Official Samsung LNxxA750 Owners Thread - Page 8 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 12494 Old 05-10-2008, 09:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bigred7078's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 2,947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
OK i know everyone keeps saying the 750 and the 650 are the same as far as PQ goes, but i have to disagree. I honest to god feel like the 750 has a better picture. I work at best buy in the HT department and i have messed with these two TV's for many hours since we got them in awhile back. If you set them to the same exact settings i still think the 750 looks better, and all my HT associates agree. What gives? Has it actually been confirmed they are the same? Because everyone seems to be disagreeing. The black levels on the A750 just seem soooo much better, it has way more pop to it as well. I dunno though, i must be crazy.....
Bigred7078 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 12494 Old 05-10-2008, 09:56 PM
Member
 
coasterguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Everyone. I just got my LN46A750 home from BB tonight. Stellar deal too. They actually beat Amazons CRAZY price that appeared online this morning. IT also made the 4 year protection plan even less expensive. I-M me if you want to know what I paid.
ANYWAY, My question is this. HDMI cables. I have regular ones that were not very expensive that I bought from one of the links on top of this page. With my using the PS3 for Blu-Ray and I just upgraded to the Yamaha RX-v663 receiver. Which HDMI cables should I be using to the best quality available for my newly upgraded system?
Thanks. I just do not know much about HDMI cables yet..

Awesome TV by the way. I have a sammy 50" 1080i plasma also (now in bedroom). I now know that the plasma does look better for Hi-Def Cable shows but, The 1080p Blu-Ray movies on the sammy lcd I brought home tonight are simply stunning. So realistic it is nuts. I would say Plasma and LCD are = at this point with the new 650's and 750's but, each have their own strenghts. Motion is still better on plasmas. Do you agree? I am happy with my purchase.

Panasonic TC-PS54S1, Pioneer SC-1522-k, PS4, DT Mythos ST-L , DT CS-8080HD, DT SR-8080BP, DT SC-8000
coasterguy is offline  
post #213 of 12494 Old 05-10-2008, 10:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
taurus2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 4,322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by coasterguy View Post

Hi Everyone. I just got my LN46A750 home from BB tonight. Stellar deal too. They actually beat Amazons CRAZY price that appeared online this morning. IT also made the 4 year protection plan even less expensive. I-M me if you want to know what I paid.
ANYWAY, My question is this. HDMI cables. I have regular ones that were not very expensive that I bought from one of the links on top of this page. With my using the PS3 for Blu-Ray and I just upgraded to the Yamaha RX-v663 receiver. Which HDMI cables should I be using to the best quality available for my newly upgraded system?
Thanks. I just do not know much about HDMI cables yet..

Awesome TV by the way. I have a sammy 50" 1080i plasma also (now in bedroom). I now know that the plasma does look better for Hi-Def Cable shows but, The 1080p Blu-Ray movies on the sammy lcd I brought home tonight are simply stunning. So realistic it is nuts. I would say Plasma and LCD are = at this point with the new 650's and 750's but, each have their own strenghts. Motion is still better on plasmas. Do you agree? I am happy with my purchase.

If you need HDMI cables. check out monoprice or blue jeans cable (forum sponsors). They have some quality cables for great prices.

Go 24
taurus2007 is offline  
post #214 of 12494 Old 05-10-2008, 10:30 PM
Member
 
coasterguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I do not need any cable unless. 1.3 cables will benefit me. Anyone?
Thanks.

Panasonic TC-PS54S1, Pioneer SC-1522-k, PS4, DT Mythos ST-L , DT CS-8080HD, DT SR-8080BP, DT SC-8000
coasterguy is offline  
post #215 of 12494 Old 05-10-2008, 10:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bigred7078's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 2,947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by coasterguy View Post

I do not need any cable unless. 1.3 cables will benefit me. Anyone?
Thanks.

1.3a is a limitation of the spec of an output or input, NOT the cable itself
Bigred7078 is offline  
post #216 of 12494 Old 05-10-2008, 10:41 PM
Member
 
coasterguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you.

