Official Samsung LNxxA750 Owners Thread - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 12494 Old 05-21-2008, 12:38 PM
Member
 
tiger3p's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have not notice that on my set.. *cross fingers*
tiger3p is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 12494 Old 05-21-2008, 12:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dms541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, I wouldn't have noticed it except I have another older TV right next to it. The 750 starts out darker than the old set but after a minute or so is brighter.

Vote on my video at: http://www.areallygoodejob.com/video...id=_L-gJYbFxlg
For every vote I'll donate some money to the THON charity for pediatric cancer.
dms541 is offline  
post #633 of 12494 Old 05-21-2008, 01:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
David Barteaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know what the latest firmware fixes? Does not seem to be an explanation on Samsung's website.

Those having problems may want to download the latest firmware. My upgrade went smoothly from ver. 1004 to ver. 1007.

David Barteaux is offline  
post #634 of 12494 Old 05-21-2008, 01:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
skibum5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 3,569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by dms541 View Post

Has anyone else noticed a warmup period when you first turn the set on?

I press power, wait maybe 4-5 secs and then the tv turns on. Then there's a period of about a minute where the picture is a little dark and gradually lightens until it reaches full brightness.

That's normal for all LCD and really just about any TV, although the initial change over the first 15 minutes is usually greater with LCDs.
It can actually take an hour inmost cases (and sometimes even a few, to truly reach 100% absolute max brightness on some sets).
If the 750 is anything like the 71 series, they actually warm up pretty fast for LCDs. Nothing to worry about at all.

This is why they say to never get calibration done until a TV has been on for at least an hour, it needs to settle in.
skibum5000 is offline  
post #635 of 12494 Old 05-21-2008, 02:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
stranx44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Barteaux View Post

Anyone know what the latest firmware fixes? Does not seem to be an explanation on Samsung's website.

Those having problems may want to download the latest firmware. My upgrade went smoothly from ver. 1004 to ver. 1007.

Did you notice any difference? Someone should go into the service menus to look and compare the differences.
stranx44 is offline  
post #636 of 12494 Old 05-21-2008, 02:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
zerog6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tiger3p View Post

So I finally took the dive and bought the LN46a750 model... had a great deal on the tv that couldn't pass on...

BB price match big river's price but when they pulled the internet price they actually price match 6av .. crazy.. was able to get the tv plus a new Pioneer receiver for the price they were originally selling the tv!!

This tv looks great. haven't played with the settings yet but I did put the AMP to high. My wife likes the interactive paintings and landscapes that came with the set. I think we will mount the TV and replace the painting that's currently on our wall (it's like having 6 or so paintings to display).

Need to learn how to calibrate this properly though..

Whoa! you got BB to match an "online" price? How the heck did you get them to do that?
zerog6 is offline  
post #637 of 12494 Old 05-21-2008, 02:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
zerog6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Barteaux View Post

Anyone know what the latest firmware fixes? Does not seem to be an explanation on Samsung's website.

Those having problems may want to download the latest firmware. My upgrade went smoothly from ver. 1004 to ver. 1007.

It says it on there, it fixes:

-Equalizer Balance Function Error

Don't know what the heck that could be. They could've changed other things without mentioning it, like they did the AMP on the 650
zerog6 is offline  
post #638 of 12494 Old 05-21-2008, 02:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dms541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Barteaux View Post

Anyone know what the latest firmware fixes? Does not seem to be an explanation on Samsung's website.

Those having problems may want to download the latest firmware. My upgrade went smoothly from ver. 1004 to ver. 1007.

After speaking with Samsung, I was told that the only thing the firmware changes is an error with the sound equalizer. Apparently, when using the equalizer (not the presets) sometimes the left-right balance will be thrown out of whack and one speaker will be louder than the other. This update fixes that.

