Official LNxxA750 Calibration/Settings Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 1433 Old 05-08-2008, 02:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dms541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please post your settings for your Samsung LNxxA750 TVs in this thread.

*****Link to owners' thread****
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1025681
**************************

Vote on my video at: http://www.areallygoodejob.com/video...id=_L-gJYbFxlg
For every vote I'll donate some money to the THON charity for pediatric cancer.
dms541 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 1433 Old 05-08-2008, 03:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Lestat Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: THE COLD SIDE
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
These are "Znuts" settings but I changed somethings for my eye's

Playstation 3/Blu-Ray/xbox 360
Basic Settings
Mode Movie/Standard
Backlight 5
Contrast 85-95
Brightness 43
Sharpness 0-40
Color 55
Tint G52/R48

Detailed Settings
Black Adjust Off
Dynamic Contrast Off
Gamma 0
Color Space See “CS Table”
White Balance See “WB Table”
Flesh Tone 0
Edge Enhancement On
xvYCC Off

Picture Options
Color Tone Warm1/normal
Size Just Scan
Digital NR Off
DNIe Off
HDMI Black Level Low
Film Mode Off
Blue Only Mode Off
AMP 120Hz Medium

System Settings
Energy Saving Off

Red Green Blue Yellow Cyan Magenta
52 6 2 52 1 50
3 50 0 51 50 0
0 0 50 0 51 50

WB Table

R-Offset 26
G-Offset 25
B-Offset 25
R-Gain 20
G-Gain 25
B-Gain 25

The scariest words in the English language are:
"Hello, we're from the government, and we're here to help."

PS3 HDMI 1.4
GT50 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV
10' 1080P@60

Lestat Phoenix is offline  
post #3 of 1433 Old 05-10-2008, 04:47 PM
Newbie
 
Trialsking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lestat Phoenix View Post

These are "Znuts" settings but I changed somethings for my eye's

Playstation 3/Blu-Ray/xbox 360
Basic Settings
Mode Movie/Normal
Backlight 5
Contrast 85-95
Brightness 43
Sharpness 0-40
Color 55
Tint G52/R48

Detailed Settings
Black Adjust Off
Dynamic Contrast Off
Gamma 0
Color Space See CS Table
White Balance See WB Table
Flesh Tone 0
Edge Enhancement On
xvYCC Off

Picture Options
Color Tone Warm1/normal
Size Just Scan
Digital NR Off
DNIe Off
HDMI Black Level Low
Film Mode Off
Blue Only Mode Off
AMP 120Hz Medium

System Settings
Energy Saving Off

Red Green Blue Yellow Cyan Magenta
52 6 2 52 1 50
3 50 0 51 50 0
0 0 50 0 51 50

WB Table

R-Offset 26
G-Offset 25
B-Offset 25
R-Gain 20
G-Gain 25
B-Gain 25

Do you use these for HDTV? Or do you have a different setting?
Trialsking is offline  
post #4 of 1433 Old 05-11-2008, 02:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Lestat Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: THE COLD SIDE
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes for hd sources only

The scariest words in the English language are:
"Hello, we're from the government, and we're here to help."

PS3 HDMI 1.4
GT50 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV
10' 1080P@60

Lestat Phoenix is offline  
post #5 of 1433 Old 05-11-2008, 03:50 PM
Member
 
Rogerdoger45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Guys I try the settings that are post here by Lestat Phoenix they are pretty nice I have sa few problems maybe you can help. I have the 46" 750 and when I do the setting these are grey out "DNIe Off, HDMI Black Level Low",
Also when I change pic size to just scan I get a green line on the right right of the set, I try to postion it but then I have 2 green lines on each side.

What am I missing?

Thanks
Rogerdoger45 is offline  
post #6 of 1433 Old 05-12-2008, 01:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Lestat Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: THE COLD SIDE
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogerdoger45 View Post

Hi Guys I try the settings that are post here by Lestat Phoenix they are pretty nice I have sa few problems maybe you can help. I have the 46" 750 and when I do the setting these are grey out "DNIe Off, HDMI Black Level Low",
Also when I change pic size to just scan I get a green line on the right right of the set, I try to postion it but then I have 2 green lines on each side.

