Official Sony KDL-XXZ4100 Calibration Thread - Page 11 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #301 of 357 Old 06-01-2009, 04:05 PM
Member
 
TempletonPeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll eventually get a Blu-Ray player down the line, but for now I'm sticking with just a DVD player.

I'm just wondering if I should just use the same settings as for the TV HDMI input I use for watching my digital cable box, or if I should use some different settings. Right now the DVD player input is on the default, which isn't so great.
TempletonPeck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #302 of 357 Old 06-01-2009, 04:26 PM
Member
 
JmPTaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TempletonPeck View Post

I'll eventually get a Blu-Ray player down the line, but for now I'm sticking with just a DVD player.

I'm just wondering if I should just use the same settings as for the TV HDMI input I use for watching my digital cable box, or if I should use some different settings. Right now the DVD player input is on the default, which isn't so great.

Just pick up DVE or Avia disc and do a quick calibration yourself; that's probably the best way. This way, you can calibrate each connection separately. I picked up DVE for $30. Otherwise, it may be slightly different than your settings your using with your HDMI connection, but transferring those settings over should work pretty well for your DVD player as well.
JmPTaz is offline  
post #303 of 357 Old 06-01-2009, 06:49 PM
Senior Member
 
lacasner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the red trails seriously need to be fixed. They are brutal on SD/Upconverted HD material, especially sports. Can someone complain to sony about this ? I called and they pretended the problem didn't exist.
lacasner is offline  
post #304 of 357 Old 06-05-2009, 04:52 PM
Member
 
Horo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
do you guys use the same settings for component or is this all hdmi? I have my xbox 360 hooked up to tv via component and im looking for some good settings.
Horo is offline  
post #305 of 357 Old 06-14-2009, 04:34 PM
Member
 
milkk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
for me everything is hdmi so next set anything different, cable box, xbox360, ps3, laptop all via hdmi.

Samsung UN55F6300AF
Sony KDL-40Z4100
milkk is offline  
post #306 of 357 Old 06-20-2009, 08:43 AM
Member
 
profchaos71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone please give me some base settings for this tv in a room thats well lit.Also keep in mind that i play games on it via PS3.I see so many different settings here that i'm going crazy.I would say that my main issue with my z would be that images,especially some games dont look as clear and detailed as i would expect.Things arent popping out and impressing me either.I have HD service through direct tv as well.Just give me a general good place to start for games and HDTV.
profchaos71 is offline  
post #307 of 357 Old 06-20-2009, 08:48 AM
 
juda's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TempletonPeck View Post

I'll eventually get a Blu-Ray player down the line, but for now I'm sticking with just a DVD player.

I'm just wondering if I should just use the same settings as for the TV HDMI input I use for watching my digital cable box, or if I should use some different settings. Right now the DVD player input is on the default, which isn't so great.[IMG]http://***************/9/P/i.jpg[/IMG]

You'll be amazed when you switched to blu-ray full time I'm not too sure about what your settings should be, but default isn't ideal.
juda is offline  
post #308 of 357 Old 06-29-2009, 10:05 AM
Member
 
profchaos71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So,i finally went into the service menu and made the adjustments you made.Basically my setup is identicle to your last posting of settings.Although i turn off motion enhancer and cinemotion for blu-ray and games.I was just curious if you had changed anything about your settings after viewing for awhile.Also what kind of adjustments would help if during the day my room is fairly well lit?
profchaos71 is offline  
post #309 of 357 Old 07-03-2009, 07:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dralt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ibre34,

I really wish you would post 205R settings that do not depend on using the service menu.

I am a wimp and I really do not want to go in there...
Dralt is offline  
post #310 of 357 Old 07-04-2009, 08:28 AM
Member
 
profchaos71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
actually it is easy if you take it slow.also on earlier pages there are alot of settings before the service menu stuff came up.What i wish is that they would discuss what settings they are now using after some time has passed.Also nobody ever mentions the best settings for video games.They all have the motion enhancer set to on,which makes me wonder how much they know in general cause they all seem to have blu-ray players and motion enhancer is never ever used with blu-ray 1080p/24.Cinemotion should be off as well which is never mentioned.Dont get me started on video/photo.Nobody seems to set it to the same thing when i'm pretty sure there is a clear setting for watching movies etc.
profchaos71 is offline  
post #311 of 357 Old 07-06-2009, 03:03 PM
Member
 
JmPTaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by profchaos71 View Post

actually it is easy if you take it slow.also on earlier pages there are alot of settings before the service menu stuff came up.What i wish is that they would discuss what settings they are now using after some time has passed.Also nobody ever mentions the best settings for video games.They all have the motion enhancer set to on,which makes me wonder how much they know in general cause they all seem to have blu-ray players and motion enhancer is never ever used with blu-ray 1080p/24.Cinemotion should be off as well which is never mentioned.Dont get me started on video/photo.Nobody seems to set it to the same thing when i'm pretty sure there is a clear setting for watching movies etc.

