Dynex DX-LCD42HD-09 42 inch 1080p LCD thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 1025 Old 06-13-2008, 07:05 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
pestario's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Milwaukee,WI
Posts: 725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did a search and could'nt seem to find a thread about this TV. I purchased one on sale yesterday.

It's a in house brand of TV sold by Best Buy.

I was hoping to compare Calibrations settings, impressions etc.

I hope to unbox mine and hook it up tonight. I will be trying HD content from Time Warnaer cable, PS3 games and BluRay and Xbox 360 games.
pestario is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 1025 Old 06-13-2008, 09:55 PM
Newbie
 
IkebotXP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got one as well, it is a Prima made screen, and would like some settings as well.
IkebotXP is offline  
post #3 of 1025 Old 06-15-2008, 06:37 PM
Newbie
 
graverhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also have one of these TVs and would like some settings.

I have a Wii (component), PS2 (composite), DVD player (composite), basic set top box (composite), and HTPC (vga) connected to it.
graverhead is offline  
post #4 of 1025 Old 06-15-2008, 08:31 PM
Member
 
QSPR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I like the TV. I use THX certified calibration looks OK to me but looking for other settings!!!
QSPR is offline  
post #5 of 1025 Old 06-16-2008, 01:39 AM
Newbie
 
IkebotXP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I turned off both the XVS and Noise Reduction. It seemed to create more issues than it fixed. I am overall satisfied with the screen, with my current settings it does not handle dark settings well, and it seems a bit pixelated overall, but for the price I cannot complain.
IkebotXP is offline  
post #6 of 1025 Old 06-16-2008, 06:12 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
pestario's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Milwaukee,WI
Posts: 725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finally got to unbox it and watch a few clips of TV shows and a couple of movies, didnt get to try much gaming on it yet. I am impressed with the picture, looks good on HDTV as well as Blu Ray. I am also plesantly supried with the user interface on the TV for setting favorite channels, sounds options etc.

Another very sweet suprise is that I get Dolby surround on HD Channels from a direct cable connection to this TV when I hook up the Optical out to my reciver. Also, when I hook my xbox 360 with HDMI out to the TV, the TV will pass the suround sound out to my Reciver via the optical out on the TV. For some reason it does not seem to do pass dolby with the PS3.

My only complaints are that I'm not sure of the durabilty of the TV and the Remote Control and case itself seem cheap and flimsy. However at that price adding the protection plan wasn't mush of a strech and the TV was still alot less expensive than anything close even with the protection plan.

I do plan on ordereding DVE on Blu Ray at some point and trying some calibration on it. I will post my settings when I do that.

In the mean time if anyone has settings that work great for them, we'd all like to see them
pestario is offline  
post #7 of 1025 Old 06-16-2008, 08:12 AM
Member
 
tmtang64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

Here is my current settings.

Contrast = 50
Brightness = 35
Color = 40
Tint = 1
Sharpness = 25
Color Mode = Cool

I am still playing with the settings but I like the current settings so far.
tmtang64 is offline  
post #8 of 1025 Old 06-16-2008, 08:40 AM
Newbie
 
IslesFan30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone else notice a lag with regards to sound? I have it hooked up to my FIOS DVR via HDMI, and the DVR also has a connection to a surround sound system. It looked like to me that the sound was off, so I turned on the surround sound system, and there is a definite lag regarding sound from the TV. Any ideas?

Thanks,
--IslesFan
IslesFan30 is offline  
post #9 of 1025 Old 06-16-2008, 12:22 PM
Member
 
czerdrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm glad to see a thread was created for this TV...I think it's amazing given the price...picture is sharp, have it set up to my receiver for sound, and its the perfect size for my living room. My settings I have contrast 33, brightness 40, color middle, tint middle, sharpness 0...looks good to me!

