Official Samsung LNxxA750 Owners Thread - Page 6 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 12494 Old 05-09-2008, 08:35 AM
Member
 
chinonye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got the LN52A750 from CC cheaper than I would have buying from Big River. I had them match the deep discounted price that HHgregg gave me and also used AAA 8% discount on top of that with 3 yr warranty for under $2800 for everything. Awesome. I will post pics of my setup which includes X360 hd addon, PS3 60gb, DTV HR20700, xbox modded,phillips upconvert hdd divx dvd player and GE, mediacom cable box, GE 3 disc dvd changer. I have PS3 using hdmi, X360 using component and DTV HR20700 using hdmi. All are connected to Onkyo TX-SR804s reciver and hdmi and component cables going to TV. Im still messing with calibration color. TV is beautiful. Hopefully someone will tell me why it still shows resolution and source 60hz, i though it would show 120hz, it does show 60hz for my ps3 as well, i thought at least the ps3 would show as 120hz..so if someone could explain or help with this. Still got a lot to learn about this tv. I have znutts calibration settings currently for viewing all, not sure if it is optimal for gaming.
chinonye is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 12494 Old 05-09-2008, 08:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Lestat Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: THE COLD SIDE
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chinonye View Post

Got the LN52A750 from CC cheaper than I would have buying from Big River. I had them match the deep discounted price that HHgregg gave me and also used AAA 8% discount on top of that with 3 yr warranty for under $2800 for everything. Awesome. I will post pics of my setup which includes X360 hd addon, PS3 60gb, DTV HR20700, xbox modded,phillips upconvert hdd divx dvd player and GE, mediacom cable box, GE 3 disc dvd changer. I have PS3 using hdmi, X360 using component and DTV HR20700 using hdmi. All are connected to Onkyo TX-SR804s reciver and hdmi and component cables going to TV. Im still messing with calibration color. TV is beautiful. Hopefully someone will tell me why it still shows resolution and source 60hz, i though it would show 120hz, it does show 60hz for my ps3 as well, i thought at least the ps3 would show as 120hz..so if someone could explain or help with this. Still got a lot to learn about this tv. I have znutts calibration settings currently for viewing all, not sure if it is optimal for gaming.

Can you do me a favor, play the resistence demo and see if you get vapor and studder on it. I have basicly znuts setting which are great for gaming but I have sharpness and contrast up and AMP on medium.

The scariest words in the English language are:
"Hello, we're from the government, and we're here to help."

PS3 HDMI 1.4
GT50 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV
10' 1080P@60

Lestat Phoenix is offline  
post #153 of 12494 Old 05-09-2008, 09:33 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
grubavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: on the noisy end of the Half Moon Bay, CA Airport
Posts: 3,643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by chinonye View Post

Got the LN52A750 from CC cheaper than I would have buying from Big River. I had them match the deep discounted price that HHgregg gave me and also used AAA 8% discount on top of that with 3 yr warranty for under $2800 for everything. Awesome. I will post pics of my setup which includes X360 hd addon, PS3 60gb, DTV HR20700, xbox modded,phillips upconvert hdd divx dvd player and GE, mediacom cable box, GE 3 disc dvd changer. I have PS3 using hdmi, X360 using component and DTV HR20700 using hdmi. All are connected to Onkyo TX-SR804s reciver and hdmi and component cables going to TV. Im still messing with calibration color. TV is beautiful. Hopefully someone will tell me why it still shows resolution and source 60hz, i though it would show 120hz, it does show 60hz for my ps3 as well, i thought at least the ps3 would show as 120hz..so if someone could explain or help with this. Still got a lot to learn about this tv. I have znutts calibration settings currently for viewing all, not sure if it is optimal for gaming.

I gotta say that's a deal! Congrats.

If more of us valued food and cheer above hoarded gold, it would be a much merrier world.

grubavs is offline  
post #154 of 12494 Old 05-09-2008, 10:38 AM
Newbie
 
darthsphinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got my 750 2 days ago. I took back a Sony XBR4 because of the fan noise.

The 750 does not clean up SD signals like the XBR4 does which is too bad. SD text and faces get a very checker board looking.

There is still fan noise from the 750 although not as bad as the XBR.

I have no smearing and my 750 handles motion much better than the Sony.

