a while ago and left with $108.25. VERY AWESOME!!! So get your receipt ready and go, go GO!
Otogi Ninja is offline  
post #635 of 1094 Old 08-18-2008, 11:57 AM
Member
 
cy011's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you for pointing that out. I'm not out of my 30 days time after purchase. It's a good thing circuit city does the price guarantee. Free money!
cy011 is offline  
post #636 of 1094 Old 08-18-2008, 10:54 PM
Member
 
solius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got mine yesterday from sears they had a special sale going on so I ended up getting the tv for 1258 total and im going back for the warranty in a week. I'm very happy with the tv purchase I had a 47" philips before and that tv doesn't touch this one not even close.
solius is offline  
post #637 of 1094 Old 08-20-2008, 05:40 PM
Newbie
 
sammysung69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just curious?
sammysung69 is offline  
post #638 of 1094 Old 08-21-2008, 08:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PENDRAG0ON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 557
Quote:
Originally Posted by sammysung69 View Post

Is 6.5 feet too close for the 52 inch 1080p lcd

just curious?

I have a 720p 42 inch plasma at 6 feet and it is just too small, I am looking at this as a possible upgrade at the same distance. (Don't like the 550 design and don't care for 120hz or anything that comes with it, leaving this as my only LCD option, the PZ800 is my plasma option) I could go up to 58 inch at my distance if I chose to do so.

Go big or go home, buy right or buy twice, two pieces of advise that are invaluable in the AV world.

PSN - Pendragoongp
NNID - Pendragoon
Include your AVS username in the friend request.
PENDRAG0ON is offline  
post #639 of 1094 Old 08-21-2008, 09:40 AM
Member
 
TheWalkingDead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: London ON.
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sammysung69 View Post

just curious?


There is 2 answers to this question.
The personal preference answer and the technical answer.

Personally I would say no (not everyone will agree) it not too close. However, that is really something that would vary per individual, and their comfort level. If you don't find your eyes are getting strained after watching a 2hour movie for example and your not getting a headaches, than why not, I mean if you happen to enjoy sitting that close to such a large display than go for it. The other question you should ask is; if you were to have company over, will everyone be able to gather and sit around such a large TV comfortably? And will everyone enjoy it from such a close distance?

The technical answer is more specific, and that is a clear NO, its not too close in fact its preferred.
If you TV 52 is a 1080p TV 6.5 feet is about the perfect distance. That is if you want to take full advantage of your 1080p resolution. The average person with 20/20 vision will cease to notice the detail that 1080p has to offer if you move away more than 8 feet, and in that case you might as well have purchased a 720p TV and saved your self some $.

Check out this link for more info http://www.carltonbale.com/2006/11/1080p-does-matter/

Hope this helps,
Cheers!
TheWalkingDead is offline  
post #640 of 1094 Old 08-21-2008, 11:53 AM
Newbie
 
sammysung69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
decided to get the lna52a530 monster. will arrive saturday. appreciate the quick feedback.
sammysung69 is offline  
post #641 of 1094 Old 08-21-2008, 01:47 PM
Newbie
 
sammysung69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have a 40 inch 1080i samsung flatscreen to sell now and wonder how much it would go for. it has two hdmi inputs and more than two years left of protection plan. does 1000 sound right?
sammysung69 is offline  
post #642 of 1094 Old 08-21-2008, 01:56 PM
Newbie
 
tonytbaloney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all, I just got my 52" 530 last week. What's up with the PIP? The option is greyed out in settings. I have an antenna on the coax to pick up a station by air, a dvd connected with the component caples, and a satelite receiver connected on the s-vid port. All sources are named and turned on but I just can't seem to get the PIP activated or made available. Just luv the TV though...it's pretty sweet.
tonytbaloney is offline  
post #643 of 1094 Old 08-22-2008, 07:44 PM
Member
 
cy011's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonytbaloney View Post

Hi all, I just got my 52" 530 last week. What's up with the PIP? The option is greyed out in settings. I have an antenna on the coax to pick up a station by air, a dvd connected with the component caples, and a satelite receiver connected on the s-vid port. All sources are named and turned on but I just can't seem to get the PIP activated or made available. Just luv the TV though...it's pretty sweet.

I think the only thing that can be shown over PIP is the internal tuner.
cy011 is offline  
post #644 of 1094 Old 08-23-2008, 08:18 PM
Newbie
 
Hong_Kong_Phooey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I am planning to buy the LN40A550. One thing I want to use this for is to connect my PC to TV to watch DVD VOB files and Div X movies and maybe do some basic computer functions like check email etc. But mainly it will be a media PC.

