Sony Kdl-v4100 Series 1080p - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 1418 Old 06-27-2008, 10:43 AM
Newbie
 
fucicort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, that's it! My beloved LCOS SXRD KDS60A2000 developed a severe case of the infamous Green Blob effect - the optical unit needs replacing, a $2755 repair!!. Though the original warranty expired 8 months ago (I did not purchase an extended warranty), Sony contacted me today to offer me the following compensation package:

- a new 52V4100 TV;
- two years extended warranty;
- free delivery.

I would have to pay $249.99, but would get to keep my old TV.

In your opinion, the screen size notwithstanding (they have no 60 inches TV in stock, new or refurbished), is this a good deal or am I being had? Could I squeeze more out of them - a higher-end model, perhaps? What would you do in my position?

Your opinions and advices are most appreciated. Many thanks!
fucicort is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 1418 Old 06-27-2008, 11:12 AM
Member
 
niceguy1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone has compare the old and new model side-by-side? W3000 vs V4100 vs W4100
niceguy1234 is offline  
post #723 of 1418 Old 06-27-2008, 06:39 PM
Senior Member
 
bigsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fucicort View Post

Well, that's it! My beloved LCOS SXRD KDS60A2000 developed a severe case of the infamous Green Blob effect - the optical unit needs replacing, a $2755 repair!!. Though the original warranty expired 8 months ago (I did not purchase an extended warranty), Sony contacted me today to offer me the following compensation package:

- a new 52V4100 TV;
- two years extended warranty;
- free delivery.

I would have to pay $249.99, but would get to keep my old TV.

In your opinion, the screen size notwithstanding (they have no 60 inches TV in stock, new or refurbished), is this a good deal or am I being had? Could I squeeze more out of them - a higher-end model, perhaps? What would you do in my position?

Your opinions and advices are most appreciated. Many thanks!

Look for a KDS-55A3000 or KDS-60A3000 at your local Sears. These are at clearance prices now and supposedly you can get an extra 10% off clearance price with your Sears card. No green blob problems to report on the A3000 series AFAIK. It is rare for even an A2000. Anyway, I do like my KDL-40V4100, but it just doesn't hold a candle to my KDS-55A3000.
bigsnyder is offline  
post #724 of 1418 Old 06-28-2008, 02:15 PM
Member
 
TangoCharlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dear All,

I owned 40V4100 for nearly two weeks and was very happy with the picture quality. After a week or so, I started hearing static clicking sounds when the TV was off. At first I ignored it, but then it started clicking through out the day and night - was bit annoying.

I tried pluging it off the wall socket, and ofcourse there was no clicking sound, however every time I turned the TV on, the TV would display a message the system has lost clock information due to power outage.

So, finally I decided to return the unit, was reluctant at first but finally went to BB for return. Same day I noticed Sony introduced 42V4100 and I decided to go with it - BB was out of stock, so I ordered and its gonna come next Thursday.

Looking at all the posts somehow, I am not sure if I should be buying the v series again. So I went to CC (BB wont honor my 12% coupon on S series) and looked for another option, 40S4100 again CC said they cant honor my AAA coupon, so I didnt buy 40S4100.

To my shock, I saw 40V4100 on sale for 1349 (CC adverstized price for this week is 1499). Why would Sony allow CC to put the TV on sale for 150 bucks short? Is the TV model going to go out soon? Why wld Sony bring 42V4100 for just 100 bucks more?

I am little unsure as which model I should go with now. I have following options -

A. 40V4100 : $1319 + Tax (or get 8%off on $1349 if CC agress to honor my AAA coupon on Sale item)

B. 40S4100 : $1199 + Tax

C. 42V4100 : 1400 + Tax (order already placed, but I can cancel it)

Your thoughts?
TangoCharlie is offline  
post #725 of 1418 Old 06-28-2008, 02:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 51
I've had mine over a month now and no clicking when it's off (or on) except one click when I turn it on, so probably something defective with that particular set you had.

The Sony retailer can sell Sony at a discount but they generally are not allowed to advertise the discounted price, which is why you usually have to add to basket or whatever to see the sale price. Only exception I've noticed on advertised Sony sale or discounted prices was on discontinued close-out models. When I bought my 40V4100 the week before Memorial Day, it was on sale for $150 off at BB, and CC had it $60 less than that, so you can figure that out. About that same time Fry's had it on sale for 1299. So nothing unusual about a Sony dealer discounting them.

