Official Samsung LNxxA750 Owners Thread - Page 31 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #901 of 12494 Old 05-25-2008, 06:58 AM
Newbie
 
SongFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South Cackalacky
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FLASH! Now the 52a750 is back in stock at big river, so maybe I have some ammunition with which to wrangle a deal at my local BB! (Still couldn't force it into my Gold Box, however.)
SongFrog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #902 of 12494 Old 05-25-2008, 07:23 AM
Member
 
AcuraMdx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
SongFong,

If you are buying tom CC, get it from this link. The new Microsoft cash back program. You should save another 150+

http://search.live.com/cashback/?pkw...68418c6b8b1e5c
AcuraMdx is offline  
post #903 of 12494 Old 05-25-2008, 09:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
zerog6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomasDR View Post

According to the manual you can fast forward/reverse by 20 seconds using the << & >> keys. I have tried those keys at the bottom and the wheel without success. Also note this is through WisePro-DLNA, not the USB drive. Play, Pause, Stop work fine.

Also the Preference feature is not available to me, I see Title, Date, Folder but not Pref. Nor can I use the Green button to set the "stars". Again I only tried with the DLNA side.

Anyone able to use the above features?

I've done it, it works for me
zerog6 is offline  
post #904 of 12494 Old 05-25-2008, 10:55 AM
Member
 
aboutbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I visited two CC stores and one Sears store recently. The CC stores had on hand the 650 and 750. The Sears store only had the 650 to view. I like most all of you hear think that these are terrific TVs. Although in store setup on all of the 650 and 750 models were set to Dynamic, you could still see they are superior products. I have a few observations from my visits and I'd like to get some opinions from you. I have seen on two different 650 models a slight smearing of some sort. For example, a music video was playing on all of the TVs in the Sears store. Carefully watching, I could see this slight smearing in a close-up of the singers face on the 650. I looked at some other TVs close by (plasma and LCD) and I did not see this. I saw some slight motion blur on all of the TVs I was viewing this video on, but this (slight smearing) was something different. In another store, to the left of a 650 was an XBR4 and to the right was a Panny 800U. The XBR and the 650 looked great while the 800U which was new to the store needed some setup to be done. On a few nature scenes (with little to know movement) the XBR seemed a just little sharper to me while the 650 had a very slight but noticeable blurriness between dark and light gradations say in a long shot view of a craggy snow capped mountain. I am hoping that this is just a setup issue that can be resolved by adjustments on the 650. BTW, someone else mentioned this slight smearing in 650 in the 650 owners thread, although that person may have used a different word and not smearing.

Now, for the 750 viewed in two different CC stores. Both were very sharp with great blacks (as did the 650's). Each store had a BR movie playing one Invincible the other Pirates. Invincible, although a good movie is not the best choice I think to demo a top tier TV. Never the less, it looked really good but, again to much contrast because of the dynamic setting. The Pirates BR on the other 750 look better accurate color, deep blacks but again too much contrast. Maybe it was the BR feed instead of the OTA feed that the 650's had, but I did not see any of the slight smearing that I observed on the 650's. And the 750's looked both slightly smoother and sharper to me. Again this could be the BR feed. Also, I did observe that one of 750's definitely had the purple haze when viewed off angle about 35 - 45 degrees.

Please note I was NOT LOOKING for flaws on any of these TVs. I was simply observing and comparing these to each other and to other TVs. I am very interested in either the 650 or the 750 and may purchase one soon as prices are really good at this time. And I must say that the information in this and the 650 thread is invaluable to me and I'm sure to many others. I thank you all for you contributions. What I am seeking now is opinions and observations to support or refute what I have seen. I am most interested in those of you who have or have had both of these TV's. My conclusion is that there is something slightly better in the 750 image over the 650. Could it be the 16 bit (750) vs. 12 bit (650) processing advantage? I don't know, but with such a limited sampling I can not say for really sure. What do you think?
aboutbob is offline  
post #905 of 12494 Old 05-25-2008, 12:12 PM
Member
 
xsabrewulf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question about the built in video player


So I understand you can put video files on your flash drive and the TV will read them?