What am I missing?

Thanks

They are "znuts" with a a little twist, and you maybe want to try standard mode that should open up black level, the DNIE i only can get in Dynamic mode. Also the green lines are normal its just the closed captioning. Do you get them on HD sources

The scariest words in the English language are:
"Hello, we're from the government, and we're here to help."

PS3 HDMI 1.4
GT50 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV
10' 1080P@60

Lestat Phoenix is offline  
post #7 of 1433 Old 05-12-2008, 08:18 AM
Member
 
Rogerdoger45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry but the green line are on the left snd right of the set when I have it on just scan.
Rogerdoger45 is offline  
post #8 of 1433 Old 05-13-2008, 08:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Lestat Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: THE COLD SIDE
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogerdoger45 View Post

Sorry but the green line are on the left snd right of the set when I have it on just scan.

This is normal, if the lines bother you then switch to 16x9 and that should take care of it. Are you getting them on HD sources?

The scariest words in the English language are:
"Hello, we're from the government, and we're here to help."

PS3 HDMI 1.4
GT50 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV
10' 1080P@60

Lestat Phoenix is offline  
post #9 of 1433 Old 05-14-2008, 02:20 PM
Member
 
Rogerdoger45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes only on HD.
Rogerdoger45 is offline  
post #10 of 1433 Old 05-16-2008, 07:39 AM
Newbie
 
snkeyes069's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been getting a 2-pixel wide white line on the left of my LN52A750 on NBC-HD which I assumed was the source, not the TV. The TV is set to Just Scan as well, but I prefer living with this annoyance rather than the cropping of 16:9.
snkeyes069 is offline  
post #11 of 1433 Old 05-16-2008, 03:10 PM
Member
 
Rogerdoger45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok I survive the opertation but can't talk my moouth is swallon.
Rogerdoger45 is offline  
post #12 of 1433 Old 05-16-2008, 03:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ready2Mosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Central US
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by snkeyes069 View Post

I've been getting a 2-pixel wide white line on the left of my LN52A750 on NBC-HD which I assumed was the source, not the TV. The TV is set to Just Scan as well, but I prefer living with this annoyance rather than the cropping of 16:9.


When you select just scan it gives you the option to adjust the screen, thats what you need to do to get rid of the white line. It will change back each time you change the channel, so you will have to move the screen each time.

Mosh~~
Ready2Mosh is offline  
post #13 of 1433 Old 05-22-2008, 10:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
zerog6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What presets is everyone using for sound?

I find that the "music" preset with SRS "on" is the best for anything.
zerog6 is offline  
post #14 of 1433 Old 05-23-2008, 12:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
stranx44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
These are my settings connected to an HTPC in standard lit environment usually playing Blu Ray:

Basic Settings
Standard
Backlight 5
Contrast 90
Brightness 40
Sharpness 30
Color 58
Tint G51/R49

Detailed Settings
Black Adjust Low
Dynamic Contrast Low
Gamma 0
Color Space Auto
White Balance Default
Flesh Tone 0
Edge Enhancement Off
xvYCC Off

Picture Options
Color Tone Normal
Size Just Scan
Digital NR Off
DNIe Off
HDMI Black Level Normal
Film Mode Off
Blue Only Mode Off
AMP 120Hz Medium

System Settings
Energy Saving Off
stranx44 is offline  
post #15 of 1433 Old 05-23-2008, 05:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
David Barteaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stranx44 View Post

These are my settings connected to an HTPC in standard lit environment usually playing Blu Ray:

Basic Settings
Standard
Backlight 5
Contrast 90
Brightness 40
Sharpness 30
Color 58
Tint G51/R49

Detailed Settings
Black Adjust Low
Dynamic Contrast Low
Gamma 0
Color Space Auto
White Balance Default
Flesh Tone 0
Edge Enhancement Off
xvYCC Off

Picture Options
Color Tone Normal
Size Just Scan
Digital NR Off
DNIe Off
HDMI Black Level Normal
Film Mode Off
Blue Only Mode Off
AMP 120Hz Medium

System Settings
Energy Saving Off

What version firmware are you using. Different firmware uses different AMP settings.