I would go with what you have on order. Looking forward to hearing about the 42" version of the V4100.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #726 of 1418 Old 06-28-2008, 02:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CHRISGEOFROMGREE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeah I am also highly interested to a 42" full review as you are the first!
CHRISGEOFROMGREE is offline  
post #727 of 1418 Old 06-28-2008, 04:49 PM
Member
 
TangoCharlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Aright. You guys would to have to wait till Jul 03 to hear the reviews - hope BB gets it sooner, lets see.

Just outta curiosity, everywhere I went, no one neither BB, CC or anyone else, were ready to reduce the price for 40S4100. They just wont honor any coupons. Any reason why it is so? Also, for a normal users (no high end gaming etc) is 40S4100 substitute for slightly expensive V series?

Also what are your thoughts on extended warranty. I paid by Amex, so I automatically get one year of warranty free. BB has 4 yrs plan for around 200 bucks.
TangoCharlie is offline  
post #728 of 1418 Old 06-28-2008, 05:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Links to 40V and 40S4100 descriptions you can compare the differences of the features.

http://b2b.sony.com/Solutions/product/KDL-40S4100

http://b2b.sony.com/Solutions/product/KDL-40V4100

Don't know why they won't discount that S model. Purely guessing here, maybe the S model being the entry level model, doesn't have the profit margin in it that the V, W and Z models have. And the stores know at $1200 they will probably sell them easily. Matches the rebate check a lot of couples will get! Even Walmart (last time I checked) only discounts it to 1197 a whole whopping $2 off!

I am debating the extended warranty too. I used Visa to buy mine and they do double the 1 year warranty out to 2 years. However, I run my TV about 16 hours a day 7 days a week and the hours will add up in a hurry, so out in that 4th and 5th year for me it might be a good investment. If the ext warranty company would sell a policy based on the first two years already covered, they could sell it for less $$ seems to me.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #729 of 1418 Old 06-29-2008, 12:18 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CHRISGEOFROMGREE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeah someone ago posted a leacked document where the S4100 has low margin
CHRISGEOFROMGREE is offline  
post #730 of 1418 Old 06-29-2008, 03:24 PM
Member
 
TangoCharlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Aright guys! I just got my new 42V4100 from BB, had to drive 30 miles for it, better than twidling thumbs till Thursday!

I am gonna hook it up tonight!

TangoCharlie is offline  
post #731 of 1418 Old 06-29-2008, 07:04 PM
Member
 
TangoCharlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just hooked up my 42V4100 - It is AMAZING! I will post more info as I play with it more!
TangoCharlie is offline  
post #732 of 1418 Old 06-30-2008, 06:41 AM
Newbie
 
Itstheradman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sparkle issue aside, does anyone have any calibration settings available?
Itstheradman is offline  
post #733 of 1418 Old 06-30-2008, 10:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by TangoCharlie View Post

I just hooked up my 42V4100 - It is AMAZING! I will post more info as I play with it more!

So TC, how is it today?



Quote:
Originally Posted by Itstheradman View Post

sparkle issue aside, does anyone have any calibration settings available?

I'll give you mine but most people will probably find my settings a little dim, and undersaturated in color. Set up this way it looks like a studio monitor to me.

"Custom" mode...
Backlight 2
Picture 90
Brightness 48
Color 27
Hue G2
Color Temp Warm 1
Sharpness 2
NR OFF
MPEG NR OFF
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #734 of 1418 Old 06-30-2008, 11:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,855
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by TangoCharlie View Post

I just hooked up my 42V4100 - It is AMAZING! I will post more info as I play with it more!

It's also clearly a Sharp panel (from looking at the pixel structure with a magnifying glass). I'm not saying that's good or bad, but it will be interesting to see how it compares to the 40V which uses a different panel.
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #735 of 1418 Old 06-30-2008, 04:24 PM
Member
 
TangoCharlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I watched 10,000 BC yesterday on upconvert DVD player and it was amazing. SD also looks good. I am gonna tune in OTA HD today, my cable company doesnt support HD

Any specific thing you guys want me to tweak ?
TangoCharlie is offline  
post #736 of 1418 Old 06-30-2008, 04:47 PM
Member
 
Rduce's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TangoCharlie View Post

I watched 10,000 BC yesterday on upconvert DVD player and it was amazing. SD also looks good. I am gonna tune in OTA HD today, my cable company doesnt support HD

Any specific thing you guys want me to tweak ?


