Official LNxxA750 Calibration/Settings Thread - Page 48 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1411 of 1433 Old 11-23-2009, 06:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Johnny Neat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mj79 View Post

it worked for me.. its not 100% but it does take alot of the bright white down in the corners... you cant miss the screws .. there are a few in the corner on the back panel.. i loosened mine about 1/4 turn

I kind of loosened them and I can see that they are there still but can't tell if it got better. Fudge. Any thoughts? I'm wondering if I need to loosen then a tiny bit more but I fear ruining the set. What a pickle.
Johnny Neat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1412 of 1433 Old 11-23-2009, 07:04 PM
Member
 
hdtvtalk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would loosen the top line of 4 screws by 2 or 3 turns each and sides by 1 turn.
hdtvtalk is offline  
post #1413 of 1433 Old 11-23-2009, 11:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mj79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvtalk View Post

I would loosen the top line of 4 screws by 2 or 3 turns each and sides by 1 turn.

way to much... should never be more than one turn... Techs actually say 1/2 turn is more than enough for most.. But up to one is fine..

Mine showed no change from 1/4 to over 1 full turn
mj79 is offline  
post #1414 of 1433 Old 12-14-2009, 09:55 AM
Newbie
 
Mike-S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I bought a new TV 750 and I had few issues.

1) when I was changing the colors on DVD and then switch it to Satalite it does not keep the settings for Brigness and Contrast, then I red user guide which I should have in the first place, I find out that each device you connect it has it's own color profile.

2) I still have issue with Blue Ray Player, that if I watch blue ray and I change the setting to Movie and when I play next time it, or choose BD and change Brighness and Contrast it goes back to default BD color settings when I play next time any movie.

3) Is any cheap way to connect this TV with wireless internat?


Quote:
Originally Posted by harrisek View Post

Here's what I'm using now. Seems to be working for me, but still doing minor adjustments.

Picture
Mode Standard
Backlight 5
Contrast 95
Brightness 45
Sharpness 0
Color 35
Tint (G/R) G50/R50
Detailed Settings See below
Picture Options See below

Detailed Settings
Black Adjust Off
Dynamic Contrast Off
Gamma 0
Color Space Native
White Balance See below

Flesh Tone 0
Edge Enhancement On
xvYCC Off

White Balance
R-Offset 25
G-Offset 25
B-Offset 25
R-Gain 25
G-Gain 25
B-Gain 25

Picture Options
Color Tone Normal
Size Just Scan
Digital NR Off
DNIe Off
HDMI Black Level Low
Film Mode Off
Blue Only Mode Off
Auto Motion Plus 120Hz Low

Mike-S is offline  
post #1415 of 1433 Old 01-26-2010, 08:22 AM
Member
 
jortiz82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HELP I recently went into the service menu and made some changes.I did not like how the picture looked is there a way i can reset the settings to its original settings.
jortiz82 is offline  
post #1416 of 1433 Old 02-04-2010, 03:49 PM
Member
 
Gianny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: La La Land
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What are some of the best settings for OTA HD? Thank you!!!
Gianny is offline  
post #1417 of 1433 Old 02-28-2010, 09:18 AM
Senior Member
 
perritterd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, Fla
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello. I have been calibrating my TV and ran into a small problem. I am following the tutorial "Greyscale for Dummies" that is online and explains how to calibrate your tv using the HCFR program and the i1 sensor. The problem is that it states to set your "Brightness" at the 10 IRE to .0065% of your "Y" value at 100 IRE. This will allow you to get your Gamma to 2.2 at the 10 IRE. I presume that this is a good thing for the darkness of screen images in this range. My issue is that this method will greatly reduce your contrast ratio. If you use the flashing bars in the AVSHD disc to set your brightness/contrast, then the results for the brightness reading is drastically different than with the .0065% method. Is this a problem? I can't adjust out my contrast anymore using AVSHD flashing bars because it is at its' highest reading now without becoming pink. Do I need to be concerned with the contrast ratio if my gamma is set properly at the 10 IRE?

Thanks for any help.
Bob

Bob
perritterd is offline  
post #1418 of 1433 Old 03-01-2010, 06:20 AM
Senior Member
 
perritterd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, Fla
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by perritterd View Post

Hello. I have been calibrating my TV and ran into a small problem. I am following the tutorial "Greyscale for Dummies" that is online and explains how to calibrate your tv using the HCFR program and the i1 sensor. The problem is that it states to set your "Brightness" at the 10 IRE to .0065% of your "Y" value at 100 IRE. This will allow you to get your Gamma to 2.2 at the 10 IRE. I presume that this is a good thing for the darkness of screen images in this range. My issue is that this method will greatly reduce your contrast ratio. If you use the flashing bars in the AVSHD disc to set your brightness/contrast, then the results for the brightness reading is drastically different than with the .0065% method. Is this a problem? I can't adjust out my contrast anymore using AVSHD flashing bars because it is at its' highest reading now without becoming pink. Do I need to be concerned with the contrast ratio if my gamma is set properly at the 10 IRE?

Thanks for any help.
Bob

ANYONE ALIVE HERE?????

Bob

Bob
perritterd is offline  
post #1419 of 1433 Old 05-01-2010, 07:08 PM
Member
 
serro821's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Washington State
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How many of you like the soap opera effect when watching movies. What would be the best settings to get the best soap opera effect?