Vote on my video at: http://www.areallygoodejob.com/video...id=_L-gJYbFxlg
For every vote I'll donate some money to the THON charity for pediatric cancer.
dms541 is offline  
post #639 of 12494 Old 05-21-2008, 02:51 PM
Member
 
lcjrodriguez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have any calibration settings for the 46a750 yet?
lcjrodriguez is offline  
post #640 of 12494 Old 05-21-2008, 03:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
taurus2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 4,322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lcjrodriguez View Post

Does anyone have any calibration settings for the 46a750 yet?

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1027442

Go 24
taurus2007 is offline  
post #641 of 12494 Old 05-21-2008, 03:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
studdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by powpowmeow View Post

just got one today, brand new, as a replacement for the 71f that busted.

already see a small blue pixel on the screen that is there no matter what (dead pixel i assume), it is there on multiple inputs so i know it is not a cable problem etc

still well under warranty, any thoughts

return it if it bugs you. Samsung is telling me they are backordered on 750's so my replacement wont ship out for another week to 10 days.

52" Samsung 750, finally satisfaction
studdad is offline  
post #642 of 12494 Old 05-21-2008, 04:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
taurus2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 4,322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by studdad View Post

return it if it bugs you. Samsung is telling me they are backordered on 750's so my replacement wont ship out for another week to 10 days.

I am sure they put your name at the bottom of the list to show you who's the sucka!

Go 24
taurus2007 is offline  
post #643 of 12494 Old 05-21-2008, 04:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
studdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by taurus2007 View Post

I am sure they put your name at the bottom of the list to show you who's the sucka!

lol, bastards. After they cancelled the delivery of the 650, I still got a call from the shipping company yesterday trying to deliver it.

52" Samsung 750, finally satisfaction
studdad is offline  
post #644 of 12494 Old 05-21-2008, 04:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
taurus2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 4,322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by studdad View Post

lol, bastards. After they cancelled the delivery of the 650, I still got a call from the shipping company yesterday trying to deliver it.

So, they wanted to deliver a phantom A650 so you could enjoy the imaginary A650 while waiting for the real A750 to arrive before the end of the year!

Go 24
taurus2007 is offline  
post #645 of 12494 Old 05-21-2008, 04:35 PM
Member
 
ewa8949's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by caa100 View Post

I am fairly certain that the PS3 is a DLNA client (not server). So you are right that it can help, but not by connecting it to a wired router along with your TV.

You would use the PS3 as the DLNA client, consuming media served up elsewhere over whatever net connection you can get working.

But you would connect the PS3 to the TV as a video source (same as if you were playing games on it.) No need to connect the TV to your Ethernet in this situation. In fact, you would not need a DLNA capable TV at all.....

PS3 users please correct me if I'm wrong....

That is how I use my PS3 on my Samsung Plasma I have right now. I recommend using Tversity as the DLNA server on your computer. You could also use WMP11. There are pro's and con's. The PS3 had some issues with about half of my divx and xvid videos and forget about mkv's if using WMP11 but with Tversity if you have a decent dual core computer you can set the option to "transcode when needed" Now all of those problematic Xvids and Divx play fine. However Tversity does not display video thumbnails like WMP which is kind of a bummer because the effect is really nice when your browsing your collection.

If I had a top of the line Intel quad core I think I could transcode 1080P MKV files but I am not certain. I run all my mkv's through mkv2vob and transcode them to mpg files and it remux's the audio automatically. Depending on how the original mkv was encoded it takes anywhere from 2 or 3 minutes on my Core 2 duo to 4 or 5 hours if it actually has to transcode the video at 1080. This is why I am thinking a faster Mhz quad core might be just enough horse power to transcode real time.

I wish I had one of these 750's to play around with the DLNA on it to see how good it is. I would think that with the proper XML setup for Tversity and a powerful enough computer you could transcode 1080 straight to the 750 but not sure.
ewa8949 is offline  
post #646 of 12494 Old 05-21-2008, 04:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
studdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by taurus2007 View Post

So, they wanted to deliver a phantom A650 so you could enjoy the imaginary A650 while waiting for the real A750 to arrive before the end of the year!

lol, exactly

52" Samsung 750, finally satisfaction
studdad is offline  
post #647 of 12494 Old 05-21-2008, 05:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
zerog6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by studdad View Post

lol, exactly

You should've had them deliver it anyway, so you can have the 650 for a few weeks.
zerog6 is offline  
post #648 of 12494 Old 05-21-2008, 05:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
studdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zerog6 View Post

You should've had them deliver it anyway, so you can have the 650 for a few weeks.