Anyone else have anything betteR?
czerdrill is offline  
post #10 of 1025 Old 06-16-2008, 01:37 PM
Member
 
QSPR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
my settings with THX

contrast: 55
brigthness: 51
color: 60
tint: 0
sharpness: 40

color mode: warm

with my PS3 and HDMI settings looks good.. PS3 display settings:

cross color reduction: on
RBG full range (HDMI): full
Y Pb Cb/Cr super-withe (HDMI): on but don't know if this TV support super-withe

and looking for better settings!!
QSPR is offline  
post #11 of 1025 Old 06-16-2008, 04:18 PM
Newbie
 
IkebotXP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am liking tmtang64's settings, only I switched from cool to normal
Contrast = 50
Brightness = 35
Color = 40
Tint = 1
Sharpness = 25
Color Mode = Normal
IkebotXP is offline  
post #12 of 1025 Old 06-17-2008, 09:23 PM
Member
 
czerdrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by QSPR View Post

my settings with THX

contrast: 55
brigthness: 51
color: 60
tint: 0
sharpness: 40

color mode: warm

with my PS3 and HDMI settings looks good.. PS3 display settings:

cross color reduction: on
RBG full range (HDMI): full
Y Pb Cb/Cr super-withe (HDMI): on but don't know if this TV support super-withe

and looking for better settings!!

I actually like these settings. I watched the NBA Finals with these settings and was pleasantly surprised. Looks like THX knows what they're talking about. PS3 and HDMI looks great too with these same settings. Anyone have any other I can try out?
czerdrill is offline  
post #13 of 1025 Old 06-20-2008, 03:44 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
pestario's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Milwaukee,WI
Posts: 725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by IslesFan30 View Post

Does anyone else notice a lag with regards to sound? I have it hooked up to my FIOS DVR via HDMI, and the DVR also has a connection to a surround sound system. It looked like to me that the sound was off, so I turned on the surround sound system, and there is a definite lag regarding sound from the TV. Any ideas?

Thanks,
--IslesFan

I saw this delay in a couple of HD streams from my xbox 360, but most of them seem ok. Blu Ray, TV and games also seem fine as far as sound delay.
pestario is offline  
post #14 of 1025 Old 06-20-2008, 03:49 PM
Member
 
QSPR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
czerdrill: those settings still the best for me. I know this TV is new,but some one can have a better settings. please fell free to post new settings. thanks!!!
QSPR is offline  
post #15 of 1025 Old 06-21-2008, 08:54 AM
Member
 
czerdrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by QSPR View Post

czerdrill: those settings still the best for me. I know this TV is new,but some one can have a better settings. please fell free to post new settings. thanks!!!

Honestly, those settings you gave me were the best I could use too, and I tried alot! lol...but those really gave me a new appreciation for the TV, the picture is super sharp and crisp and COD4 never looked better on the PS3. This TV is amazing for such a low price!
czerdrill is offline  
post #16 of 1025 Old 06-21-2008, 08:15 PM
Newbie
 
IkebotXP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am actually using QSPR's settings now with my PS3, they seem very good once I setup my HDMI connections.
I still do not like XMS or noise reduction, has anyone played around with it? XMS looks very good when I check it, but dark patches seem very blotchy when it is kept on. I did not see much improvement with noise reduction, actually seemed to add more noise to my Dishnetwork HD signal.
IkebotXP is offline  
post #17 of 1025 Old 06-22-2008, 11:13 AM
Member
 
czerdrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by IkebotXP View Post

I am actually using QSPR's settings now with my PS3, they seem very good once I setup my HDMI connections.
I still do not like XMS or noise reduction, has anyone played around with it? XMS looks very good when I check it, but dark patches seem very blotchy when it is kept on. I did not see much improvement with noise reduction, actually seemed to add more noise to my Dishnetwork HD signal.


Hey Ikebot, yeah I turned off XMS and noise reduction as well because it didn't seem to make anything better, matter of fact seemed worse. I use QSPR's settings as well and I think they look amazing with both HD cable channels, and PS3!
czerdrill is offline  
post #18 of 1025 Old 06-23-2008, 06:35 PM
Newbie
 
ByronTylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Het, guys, have you tried this one as monitor for your PC ? How it works trough HDMI ?

I am an advocate of generics. Is like the real thing without all the marketing overhead.