(all relates to 46Z, I believe it is typical to use a little lower (maybe 3-5 clicks) contrast/picture setting on a 40 inch set)

The settings I posted were for cable TV in HD and I have not changed them in the many months since; they are stellar (my opinion obviously - 4/28/09 post - I used my own settings from DVE and then the service menu color adjustments from the one professional calibration posted). For my PS3 input, I have cinemotion and motion enhancer off. I also use game mode for games. I just leave the video/photo optimizer at video A, as I don't see any reason not to.

Give my settings a try; you might be pleasantly surprised. I worked long and hard on them! haha It is set to be accurate on all fronts, not over the top on anything. If you're used to using really bright/exaggerated settings, etc., it may take awhile for you to get used to it, but you will appreciate them in the end.

Good viewing!
JmPTaz is offline  
post #312 of 357 Old 07-07-2009, 10:32 AM
Member
 
profchaos71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the update.I am using your settings and i'm happy with it overall.I am curious why you turn on game mode though.My understanding is that game mode turns off motion enhancer and thats pretty much what it does.Since you already have it off i think game mode is unnecessary but i might be mistaken
profchaos71 is offline  
post #313 of 357 Old 07-07-2009, 09:07 PM
Member
 
Horo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well from my experience of playing SF4 on ps3 with game mode off i notice input lag and it bugs the hell out of me and it throws off my game. I don't notice it on some other games though.
Horo is offline  
post #314 of 357 Old 07-08-2009, 12:09 PM
Member
 
profchaos71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
right,but give this a try.Instead of turning on game mode just make sure you turn off your motion enhancer and cinemotion.My understanding is that game mode turns off the motion enhancer.It doesnt change any other picture settings to my knowledge.Of course i may be way off but what i do know is if game mode is on,the motion enhancer setting is not available.I'm pretty happy with this TV but i should have bought a bigger pc monitor.I have a 22"lcd 1080p monitor and SOCOM Confrontation looks amazing on it.It kind of bugs me that my 250 dolllar pc monitor seems to have better colors and detail than my 2000 dollar tv.Even with the service menu adjustments my TV picture when playing that game is less detailed,the picture always seems too bright and the colors arent as rich.I suppose it's cause of screen size but it still bugs me
profchaos71 is offline  
post #315 of 357 Old 07-13-2009, 08:03 PM
Member
 
JmPTaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by profchaos71 View Post

Thanks for the update.I am using your settings and i'm happy with it overall.I am curious why you turn on game mode though.My understanding is that game mode turns off motion enhancer and thats pretty much what it does.Since you already have it off i think game mode is unnecessary but i might be mistaken

I personally just use it cuz it's there kinda deal... I've read that it essentially turns off some of the video processing (perhaps more than just motion enhancer). I've always used it and I don't get any lag, so if it ain't broke, don't fix it for me... Whatever settings you use, as long as it seems to play smoothly, roll with it.
JmPTaz is offline  
post #316 of 357 Old 07-15-2009, 06:43 PM
Newbie
 
marbrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would like some help .

Can i reverse a firmware update (2.05r) on my TV , and where can i get it ?

Thank You.
marbrand is offline  
post #317 of 357 Old 07-18-2009, 09:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Cal1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 2,545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by marbrand View Post

I would like some help .

Can i reverse a firmware update (2.05r) on my TV , and where can i get it ?

Thank You.

