Official Samsung LNxxA750 Owners Thread - Page 417 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #12481 of 12501 Old 10-30-2013, 07:01 AM
Member
 
Majoram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by gpzbc View Post

Thank you so much for posting this. I think I might open my tv up this weekend!

no problem.

3 More Notes:

- CAUTION: I have to stress this: You can get a Serious Electrical Shock and hurt or worse!!! So please BE CAREFUL!!!!!.
I used a very flexible silicone oven gloves while testing.

- How do you know if you have the Tab Bond problem??
If you press/squeeze your TV around the border of the LCD and the picture fixes or changes. Most likely you have the tab bond problem.

- When searching Google I had found videos and instructions based on a SONY TV that had this issue. Most likely this is what you will find too.
That's what I used as a guide plus the service manual for my TV.
gpzbc likes this.
Majoram is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12482 of 12501 Old 10-31-2013, 09:55 AM
Senior Member
 
gpzbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Yes, good point. I should probably test my tv first to see if that is actually the problem. When you say "press/squeeze your TV around the border of the LCD", do you mean on the lcd panel itself? Or should I press squeeze on the bezel that borders the lcd panel?
gpzbc is online now  
post #12483 of 12501 Old 10-31-2013, 10:24 AM
Member
 
Majoram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by gpzbc View Post

Yes, good point. I should probably test my tv first to see if that is actually the problem. When you say "press/squeeze your TV around the border of the LCD", do you mean on the lcd panel itself? Or should I press squeeze on the bezel that borders the lcd panel?

The bezel. Not the LCD itself

Mind you this test only worked a few times on my TV and then it never worked again.
I opened up my TV after that since I was out of options and with it open, pressing on the tabs confirmed it for sure.
gpzbc likes this.
Majoram is offline  
post #12484 of 12501 Old 10-31-2013, 03:33 PM
Senior Member
 
gpzbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Great information. Thank you. I am still hoping to try it this weekend despite my wife's protests.
gpzbc is online now  
post #12485 of 12501 Old 11-01-2013, 12:05 PM
Senior Member
 
gpzbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Yep, compressing the bezel fixes the problem for me. So I am shopping for the tab bonds now. How do you know which thickness to get? Do you have to take the tv apart first? Or do you get a variety pack of different thicknesses?

Thanks so much for your input.
gpzbc is online now  
post #12486 of 12501 Old 11-10-2013, 08:43 AM
Member
 
CHuntMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It always seems to happen after the warranty expires wink.gif So it looks like the 18 months after March 2 2012 has passes and http://www.samsung.com/us/capacitorsettlement/ is not available.

Friday night, Sat morning and again this am the infamous start up is happening to my LN50A750. Found the receipt, $2800 back in June 2008

It's time to upgrade and then I can fix the capacitor(s) and move it down into the future man cave.

Any kept up with recent Samsungs? Looks like a Sunday AM browsing the AVS TV forums wink.gif
CHuntMD is offline  
post #12487 of 12501 Old 11-10-2013, 08:54 AM
dfp
AVS Special Member
 
dfp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHuntMD View Post

It always seems to happen after the warranty expires wink.gif So it looks like the 18 months after March 2 2012 has passes and http://www.samsung.com/us/capacitorsettlement/ is not available.

Friday night, Sat morning and again this am the infamous start up is happening to my LN50A750. Found the receipt, $2800 back in June 2008

It's time to upgrade and then I can fix the capacitor(s) and move it down into the future man cave.

Any kept up with recent Samsungs? Looks like a Sunday AM browsing the AVS TV forums wink.gif

It might be worth it to call them anyway. Maybe they have some unadvertised grace period. The current top of the line is the UN55F8000 for about what you paid. The similarly equipped UN55F7100 is about $1700.
dfp is offline  
post #12488 of 12501 Old 11-18-2013, 04:51 PM
Member
 
CHuntMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Here is what my power board caps look like.

CHuntMD is offline  
post #12489 of 12501 Old 01-15-2014, 11:13 PM
Member
 
DrunkenTiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16

So how does this model stack up with modern sets?

We've had one since 2008/2009 (LN46A750R1F), hasn't exhibited any problems so far but I'm pretty sure it'll break sooner or later and hopefully we can replace it with a 4K set to last an equally, or longer, amount of time.