I know we can't tell prices... so, how many galons of gas the anual warranty plan cost?
ByronTylor is offline  
post #19 of 1025 Old 06-24-2008, 09:40 AM
Member
 
czerdrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, you can get the DVE Blu-ray for $5.90 if you get it from Buy.com. You just have to sign up for Google checkout (it's free). Got mine for $5.90 and free shipping...I'll post the settings it tells me once I actually get around to configuring it. So far QSPR's is the best, but we'll see what DVE says.
czerdrill is offline  
post #20 of 1025 Old 06-24-2008, 09:41 AM
Member
 
czerdrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ByronTylor View Post

Het, guys, have you tried this one as monitor for your PC ? How it works trough HDMI ?

I am an advocate of generics. Is like the real thing without all the marketing overhead.

I know we can't tell prices... so, how many galons of gas the anual warranty plan cost?

I'd say about 30 gallons for 4 years lol...
czerdrill is offline  
post #21 of 1025 Old 06-24-2008, 06:50 PM
Newbie
 
ByronTylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got it ! Thanks. Now we have a new secret code here.
ByronTylor is offline  
post #22 of 1025 Old 06-26-2008, 08:13 PM
Member
 
QSPR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey czerdrill let me know about those new settings and how works that DVE blu-ray!!! thanks bro...
QSPR is offline  
post #23 of 1025 Old 06-27-2008, 07:46 AM
Member
 
czerdrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok just got the DVE and started out from standard settings and this is what I got....QSPR it's pretty similar to what your THX found, and I really could not notice a differnce between the two. But here goes for your perusal :

contrast: 57
brigthness: 48
color: 62
tint: 0
sharpness: 40

color mode: warm

Really only off by a couple of numbers, I don't think it'll be too noticeable. Thanks for your settings!
czerdrill is offline  
post #24 of 1025 Old 07-12-2008, 02:34 PM
Member
 
QSPR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
keep posting and new settings always are welcome
QSPR is offline  
post #25 of 1025 Old 07-12-2008, 03:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
GISMO1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
does the comcast remote work with this tv? i looked in the comcast code book and it does not have any codes for this tv.THANK YOU
GISMO1 is offline  
post #26 of 1025 Old 07-14-2008, 09:05 PM
Newbie
 
jose_noway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bought one the other day and love it.

Have noticed a couple of things.

First, the THX settings are way too washed out on my set. The brightness levels are too high. I am still playing with the numbers, but am using the THX with a Brightness of 37.

XBOX 360 component DVD video is AWESOME. Very crisp, very nice.

NOTE: when using the XBOX 360 component video, the images will show occasional bit-stretching at 1920x1080. This is a function of the XBOX 360--not the TV.

When using the HDMI cable with XBOX 360, the 1920x1080P is perfect. Halo 3, Grid, and Mass Effect have never looked so good. Playing movies is also excellent.
jose_noway is offline  
post #27 of 1025 Old 07-15-2008, 06:50 AM
Member
 
czerdrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The comcast remote does work with this TV. The code is 10463 on the newer remotes that require 5 digits, and 0091 for the older remotes with 4 digits.
czerdrill is offline  
post #28 of 1025 Old 07-15-2008, 04:30 PM
Member
 
czerdrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It sounds like everyone who owns this set loves it (me included!)...so I wonder what gives?? lol...it was dirt cheap and it is amazing...with the new settings i found on this site i have never loved watching TV anymore...anyone else have any feedback on this great TV??
czerdrill is offline  
post #29 of 1025 Old 07-16-2008, 10:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
D-rock0030's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just purchased one today at lunch. I will be hooking it up tonite and playing around with the settings you guys have listed here. I was very nervous about buying a tv set that is so cheap and not a name brand I have ever heard of before. But after reading what you guys have said about has eased my fears and hopefully I'll be as pleased as you are with yours. I'll let you know what I find out and what settings I use.
D-rock0030 is offline  
post #30 of 1025 Old 07-17-2008, 08:13 AM
Member
 
czerdrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey drock, I think you'll be pleased, and yes the guys on here really helped. The reason? Because they're honest! And that's the most importnat thing when buying something like a TV. The TV is great and with QSPRs settings above, it became 10 times greater for me. My friend has a 42 inch LG TV, and honestly the Dynex PQ looks better and he said so too! lol...and he spent $1200 on his

Let us know how it turns out! Hope you like it...you will be pleasantly surprised at the quality you get from such a "cheap third tier" set
czerdrill is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off