Panasonic TC-PS54S1, Pioneer SC-1522-k, PS4, DT Mythos ST-L , DT CS-8080HD, DT SR-8080BP, DT SC-8000
coasterguy is offline  
post #217 of 12494 Old 05-10-2008, 10:48 PM
Member
 
jarcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey DMS541, I see you noted int he first post that TVersity works with the A750. Where did you see that reported? I can't get it to work...
jarcher is offline  
post #218 of 12494 Old 05-10-2008, 10:54 PM
Member
 
jarcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys, for those of you with experience with LCD TVs, what is the burn risk, both for gaming static images and for sidebars?
jarcher is offline  
post #219 of 12494 Old 05-10-2008, 11:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
zerog6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dms541 View Post

What about the difference in processors? The 16-bit for the 750 and the 12-bit for the 650. Or have people cleared up the confusion around the block diagrams and determined each processor is the same?

As far as I've read, they both have the same processor, don't remember exactly if it was 10 or 12 bit, but I think it was 10-bit. The differences were miss-prints in the manuals. They're both the same.

As far as seeing a differences in picture quality, you never know how the source is coming thru to the tv, perhaps that has something to do with the difference. But either way, who knows maybe they are different after all, the total facts I don't think have been talked about.
zerog6 is offline  
post #220 of 12494 Old 05-11-2008, 12:10 AM
Member
 
elomsagro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm on my 2nd LN52750 and it is perfect. The 1st I returned due to 1 bad pixel and to get a better finance program-3yrs no interest-with Circuit City. I previously had 2 LN52550s which I also returned for bad pixels but also because Sammy slashed their prices so I decided to upgrade.
elomsagro is offline  
post #221 of 12494 Old 05-11-2008, 12:43 AM
Member
 
KeanosMagicHat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by coasterguy View Post

... ANYWAY, My question is this. HDMI cables. I have regular ones that were not very expensive that I bought from one of the links on top of this page. With my using the PS3 for Blu-Ray and I just upgraded to the Yamaha RX-v663 receiver. Which HDMI cables should I be using to the best quality available for my newly upgraded system?

You already have HDMI cables, so providing they are delivering a stable picture then you have no need for more expensive cables.

HDMI are not like analogue cables which were prone to interference and therefore the more expensive, generally, the better.

The only time you might want a slightly more expensive cable (and I mean only slightly) is when you are running over distances longer then 6ft or so.

For all installations below that distance any cable will do. None of the cables in my installation cost over $30 and one of them is 15ft.
KeanosMagicHat is offline  
post #222 of 12494 Old 05-11-2008, 01:23 AM
Newbie
 
CAThompson4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Own a 4671 and have TBE issues with AMP even on low at times. Thinking about trying to get the 750. Just wondering if anyone has tested 750 for TBE or artifacts with AMP on low-high with any of the scenes in Planet Earth BD that are known to show TBE on the 71 series.

Scenes such as:
Disc 1:
Episode 1, Around 40 minute mark. - Impala chase scene. (Dogs heads while in chase exhibit TBE?)
Episode 2, Around 47 minute mark. -Eagles chase crane. (Crane exhibits TBE?)

Any feedback about TBE or AMP artifacts encountered on the 750 would be greatly appreciated.


Thanks
CAThompson4 is offline  
post #223 of 12494 Old 05-11-2008, 02:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Lestat Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: THE COLD SIDE
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CAThompson4 View Post

Own a 4671 and have TBE issues with AMP even on low at times. Thinking about trying to get the 750. Just wondering if anyone has tested 750 for TBE or artifacts with AMP on low-high with any of the scenes in Planet Earth BD that are known to show TBE on the 71 series.

Scenes such as:
Disc 1:
Episode 1, Around 40 minute mark. - Impala chase scene. (Dogs heads while in chase exhibit TBE?)
Episode 2, Around 47 minute mark. -Eagles chase crane. (Crane exhibits TBE?)

Any feedback about TBE or AMP artifacts encountered on the 750 would be greatly appreciated.


Thanks

From my personal experience, its still there but has been improved. I get TBE and vapor on FPS on medium, but the tv is so good in so many other regards that it's hard to pass up.

The scariest words in the English language are:
"Hello, we're from the government, and we're here to help."

PS3 HDMI 1.4
GT50 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV
10' 1080P@60

Lestat Phoenix is offline  
post #224 of 12494 Old 05-11-2008, 02:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Lestat Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: THE COLD SIDE
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jarcher View Post

Guys, for those of you with experience with LCD TVs, what is the burn risk, both for gaming static images and for sidebars?