Anyone know how to completely eliminate fan noise, because that is the most important thing to me right now. I'd rather have a tv that smells like a dead rat than noise. The glare from the plastic boarder is also a distraction a night but no big deal. Anyone have good settings for SD?
darthsphinx is offline  
post #155 of 12494 Old 05-09-2008, 10:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
caa100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chinonye View Post

Got the LN52A750 from CC cheaper than I would have buying from Big River. I had them match the deep discounted price that HHgregg gave me and also used AAA 8% discount on top of that with 3 yr warranty for under $2800 for everything. Awesome. I will post pics of my setup which includes X360 hd addon, PS3 60gb, DTV HR20700, xbox modded,phillips upconvert hdd divx dvd player and GE, mediacom cable box, GE 3 disc dvd changer. I have PS3 using hdmi, X360 using component and DTV HR20700 using hdmi. All are connected to Onkyo TX-SR804s reciver and hdmi and component cables going to TV. Im still messing with calibration color. TV is beautiful. Hopefully someone will tell me why it still shows resolution and source 60hz, i though it would show 120hz, it does show 60hz for my ps3 as well, i thought at least the ps3 would show as 120hz..so if someone could explain or help with this. Still got a lot to learn about this tv. I have znutts calibration settings currently for viewing all, not sure if it is optimal for gaming.

The source is 60hz. The TV converts to 120hz.

-Chris
caa100 is offline  
post #156 of 12494 Old 05-09-2008, 01:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bigred7078's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 2,947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hey i have a favor to ask of a 750 owner. If possible could you post a picture of what the halo effect looks like at night/or lights off? Its hard to tell at best buy because of all the lighting, so could somone just post a picture showing what this looks like, i'd like to be able to have a general idea what i would be dealing with. Thanks in advance!
Bigred7078 is offline  
post #157 of 12494 Old 05-09-2008, 01:51 PM
Member
 
jarcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by darthsphinx View Post

The 750 does not clean up SD signals like the XBR4 does which is too bad. SD text and faces get a very checker board looking.

There is still fan noise from the 750 although not as bad as the XBR.

I have no smearing and my 750 handles motion much better than the Sony.

My biggest gripe about the A750 is that SD looks awfull. I wish that Samsung would include a feature to allow me to shring SD programming to a smaller size, so I can make it look better. In fact, my wife thinks th set is too big anyhow, so it would be cool if she could shrink any program to her liking.

I have not noticed any fan noise at all. I'll listen again to see if I can hear any, but I don't think I will.

As for motion, I have not seen any motion blur at all, yet. I am still putting it through its paces.
jarcher is offline  
post #158 of 12494 Old 05-09-2008, 01:52 PM
Member
 
jarcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigred7078 View Post

Hey i have a favor to ask of a 750 owner. If possible could you post a picture of what the halo effect looks like at night/or lights off? Its hard to tell at best buy because of all the lighting, so could somone just post a picture showing what this looks like, i'd like to be able to have a general idea what i would be dealing with. Thanks in advance!

With lights off, I don't see any halo effect at all. In fact, I don't see it often. I'll try to get some pics. That will give me an excuse to play with my wife's new Pentax K200D
jarcher is offline  
post #159 of 12494 Old 05-09-2008, 02:10 PM
Member
 
robdam1001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know the code for the included remote control so that I may control the TV from my fancy-dancy universal remote?
robdam1001 is offline  
post #160 of 12494 Old 05-09-2008, 02:26 PM
Member
 
dmharper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigred7078 View Post

Hey i have a favor to ask of a 750 owner. If possible could you post a picture of what the halo effect looks like at night/or lights off? Its hard to tell at best buy because of all the lighting, so could somone just post a picture showing what this looks like, i'd like to be able to have a general idea what i would be dealing with. Thanks in advance!

Here are some pictures in the dark. I would like to see some pics of how people are fixing this with the tape around the bezel and what type of tape is used. It really doesnt bother me but could easily be fixed with some tape around the inside lip of the bezel as suggested before.
LL
LL
LL
dmharper is offline  
post #161 of 12494 Old 05-09-2008, 02:33 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dms541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
updated first post...

Vote on my video at: http://www.areallygoodejob.com/video...id=_L-gJYbFxlg
For every vote I'll donate some money to the THON charity for pediatric cancer.
dms541 is offline  
post #162 of 12494 Old 05-09-2008, 02:56 PM
Member
 
KeanosMagicHat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jarcher View Post

My biggest gripe about the A750 is that SD looks awfull.

