Westinghouse VK-42F240S Anyone know anything about them?? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 74 Old 05-01-2008, 10:10 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
coach_d24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am looking at purchasing an HDTV, possibly one of these sets. Anyone have any info on them? I'll be using it for console gaming alot. I am new to the HDTV game and really not sure about the ins and outs of it all. I have never seen one in person though. I've seen the discussion about the TX series but can't find any mention of the VK except on Westinghouse's site and through press releases from the company. Thanks in advance for your help.
coach_d24 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 74 Old 08-24-2008, 10:35 PM
Member
 
LoK_58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was also wondering if anyone has had any experience with this LCD.
LoK_58 is offline  
post #3 of 74 Old 08-29-2008, 07:48 PM
Newbie
 
spacemanvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bump!

Costco is selling these for $699. I really would like to know what people think of it. I will be using it primarily as a PC Monitor and for gaming.

42" LCD 1080P HDTV
VK-42F240S

Introducing the exciting new VK-42F240S for Westinghouse Digital; this 1080p LCD HDTV is ideal for all of your home entertainment needs. Supports all TV formats-1080i, 720p, 480i and 480p has an integrated ATSC/NTSC/ClearQAM tuner and is packed with multiple HD inputs-including HDMI%u2122 technology. As always Westinghouse Digital brings innovative features to our displays, this 42%u201D comes with Autosource%u2122 - Automatic Source detection and switching, preset video modes for a customized viewing experience and our innovative SpineDesign%u2122 and Waterfall cable management system.

Viewable Screen Size 42.0" Diagonal

Aspect Ratio 16:9

Native/Optimum Resolution 1920 x 1080

Color Capability 16.7 Million colors


Connectors

QTY TYPE

1 Antenna In (RF)

1 Video/S-Video In

2 YPbPr In

2 HDMI 1 L/R

1 D-Sub (VGA) In

1 PC Audio In (mini)

4 Audio In (dual RCA)

1 Audio Out (dual RCA)

1 SPDIF Optical Out

1 AC Power In


Compatible Modes

NTSC/ATSC/ClearQAM 480p, 720p, 1080i, 1080p

PC SVGA, XGA, SXGA, HD 720, HD 1080


Picture

Contrast Ratio 2000:1

Color Gamut 72% NTSC

Lamp Life 50,000 Hrs

Viewing Angle 176° Horizontal
176° Vertical

Response Time 6.5 ms (gray to gray)


Video Features


Preset Video Modes - Enhanced/Movie/Game/Sports

Screen Fit Modes - Standard/Fill/Overscan

Progressive Scan

3D Noise Reduction

Inverse 3:2 Pulldown

De-Interlacing

3D Adaptive Comb Filter

2D OSD Graphics Engine

Selectable Color Temperature - 3 User Adjustable

Dynamic Contrast/Backlight Control


Convenience Features
Autosource%u2122

SpineDesign%u2122

DayBright%u2122 - High contrast LCD for both day and night

Parental Control

Input Labeling



Dimensions and Weight

42.0" x 29.1" x 10.5" (with Base)
68.1 lbs (with Base)
42.0" x 26.9" x 5.1" (w/o Base)
61.1 lbs (w/o Base)
46" x 33" x 12 " (carton dimensions)
78 lbs (carton weight)


Audio

2-10 watt speakers

Front Firing

User Adjustable 5 Band Equalizer


Cabinet Color

Black


Installation Options

8 Hole Pattern

75mm x 75mm VESA® Pattern

100mm x 100mm VESA® Pattern wall mounts
spacemanvt is offline  
post #4 of 74 Old 08-29-2008, 10:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
theroys88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: midlothian, va
Posts: 1,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 14
The set has terrible black levels. Though for 699 it seems like a good deal. I would use the set in a well illuminated room.
theroys88 is offline  
post #5 of 74 Old 08-29-2008, 11:31 PM
Newbie
 
spacemanvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
any concerns or experience with using pc output on this set?
spacemanvt is offline  
post #6 of 74 Old 08-30-2008, 01:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
theroys88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: midlothian, va
Posts: 1,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 14
http://reviews.cnet.com/flat-panel-t...?tag=mncol;lstI believe I saw last years CNET review and it did get high marks for its sharpness via pc. I suppose nothing has changed.
theroys88 is offline  
post #7 of 74 Old 08-30-2008, 08:54 AM
Newbie
 
spacemanvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
cheers. think i will pick this up and try it out.

espeically with costcos awesome return policy.
spacemanvt is offline  
post #8 of 74 Old 08-30-2008, 12:21 PM
Newbie
 
spacemanvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by theroys88 View Post

The set has terrible black levels. Though for 699 it seems like a good deal. I would use the set in a well illuminated room.