All FW updates prior to 205r could, although Sony would never recommend it, be reversed. I'd done it as had a number of others here. When 205r was issued Sony emphatically warned that it was "permanent" and could not be reversed. That may be typical CYA language from Sony but I haven't read any posts about someone actually trying it. Is any more risky than previous updates? Nobody knows yet.
Cal1981 is offline  
post #318 of 357 Old 07-19-2009, 03:16 PM
Newbie
 
marbrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cal1981 View Post

All FW updates prior to 205r could, although Sony would never recommend it, be reversed. I'd done it as had a number of others here. When 205r was issued Sony emphatically warned that it was "permanent" and could not be reversed. That may be typical CYA language from Sony but I haven't read any posts about someone actually trying it. Is any more risky than previous updates? Nobody knows yet.


To tell you the truth , i used the 2.05r firmware (KDL-40Z4100 ) on a brazilian tv (Klv-40Z410A) . They are sisters , the only thing is that mine does not have the internal digital decoder. its the same spec , see :

I did it because of this :

http://products.sel.sony.com/opensource/source_tv.shtml


KDL-32VL140, KDL-32XBR6, KDL-37XBR6, KDL-40V4100, KDL-40V4150, KDL-40W4100, KDL-40WL140, KDL-40W4000, KDL-40X4000, KDL-40XBR6, KDL-40XBR7, KDL-40Z4100, KDL-42V4100, KDL-46V4100, KDL-46W4000, KDL-46W4100, KDL-46W4150, KDL-46WL140, KDL-46X4000, KDL-46X4500, KDL-46XBR6, KDL-46XBR8, KDL-46Z4100, KDL-52V4100, KDL-52W4000, KDL-52W4100, KDL-52WL140, KDL-52X4000, KDL-52XBR6, KDL-52XBR7, KDL-55X4500, KDL-55XBR8, KDL-70X4500, KDL-70XBR7, KLV-40S410A, KLV-40V410A, KLV-40V410A, KLV-40W410A, KLV-40Z410A, KLV-46V410A, KLV-46W410A, KLV-46Z410A, KLV-52V410A, KLV-52W410A

GPL linux-2.6.11_gtx.tar.gz (38 MB)

busybox-1.00.tar (1 MB)
popt.tgz (561 KB)
pump.tgz (55 KB)
LGPL glibc-2.3.3-1.src.rpm (12 MB)
mipsel-gcc-3.4.3-1.src.rpm (26 MB)
mipsel-uclibc-0.9.28-1.src.rpm (5 MB)
marbrand is offline  
post #319 of 357 Old 08-16-2009, 07:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
raylock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have looked in the service menu but have not changed anything. I have a dumb question for those of you who have changed settings. I noticed that the settings are not numerical but probably hex or something. Do you get these values by scrolling up and down or do you have to enter them directly? In which case I wouldn't have a clue. I didn't want to change anything unless I know how to get back

I just got a color meter and some software to calibrate my projector and I may also tackle the Z**4100 if I can get a little more comfort with how adjustments are made in the service menu.

Thanks
Ray
raylock is offline  
post #320 of 357 Old 08-16-2009, 07:30 PM
Member
 
soundseeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
raylock, I got the values by scrolling. I was scared to death entering the service menu but the results were well worth it to me.
soundseeker is offline  
post #321 of 357 Old 08-17-2009, 10:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
raylock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by soundseeker View Post

raylock, I got the values by scrolling. I was scared to death entering the service menu but the results were well worth it to me.

Thanks for that. Can you see the changes while scrolling or do you have to exit the service menu to see the affect of the change?

Ray
raylock is offline  
post #322 of 357 Old 09-05-2009, 09:18 AM
Newbie
 
cinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a "commonly accepted" setting for this set? I'm a newbie. In the plasma area they talk about calibration and also initial material to feed the plasma. Is there anything like that for LCD?

Also, it seems like not many people own a Z-4100? I see that the owner thread for that one stops since June 08!
cinny is offline  
post #323 of 357 Old 09-05-2009, 04:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
raylock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cinny View Post

Is there a "commonly accepted" setting for this set? I'm a newbie. In the plasma area they talk about calibration and also initial material to feed the plasma. Is there anything like that for LCD?

Also, it seems like not many people own a Z-4100? I see that the owner thread for that one stops since June 08!

I think you mean June 09 and there were 58 pages or so for that thread. I am not aware of any commonly accepted settings, but there is a lot of discussion on various settings in this thread and in the owners thread.
raylock is offline  
post #324 of 357 Old 09-05-2009, 09:47 PM
Newbie
 
cinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by raylock View Post

I think you mean June 09 and there were 58 pages or so for that thread. I am not aware of any commonly accepted settings, but there is a lot of discussion on various settings in this thread and in the owners thread.

