Sharp Aquos Digital Audio Output not working for HDMI Input - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 06-20-2008, 05:34 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
BrandonR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a new Sharp Aquos LCD TV (Model LC-32GP1U) and to keep things short, here's my setup:

Input 3 - HD Cable box connected via composite cables
Input 4 - Xbox 360 connected via HDMI

I have a digital audio cable connected to the TV's digital optical audio output going to a cheap home theater receiver's digital audio input. The cable box works fine with my surround sound system, but the Xbox isn't producing any sound through it (only through the TV's speakers). Since the cable box works, I know it's not a home theater setup/digital audio cable problems. So what's the problem here?
BrandonR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 07-16-2008, 01:46 PM
Member
 
Soundtweaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My optical out on my sharp LC-42D64U cuts out on certain channels.
TV speakers work fine. It must be something to do with the audio board on the TV.
On the phone with Sharp tech support now.
Soundtweaker is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 07-16-2008, 02:35 PM
Member
 
flatfour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On many larger Sharp TV's, you cannot use the TV to split the HDMI audio out over the optical. That optical out is solely for the ATSC tuner. I'm sure it has to do with copyright protection.

The TV should output audio over the 2-channel RCA jacks when you're giving it HDMI audio.
flatfour is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 09-09-2008, 12:26 PM
Newbie
 
jobo420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How exactly do you setup the tv to send the audio out through the 2-channel audio output? I have tried every type of input type I can (hdmi, component, composite) and can't find any setting that allows audio output. I'm not sure if it's just not working or if I'm missing something obvious. (I have the 42d64u sharp)
jobo420 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off