What formats are supported? does it have Divx?
xsabrewulf is offline  
post #906 of 12494 Old 05-25-2008, 01:16 PM
Member
 
special43543's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cschmitz View Post

The 750 User Manual states the following file formats for DLNA

1. Image : JPEG (jpg, jpeg)
2. Audio : MP3 (mp3)
3. Video : MPEG1(mpg, mpeg), MPEG2 PS/TS(mpg, mpeg, trp, ts, tp), divx(mpg, mpeg, avi), MPEG4 / H.264 (mpg, mpeg)


For USB the supported video file formats are defined as follows

File Type: Video Decoder, Resolution, Audio Codec

avi: Xvid, 800x600, ADPCM/PCM
avi: H.264 MP, 1920x1080, AC3
avi: MPEG4 SP, 800x600, ADPCM/PCM
avi: MPEG4 ASP, 800x600, ADPCM/PCM
avi: MJPEG, 800x600, ADPCM/PCM

mp4: H.264 BP, 1920x1080, AAC
mp4: H.264 MP, 1920x1080, AAC/PCM

mpg: MPEG2,1920x1080, AC3

vro: MPEG2,1920x1080, AC3
vob: MPEG2,1920x1080, AC3

From first page, so I assume that is a yes. However my question as to if there is a way to play hd content on it remains unanswered. If the answer is no, does samsung plan on releasing an update allowing the tv to read the hd codecs?

Edit: I found this on a webiste

"The CoreCodec CoreAVC High Definition H.264 video codec is based on the MPEG-4 Part 10 standard and is the video codec used in AVCHD, Blu-Ray and in HD-DVD. H.264 is the next-generation standard for video, and CoreAVC™ is being recognized as being the world's fastest H.264 software video decoder. "

I don't know much about HD codecs, or even what they are, but from that sentence above I take it as H.264 is the codec that is used to play HD movies on the blu-ray. From the person I quoted, he said the tv uses the H.264 codec, meaning I could stream HD content from the pc to the tv. I have read earlier in the forums people saying that the tv would not play the HD codec. Which is it? I need the correct answers before I start dropping a couple grand on something I think its going to do.
special43543 is offline  
post #907 of 12494 Old 05-25-2008, 01:23 PM
Newbie
 
SongFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South Cackalacky
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AcuraMdx View Post

SongFong,

If you are buying tom CC, get it from this link. The new Microsoft cash back program. You should save another 150+

http://search.live.com/cashback/?pkw...68418c6b8b1e5c

Thanks, however, I couldn't get the link to work.

I made a trip over to the nearest CC (BB doesn't have the 52a750 in stock within 100 miles). I asked one clerk if the store would match the big river price. He went to another person, apparently senior to him. After keeping me waiting about 10 minutes, they came back and explained that they had checked out the big river web site and found that the included shipping is an expedited service, which the senior guy claimed meant it would be 2 to 3 weeks. (We know otherwise.) He then said the best price they would give me was $50 under the CC web site price, which was still $264 over the big river price. He also said big river only had one left in stock (though I don't know how he could tell that). I don't like dicking around, so I walked.

BTW, the little guy also tried to tell me that the 750 had a hard drive in it and the speakers fired toward the back wall. Clueless.
SongFrog is offline  
post #908 of 12494 Old 05-25-2008, 02:05 PM
Member
 
eolsen70's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 40XBR4 in my living room right now. It's going back to Amazon on Tuesday because of the fan noise issue. So...today after much deliberation I ordered a 46A750 form Amazon. I was considering waiting for for the Sony Z series to come out but I would most likely have to get another 40" if I wanted a Sony.(price point) So I figured what the heck I'll get the 46" Samsung. According to these posts it looks like many of the issues from the 650 have been woked out on the 750. When I get my new set I'll post how things are going. Wish me luck....

BTW...I rode down to BB for one last look. The 750 looks mint!!
eolsen70 is offline  
post #909 of 12494 Old 05-25-2008, 02:29 PM
Member
 
Andru08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK guys, so if you had a choice between the Sharp LC-65D64U, the LN-T5781F and the LN-52A750, and a JVC DILA HD100 projector which would you get?