I don't know whether you've been tweaking them but the default "out of the box" settings look awful period, in my opinion.

You can obtain huge improvements on the previous Samsung LCD models by adjusting the settings, so I'm certain the A750 will be the same.
KeanosMagicHat is offline  
post #163 of 12494 Old 05-09-2008, 03:06 PM
Member
 
chinonye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lestat Phoenix View Post

Can you do me a favor, play the resistence demo and see if you get vapor and studder on it. I have basicly znuts setting which are great for gaming but I have sharpness and contrast up and AMP on medium.

ill test for studder on my copy of resistance tonite around 8pm cst
chinonye is offline  
post #164 of 12494 Old 05-09-2008, 03:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dms541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chinonye View Post

ill test for studder on my copy of resistance tonite around 8pm cst

FYI...it's 'stutter', not 'studder'

Vote on my video at: http://www.areallygoodejob.com/video...id=_L-gJYbFxlg
For every vote I'll donate some money to the THON charity for pediatric cancer.
dms541 is offline  
post #165 of 12494 Old 05-09-2008, 03:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Lestat Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: THE COLD SIDE
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh yeah stutter what was I thinking!

The scariest words in the English language are:
"Hello, we're from the government, and we're here to help."

PS3 HDMI 1.4
GT50 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV
10' 1080P@60

Lestat Phoenix is offline  
post #166 of 12494 Old 05-09-2008, 04:43 PM
Newbie
 
BalanceSeeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dms541, the dimensions of the stand for all A750 models can be found in the user manual or at least the PDF version. Look at the end of the last section in the manual.

I am a new owner of an 40a750 but it will not arrive until next week.
BalanceSeeker is offline  
post #167 of 12494 Old 05-09-2008, 05:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
zerog6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiolover718 View Post

Im on the phone right now fighting for a 750


lost it- only will give me a 650.

Sorry to hear that

Can you let me know the argument that both you and samsung put up about it? I'm waiting for them to call me back to exchange my 71. I want to have the best case possible to fight them about it also, thanks

On another note:
Has anyone confirmed the whole response time discrepancy between the 650 and 750 being 4ms or 6ms? On Samsungs website it still says the 750 has a 6ms response time.

It's weird because on the 650's "Main Features" it talks about the 4ms response time, however the 750's "Main Features" do not mention it.
zerog6 is offline  
post #168 of 12494 Old 05-09-2008, 05:14 PM
Newbie
 
olivenone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I play resistance on the 'game' mode. Very smooth. I played about 4.5hrs of COD4 last night on that setting too.

Issues:
1) halo effect while watching Hellboy (BR). Not once during 'No country for old men' though.
2) clouding when the screen is black (during HDMI handshaking). I loosened all the screws on the back and that pretty much fixed it ... until it falls apart of course.
3) I think I also have 'flashlights' in the corners but I really have to look for them. It's so minor I don't even care.

I still have 10 days to return/exchange it so I'll keep an eye out for any other imperfections.

Side note, I can't believe I'm already use to the 10" gain over my old 42" westy! I might have to go the projector route next time to get the immersion effect.
olivenone is offline  
post #169 of 12494 Old 05-09-2008, 05:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dms541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BalanceSeeker View Post

dms541, the dimensions of the stand for all A750 models can be found in the user manual or at least the PDF version. Look at the end of the last section in the manual.

I am a new owner of an 40a750 but it will not arrive until next week.

Thanks.

Vote on my video at: http://www.areallygoodejob.com/video...id=_L-gJYbFxlg
For every vote I'll donate some money to the THON charity for pediatric cancer.
dms541 is offline  
post #170 of 12494 Old 05-09-2008, 05:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Lestat Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: THE COLD SIDE
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by olivenone View Post

I play resistance on the 'game' mode. Very smooth. I played about 4.5hrs of COD4 last night on that setting too.

Issues:
1) halo effect while watching Hellboy (BR). Not once during 'No country for old men' though.
2) clouding when the screen is black (during HDMI handshaking). I loosened all the screws on the back and that pretty much fixed it ... until it falls apart of course.
3) I think I also have 'flashlights' in the corners but I really have to look for them. It's so minor I don't even care.