David Barteaux is offline  
post #16 of 1433 Old 05-23-2008, 07:12 AM
Member
 
danamc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Barteaux View Post

What version firmware are you using. Different firmware uses different AMP settings.


I've got a 750 on the way from Big River. How do I know what firmware I have when it arrives, and more importantly, how do I change to the most updates version? Thanx!
danamc is offline  
post #17 of 1433 Old 05-23-2008, 07:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
zerog6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by danamc View Post

I've got a 750 on the way from Big River. How do I know what firmware I have when it arrives, and more importantly, how do I change to the most updates version? Thanx!

In samsungs website, just search for the 750's downloads, they have the FW there for you to download, and they also have the instruction manual on how to do everything there also in pdf.
zerog6 is offline  
post #18 of 1433 Old 05-23-2008, 09:18 AM
 
jvernon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Southlake, TX
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogerdoger45 View Post

Ok I survive the opertation but can't talk my moouth is swallon.


jvernon is offline  
post #19 of 1433 Old 05-23-2008, 01:09 PM
Member
 
lbejta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lestat Phoenix View Post

These are "Znuts" settings but I changed somethings for my eye's

Playstation 3/Blu-Ray/xbox 360
Basic Settings
Mode Movie/Standard
Backlight 5
Contrast 85-95
Brightness 43
Sharpness 0-40
Color 55
Tint G52/R48

Detailed Settings
Black Adjust Off
Dynamic Contrast Off
Gamma 0
Color Space See “CS Table”
White Balance See “WB Table”
Flesh Tone 0
Edge Enhancement On
xvYCC Off

Picture Options
Color Tone Warm1/normal
Size Just Scan
Digital NR Off
DNIe Off
HDMI Black Level Low
Film Mode Off
Blue Only Mode Off
AMP 120Hz Medium

System Settings
Energy Saving Off

Red Green Blue Yellow Cyan Magenta
52 6 2 52 1 50
3 50 0 51 50 0
0 0 50 0 51 50

WB Table

R-Offset 26
G-Offset 25
B-Offset 25
R-Gain 20
G-Gain 25
B-Gain 25


Hi i don't want to sound smart and all that, i think you did a really good job, but if you don't mind sharing how did you come up with this settings did you use anything or just playing around and trying diferrent stuff.

Or you used some professional dvd and step by step came up with this settings.

Thank you.

regards

And how do i do this i dont understand how to read this lines how do i setup this

Red Green Blue Yellow Cyan Magenta
52 6 2 52 1 50
3 50 0 51 50 0
0 0 50 0 51 50

Do you mean this please explain is this the corrent order Explain please.

Red
52 6 2
Green
52 1 50
Blue
3 50 0
Yellow
51 50 0
Cyan
0 0 50
Magenta
0 51 50
lbejta is offline  
post #20 of 1433 Old 05-23-2008, 04:29 PM
Senior Member
 
boltsfan21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: California
Posts: 447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I just bought a 750 yesterday. I have been playing around with the settings and I'm wondering about the AMP setting. I've tried all the settings and have yet to see anything refresh at 120 Mhz. Am I missing something here? So far, while watching a few BD's and D*, every time I hit info on the remote, it's 60 Mhz. Both my PS3 and D* receiver are hooked up via hdmi (if that matters). Thanks.
boltsfan21 is offline  
post #21 of 1433 Old 05-23-2008, 04:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
David Barteaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would like to see results from a professional calibration. There are a lot of settings in this TV, some of which really need professional calibration tools to set correctly.

David Barteaux is offline  
post #22 of 1433 Old 05-24-2008, 08:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
zerog6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by boltsfan21 View Post

I just bought a 750 yesterday. I have been playing around with the settings and I'm wondering about the AMP setting. I've tried all the settings and have yet to see anything refresh at 120 Mhz. Am I missing something here? So far, while watching a few BD's and D*, every time I hit info on the remote, it's 60 Mhz. Both my PS3 and D* receiver are hooked up via hdmi (if that matters). Thanks.