I'm kinda torn between the 4. The cheapest of the 3 is the 750, and the most expensive is the JVC projector. $6500 for the JVC, $5999 for the 81F, $3999 for the 65D64U, and $2725 for the 750 shipped.

The TV would be used in a tiny room about 7 X 8 X 8 in size. Primary use would be as a computer monitor in the day, and movies in the evening and some game time on the PS3.

Things to consider would be heat dissipation, power consumption, and clarity of data display from the computer. The computer's rez is 1980 X1200 but will output at a lower rez if needed. I'm using a MacBook Pro 2.6GHz, 17" with a HD screen and EyeTV for DVR, and a PS3 for Blu-Ray movies.
Andru08 is offline  
post #910 of 12494 Old 05-25-2008, 02:35 PM
Newbie
 
msaghirmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey, I just got the LN52A750 52-inch 1080p DLNA LCD HDTV with RED Touch of Color for $2,485.15 from 6ave @ amazon.com. No tax. No shipping. Beat that!
msaghirmd is offline  
post #911 of 12494 Old 05-25-2008, 02:36 PM
Newbie
 
msaghirmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
By the way, that price isn't even available anymore! Porn looks amazing on this set! The black levels are amazing! LOL, the porn thing is a joke...I haven't even received the TV yet! But beat my deal suckas!
msaghirmd is offline  
post #912 of 12494 Old 05-25-2008, 03:39 PM
Member
 
ewa8949's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by msaghirmd View Post

Hey, I just got the LN52A750 52-inch 1080p DLNA LCD HDTV with RED Touch of Color for $2,485.15 from 6ave @ amazon.com. No tax. No shipping. Beat that!

Just ordered mine today from Amazon for $2,409.14 using gold box trick. Also, by using the Amazon visa card I will get about $75 back in the form of Amazon gift certificates. Maybe I'll use it towards a harmony remote.
ewa8949 is offline  
post #913 of 12494 Old 05-25-2008, 03:55 PM
Member
 
BigTez's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got home from BB. I ordered the LN46A750!! BB matched today's big river price by adjusting the pricing on some of the other items I purchased (AVR, PS3, TV stand)!!

I'm also going to have BB calibrate it. They explained the process, and it's much more than just putting in a DVD and adjusting the basic settings. And the price was competitive with other people who offer this service.

I can't wait!!!!!

Thanks to everyone who answered questions of mine the last couple weeks!!
BigTez is offline  
post #914 of 12494 Old 05-25-2008, 03:59 PM
Member
 
powpowmeow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
word of warning about 6ave. i bought a plasma from them a couple years ago and it took at least 6 weeks to receive. they are the shadiest.

i want to throw up a little every time i see someone mention them and how cheap they are.
powpowmeow is offline  
post #915 of 12494 Old 05-25-2008, 04:13 PM
Newbie
 
Hrama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by msaghirmd View Post

Hey, I just got the LN52A750 52-inch 1080p DLNA LCD HDTV with RED Touch of Color for $2,485.15 from 6ave @ amazon.com. No tax. No shipping. Beat that!

Hah, you guys want to talk about price? How about free? This one replaces the 71 I got from amazon. There was a screw up where the third party shipping company couldn't locate my tv on the day it was set to arrive. They contacted amazon to send a replacement, I also emailed them to send a replacement. Oddly enough, the tv arrived late that night and Amazon in their infinite wisdom, decided to refund my money, thinking I hadn't received it. Had a little trouble with the 71 (Some slight Clouding and corner flashlighting and the HDMI 1 port not working) and got Sammy to replace it with a new, shiny 750, free of charge of course. Should be getting it in two to three weeks. Beat that. So anyway, what do you think of the Red ToC bezel? I saw a nice 750 set up at BB and the red was a lot less bright than I thought it would be because of some of the complaints received. In fact, I loved the color added, makes it feel more... sculpted by hand I suppose. There's an organic feel to it. A nice, dark room will cover up the bezel real nice I think in case I change my mind and hate the thing.
Hrama is offline  
post #916 of 12494 Old 05-25-2008, 04:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
delt31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
can someone confirm if .mkv format is supported?
delt31 is offline  
post #917 of 12494 Old 05-25-2008, 05:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
skibum5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 3,569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by zerog6 View Post

