Official Samsung LNxxA850 Calibration/Settings Thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 332 Old 02-19-2009, 02:40 PM
etp
Member
 
etp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: florida
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, I have been messing around with this (52-850) and the reds are very weak. What did you guys do to fix this?

Went to movie mode for now and that helped.

ETP
etp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 332 Old 02-19-2009, 02:56 PM
Senior Member
 
RoadiJeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by etp View Post

OK, I have been messing around with this (52-850) and the reds are very weak. What did you guys do to fix this?


I used the settings posted by Zerog6 and everything looks great on my LN52A850, including the reds. I'm running FW 1002.

Initial Settings

Final Settings
RoadiJeff is offline  
post #183 of 332 Old 02-22-2009, 12:58 PM
Member
 
bestboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Does anybody have the settings for standard definition (SD) picture for satellite. I do not have a HD satellite box and therfore I need the settings for SD picture.
bestboy1 is offline  
post #184 of 332 Old 02-25-2009, 02:52 PM
Member
 
gbiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tandrin View Post

So you are in the service menu like an ISF calibrator or does the home package calibrate with the user menu?

My guess is you are getting results as good as or better than BB ISF....

From my own experience with ISF calibration, the tech did access the service menu to adjust greyscale on my 71 series. I am not as educated as most of you as to what all this stuff means, but he did explain to me that Samsungs have all the settings available to you for the most part in the user settings. Certain TVs definitely require access to the service menu but after he ran all his tests and diagnostics everything on my 71 series was "the best" possible in terms of color accuracy. I am going to try the settings from my 71 on 850 and see how it looks. I will let you guys know how it turns out.
gbiv is offline  
post #185 of 332 Old 02-25-2009, 03:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tandrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S. of Alaska
Posts: 781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My ISF guy was in the service menu for the majority of time. From what I understand setting the grayscale in the service. The downside is when the firmware changes etc. the changes that were made in the service menu cannot be reset without another visit. Calibration in the service leaves all the user settings for fine tuning.
Tandrin is offline  
post #186 of 332 Old 02-25-2009, 03:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
de8212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Not sure if it's been mentioned in this thread or not but when you do the calibrations, what mode are you in? Standard, dynamic, normal? Or can you set each up with different "settings"?
de8212 is offline  
post #187 of 332 Old 02-25-2009, 03:41 PM
Member
 
gbiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys I am adjusting my settings at the moment but HDMI Black Level is greyed out. I know it is probably a noob question, but is there anything I need to turn off or enable to allow that feature to be selectable?
gbiv is offline  
post #188 of 332 Old 02-25-2009, 03:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tandrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S. of Alaska
Posts: 781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can set them up for each mode.

HDMI Black is only for component inputs so if you are hooked up through hdmi it will be greyed out
Tandrin is offline  
post #189 of 332 Old 02-25-2009, 03:50 PM
Member
 
gbiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Awesome thanks Tandrin, looking back at my 71 series calibration report from looks like things were adjusted in the greyscale as well, so yeah if the service menu is the only way to access these options I guess the ISF tech got in there.
gbiv is offline  
post #190 of 332 Old 02-25-2009, 05:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
de8212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tandrin View Post

You can set them up for each mode.

Thanks. So, if I were going to use Zerogs settings, I would just enter everything in one of the modes (Standard, for example) then I could do variations of them in the other two modes or just leave them alone?
de8212 is offline  
post #191 of 332 Old 02-25-2009, 06:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tandrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S. of Alaska
Posts: 781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by de8212 View Post

Thanks. So, if I were going to use Zerogs settings, I would just enter everything in one of the modes (Standard, for example) then I could do variations of them in the other two modes or just leave them alone?

correct
Tandrin is offline  
post #192 of 332 Old 02-27-2009, 05:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Turock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry if this has been ask already but, are the 850 and 860 alike as far as calibrating? I haven'y found any info on calibrating my 860. Thanks
Turock is offline  
post #193 of 332 Old 02-28-2009, 10:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Turock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone?
Turock is offline  
post #194 of 332 Old 02-28-2009, 10:58 AM
Senior Member
 
RoadiJeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The only differences between the 850 and 860 are:

1. Red versus blue TOC
2. Two USB ports instead of one on the 860
3. Slightly longer warranty on the 860

As far as calibration goes what works for one will work for the other. Keep in mind that the FW version seems to make a difference. The settings I really, really like on my 52" 850 with FW1002 might not give the same results with FW1004 or later.
RoadiJeff is offline  
post #195 of 332 Old 03-01-2009, 10:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Turock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am not 100% sure but I think I have 1006 FW. Is there a calibration setting somewhere for thst FW?
Turock is offline  
post #196 of 332 Old 03-01-2009, 10:37 AM
Newbie
 
maxwnlt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i also have 860 FW1006 anyone has good calibration for FW1006 for watching regular cable HD channel?
maxwnlt is offline  
post #197 of 332 Old 03-02-2009, 09:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Turock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bump
Turock is offline  
post #198 of 332 Old 03-04-2009, 05:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
de8212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
May be a stupid quesiton but what do you all play on your tv when calibrating? Regular cable, DVD, blu ray???
de8212 is offline  
post #199 of 332 Old 03-04-2009, 05:33 PM
Senior Member
 
RoadiJeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With mine I copied the zerog6 settings. Then I downloaded and made a DVD of AVS HD 709 and went through the test screens to see if anything needed tweaking. Everything was pretty good except for one or two minor adjustments.
RoadiJeff is offline  
post #200 of 332 Old 03-04-2009, 05:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
de8212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoadiJeff View Post

With mine I copied the zerog6 settings. Then I downloaded and made a DVD of AVS HD 709 and went through the test screens to see if anything needed tweaking. Everything was pretty good except for one or two minor adjustments.

thanks for th einfo. The link shows Blu Ray and HD DVD but you said DVD. Can this be made into a standard dvd?

I haven't read threough the thread yet due to it's size so forgive me if that is answered.
de8212 is offline  
post #201 of 332 Old 03-04-2009, 06:32 PM
Senior Member
 
RoadiJeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I burned a regular DVD and used it. I figured it was close enough to check the zerog6 settings.

Also, the 850/860 has a blue filter mode option in the setup for the tests that require it.
RoadiJeff is offline  
post #202 of 332 Old 03-05-2009, 07:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
de8212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoadiJeff View Post

Yes, I burned a regular DVD and used it. I figured it was close enough to check the zerog6 settings.

Also, the 850/860 has a blue filter mode option in the setup for the tests that require it.

thanks.

which version did you download and how did you burn it to regular dvd?

the first step says
Quote:


None of the versions will work on standard DVD players, or upconverting DVD players, because those players are unable to play actual HD video

so I am not sure which version to put on dvd.
de8212 is offline  
post #203 of 332 Old 03-05-2009, 05:15 PM
Senior Member
 
RoadiJeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The downloaded file on my HDD PC is AVCHD-V1.EXE. It was downloaded back in December. I noticed on the link I previously provided they have a 01/12/2009 date there now. Not sure if it's the same file.

Anyway, the file I downloaded I was able to burn to a regular DVD. It will not play on my PC DVD player that I used to burn it with originally or an older standard DVD player that's connected to a second TV. However, it plays fine on my Blu-Ray player.
RoadiJeff is offline  
post #204 of 332 Old 03-07-2009, 06:23 PM
Member
 
thj17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Quebec, QC, Canada
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys!!!

I'm about to pull the trigger for the LN46A850
There's a killer deal in a local store...
I was about to purchase the 6 series than the guy showed me this one!!! Very impressed

I don't have the time to search more the forum and didn't find my answer yet so I'm asking
IS IT POSSIBLE TO shut down the red light in the center of the frame...this could become annoying ????
thj17 is offline  
post #205 of 332 Old 03-07-2009, 06:50 PM
Member
 
SK8_MD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, the red light can be configured as follows:
Off: LED will not come on.
In Standby: Turns the LED on in standby mode.
Watching TV: Turns the LED on while watching TV.
Always: LED will come on after you turn the TV off.
SK8_MD is offline  
post #206 of 332 Old 03-07-2009, 06:54 PM
Member
 
thj17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Quebec, QC, Canada
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for the answer

that was fast!!!
thj17 is offline  
post #207 of 332 Old 03-09-2009, 08:34 PM
Member
 
anog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
O.K. I wanted to join the fun, so here are my numbers, and maybe more important Why I picked some.