The PC in mind only has VGA output and Digital Output. What are the best choices for connection?

I heard that PC VGA to TV VGA is just as good as HDMI connection (minus the audio ofcourse).
Hong_Kong_Phooey is offline  
post #645 of 1094 Old 08-24-2008, 01:00 PM
Member
 
cy011's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hong_Kong_Phooey View Post

So I am planning to buy the LN40A550. One thing I want to use this for is to connect my PC to TV to watch DVD VOB files and Div X movies and maybe do some basic computer functions like check email etc. But mainly it will be a media PC.

The PC in mind only has VGA output and Digital Output. What are the best choices for connection?

I heard that PC VGA to TV VGA is just as good as HDMI connection (minus the audio ofcourse).

Either one will be fine.
cy011 is offline  
post #646 of 1094 Old 08-24-2008, 10:15 PM
Member
 
solius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently purchased this tv and it looks great. However I seem to be getting a ghosting affect on some channels more so than others. Keep in mind that I do not have a cable box just regular coax cable. I will be getting a HD cable box in Dec. My PS3 and blu rays look great but my cable is what is giving me the problem. What can I do to reduce or eliminate this annoying ghosting affect?
solius is offline  
post #647 of 1094 Old 08-25-2008, 06:54 AM
Newbie
 
browndog2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know how to manually store hd channels in these tv`s? I just bought a 46" 530 and I`m having problems. When my ant is pointed at say Detroit, I do a auto scan and it picks up the channels but then when I turn my ant to Ohio I can`t input the channels I know are there unless I do another auto scan. . . problem being when I rescan I lose all the detroit channels and then I can`t even input those when I go back I have to rescan and then I lost the others and so on. If I want lets say channel 7-1 can I not just push that on the remote and store that channel or is a total scan the only way to go? There must be a way to save the channels already scanned or scan individually I would think.
browndog2u is offline  
post #648 of 1094 Old 08-25-2008, 09:46 AM
Newbie
 
tonytbaloney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cy011 View Post

I think the only thing that can be shown over PIP is the internal tuner.

Thanks cy011 for the reply. I am actually using the internal tuner since I have an Antenna connected to the Coax connector and picking up a local channel. I think I should be able to enable PIP to view another source while doing this? I really don't see anything in the manual or on Samsung's FAQ site describing why this can't be done. I don't know....I'll keep trying to figure it out but if there is any other input or if someone else is experiencing this, please let me know. Thanks again and Cheers!
tonytbaloney is offline  
post #649 of 1094 Old 08-25-2008, 02:00 PM
Member
 
solius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by solius View Post

I recently purchased this tv and it looks great. However I seem to be getting a ghosting affect on some channels more so than others. Keep in mind that I do not have a cable box just regular coax cable. I will be getting a HD cable box in Dec. My PS3 and blu rays look great but my cable is what is giving me the problem. What can I do to reduce or eliminate this annoying ghosting affect?

Any answers to my problem with ghosting on my TV I need to know if I can fix this or if I should return it to the store for another one I am still inside the 30 day return period.
solius is offline  
post #650 of 1094 Old 08-25-2008, 03:20 PM
Newbie
 
sammysung69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tried the 52 inch ln52a530 and at 6.5 feet images appeared blurred and blu ray was slightly better than sd dvd. hd tv looked average. I think for my room size and picture quality requirements that the 650 series will do the job better. the picture quality is amazing despite the shiny surface on the screen. the extra cost for 120 hz and 30 fps should be worth it.
sammysung69 is offline  
post #651 of 1094 Old 08-25-2008, 05:32 PM
Newbie
 
Impy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just got this tv..question..from time to time..it seems i get like jagged edges..going across the top of my screen. Any idea what this is?

this is happening on espnHD btw...connected using component to my hdbox...provided by comcast
Impy is offline  
post #652 of 1094 Old 08-26-2008, 01:04 AM
Newbie
 
aesthetik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just purchased the 530 at buy.com for $1329.99 free shipping and no tax. i used this $10 off coupon (since im a noob here i cant post a link, go to google, type in "buy.com promo code", mrcheapstuff will have a $10 off all stores coupon) so my total was only $1319.99.

im stoked!
aesthetik is offline  
post #653 of 1094 Old 08-27-2008, 02:11 PM
Newbie
 
Laton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm interested in purchasing the 530, but I noticed that the specs say that it only accepts inputs up to 1080i. Does this mean that it can't accept a full 1080p signal (say from a PS3 or bluray player)? If not, why would the TV be listed as a Full HD TV (1080p)? This confuses me. I'd like to get a clear answer on this, because if the TV is upconverting the signal, I'd rather purchase the 550, which says it can accept a 1080p input.