I still have 10 days to return/exchange it so I'll keep an eye out for any other imperfections.

Side note, I can't believe I'm already use to the 10" gain over my old 42" westy! I might have to go the projector route next time to get the immersion effect.

Glad you are enjoying it, can you do me a favor play resistance on on normal picture setting with AMP on medium (dont do game mode) and tell me what you get. Thanks

The scariest words in the English language are:
"Hello, we're from the government, and we're here to help."

PS3 HDMI 1.4
GT50 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV
10' 1080P@60

Lestat Phoenix is offline  
post #171 of 12494 Old 05-09-2008, 07:37 PM
Newbie
 
olivenone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It seemed sluggish. I had to turn AMP up to high to smooth out the play but I got that annoying triple cross hair effect.

Unfortunately, I think this technology is still in it's infancy (should be pretty solid in another year or so).

Imagine what this monitor would have cost a couple of years ago.
olivenone is offline  
post #172 of 12494 Old 05-09-2008, 07:41 PM
Member
 
Hawgfin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So, we have stuttering and clouding on these sets. Are these fairly isolated events, or are they fairly common?
When it comes to videogames, rather than using game mode, which allows for no adjustments, can you use some other mode and simply turn off the extra processing, and get acceptable results (in terms of lag, smearing etc.)?
Hawgfin is offline  
post #173 of 12494 Old 05-09-2008, 07:58 PM
Senior Member
 
audiolover718's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HMMM

I just checked my email just now and got an email from samsung. the subject header read- we changed the exchange option. OH CRAP! maybe I will get a 750- but alas when i look in the email it still says 650. WTF! Who knows- i have to call back on monday now- surprise surprise
audiolover718 is offline  
post #174 of 12494 Old 05-09-2008, 08:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Lestat Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: THE COLD SIDE
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawgfin View Post

So, we have stuttering and clouding on these sets. Are these fairly isolated events, or are they fairly common?
When it comes to videogames, rather than using game mode, which allows for no adjustments, can you use some other mode and simply turn off the extra processing, and get acceptable results (in terms of lag, smearing etc.)?

Edit:

The scariest words in the English language are:
"Hello, we're from the government, and we're here to help."

PS3 HDMI 1.4
GT50 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV
10' 1080P@60

Lestat Phoenix is offline  
post #175 of 12494 Old 05-09-2008, 08:39 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dms541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawgfin View Post

So, we have stuttering and clouding on these sets. Are these fairly isolated events, or are they fairly common?
When it comes to videogames, rather than using game mode, which allows for no adjustments, can you use some other mode and simply turn off the extra processing, and get acceptable results (in terms of lag, smearing etc.)?

Please refrain from stating that stutter is a widespread problem on these sets. This is how rumors get started and in Samsung circles stutter makes 4 letter words look ripe for Sesame Street. The fact is, the only 750 owner who has noticed stutter so far is Lestat Phoenix. Until more people state that this is an issue it should be regarded as a defect to his set.

Clouding and mura are common to all LCDs. It's just a part of the assembly process. Sometimes you get lucky, sometimes you don't.

Vote on my video at: http://www.areallygoodejob.com/video...id=_L-gJYbFxlg
For every vote I'll donate some money to the THON charity for pediatric cancer.
dms541 is offline  
post #176 of 12494 Old 05-09-2008, 08:47 PM
Newbie
 
olivenone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawgfin View Post

So, we have stuttering and clouding on these sets. Are these fairly isolated events, or are they fairly common?
When it comes to videogames, rather than using game mode, which allows for no adjustments, can you use some other mode and simply turn off the extra processing, and get acceptable results (in terms of lag, smearing etc.)?

I originally forgot there was a game mode so I had all the modes off. I actually play GTA4 w/ game off and custom settings. I think FPS are too taxing for on the onboard processor because GTA4 runs smooth w/o game mode (just a theory).

Gaming is the only thing I need to tweak with this set. BR movies look fantastic.

Clouding isn't a big deal if you don't mind loosing the screws in the back a little.

The halo thing of course can only be 'fixed' by putting black tape around the edges and that's a little ghetto after spending 3k.
olivenone is offline  
post #177 of 12494 Old 05-09-2008, 08:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Lestat Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: THE COLD SIDE
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by olivenone View Post

I originally forgot there was a game mode so I had all the modes off. I actually play GTA4 w/ game off and custom settings. I think FPS are too taxing for on the onboard processor because GTA4 runs smooth w/o game mode (just a theory).