DrunkenTiger is online now  
post #12490 of 12501 Old 03-03-2014, 10:52 AM
Senior Member
 
elmerfudII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is anyone doing a lot of DLNA viewing with their 'A750 ? I'm in the process of setting up a DLNA server and wanting to know what, if any, limits the A750s have in this regard. (Other than the obvious format limits...)

Aside: we've had our LN52A750 since the fall of 2008 and love it. It will be replaced by a 60 or 65" model in our main viewing area in the near future, but will continue to be used in our house. It will probably move to the master bedroom. However, I've been saying this for over a year now and our 52A750 just keeps chugging along and we keep loving it ! Why stop a good thing ?

Aside II: I actually thought we had an LN52A650... and I've been periodically lurking in that owners thread. However, when I started looking at the DLNA capabilities of our set, I realized it was an 'A750, not an 'A650. Too funny ! I did remember that it had DLNA capability as that was what drove me to buy an 'A750 rather than an 'A650. Funny that its take me 5 years to start using that feature.

Sorry for the babbling... avsforum rocks ! Great thread(s) too.

Edit: very interesting article on setting up DLNA servers for use with the A750s.
http://www.thohensee.com/?page_id=106
gpzbc likes this.
elmerfudII is offline  
post #12491 of 12501 Old 03-04-2014, 05:39 PM
Member
 
CHuntMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I use a WD Live and a old netgear NAS to do DNLA as Samsung products have crappy media players/codexs. Even my new Samsung TV and BluRay (while better then the A750) can't handle the 5.1 DTS mkv files.

Plus due to my AVR only handling HDMI v1.3 I now use optical cables for sound (5.1) for DNLA while the TV speakers are used for live/DVR TV.

CEH
CHuntMD is offline  
post #12492 of 12501 Old 03-05-2014, 12:18 AM
Senior Member
 
elmerfudII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHuntMD View Post

I use a WD Live and a old netgear NAS to do DNLA as Samsung products have crappy media players/codexs. Even my new Samsung TV and BluRay (while better then the A750) can't handle the 5.1 DTS mkv files.

Plus due to my AVR only handling HDMI v1.3 I now use optical cables for sound (5.1) for DNLA while the TV speakers are used for live/DVR TV.

Thanks for the heads up. I got DLNA streaming working to my LN40C650. Everything works except that it won't accept MOV files generated on an iPhone. They will need to be transcoded. I haven't tried any high end content yet. I'll pull the cable to the LN52A750 when I get a chance.
elmerfudII is offline  
post #12493 of 12501 Old 06-21-2014, 09:31 AM
Member
 
rbeckey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My LN46A750 failed last week. I pulled the power supply and saw the infamous bad capacitors. After some research I replaced the four suspicious power supply capacitors with Panasonic FR series caps from Mouser. I have done very little electronic soldering since building a universal power supply in high school shop class but encountered no problems. I build and repair computers as a hobby so I am generally familiar with disassembling and testing electronics. I got a 40 watt soldering iron with leds that shine down on the work, some rosin core solder and a suction bulb for desoldering. I was not impressed with the suction bulb and if I have to do more work like this I'd get a desoldering pump or a desoldering wick.

Only the two 25v 1000uf caps were bulging, but I replaced the 16v 1000uf caps on general principal. The caps are cheap and I paid more for shipping. Mouser was quick. I ordered Monday evening and had my parts Thursday afternoon. The whole operation from dismounting the set from the wall bracket to watching it again it took an aggregate of about 1.25 hours. I did some dusting in the set that added a little time.

I spent a total of about $45 of which about $13.00 was parts and shipping and the rest tools that I will likely use again, probably on more crappy capacitors.

The TV works like new. If I can do this after reading the forum and a couple of Youtube videos anyone can. Thanks to all who posted on this issue.
gpzbc likes this.
rbeckey is offline  
post #12494 of 12501 Old 07-08-2014, 11:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
blb1215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chesterfield
Posts: 696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Please help!

Does anyone know what screws are needed to attach the table top stand? I am trying to help my mother-in-law set up LN52A750 model that she has that was wall mounted and now needs to remove from wall and use the table top stand. Of course the screws were no where to be found!

I have google searched but with no success.