I thought of that, then immediately invisioned all the issues that would arise with Samsung. Now, with the response that they are backordered (the 750) I am a little paranoid that Samsung will drop the ball. I will feel much better once the tv has shipped.

52" Samsung 750, finally satisfaction
studdad is offline  
post #649 of 12494 Old 05-21-2008, 05:58 PM
Member
 
EpsilonExordium's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it normal for the "framerate" to slow down/drop during a fast action sequence, or graphically heavy scene? I've noticed this while watching tv/ps3 game/blu ray.

Also how do I turn on 120hz for Bluray? It switches to 24 when it starts playing.
EpsilonExordium is offline  
post #650 of 12494 Old 05-21-2008, 06:10 PM
Newbie
 
luca08's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

I'm a newbie to this site and lookin for some help. I'm thinking of buying the 46a750 from Amazon. They have a very good price, better then BB by $350.00!! Anyone have any experience buying a big ticket item like this from Amazon? And how's their return policy? Please let me know about your experiences. If this is the wrong thread for this type of question please let me know which thread to use.

Thanks for the help!!!
luca08 is offline  
post #651 of 12494 Old 05-21-2008, 06:13 PM
Newbie
 
Michizno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have trouble with the black level on the 750? The blacks on my tv don't really seem that dark. Maybe I'm just picky. I tried the CNet dark room settings and it still doesn't seem super black to me and off angle it seems green. Wondering if I have a bad display or just expect too much.
Michizno is offline  
post #652 of 12494 Old 05-21-2008, 06:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
studdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EpsilonExordium View Post

Is it normal for the "framerate" to slow down/drop during a fast action sequence, or graphically heavy scene? I've noticed this while watching tv/ps3 game/blu ray.

Also how do I turn on 120hz for Bluray? It switches to 24 when it starts playing.

sounds like you might be seeing a little stutter. In regards to blueray, that depends on how you have your Blue Ray player set up. If you tell it to send 24fps and your tv has AMP off, then you should get a 5:5 pulldown. The tv is still doing 120hz, but showing each frame 5 times. If you tell it to send 60fps, then the tv will either double the frames (when amp is off) or interpolate frames (Amp on).

Edit: to get rid of the stutter, either turn down the AMP or turn it off completely. These tvs seem to have much fewer problems with AMP, but still hear an occassional occurance of stutter.

52" Samsung 750, finally satisfaction
studdad is offline  
post #653 of 12494 Old 05-21-2008, 06:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
caa100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EpsilonExordium View Post

Is it normal for the "framerate" to slow down/drop during a fast action sequence, or graphically heavy scene? I've noticed this while watching tv/ps3 game/blu ray.

Also how do I turn on 120hz for Bluray? It switches to 24 when it starts playing.

It is showing you the input signal as 24p. The set refreshes at 120hz.

EDIT: stud got there first. Also note that film is shot at 24fps, which will naturally appear jerky during pans/fast action. Go to the movies and look for it. You'll see it.

-Chris
caa100 is offline  
post #654 of 12494 Old 05-21-2008, 06:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
studdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michizno View Post

Anyone have trouble with the black level on the 750? The blacks on my tv don't really seem that dark. Maybe I'm just picky. I tried the CNet dark room settings and it still doesn't seem super black to me and off angle it seems green. Wondering if I have a bad display or just expect too much.