Oh Ray thanks for answering. I did mean 08, not 09, and I was referring to this thread:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1035447

Is there another z4100 owner thread? Can you please direct me to its link? I just got the 40'' (still on the road) and I'm trying to read up all I can about it, but there doesn't seem to be much!
cinny is offline  
post #325 of 357 Old 09-06-2009, 11:31 PM
Member
 
milkk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by cinny View Post

Oh Ray thanks for answering. I did mean 08, not 09, and I was referring to this thread:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1035447

Is there another z4100 owner thread? Can you please direct me to its link? I just got the 40'' (still on the road) and I'm trying to read up all I can about it, but there doesn't seem to be much!

This is the official owners thread

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1036642

Samsung UN55F6300AF
Sony KDL-40Z4100
milkk is offline  
post #326 of 357 Old 09-15-2009, 10:23 AM
Member
 
profchaos71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok,so i am about to buy the spears and munsil blu-ray calibration kit and calibrate my 46z/ps3 slim system.I have been using some of the settings here to include the service menu adjustments but i really want to do my own.I found a test pattern that tells you if your tv is set up to use the RGB full and super-white settings in the display settings area of the ps3 menu.Supposedly if your tv isnt capable of RGB full,you cannot read the message contained in the image regardless of how high you turn up the brightness.However,if your tv is RGB full capable you should see the message but you may have to turn up your brightness.With my Z,i normally have the brightness at 54,and when RGB full is on limited i can see the test image.I can see it on RGB full as well but i have to turn my brightness up to 72 in order to see the test image.However,when i do this it makes my whites take on a pinkish hue.My question is this.Where do you ps3/Z46 ownwers keep these settings(RGB full/limited and super-white)and also is this pink hue thing just a matter of self calibrating my tv with the RGB set to full?In other words,should i do my calibration with the ps3 set to limited or full,and superwhite on or off?I am also curious about the service menu adjustments i made.How will that effect my own calibration or will the kit i am buying cover all of that?
profchaos71 is offline  
post #327 of 357 Old 09-19-2009, 01:14 PM
Member
 
Horo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
profcaos71 i dunno about the tv calibrations but i have my ps3 on limited and super-white on. This tv doesn't support full rgb
Horo is offline  
post #328 of 357 Old 09-20-2009, 08:31 PM
Member
 
JmPTaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Horo View Post

profcaos71 i dunno about the tv calibrations but i have my ps3 on limited and super-white on. This tv doesn't support full rgb

Horo is correct, limited and super white on seems to be best; the PS3 performs great like this.

Profcaos71, you can just adjust the service menu settings using your new calibration kit as if you were calibrating a new tv... hopefully you will be starting a little closer to the target.
JmPTaz is offline  
post #329 of 357 Old 09-30-2009, 10:41 AM
Newbie
 
somatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seams like only one person here has a PC hook up to the TV. I hook my PC, Vista 32bit, Radeon 4670 connect to TV via the HDMI port, catalyst 9.06, set resolution to 1920x1080P. I then go into Sony user picture adjustment setting, only two modes are allow "video" and "text". Modes such as custom, standard, cinema,etc, do not exist. I can only change backlight, picture and brightness. Color temperature option are neutral and cool. Warm1 and warm2 disappear. All other options are grey out.

Do you have similar result when connecting to a PC?
somatic is offline  
post #330 of 357 Old 09-30-2009, 11:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
Derek87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes, same limitations for me. :\\

i have a macbook using a mini-dvi to HDMI connector and running 1920x1080p

works fine and i think (it's been a while since i set it up), i leave it on text mode...and then all of the other adjustments i did from the mac end (color calibration, etc.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by somatic View Post

Seams like only one person here has a PC hook up to the TV. I hook my PC, Vista 32bit, Radeon 4670 connect to TV via the HDMI port, catalyst 9.06, set resolution to 1920x1080P. I then go into Sony user picture adjustment setting, only two modes are allow "video" and "text". Modes such as custom, standard, cinema,etc, do not exist. I can only change backlight, picture and brightness. Color temperature option are neutral and cool. Warm1 and warm2 disappear. All other options are grey out.

Do you have similar result when connecting to a PC?

Derek87 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off