The stand is in two parts the square base and a square hard plastic insert. It appears to need 4 screws to attach the hard plastic insert to tv and 4 screws to attach the insert to the base. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Barry
blb1215 is offline  
post #12495 of 12501 Old 01-03-2015, 02:37 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by d2thez View Post
Hello all. I have come into possession of 2 firmware updates not available on Samsung's site. When a tech came to my house recently to replace the infamous CAPS, he provided me with what he said was the "newest" firmware at my request. That is version 1013.00 and I have updated it just fine, and it is, based on number and date, newer than the 1012.12 version currently hosted on Samsung's site.

My backwater dwelling of the net has also brought me to a 1014.00 firmware which I have, but have not the balls to test myself. If anybody is interested in either of these updates, please PM me. Thanks!
I'm posting here since I'm unable to PM due to my post count.

I'm interested in obtaining these firmwares if you still have them.
zosodk69 is offline  
post #12496 of 12501 Old 01-04-2015, 11:02 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by zosodk69 View Post
I'm posting here since I'm unable to PM due to my post count.

I'm interested in obtaining these firmwares if you still have them.
YES! Please, I am trying to find this firmware too!

I have a LN52A750 that just started the power cycling at startup a few days ago. Seems like it's taking longer for the display to turn on each time, could be my imagination tho. Once it's on it stays on. Not sure if this is the same problem everyone else has.
fonzy is offline  
post #12497 of 12501 Old 01-04-2015, 03:09 PM
Senior Member
 
gpzbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by zosodk69 View Post
I'm posting here since I'm unable to PM due to my post count.

I'm interested in obtaining these firmwares if you still have them.
I think I have it somewhere. Let me work on it.

Does anyone know anything about this firmware update? Has anyone measured results with it? I received it when d2thez posted on here a while back but I never updated my tv.
gpzbc is online now  
post #12498 of 12501 Old 01-04-2015, 06:44 PM
Member
 
haloguy628's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fonzy View Post
YES! Please, I am trying to find this firmware too!

I have a LN52A750 that just started the power cycling at startup a few days ago. Seems like it's taking longer for the display to turn on each time, could be my imagination tho. Once it's on it stays on. Not sure if this is the same problem everyone else has.
The power cycling is the result of old dried out capacitors. The fw update will not do anything for this cycling problem. What you need to do is to replace all capacitors on the power supply board.

Read the earlier posts on this thread. There are pictures and how tos. Or just search the web for "Samsung TV capacitors problem LN52A750".

haloguy628 is offline  
post #12499 of 12501 Old 01-07-2015, 01:20 PM
Member
 
d2thez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes I still have both firmware, though I only ever had the gal to flash 1013, not 1014. Do you have a method for me to get them to you?
d2thez is offline  
post #12500 of 12501 Old 01-12-2015, 08:40 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi avsforum, New guy here! I inherited a Samsung LN40A750(R1FXZC) a few months ago and I use with an Xbox 360 for games. Having used a CRT video tube for many years for first-person shooters and fast action games with detailed dark sequences, I've found the transition to LCD to be challenging. The LN40A750 appears to be a good performer for films, but a couple things are making life difficult with video games and help is appreciated: (1) Input lag, resulting in stick-input vs on-screen action that doesn't sync. Has this issue been improved through a software update, or is it a permanent hardware trait? All features are turned off, except for Black Adjust, which is set to Low. (2) The Gamma adjustment doesn't provide pinpoint control over specific shades, and there isn't a specific end-point adjustment for black either, so adjusting settings causes black to turn lighter without improving shading just above black. Perhaps an update adds further intuitive control over Gamma, scaling and other controls?
Absolutely Fabulous is online now  
post #12501 of 12501 Unread Today, 03:03 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'll add that the TV hums, and that the amplitude of the hum changes with black or white scenes. If I set the back lighting to min or max, the hum vanishes. Any setting between those extremes results in humming.
Absolutely Fabulous is online now  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung , Samsung 40 Inch Lcd Hdtv Ln40a750 , Lcd Hdtv , Samsung Ln52a750 52 Inch 1080p Dlna Lcd Hdtv , Samsung Ln46a750 46 Inch 1080p Dlna Lcd Hdtv With Red Touch Of Color
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off