Does it "Sparkle" like the other Sony panels??
Rduce is offline  
post #737 of 1418 Old 06-30-2008, 07:16 PM
Member
 
TangoCharlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Havent seen the sparkle. My earlier 40V4100 also didnt sparkle...
TangoCharlie is offline  
post #738 of 1418 Old 07-01-2008, 06:38 PM
Newbie
 
bioluminance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought a 40v4100 and had a question about the VESA mounting holes. I may mount it on the wall eventually, but noticed when I put the stand on that one of the mounts is way off center. The threads are in the lower right corner of the opening. There is not an equal distance between the holes because of it. I don't know if this will prevent me from mounting the tv or not. Think I should switch it out?
bioluminance is offline  
post #739 of 1418 Old 07-01-2008, 06:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by bioluminance View Post

I just bought a 40v4100 and had a question about the VESA mounting holes. I may mount it on the wall eventually, but noticed when I put the stand on that one of the mounts is way off center. The threads are in the lower right corner of the opening. There is not an equal distance between the holes because of it. I don't know if this will prevent me from mounting the tv or not. Think I should switch it out?

I just took a look at mine and they are all centered with the holes in the cabinet. Sounds like maybe something's bent on yours. Up to you to take it back but if I thought something may be physically bent I would go swap it for another one.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #740 of 1418 Old 07-02-2008, 08:27 PM
Member
 
adam420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just wanted to mention how impressed I am with the 42V4100.

DirecTV HD and PS3 are jaw-dropping at times. Haven't tried the tuner yet but overall I'm really impressed... This unit is an outstanding value.
adam420 is offline  
post #741 of 1418 Old 07-02-2008, 10:18 PM
Member
 
TangoCharlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I fully agree with you on picture quality of 42V4100. Its outstanding! The sound is okiesh, but I have a home theater system
TangoCharlie is offline  
post #742 of 1418 Old 07-03-2008, 04:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Something that might be on interest... I finally got around to plugging my 40V4100 into my "Kill A Watt EZ" power meter. I have found that by running the backlight at 2 which I normally do instead of 5 the default setting, it uses about 1/3 less power. With the backlight at 0 it only pulls 88 Watts. At the 2 setting I normally use, it pulls 110 Watts. At 5 it's up to 157 Watts, at Max it's 225 Watts. Line Voltage 112.7 at time of these measurements. If you run one a lot (especially 16-17 hrs a day like I do) turning down the backlight might save you a few $ on your electric bill, and it gives off less heat, runs cooler.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #743 of 1418 Old 07-03-2008, 09:49 PM
Senior Member
 
bigsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those dealing with popping, crackling noises after powering down the set, mine did the same for a just a couple days. I did turn off the automatic contrast enhancer, which may have stopped the noises, but I can't confirm (not sure why it would matter after the set is off, but it is something to try never the less).
bigsnyder is offline  
post #744 of 1418 Old 07-04-2008, 12:00 PM
Member
 
TangoCharlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ed,

Thats a nice set of measurement. I will try to set the backlight settings.

Bigsynder - Maybe that would be a good thing to try. My set was within the 30 days period, so I just exchanged it with 42V4100

Anyways guys...any comments on this BD Player?

http://www.ecost.com/detail.aspx?edp...&source=k26451
TangoCharlie is offline  
post #745 of 1418 Old 07-04-2008, 12:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by TangoCharlie View Post

...any comments on this BD Player?

Refurbished with a 90 day warranty might be a concern. How much more is a brand-new one?

I have not looked BD players at all trying to avoid the temptation til they get down to the sub-$150 range.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #746 of 1418 Old 07-04-2008, 12:48 PM
Member
 
TangoCharlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
brand new is around 399. I am not sure if I need a BD polayer, I gave up the BB offer for 100 off BD player 399 and above, when I bought my new TV.

Still thinking.......
TangoCharlie is offline  
post #747 of 1418 Old 07-04-2008, 02:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 51
More info on the power usage... I set the Advanced CE on Low and watched the current. When the pic goes dark the current drops down to as low as 86 Watts, on an average scene it might go up to 95-105 Watts, then up to 110 on bright scenes. Works fairly transparently, which is good! I'm going to leave that on for now. I see no reason not to use it for what I watch.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #748 of 1418 Old 07-10-2008, 09:18 PM
Member
 
TangoCharlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am noticing slight white light leak on upper left hand corner for my 42V4100, especially for dark backgrounds. Any one has seen this?
TangoCharlie is offline  
post #749 of 1418 Old 07-11-2008, 02:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CHRISGEOFROMGREE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it must be flashlighting issue which is general to lcd technology and many models/sets have this.If its annoying,you can ask a replacement
CHRISGEOFROMGREE is offline  
post #750 of 1418 Old 07-11-2008, 05:08 PM
Member
 
TangoCharlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Charlie. For some reason it isnt prominent now, I will keep a close watch. I am still with-in the 30 days window though...
TangoCharlie is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off