John Hernandez
serro821 is offline  
post #1420 of 1433 Old 05-19-2010, 01:56 PM
Newbie
 
anithinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now that 3d viewing is getting popular, does anyone know if NVIDIA's 3d gaming/TV technology work on this display?

I bought a Ln46A750 almost 2 years ago, and am really happy with it. Upgrading my PC at this moment, but don't really need a display upgrade. Just wondering if the NVIdia 3d glasses technology works on our fine displays.

I recall that this TV has a 120 Hz mode - is that compatible with the 3d technology? Anybody tried this yet? Googling didn't help, though I noted that this TV wasn't on the list of TVs that are working with the Nvidia 3d technology...
anithinks is offline  
post #1421 of 1433 Old 05-19-2010, 03:11 PM
Senior Member
 
bjfoien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cheney, WA
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by serro821 View Post

How many of you like the soap opera effect when watching movies. What would be the best settings to get the best soap opera effect?

High.

Samsung 46A750, Panasonic BD35, Dish 722
bjfoien is offline  
post #1422 of 1433 Old 06-10-2010, 10:23 AM
Member
 
the dza's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, zerog6's settings are the best one so far? I just moved, and my TV reset everything back to default!
the dza is offline  
post #1423 of 1433 Old 06-10-2010, 10:26 PM
Senior Member
 
gpzbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
gpzbc is online now  
post #1424 of 1433 Old 06-11-2010, 10:56 AM
Member
 
jwortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The DZA,

Hi. I and many others think the Zerog6 settings are the best and then you can tweak from there using it as a baseline if you wish. My signature has the links you might need if you want to check them out.

Later...
jwortiz is online now  
post #1425 of 1433 Old 06-11-2010, 02:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kjgarrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northwest Wisconsin
Posts: 2,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I preferred my settings and a few others did as well. Sets vary and you should try different ones.
kjgarrison is offline  
post #1426 of 1433 Old 01-24-2012, 02:11 PM
Member
 
trjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hate to dig a old thread up, but I want to tell you a little story.

I have been a member here for quite awhile but have ventured away for a long time. In the old days when I had my Sony KDF50 Wega I started coming here and spent countless time trying to calibrate for those "perfect settings". UMR is the one I worshiped.

I even was one of those who ordered the calibrating disks and spent tine trying to calibrate the set when HDNET had their weekly show on doing this.

Honestly, I always thought a well calibrated set looked washed out so I left here, for the PIZAZZ burning lamp issue of VIVID.

About 4 years ago I bought a LN52A750 and really liked the set and Standard was my way of viewing. Very bright and terrible fade on the sides. For some odd reason this weekend before the NFL games I thought I would give it a shot on a better picture. Spent some time on Google, which led me back here. I started reading this thread, the whole thread and started my old anal habit of searching for the perfect picture on this TV.

I finished today using the settings by zerog. Well folks, I am still searching for my lower jaw around the house because not only did it drop, it rolled away. The picture on this set is frigging awesome. My wife thought I had bought a new TV. Side angles actually do not bleed away. I honestly can not fathom that a well calibrated set could look like this.

Zerog, if you ever come to Charlotte, a steak dinner is on me my friend. You made me realize just how right, UMR was back in my younger days.

The moral of this story is, please folks, dont ever quit trying to make good, better. You folks do an outstanding job and sometimes, it takes awhile for old farts like me to come around, but we do. I thank you, I thank this forum for stil being here and I will thank anyone who helps me find, my lower jaw.

take care
Jeff McClellan
trjam is offline  
post #1427 of 1433 Old 01-24-2012, 02:25 PM
Senior Member
 
gpzbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thank you for sharing! I'm glad you found the sweet spot.
gpzbc is online now  
post #1428 of 1433 Old 03-21-2012, 02:17 PM
Member
 
trjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know Dave, digging up old threads. Sorry, but, after really going through this thread it isnt Zerog and his settings that actually helped this tv, it is Studdad and his standard calibrated settings that actually make this tv. Picture is great but what I found is that their isnt any degrading of picture quality going to the sides of the picture. I am utterly amazed their isnt a loss of picture quality doing so. I have to admit this is the best picture this tv has ever produced.
trjam is offline  
post #1429 of 1433 Old 04-28-2012, 11:20 PM
Member
 
serro821's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Washington State
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey, I was wondering if any one knows how to turn film mode on? It is greyed out on my set.

John Hernandez
serro821 is offline  
post #1430 of 1433 Old 04-30-2012, 06:49 AM
Senior Member
 
bjfoien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cheney, WA
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
trjam, I have had many years of enjoyment with my 46A750. I also tried Studdad's settings this weekend after reading your post. I have to agree with you, my panel has never looked better.

Samsung 46A750, Panasonic BD35, Dish 722
bjfoien is offline  
post #1431 of 1433 Old 04-30-2012, 07:01 AM
Member
 
lb750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got almost four years out of mine until I got a thin black line in the screen. Luckily I had an extended warranty on mine. I was given a $1200 credit towards a new TV. I got the
UN55ES7500. Great picture but now I am waiting on a claibration thread so I can get it dialed in like the A750.
lb750 is offline  
post #1432 of 1433 Old 05-02-2012, 10:11 PM
Member
 
theanew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Let me know if a calibration thread pops up, would like utilize as well.
theanew is offline  
post #1433 of 1433 Old 10-27-2012, 06:27 AM
Newbie
 
Stevekw3134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I lost all my settings, I'm looking for a good sports setting. Any and all help will be appreciated.
Stevekw3134 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off