Samsung LN46A650 - stuck on 1920x1080i@60hz - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 05-07-2008, 06:59 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
stupidjunior's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I press my info button and it says im on 1920x1080i@60hz. How do I switch it to 120hz?

Sorry, Im a real newbie at this. Just researched LCDs for a few days before making a purchase. I after all was said and done, I went to BestBuy and and thought the Samsung had the best display. The salesperson stated the 120hz as a selling point, but now I cant get it set that way.

I also have some static at times when watching TV or DVD's/games. It occurs mainly it black or shadow images. Is this normal?

Thanks in advance for all those willing to help a newb.

- J
stupidjunior is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 05-07-2008, 10:04 PM
Member
 
kumquatsrus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: S.O., C.A.
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
you can't, tv will only accept signal up to 60hz, the 120hz conversion is an internal process, doubling the frames from 60hz. you won't see any signal showing at 120hz. i'm not sure about the static, can you post pics?

Toshyrrific!
kumquatsrus is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 05-07-2008, 11:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
metal83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 2,300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stupidjunior View Post

I press my info button and it says im on 1920x1080i@60hz. How do I switch it to 120hz?

Sorry, Im a real newbie at this. Just researched LCDs for a few days before making a purchase. I after all was said and done, I went to BestBuy and and thought the Samsung had the best display. The salesperson stated the 120hz as a selling point, but now I cant get it set that way.

I also have some static at times when watching TV or DVD's/games. It occurs mainly it black or shadow images. Is this normal?
Thanks in advance for all those willing to help a newb.

- J

You probably just need to tweak your settings better.
metal83 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 05-08-2008, 06:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sharkcohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by stupidjunior View Post

I press my info button and it says im on 1920x1080i@60hz. How do I switch it to 120hz?

Sorry, Im a real newbie at this. Just researched LCDs for a few days before making a purchase. I after all was said and done, I went to BestBuy and and thought the Samsung had the best display. The salesperson stated the 120hz as a selling point, but now I cant get it set that way.

I also have some static at times when watching TV or DVD's/games. It occurs mainly it black or shadow images. Is this normal?

Thanks in advance for all those willing to help a newb.

- J

The info button is telling you the source resolution. Your LCD is always outputting 120 Hz.

Back off man, I'm a scientist.
sharkcohen is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 05-08-2008, 12:09 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
stupidjunior's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for all the replies. It probably is a setting thing as I have not touched any of the settings at all. I was actually waiting for the break in period before having it calibrated.

As far as taking pics of it, it occurs randomly anywhere on the screen, at random times, and only for up to a second...max. I dont think Ill be quick enough to catch a pic of it.
stupidjunior is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 05-08-2008, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ready2Mosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Central US
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stupidjunior View Post

I press my info button and it says im on 1920x1080i@60hz. How do I switch it to 120hz?

Sorry, Im a real newbie at this. Just researched LCDs for a few days before making a purchase. I after all was said and done, I went to BestBuy and and thought the Samsung had the best display. The salesperson stated the 120hz as a selling point, but now I cant get it set that way.

I also have some static at times when watching TV or DVD's/games. It occurs mainly it black or shadow images. Is this normal?

Thanks in advance for all those willing to help a newb.

- J

Try turning off your digital noise reduction (DNR) setting for the static your getting.

Mosh~~
Ready2Mosh is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 09-24-2008, 01:35 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
stupidjunior's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry for the late reply, but the static issue has been solved....I exchanged the tv for another, FIXED!
stupidjunior is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off