I would try some other settings in the calibration room. But remember, these are LCD's, and even with the best black levels that these tvs have, you will still get some lighter blacks in a completely dark room and off angle. If you want to darken them up, try the following settings (some or all)

Black Adjust: set to low at a minimum
Back Light: set to your taste, but below 5 in a darkened room
HDMI Black level: Low
Brightness: definately under 50. It seems that 43 or so is about right.
Contrast: 90 or less
Power Savings (in the setup menu): set to Auto. This may be one of the most important things to do, as people are reporting very deep blacks with this setting set at Auto.
Gamma: 0 or less

like I said, play around with it. I would definately try the Power Savings setting first and see if that fixes your issue right away.

In regards to your green problem, do you also have slightly green tint to your screen? You may want to try adjusting your tint to give you more red and less green. You may also want to go into your white balance (in detailed settings) and adjust your green offset down a few notches.

52" Samsung 750, finally satisfaction
studdad is offline  
post #655 of 12494 Old 05-21-2008, 06:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
studdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by caa100 View Post

It is showing you the input signal as 24p. The set refreshes at 120hz.

EDIT: stud got there first. Also note that film is shot at 24fps, which will naturally appear jerky during pans/fast action. Go to the movies and look for it. You'll see it.

Yup, he is probably seeing judder as opposed to stutter, as stutter seems to be pretty rare with these tvs.

52" Samsung 750, finally satisfaction
studdad is offline  
post #656 of 12494 Old 05-21-2008, 09:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
stranx44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Checked out the new FW 1007. From the service menu, it looks like Samsung really cranked up the AMP engine:

1004 - L: 16, M: 13, H: 10
1007 - L: 12, M: 3, H: 0

If you're not a big fan of AMP, I wouldn't touch the new FW....
stranx44 is offline  
post #657 of 12494 Old 05-21-2008, 09:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
zerog6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stranx44 View Post

Checked out the new FW 1007. From the service menu, it looks like Samsung really cranked up the AMP engine:

1004 - H: 16, M: 13, L: 10
1007 - H: 12, M: 3, L: 0

If you're not a big fan of AMP, I wouldn't touch the new FW....

Good to know, I like it, they did the same as with the 650's newer FW. Did you notice if the settings are grayed out? or are you able to change them?

Just a note, you actually have them in reverse order. The lower the number value, the higher the AMP intensity
zerog6 is offline  
post #658 of 12494 Old 05-21-2008, 10:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
stranx44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zerog6 View Post

Good to know, I like it, they did the same as with the 650's newer FW. Did you notice if the settings are grayed out? or are you able to change them?

Just a note, you actually have them in reverse order. The lower the number value, the higher the AMP intensity

You can change them in the SM. And you're right, I reversed it! Oops...
stranx44 is offline  
post #659 of 12494 Old 05-22-2008, 05:32 AM
Member
 
Wardsweb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I just bought the LN52A750 from Circuit City and after a couple days with it, I must say I like it more than the plasma it replaced. I did get the floor supervisor at Circuit City to match the online sale price (wasn't on sale in the store) and the online extra 5% off coupon. The supervisor has the ability to create any discount he wants.

The intro to this thread said to plug in my iPod at my own risk. Well the tv had no problem reading and playing the music off my iPod. It even says iPod on the bottom of the screen when it's playing, so it recognizes what its hooked to.

Here is a quick pic I took headed out the door this morning.


~ There are many roads to audio nirvana. While the ultimate goal is the destination, don't forget to enjoy the ride ~

Wardsweb is offline  
post #660 of 12494 Old 05-22-2008, 06:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
delt31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey guys - I'm almost officially approved for this tv as a replacement for my 71f. Although I like the way the 71's exterior looks, I wanted a functioning AMP. However I also had two flashlights in the upper corners on my 71f which seemed to be very common for that set. Does the 750a have such a high flashlight/cloud rate?

Also - will this tv play the .mkv container (HD video) from a flash/harddrive?
delt31 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung , Samsung 40 Inch Lcd Hdtv Ln40a750 , Lcd Hdtv , Samsung Ln52a750 52 Inch 1080p Dlna Lcd Hdtv , Samsung Ln46a750 46 Inch 1080p Dlna Lcd Hdtv With Red Touch Of Color
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off