I used both ColorMetre HCFR and CalMan 3.2, but between the two, I really like ColorMetre HCFR better. I used a Eye-One display 2, but also a Spyder 3.
TV is a LN52A850.

My final results were a gamma of 2.21, contrast of 1155:1 and delta E was under 10 from 10-30% and under 3 from 40-100%

I have FW 1005, and noticed very weak red that others have noticed. I'm thinking maybe this is Samsung's way of dealing with their IR problem. Samsung is currently waiting for parts, and then I'll get my inverters fixed. The IR problem is horrible, but thats another story.

Mode: Movie
It gives the most options.
Backlight: 4
This is plenty bright for me and saves power. I easily can get the 40 ftL, which is ideal.
Contrast: 72
This is a personnel preference, but again, plenty bright and whites not washed out.
Brightness: 48
Set with Pluge screen
Sharpness: 2
I mainly watch HD and SD digital TV, so sharpness not needed
Color: 42
This is what it tests out to be, and its pretty good, but I might add one or two for a bit more saturation.
Tint: 46/54
I need to experiment a bit with this one. Looks pretty good as tested.
Black Adjust: Off
I set this to low after testing. It seems to deepen the black levels a bit.
Dynamic Contrast: Off
This attempts to brighten the white levels, but mine are plenty bright as is. Not needed in my opinion.
Gamma: -1
This one was strange because negative numbers INCREASE gamma, and positive numbers decrease it. At zero mine was about 2.1, and -1 boosted it to 2.2 almost perfectly.
Color Space: Native
I see most others pick Auto, but I'm not exactly sure what "Auto" does. Native does no correction, and since I'm making other adjustments to white levels, I didn't think I needed it. What do others think?
White Balance:
Offset R 24, G 25, B 18
Gain R 44, G 20, B 24
You can see the compensation for the weak red here. I normally wouldn't touch the Green Gain, but since red was so high, I did lower it.
Flesh Tone: Off
Edge Enhancement: Off
xvYCC: Not fully sure what this does.
Color Tone: Warm2
This one was really needed to reach 6500K
Size: Just Scan
I drive my TV with a Windows Media Center PC and I want the pixels to match one for one.
Digital NR: Off
Auto Motion: Off

I like the picture, but I'm still tweaking a bit. I thought the "stock" picture was pretty bad to my eyes, which was contrary to what everyone was saying, but when calibrated, I'm pretty happy, but wish the black levels were a bit better. The 950 was a bit too much.

Any comments appreciated.
anog is offline  
post #208 of 332 Old 03-10-2009, 09:06 AM
Member
 
anog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since posting this, I tried setting the Color and Tint visually instead of using the sensor. There is where you turn on the "Blue Only" setting, and adjust the Color and Tint using a test signal. With this method, Tint returns to just about 50/50 and Color falls about 52. Visually I like these results better than the calibration method, although the calibration measure is probably a bit more accurate.

In the end, it's great to have a TV that exactly meets the broadcast standard, but it is your TV and I think you have the right to tweak here and there if you think it makes the picture more pleasing to you.
anog is offline  
post #209 of 332 Old 03-10-2009, 10:40 AM
Senior Member
 
whitecamaross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
i just bought a 52a850 yesterday and i must say i looooove it.. it was manufactured in jan 09. where do i find the firmware info? i dont know what firmware it comes with... thanks for the help in advance..
whitecamaross is offline  
post #210 of 332 Old 03-10-2009, 10:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
de8212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitecamaross View Post

i just bought a 52a850 yesterday and i must say i looooove it.. it was manufactured in jan 09. where do i find the firmware info? i dont know what firmware it comes with... thanks for the help in advance..

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...e#post15524022
de8212 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off