Official Sony XBR8 Series Owner's Thread - Page 185 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5521 of 5529 Old 09-26-2014, 06:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
8mile13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,948
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Lucky for you the xbr8 has 4 HDMI inputs.
8mile13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5522 of 5529 Old 09-26-2014, 06:09 AM
Member
 
jehill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8mile13 View Post
Lucky for you the xbr8 has 4 HDMI inputs.
I use all four of them.
jehill is offline  
post #5523 of 5529 Old 09-26-2014, 06:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
8mile13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,948
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by jehill View Post
I use all four of them.
ok. Seems to me that most people use one or two HDMI inputs. I use one for the blu-ray player, one for the satellite receiver and occasionally i connect my laptop.
8mile13 is offline  
post #5524 of 5529 Old 09-26-2014, 08:11 AM
Member
 
jehill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8mile13 View Post
ok. Seems to me that most people use one or two HDMI inputs. I use one for the blu-ray player, one for the satellite receiver and occasionally i connect my laptop.
I use the KDL55XBR8 as an audio input selector. I have the optical output connected to an old Sony AVD-C70ES SACD/DVD receiver that doesn't have HDMI inputs. The four HDMI inputs are 1) Comcast X1 DVR, 2) Sony NSZ-GS8 Internet Player with Google TV, 3) Sony BDP-S550 Blu-Ray player and 4) Apple TV.


I just received word from ModusLink PTS to "Please enter your repair and return order using part# A1564793A. The part numbers on your board are incorrect. We see this a lot." I am going to submit my order and ship the board now.
jehill is offline  
post #5525 of 5529 Old 09-27-2014, 01:49 PM
Member
 
jehill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Temporary substitute for KDL55XBR8 during FBU repair

My son loaned me a 32" LCD TV to use until I get the FBU board back and installed. This temporary measure is necessary since my wife and I are TV addicts. I thought that you might get a kick out of the photo below:




jehill is offline  
post #5526 of 5529 Old 09-27-2014, 07:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,881
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by jehill View Post
My son loaned me a 32" LCD TV to use until I get the FBU board back and installed. This temporary measure is necessary since my wife and I are TV addicts. I thought that you might get a kick out of the photo below:




jehill,

I hope you get your XBR8 fixed because it was a great tv by Sony. The pic you posted makes me laugh by seeing how small the 32inch tv looks next to your XBR8.
steve1971 is offline  
post #5527 of 5529 Old Yesterday, 07:57 AM
Newbie
 
dannyss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi to everybody
I've been an XBR8 owner since almost day one. Bought it from a local Sony store here in Montreal. It was a demo unit, the last one in the region.
It's been very reliable and fun to watch.
My first issue was a bad LCD panel. Every second horizontal line was defective. It was discussed here in this thread. That was replaced under warranty.
Second issue was the vertical lines, I turned off DRC and all if fine.
Today, it doesn't want to turn on. Standby red led flashes 13 times. I disconnected the TV for 5 minutes, replugged it, while Green led is on I turned it on with the master On switch at the top of the set. It turned on and I was able to get a picture, all was fine. Other symptom my son just told me about, colour patches appears on the screen as if a magnet is close ! It's fine after a few minutes
Other
I then turned it off with the remote and it went back into standby and flash 13 times. I have disconnected it again and leaving it for a few hours.
In the mean time I found the servcie manul and 13 blink standby is either problem with Panel, fans, CB1 board, G6 or G7 board, FBU board.
I'd like to fix it myself. I do have good soldering skill (assembled a audio Amp and Vacuum tube Pre-amp in the last few winters)

Does anybody have experience with this problem or input as to what to concentrated on at first?

Thanks

Danny

Last edited by dannyss; Yesterday at 09:58 AM. Reason: added info
dannyss is offline  
post #5528 of 5529 Old Yesterday, 09:49 AM
Member
 
jehill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just looked at my service manual and see that it doesn't list the G7 board for 13 blinks. It lists the LCD Panel, Cooling Fan (there are two), CB1 Board, G6 Board and FBU board. I would start by reviewing my posts starting on p-183. My second post includes a photo of the set with the rear cover removed. Here you can see all of the components listed. The LCD Panel is the chassis that all of the other components are attached to. The CB1 board is between the two fans. It has a heat sink attached to it. The G6 board is the third board from the left in the bottom row and is next to the FBU board one the end. The FBU board is enclosed in a metal shield. The only way that you and I have of checking the boards is to replace them one at a time and see if that eliminates the problem. All of the boards you need, except for the FBU board, are available at www.tristatemodule.com. Once at that site, search for kdl55xbr8 and they will appear. Your current issue appears to be power supply related, so I would try replacing the G6 board first. If it's not the problem, you can return the board and get 80% of your money back (there is a 20% re-stocking fee).


Changing the LCD Panel is a huge project. Everything attached to it (the chassis) except the TCON board (just above the CB1 board) has to be removed. Are you sure this is what was done to solve your first problem, every 2nd line missing? Was the set removed from your house when this was done?
jehill is offline  
post #5529 of 5529 Old Yesterday, 10:21 AM
Newbie
 
dannyss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jehill,

The LCD panel was replaced in my living room. I was there when they did it.
That was in response to the horizontal line problem. When the tech showed up the first time he said right away that it needed a new panel. It was ordered and a week later he came to the house to replace it.

Thanks for the link, i'll go have a look right away.

Danny

Last edited by dannyss; Yesterday at 11:00 AM.
dannyss is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Plasma Hdtv , Sony , Sony Bravia Xbr Kdl 46xbr8 46 Inch Triluminos Led Lcd Hdtv
Gear in this thread - 46xbr8 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off