You can try this but use at your own risk,

http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/503495

The scariest words in the English language are:
"Hello, we're from the government, and we're here to help."

PS3 HDMI 1.4
GT50 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV
10' 1080P@60

Lestat Phoenix is offline  
post #225 of 12494 Old 05-11-2008, 02:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Lestat Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: THE COLD SIDE
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jarcher View Post

Guys, for those of you with experience with LCD TVs, what is the burn risk, both for gaming static images and for sidebars?

Next to none, but still be careful, i wouldn't leave it on for days with it.

The scariest words in the English language are:
"Hello, we're from the government, and we're here to help."

PS3 HDMI 1.4
GT50 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV
10' 1080P@60

Lestat Phoenix is offline  
post #226 of 12494 Old 05-11-2008, 02:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Lestat Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: THE COLD SIDE
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by taurus2007 View Post

If you need HDMI cables. check out monoprice or blue jeans cable (forum sponsors). They have some quality cables for great prices.

QFT, paid very very little for my cables and there great.

The scariest words in the English language are:
"Hello, we're from the government, and we're here to help."

PS3 HDMI 1.4
GT50 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV
10' 1080P@60

Lestat Phoenix is offline  
post #227 of 12494 Old 05-11-2008, 02:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wtfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by darthsphinx View Post

CONS
-Fan noise
-poor SD
-not enough setting tweaking
-Price

I went from a 36" JVC SD tv to this and a large part of me would like the 3 grand back in my wallet.

Serious?
There is absolutely no fan noise from my set, as far as I know the fan only kicks in if the set gets really hot.
SD also is incredible. The Samsung scales better than my own PS3 & dedicated DVD players!
Settings as well, you can tweak like 6 different individual colors, what more could you ask for.

Price is also pretty cheap if you buy at the right places. About less than 2 years ago, a Sharp 37" LCD cost around $2700, a 52" Samsung now can go for less.
wtfer is offline  
post #228 of 12494 Old 05-11-2008, 06:40 AM
Member
 
Hawgfin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by elomsagro View Post

I'm on my 2nd LN52750 and it is perfect. The 1st I returned due to 1 bad pixel and to get a better finance program-3yrs no interest-with Circuit City. I previously had 2 LN52550s which I also returned for bad pixels but also because Sammy slashed their prices so I decided to upgrade.

How do you perform a good test that is going to find a single dead pixel on an lcd. Do you simply get close and look for them?
Hawgfin is offline  
post #229 of 12494 Old 05-11-2008, 10:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Lestat Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: THE COLD SIDE
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawgfin View Post

How do you perform a good test that is going to find a single dead pixel on an lcd. Do you simply get close and look for them?

yep, that usually works.

The scariest words in the English language are:
"Hello, we're from the government, and we're here to help."

PS3 HDMI 1.4
GT50 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV
10' 1080P@60

Lestat Phoenix is offline  
post #230 of 12494 Old 05-11-2008, 12:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dms541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jarcher View Post

Hey DMS541, I see you noted int he first post that TVersity works with the A750. Where did you see that reported? I can't get it to work...

This guy mentioned it in his post. Maybe you should contact him to check out the details...

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...y#post13745258

Vote on my video at: http://www.areallygoodejob.com/video...id=_L-gJYbFxlg
For every vote I'll donate some money to the THON charity for pediatric cancer.
dms541 is offline  
post #231 of 12494 Old 05-11-2008, 12:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dms541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tigerfan33 View Post

I think the 650 is 10-bit.

The 750 should be the same as the 650.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zerog6 View Post

As far as I've read, they both have the same processor, don't remember exactly if it was 10 or 12 bit, but I think it was 10-bit. The differences were miss-prints in the manuals. They're both the same.

As far as seeing a differences in picture quality, you never know how the source is coming thru to the tv, perhaps that has something to do with the difference. But either way, who knows maybe they are different after all, the total facts I don't think have been talked about.

I think the 650 and 750 are both 10-bit panels. However, when you look at the block diagrams for each you'll notice the 750 has a 16-bit post processor while the 650 has a 12-bit. Are you saying that it was these block diagrams that were misprinted and that the processors are 10-bit? Or just that the panels are?