For anyone using Directv HD with the 750:

How do you have the format set to? 720p or 1080i? My eye can't see ant difference, but I want to know if anyone has found evidence for one to be better than the other? I don't want to set it to native because it annoys me to no end when it takes 5-6 seconds to chance a single channel. So I don't know if it's better if the TV does all the scaling, or the directv HD box to do so.

ideally you would just jeep it on native.

if you set DTV to 720p then you lose half the resolution on all your 1080i channels (not getting into i vs p issues an dhow that might affect apparent resolution at times) and the DTV might not delace well and maybe doesn't do film mode type stuff?

if you set the DTV box to 1080i then you are taking nice progressive output, interlacing it and then having to delace it again (since LCD are by their nature progressive), maybe nothing goes too wrong, then again maybe it does.
skibum5000 is offline  
post #918 of 12494 Old 05-25-2008, 05:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
skibum5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 3,569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by stranx44 View Post

My God man, did you even look up the actual HDMI specs i linked to you? You can have a decoupled setup just like on my HTPC where I can send a video stream through HDMI and selectively choose whether I want audio via LPCM over HDMI OR externally through a SPIDF. There is no luck or black magic involved in the digital world. The sync is embedded in the data of the video/audio stream itself at a fixed frequency (typically 23.976fps for film). I am talking in general, not specifics towards his Tivo issue (as first relayed). Yes, something is obviously wrong is his case, but to generalize this issue altogether is stupid and misleading. You ramble and make a lot of meager threats for a guy who doesn't even own a 750..... Anyhow, enough of this.....

but how does his audio receiver that takes (using wildly fake numbers here just for example) 10ms to process and send it out the DAC know that his TV take 300ms? I don;t believe that HDMI sends info back saying that a 290ms relative delay needs to happen at the recevier to match the TV.

Sure the audio is synched to the video, it surely has to be, but that has nothing to do with the synch between a receiver and a TV.
skibum5000 is offline  
post #919 of 12494 Old 05-25-2008, 05:11 PM
Newbie
 
msaghirmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is the gold box trick?
msaghirmd is offline  
post #920 of 12494 Old 05-25-2008, 05:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
ghstudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Please be careful about choosing BB to calibrate your set. You really want someone who is actually qualified and trained to do this type of work by someone other than BB.

If you decide to go that route...make the best buy store certify that the person who appears at your house will be ISF certified and make them put it on your work order. Then ask the person who visits your house to verify that they are ISF trained. What you don't need is someone coming to your house who puts in a DVD (that you can buy yourself for $29.95), following the directions that come with the DVD and charging you $300 for the visit.

A good calibration is invaluable...a poor one isn't worth much of anything.
ghstudio is offline  
post #921 of 12494 Old 05-25-2008, 05:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
axmode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I keep telling you guys:

If you keep stating prices so overtly, you are risking to have this thread shut down. Be a bit creative when hinting prices to inform and alert others, but also bear in mind that you are otherwise violating the AVS forum's rules.

Samsung: 52" 850 / 46" 61 / 40" 61 / PS3 / BD-P1500 / A3 HD-DVD / Format Neutral
axmode is offline  
post #922 of 12494 Old 05-25-2008, 06:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
delt31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
i'm thinking about getting it professionally done - where should i go and how much does it cost.

Those that have done it - is it worth while? Never even heard of such a thing
delt31 is offline  
post #923 of 12494 Old 05-25-2008, 06:37 PM
Member
 
danamc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by msaghirmd View Post

What is the gold box trick?


Lots of posts on the Gold Box trick in this thread.
danamc is offline  
post #924 of 12494 Old 05-25-2008, 07:04 PM
Member
 
BigTez's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghstudio View Post

Please be careful about choosing BB to calibrate your set. You really want someone who is actually qualified and trained to do this type of work by someone other than BB.