I am curious, can you explain this to me?


is it something related to the contrast ratio?
spacemanvt is offline  
post #9 of 74 Old 08-30-2008, 05:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
theroys88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: midlothian, va
Posts: 1,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Meaning if you look at the letterbox above and below the picture it will appear grey and not black. This makes the picture look hazy on scenes that are shot inside or at night. For a dark environment this can be very obvious. My friend has this set and both of us agree that the black levels are quite bad. With poor black levels you lose shadow detail on dark scenes.
theroys88 is offline  
post #10 of 74 Old 08-30-2008, 06:19 PM
Newbie
 
spacemanvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ah i understand, that is not good...

how does your friend like the set otherwise?
spacemanvt is offline  
post #11 of 74 Old 08-30-2008, 06:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
boswd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
the blacks thing is very overblown it's not going to look gray, it won't be a deep shade of blacks like on a 750 or Kuro but it's really not that bad and extremely overblown.
Go buy it and enjoy.
boswd is offline  
post #12 of 74 Old 08-30-2008, 06:40 PM
Newbie
 
xomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just switched from a TX to VK today. I have ghosting over HDMI with my PC which I didn't have with the TX. The VK has 1.6.0 firmware. Switched drivers for my 7800gt with no effect. Gonna keep fiddling with it for now.
xomp is offline  
post #13 of 74 Old 08-30-2008, 06:44 PM
Newbie
 
spacemanvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i will probably just got try it out since it is soo super cheap.
what about the Contrast Ratio 2000:1 is that low? other tvs have like 15000:1

xomp: let me know how it goes for you.
spacemanvt is offline  
post #14 of 74 Old 08-30-2008, 09:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
theroys88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: midlothian, va
Posts: 1,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by spacemanvt View Post

ah i understand, that is not good...

how does your friend like the set otherwise?

He is happy with it. He bought for under a grand 6 months ago which was a bargain.
theroys88 is offline  
post #15 of 74 Old 08-30-2008, 09:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
theroys88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: midlothian, va
Posts: 1,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by boswd View Post

the blacks thing is very overblown it's not going to look gray, it won't be a deep shade of blacks like on a 750 or Kuro but it's really not that bad and extremely overblown.
Go buy it and enjoy.

Depends if you enjoy good black levels. If they are not important to you and you do not mind loosing shadow detail in dark scenes then enjoy. I love watching movies on my HD DVD and Blu-Ray players and find black levels that this and some other display exibit unacceptable to me. I cannot understand why some companies like Westinghouse and Hitachi(Plasmas) continue to release displays that have such poor black levels. I had a 401 Hitachi and the black levels were terrible. That was a plasma to boot. I ended up sellling it to a friend who could care less and loves the set. There is reason why the Pioneer Kuro sets are considered the holy grail in displays and that is black levels.
theroys88 is offline  
post #16 of 74 Old 08-31-2008, 12:49 AM
Newbie
 
xomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spacemanvt View Post

xomp: let me know how it goes for you.

I can't fix the ghosting issue. Time to go back to Costco tomorrow to exchange for another. Hopefully it won't be crap too.
xomp is offline  
post #17 of 74 Old 08-31-2008, 12:54 AM
Newbie
 
spacemanvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what exactly does the ghosting issue mean?
spacemanvt is offline  
post #18 of 74 Old 08-31-2008, 01:15 AM
Newbie
 
xomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
looks like there's a white shadow under all dark text on light colored background. making me dizzy looking at it. hard for me to notice anything like that during movies, etc but when using a computer it's pretty unbearable.
xomp is offline  
post #19 of 74 Old 08-31-2008, 02:04 PM
Newbie
 
spacemanvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i kinda see what your saying about the black levels. gotta do more testing though.

anyone know where to get DVI->HDMI converters at a B&M?
spacemanvt is offline  
post #20 of 74 Old 08-31-2008, 02:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
theroys88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: midlothian, va
Posts: 1,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 14
If it is for a cable box, your cable company will give you a DVI to HDMI cable at no cost to you.
theroys88 is offline  
post #21 of 74 Old 08-31-2008, 04:06 PM
Newbie
 
spacemanvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
no its for hooking up my DVI monitor cable to the TV hdmi input. circuit city had a HDMI to DVI converter but i have no HDMI cables.... yet
spacemanvt is offline  
post #22 of 74 Old 08-31-2008, 05:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
theroys88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: midlothian, va
Posts: 1,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 14
www.monoprice.com. Cheap and good.
theroys88 is offline  
post #23 of 74 Old 08-31-2008, 07:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Munkee Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Louisville, Kentucky
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
So I picked one of these up at Costco today for $699 and I so far I am happy with the purchase. For anyone using this with a pc, has anyone successfully fed the tv a 1080p60 Hz signal? It shows up for me using 1080p with 24 Hz and 30 Hz refresh rates, but when I try 1080p60, I get a black screen with "No input found" message. This is with my Radeon 9600 and the latest Catalyst drivers.
Munkee Boy is offline  
post #24 of 74 Old 08-31-2008, 11:00 PM
Newbie
 
xomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Munkee Boy View Post

So I picked one of these up at Costco today for $699 and I so far I am happy with the purchase. For anyone using this with a pc, has anyone successfully fed the tv a 1080p60 Hz signal? It shows up for me using 1080p with 24 Hz and 30 Hz refresh rates, but when I try 1080p60, I get a black screen with "No input found" message. This is with my Radeon 9600 and the latest Catalyst drivers.

Just got the replacement monitor in. Apparently Costco doesn't do exchanges, just return and rebuys.
My 7800GT is outputting 1080p60 and it detects fine. Connecting right out of the box the colors look faded and the screen is way too bright (had less of this on the TX model, but an easy fix either way). The ghosting/?oversharpen? problem is still there.
I'm in the process of seeing if I can force my video card to identify the TV as a "monitor" rather than a "HDTV", hopefully that will lead somewhere. Otherwise it's back to my Dell 20" LCD.

And it doesn't seem either of the two serial numbers are in Westinghouse's database, again with this message:
Quote:


Sorry, those numbers do not match our records. Please call Customer Support for assistance.

Customer Support
Monday – Saturday, 9 AM – 9 PM ET
1-866-287-5555

The TX serial number found a firmware just fine (but oddly would not flash to the monitor, had to rely on AVS to find a working firmware. Definitely very questionable).
With little to no experiences, reviews, or even resellers of this model, maybe Westinghouse is just clearing out these junk monitors at costco??
xomp is offline  
post #25 of 74 Old 09-01-2008, 06:08 AM
Newbie
 
spacemanvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hmmm that is interesting. i will post my results when i get some cables today.
spacemanvt is offline  
post #26 of 74 Old 09-01-2008, 07:25 PM
Newbie
 
spacemanvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i am using a 7600 GT and am able to run this HDTV at full resolution 1920xwhatever and the text looks clear and great and everything. no ghosting etc. the picture looks amazing on 42"
using a DVI cable with a DVi->HDMI adapter... i think its a keeper

The one problem I am having is, if i dont have the tv on when starting the computer, dualview doesnt work.. aka when i turn the tv on later it wont show dualview. (if i have the tv and lcd monitor on at the same time, when starting the computer,no worries)

i am trying to figure this out. hmm. any ideas?
spacemanvt is offline  
post #27 of 74 Old 09-02-2008, 12:39 PM
Newbie
 
matausi187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just bought the display at Costco.

My main purpose of this HDTV is for gaming (360 and PS3).

I do not know much about picture settings.

Does anyone have recommendations for the video settings?
matausi187 is offline  
post #28 of 74 Old 09-05-2008, 11:41 AM
Newbie
 
matausi187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
weird, i just tried setting my 360 to 1080p through component and it works. played castle crashers and hit the info button on the tv remote and it said 1080p (probably upscaled).

it does say 1080Pure on the TV (1080p through component). then again, it says 2x hdmi when it actually has 4 hdmi inputs.
matausi187 is offline  
post #29 of 74 Old 09-06-2008, 10:46 AM
Newbie
 
danimal99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 32" Westinghouse HDTV that within a couple of months, developed a black line down the right side where the 4:3 bars are. I've seen others comment on it on their own Westinghouse's, so it seems like to me that it's a problem that could plague all their displays. The $699 price seems too good to be true, so my suggestion is to make sure to always fill the screen. Stretch 4:3 content if you have to.

Westinghouse has told me they would replace it as it is a warranty issue, but I would have to ship it to them at my expense and wait an indefinite amount of time to get it back. That's just not a workable solution for me.

Just wanting you to be aware of what you're getting, you might want to spend another Benjamin or two to to avoid the potential headache.
danimal99 is offline  
post #30 of 74 Old 09-07-2008, 08:44 PM
Newbie
 
Bernsie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bought this about a week ago from Costco for $699 also. So far the picture looks pretty good. What sort of bothers me is that it doesn't have Dolby 5.1, which I guess is the trade-off for the price. This is my first LCD and I'm not a videophile, hence my pedestrian input.

One thing to consider is that Costco extends the factory warranty by another year. So even if the price is too good to be true, you have that going for you. And they have a 90-day return policy which gives plenty of time to evaluate.
Bernsie is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off