Please help! Thanks.
Laton is offline  
post #654 of 1094 Old 08-27-2008, 07:52 PM
Member
 
jwb1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
530 is Full HD 1080p
jwb1 is offline  
post #655 of 1094 Old 08-28-2008, 06:24 AM
Newbie
 
burichi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They were probably referring to Component cables which only accepts inputs up to 1080i. As long as you use HDMI, it will go to 1080p.
burichi is offline  
post #656 of 1094 Old 08-28-2008, 07:46 AM
Member
 
cy011's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by burichi View Post

They were probably referring to Component cables which only accepts inputs up to 1080i. As long as you use HDMI, it will go to 1080p.

I had no problem doing 1080p over component.
cy011 is offline  
post #657 of 1094 Old 09-02-2008, 07:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
tomfoolery_79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm thinking about the 52" A530/A550, but mainly this will be for video games. Can someone who has used a PS3 or PC with this TV comment on the visuals? Ghosting, blurring, etc? I'm sure it's fine, but I don't want to make a $2k mistake. Thx.

Also, anyone know any places that have a phenomenal deal on this TV?

STEAM: Augcliffe
PSN: Augcliffe
tomfoolery_79 is offline  
post #658 of 1094 Old 09-02-2008, 11:10 AM
Member
 
cy011's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomfoolery_79 View Post

I'm thinking about the 52" A530/A550, but mainly this will be for video games. Can someone who has used a PS3 or PC with this TV comment on the visuals? Ghosting, blurring, etc? I'm sure it's fine, but I don't want to make a $2k mistake. Thx.

Also, anyone know any places that have a phenomenal deal on this TV?

It does have some ghosting. I think most of the large LCDs will expierence it compared to smaller ones. I have used the PC on both VGA and DVI to HDMI. VGA feels a little smoother than HDMI. A good test for it are rhythm games like Rock Band and Guitar Hero. It was noticable after going from a 22" LCD.
That being said, its tolerable. It makes an excellent PC monitor.

I know for large displays, DLP seem to be the best for gaming/latency.
cy011 is offline  
post #659 of 1094 Old 09-02-2008, 11:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PENDRAG0ON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 557
Quote:
Originally Posted by cy011 View Post

I know for large displays, DLP seem to be the best for gaming/latency.

Replace best with worst and you would be correct. DLP has some nasty gaming lag. Plasma has the least amount of lag among big screen digital sets with LCD in second and rear projection at a distant third.

PSN - Pendragoongp
NNID - Pendragoon
Include your AVS username in the friend request.
PENDRAG0ON is offline  
post #660 of 1094 Old 09-04-2008, 11:39 AM
Newbie
 
pdpmojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I got it a week ago. Picked up an LN40A530 for 950 at BB. I have it hooked up to a Samsung Upconvert DVD player(DVD 1080P8) via HDMI and an XBOX 360 via component. Sound comes from a Klipsch 5.1 surround sound computer speakers fed via Optical out on the TV.

Overall I am very pleased. The picture quality while watching the closing of the olympics was spectacular. I know there has been a lot of talk about "upconverting/scaling" dvd players and in my opinion this player works great. The PQ of Spiderman 2 was phenomenal from this player. I played it side by side with the xbox playing the same movie. The samsung dvd player set to 1080p truly kicks ass. The xbox360 picture was clear and vibrant but when played back to back with the samsung dvd player, the samsung was clearly better. Perhaps the difference was HDMI vs. Component. But for what its worth(about $40 openbox at BB), I get to watch all of my divx movies on the computer.

This is my first nice tv in my entire life. Ive been watch a $70 20in Apex(knockoff brand) for the last 5 yrs. I always told myself that I would get a nice tv once I got a decent job and decent pay. Its been kind of a dream for me and now I have it.

At the time, I could have gotten the A650 for about 350 more. I felt that there was not enough difference to justify more than 1/3 of the cost. However, the pq on that tv blew me away.

The A530 is amazing and I am so happy with my purchase. Thanks to all of you for posting up calibration setting and other tweaks.
pdpmojo is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off