If you decide to go that route...make the best buy store certify that the person who appears at your house will be ISF certified and make them put it on your work order. Then ask the person who visits your house to verify that they are ISF trained. What you don't need is someone coming to your house who puts in a DVD (that you can buy yourself for $29.95), following the directions that come with the DVD and charging you $300 for the visit.

I was very hesitant...and I specifically asked if all they did was put in a DVD and messed with the basic settings. I was told that they use some $11k contraption that works with a "grid" or something that they put close to the screen and it sends data to a computer somehow. They adjust the "hidden" settings using the remote. When I say "hidden" settings, I mean the settings you can get to by typing in a certain code on the remote.

He said that if I was not happy after the calibration, I could have the TV replaced for free with new one.

Hopefully it works out!
BigTez is offline  
post #925 of 12494 Old 05-25-2008, 07:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
taurus2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 4,322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTez View Post

I was very hesitant...and I specifically asked if all they did was put in a DVD and messed with the basic settings. I was told that they use some $11k contraption that works with a "grid" or something that they put close to the screen and it sends data to a computer somehow. They adjust the "hidden" settings using the remote. When I say "hidden" settings, I mean the settings you can get to by typing in a certain code on the remote.

He said that if I was not happy after the calibration, I could have the TV replaced for free with new one.

Hopefully it works out!

If they allow you to, take some pictures to see what kind of $11K toys that they use to calibrate your tv.

Go 24
taurus2007 is offline  
post #926 of 12494 Old 05-25-2008, 08:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
zerog6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by skibum5000 View Post

ideally you would just jeep it on native.

if you set DTV to 720p then you lose half the resolution on all your 1080i channels (not getting into i vs p issues an dhow that might affect apparent resolution at times) and the DTV might not delace well and maybe doesn't do film mode type stuff?

if you set the DTV box to 1080i then you are taking nice progressive output, interlacing it and then having to delace it again (since LCD are by their nature progressive), maybe nothing goes too wrong, then again maybe it does.

Yeah I know the best would be to just use native, but it's a pain though. I'll try it again for a little while anyway, with all of the newer HD channels there's only like 2 channels that I watch which are SD, so I would only have to put it up with switching from 720p to 1080i instead of those + 480i/p also.
zerog6 is offline  
post #927 of 12494 Old 05-25-2008, 08:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
zerog6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Someone mentioned earlier that you can stream things like youtube videos from your PC to the 750, I haven't found how to do this if you can. All i've found is to stream files which are downloaded onto the computer. Can anyone let me know how to do so if it's possible? thanks
zerog6 is offline  
post #928 of 12494 Old 05-25-2008, 08:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
ghstudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Go to: imagingscience dot com and see if your store is certified....some BB stores are but many are not. If the person they send is ISF trained, you are in good hands....
ghstudio is offline  
post #929 of 12494 Old 05-25-2008, 08:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sharkcohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTez View Post

I was very hesitant...and I specifically asked if all they did was put in a DVD and messed with the basic settings. I was told that they use some $11k contraption that works with a "grid" or something that they put close to the screen and it sends data to a computer somehow. They adjust the "hidden" settings using the remote. When I say "hidden" settings, I mean the settings you can get to by typing in a certain code on the remote.

He said that if I was not happy after the calibration, I could have the TV replaced for free with new one.

Hopefully it works out!

FYI, it's not necessary to go into the service menu of these 650/750 sets to adjust any 'hidden' settings for a professional/ISF calibration. All the settings needed are in the user menu.

Back off man, I'm a scientist.
sharkcohen is offline  
post #930 of 12494 Old 05-25-2008, 08:20 PM
Member
 
eolsen70's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To the dude that got his set calibrated by an 11k device: Post all your setting on the calibration thread :-)
eolsen70 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung , Samsung 40 Inch Lcd Hdtv Ln40a750 , Lcd Hdtv , Samsung Ln52a750 52 Inch 1080p Dlna Lcd Hdtv , Samsung Ln46a750 46 Inch 1080p Dlna Lcd Hdtv With Red Touch Of Color
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off