The TV is always running at 120hz. The 60hz info you see on the screen is the signal the TV is receiving from whatever source you have connected to it. The TV then takes those 60hz and doubles it to create the 120hz. Same thing if you have a blu-ray running at 24hz, then the info will read 24hz, then the tv will multiply it to 120hz
zerog6 is offline  
post #23 of 1433 Old 05-24-2008, 08:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
stranx44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Barteaux View Post

What version firmware are you using. Different firmware uses different AMP settings.

I have used both, but presently using the newest one with my own custom AMP settings via the SM... H:0, M: 6, L:12
stranx44 is offline  
post #24 of 1433 Old 05-29-2008, 07:49 AM
Member
 
lcjrodriguez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No more settings? Anyone having their set professionaly calibrated?
lcjrodriguez is offline  
post #25 of 1433 Old 05-29-2008, 08:42 AM
Member
 
harrisek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mid-Atlantic Region
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lcjrodriguez View Post

No more settings? Anyone having their set professionaly calibrated?

I have not had my TV calibrated by a pro yet, I've had it less than a week. The settings I'm using are very similar to the ones posted. Minor differences are:

Brightness: 45
Sharpness: 0 (in theory sharpness is not needed on a digital set)
Color: 35
Tint: 50/50 (have not adjusted)

Color Space: Native (have not adjusted)

Color Tone: Normal
Auto Motion Plus 120 Hz: Low

I find these settings be work for me for now. I haven't played any games or watched a BD to see how they work on those sources yet. Seems to do well for sports and regular shows.
harrisek is offline  
post #26 of 1433 Old 05-29-2008, 09:36 AM
Member
 
tiger3p's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any pics with your setting would be appreciated
tiger3p is offline  
post #27 of 1433 Old 05-29-2008, 12:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
zerog6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are my settings for anyone who wants to try them out.

All of the settings have changed, i did a real calibration, so check page 2
zerog6 is offline  
post #28 of 1433 Old 05-29-2008, 01:02 PM
Member
 
tiger3p's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zerog6 View Post

Here are my settings for anyone who wants to try them out.

I used the DVE HD Blu-ray disc to calibrate it.

Mode: Movie
Backlight: 5
Contrast: 92
Brightness: 43
Sharpness: 20 for directv, 10 for BD
Color: 46
Tint: G52/R48

Black Adjust: Off
Dynamic Contrast: Low
Gamma: 0
Color Space: Auto
Flesh Tone: 0
Edge Enhancement: On

Color Tone: Warm2

White Balance: Default

Thanks! can you post couple of pics w/ your setting?
tiger3p is offline  
post #29 of 1433 Old 05-29-2008, 01:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
zerog6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tiger3p View Post

Thanks! can you post couple of pics w/ your setting?

It's not gonna do any good, all the colors are completely off when i take a picture of it. I decided to make a few changes since in the post I made, so check is again above, I noted the changes

But just to make all the Kuro lovers quiet down a bit, here's some shots







zerog6 is offline  
post #30 of 1433 Old 06-01-2008, 12:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
studdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zerog6 View Post

Here are my settings for anyone who wants to try them out.

I used the DVE HD Blu-ray disc to calibrate it.

Mode: Movie
Backlight: 5/lighted room 3/dark room
Contrast: 92
Brightness: 43
Sharpness: 20 for directv, 10 for BD
Color: 46
Tint: G52/R48

Black Adjust: Off or Low (I liked this setting on Low, It barely crushes blacks and gives much better black depth, good trade off IMO)
Dynamic Contrast: Off or Low (This is very debatable, it all depends on how you like it)
Gamma: 0
Color Space: Auto
Flesh Tone: 0
Edge Enhancement: On

Color Tone: Warm2

White Balance: Default

Hey Zerog, on the 71 warm2 just looks terrible, i.e. way too warm. What benefits do you see to warm2 on these sets?

52" Samsung 750, finally satisfaction
studdad is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off