Gaming is the only thing I need to tweak with this set. BR movies look fantastic.

Clouding isn't a big deal if you don't mind loosing the screws in the back a little.

The halo thing of course can only be 'fixed' by putting black tape around the edges and that's a little ghetto after spending 3k.

Game mode you cant touch any or most of the options, that is why i dont use it.

The scariest words in the English language are:
"Hello, we're from the government, and we're here to help."

PS3 HDMI 1.4
GT50 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV
10' 1080P@60

Lestat Phoenix is offline  
post #178 of 12494 Old 05-10-2008, 05:08 AM
Member
 
KeanosMagicHat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dms541 View Post

Please refrain from stating that stutter is a widespread problem on these sets. This is how rumors get started and in Samsung circles stutter makes 4 letter words look ripe for Sesame Street. The fact is, the only 750 owner who has noticed stutter so far is Lestat Phoenix. Until more people state that this is an issue it should be regarded as a defect to his set.

I absolutely agree with this, the only common complaint with the A750 is the Halo effect which, as you put in the first post, seems to bother some and not others. Stutter has only, at this stage, been reported by Lestat Phoenix.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dms541 View Post

Clouding and mura are common to all LCDs. It's just a part of the assembly process. Sometimes you get lucky, sometimes you don't.

We should keep an eye on this though.

Despite sharing manufacturing plants for many panels in a joint venture, recent Sony LCDs have seen far higher instances of clouding / mura than Samsung TV's.

I can testify to this having had 5 different TV's across two ranges whilst Samsung attempt to rectify the Hum Bars fault here in the UK. (I posted about this on the first page of the thread hoping A750 owners would look for the fault - no reply as yet).

Anyway out of those 5 only one had intrusive clouding. It's not been a widespread problem with previous Samsung models so we need to monitor this with the A750.

Cheers.
KeanosMagicHat is offline  
post #179 of 12494 Old 05-10-2008, 05:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Lestat Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: THE COLD SIDE
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeanosMagicHat View Post

I absolutely agree with this, the only common complaint with the A750 is the Halo effect which, as you put in the first post, seems to bother some and not others. Stutter has only, at this stage, been reported by Lestat Phoenix.



We should keep an eye on this though.

Despite sharing manufacturing plants for many panels in a joint venture, recent Sony LCDs have seen far higher instances of clouding / mura than Samsung TV's.

I can testify to this having had 5 different TV's across two ranges whilst Samsung attempt to rectify the Hum Bars fault here in the UK. (I posted about this on the first page of the thread hoping A750 owners would look for the fault - no reply as yet).

Anyway out of those 5 only one had intrusive clouding. It's not been a widespread problem with previous Samsung models so we need to monitor this with the A750.

Cheers.

Olivenone (spelling) reported stuttering, also I have had two 750's both with vapor and stutter on medium AMP, lets hope were the only ones with this problem. Going back to get number three today, will report back if i have another dud..

The scariest words in the English language are:
"Hello, we're from the government, and we're here to help."

PS3 HDMI 1.4
GT50 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV
10' 1080P@60

Lestat Phoenix is offline  
post #180 of 12494 Old 05-10-2008, 05:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Datacide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: behind you
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by olivenone View Post

I originally forgot there was a game mode so I had all the modes off. I actually play GTA4 w/ game off and custom settings. I think FPS are too taxing for on the onboard processor because GTA4 runs smooth w/o game mode (just a theory).

Gaming is the only thing I need to tweak with this set. BR movies look fantastic.

Clouding isn't a big deal if you don't mind loosing the screws in the back a little.

The halo thing of course can only be 'fixed' by putting black tape around the edges and that's a little ghetto after spending 3k.


Exactly, doesn't anyone have a problem with these "fixes" for a 3K TV. I mean, nothing is perfect, but this seem a little silly. Tape, loosening screws...on a new TV?

Datacide

*Don't shop at The Brick...ever!*
Datacide is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung , Samsung 40 Inch Lcd Hdtv Ln40a750 , Lcd Hdtv , Samsung Ln52a750 52 Inch 1080p Dlna Lcd Hdtv , Samsung Ln46a750 46 Inch 1080p Dlna Lcd Hdtv With Red Touch Of Color
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off