Vote on my video at: http://www.areallygoodejob.com/video...id=_L-gJYbFxlg
For every vote I'll donate some money to the THON charity for pediatric cancer.
dms541 is offline  
post #232 of 12494 Old 05-11-2008, 02:18 PM
Member
 
jarcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lestat Phoenix View Post

Next to none, but still be careful, i wouldn't leave it on for days with it.


Thanks... I don't plan to leave static images on the set. My concern is a lot of watching of 4:3 content. None of us here care for stretched images so I am trying to find out what the risk of not stretching is. My daughter did a lot of 4:3 watching on our plasma and now it has sidebars.
jarcher is offline  
post #233 of 12494 Old 05-11-2008, 04:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bigred7078's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 2,947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jarcher View Post

Thanks... I don't plan to leave static images on the set. My concern is a lot of watching of 4:3 content. None of us here care for stretched images so I am trying to find out what the risk of not stretching is. My daughter did a lot of 4:3 watching on our plasma and now it has sidebars.

you wont have to worry about that on an LCD, you will not suffer from IR. The only LCD's i have ever seen with IR were cheap computer monitors displaying 24/7. So no worries man.
Bigred7078 is offline  
post #234 of 12494 Old 05-11-2008, 04:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bigred7078's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 2,947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Now does anyone else agree that the 750 looks better? I wish they looked the same due to the lower priceing on the 650, but no matter how i tweek these the 750 just ends up on top. Ideas?
Bigred7078 is offline  
post #235 of 12494 Old 05-11-2008, 05:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
zerog6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dms541 View Post

I think the 650 and 750 are both 10-bit panels. However, when you look at the block diagrams for each you'll notice the 750 has a 16-bit post processor while the 650 has a 12-bit. Are you saying that it was these block diagrams that were misprinted and that the processors are 10-bit? Or just that the panels are?

Oh I was just referring to the panels, the processors idk.
zerog6 is offline  
post #236 of 12494 Old 05-11-2008, 06:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta GA.
Posts: 1,572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigred7078 View Post

Now does anyone else agree that the 750 looks better? I wish they looked the same due to the lower priceing on the 650, but no matter how i tweek these the 750 just ends up on top. Ideas?

In what ways?

twitter.com/Cynnthetic
I own X360 - Wii - PS3
I see @ 1080p
I'm BROKE!
Cynn is offline  
post #237 of 12494 Old 05-11-2008, 06:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
jazzbass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 717
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigred7078 View Post

Now does anyone else agree that the 750 looks better? I wish they looked the same due to the lower priceing on the 650, but no matter how i tweek these the 750 just ends up on top. Ideas?

In all my comparisons they've been the same and according to several different Samsung reps they are exactly the same as far PQ.
jazzbass is offline  
post #238 of 12494 Old 05-11-2008, 06:56 PM
Member
 
chinonye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
im not quite sure what im doing wrong, but some games that i run with my xbox360 and monster component cable@1080p are giving me a lot of distortion on my ln52a750 and at times it is saying mode not supported when running at 1080p .At any lower resolution it works fine. if someone could offer some help here it would be great. Some games work fine like lego starw wars complete saga and others like stated above give a lot of distortion on screen. i also have the same problem with my ps3 on the main menu...using hdmi. this is only in games not regular tv watching.
chinonye is offline  
post #239 of 12494 Old 05-11-2008, 07:23 PM
Member
 
Shamann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone clear this up for me:

I know you can play Divx/Xvid videos using DNLA/Ethernet with the 750's but can you play Divx/Xvids directly off a USB thumbdrive as well? (can someone confirm playing video using a USB thumb drive if so please)
Shamann is offline  
post #240 of 12494 Old 05-11-2008, 07:50 PM
Member
 
Mzakos1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Can anyone comment on the motion blur of the 750 vs the 71? I have a perfectly fine 71 (except for TBE) but the motion blur is a little annoying and I can probably exchange it for a 750. From what I saw at Fry's the motion blur and vapors seemed very similar on the 750 as the 71. Also, am I understanding correctly that you cannot adjust the settings in the entertainment modes? So if I chose movie, I cannot adjust colors, amp levels, etc.

Thanks
Mzakos1 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung , Samsung 40 Inch Lcd Hdtv Ln40a750 , Lcd Hdtv , Samsung Ln52a750 52 Inch 1080p Dlna Lcd Hdtv , Samsung Ln46a750 46 Inch 1080p Dlna Lcd Hdtv With Red Touch Of Color
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off