problem with Samsung LN32A550 and Explorer 4250HD (IO) cable box with HDMI... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 06-17-2008, 09:57 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
FIVE ONE SIX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 2,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
when i hook up my 4250HD to my 550 via HDMI, and i shut off both the cable box and tv (in either order, it doesn't matter), the next time i power on the tv i will get both picture and sound from the cable box without powering on the cable box. also, when i tune to the cable box's HDMI input (it doesn't matter which of the 3 it is, i've tried all 3 and they all do the same thing) with the cable box powered off (with no picture or sound), it never searches for a signal like it should when there's a source connected that's not powered on...

now this is only happening with my 4250HD and my 32" 550 when i use HDMI. when i hooked up my 8300HD (from my living room) to my 550 via HDMI, it didn't happen. when i hooked up my 4250HD to my Panny plasma (in my living room) via HDMI, it didn't happen. when i hooked up my 4250HD to my 550 via component, it didn't happen. i'm stumped, because it didn't happen when i hooked the same 4250HD to my Panny plasma, and my 8300HD didn't do it when i hooked it up to the same Sammy 550...

also, if i turn the cable box off and power on another HDMI source (which in my case would be my 360, hooked up to HDMI1) and then go back to my cable box input (which is hooked up as HDMI2) it will have a picture and sound (i can hear the sound start up after i switch inputs, because it's connected to my receiver via an optical cable, so it only displays a picture and sound after i switch inputs) with the box off. lastly, when i power off the cable box and leave the tv on that HDMI input, the input doesn't seem to search for a signal at all like it should, so for some reason either the 4250HD is sending a signal and/or the Sammy 550 is receiving a signal even when the 4250HD is off and connected via HDMI...

also, none of these issues happen when i connect the 4250HD to the Sammy 550 with component, and i know i could connect it via component and not have this problem. i'm just trying to figure out if there's a problem with the tv, before the 30-day return policy is up. also, i posted this in the official Sammy thread, but only 1 person responded and he said that his family members never had this problem with the same tv and the same cable box. i'm going to post this in the HDMI forums too...

and help would be greatly appreciated. i've spend about 4 or 5 hours total trying to get the bottom of this, with no success so far...

Xbox Live: KoNtRoL MaNiAk
FIVE ONE SIX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 07-25-2008, 06:52 AM
Member
 
MoonRabbit79's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi ! I have a LG 32LB4D and also an explorer 4250HD and I have the same issue. I don't think it's a problem, I just think that the cablebox output is always on when connected via HDMI.

Sometimes there is no signal when the cable box is off and sometimes there is a signal. Maybe this is due to the fact the the cablebox receives updates from time to time. You should call you cable company if it bothers you.
MoonRabbit79 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 07-25-2008, 07:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
FIVE ONE SIX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 2,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
i think it's just a bug with HDMI-CEC on the cable box end, because it also happens with the same model cable box and the Sammy 450, which also utilizes HDMI-CEC. i can't say for sure though...

Xbox Live: KoNtRoL MaNiAk
FIVE ONE SIX is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 07-25-2008, 08:15 AM
Member
 
MoonRabbit79's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I don't think it's a HDMI-CEC problem (version 1.3 and higher), because the 4250HD cablebox has only one HDMI version 1.0 compatible output which doesn't support CEC.

http://www.scientificatlanta.com/Pro...orer4250HD.htm.
MoonRabbit79 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 08-13-2008, 12:53 PM
Member
 
kibitzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a similar problem with the above. When my HDMI cable is hooked up to a explorer 4250HD cable box from CV I cannot record via my sony vcr recorder/player. I receive a message: "copy protection, DVI/HMDI signal blocked". The other message:" DVI alert, your hdtv does not support HDCP. Please use component connection."
I went to the Samsung trouble shooting page and found the fol: If you see a message about HDCP compliance it means that the video device (cable box) is not HDCP compliant or the HDCP circuitry has been turned off.
kibitzer is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off