HELP! My LG LCD TV suddenly turn off by itself and ... - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 45 Old 08-02-2013, 07:10 AM
Newbie
 
Austi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have similar power supply on my LG 47 " LCD TV. Do the same. ON and OFF all the time without even touching anybutton. I really appriciate your help. Normally when I turn ON, one red light comes ON and stayes but now, it turns blue then off, then ON again by itself.
I have removed all the wires from the power supply except the main control. It turns ON and OFF and I have checked a pin 24v, it goes down to 15V, then 24 again.
Tahnaks in advnace
With regards
Austi
Austi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 45 Old 08-02-2013, 08:21 AM
Newbie
 
Austi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have similar power supply on my LG 47 " LCD TV. Do the same. ON and OFF all the time without even touching anybutton. I really appriciate your help. Normally when I turn ON, one red light comes ON and stayes but now, it turns blue then off, then ON again by itself.
I have removed all the wires from the power supply except the main control. It turns ON and OFF and I have checked a pin 24v, it goes down to 15V, then 24 again.
Tahnaks in advnace
With regards
Austi
Austi is offline  
post #33 of 45 Old 08-02-2013, 08:21 AM
Newbie
 
Austi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have similar power supply on my LG 47 " LCD TV. Do the same. ON and OFF all the time without even touching anybutton. I really appriciate your help. Normally when I turn ON, one red light comes ON and stayes but now, it turns blue then off, then ON again by itself.
I have removed all the wires from the power supply except the main control. It turns ON and OFF and I have checked a pin 24v, it goes down to 15V, then 24 again.
Tahnaks in advnace
With regards
Austi
Austi is offline  
post #34 of 45 Old 11-26-2013, 10:01 AM
Newbie
 
MM22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We have the model with the half moon shaped on-off button on the front right face. The button was stuck causing the tv to cycle on and off. We pryed it out with a small knife. Now we only use the remote. Newer LG models don't have the on-off button on the front face. I hope this helps.
MM22 is offline  
post #35 of 45 Old 12-16-2013, 01:45 PM
Newbie
 
snm77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I ran into this with my 32" LG 32LD550 television yesterday.

 

tl;dnr version - set your output device (Blu-ray, cable box, satellite dish receiver, set tup box, etc) to 720p and see if you TV stays on any longer.

 

 Here is some observation:

 

This started happening to me yesterday when I was watching movies from my Plex server via a Roku (version 3, if we are counting) hooked up to HDMI1.  I moved to HDMI3, same thing.

 

I unplugged the Roku, plugged in my Chromecast to HDMI1, same issue.  Then I remembered that I had set the Roku to 1080p instead of 720p just before I shut it off the last time.  I reset the Roku to 720p, and bingo! no power off.

 

I have not tested any app on the Roku other than Plex.  I was streaming 1080p from to the Chromecast, same movie, also using Plex, so I need to figure out if I can decrease the output to 720p as a test for that.  I plan to try Netflix and Hulu on the Roku, and perhaps 1080p/720p on Youtube with the Chromecast.  

 

HDMI2 is plugged into my DirecTV receiver - which is set to output 1080p as the maximum resolution.  That said, watching DirecTV has NEVER caused my TV to shut off, but it must be said that the highest resolution for MOST channels is 1080i.  Perhaps that is not enough to overload it.  I'm not really willing to pay for a 1080p stream from DirecTV just to do a test, but if all other 1080p options result in the TV shutting off, I may have to just to satisfy my curiosity.

 

I have not done anything with HDMI4 recently, my final HDMI input.  I have it hooked up to a small Android based gaming system, and have not ever had an issue with it.

snm77 is offline  
post #36 of 45 Old 01-29-2014, 04:30 PM
Newbie
 
katp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

my lg is doing the same thing only unplugging it doesn't work for me it will not turn on when I plug it in it repeatedly turns on and off

katp is offline  
post #37 of 45 Old 02-15-2014, 07:08 AM
Newbie
 
Higgslane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Had same problem with an LG  32ls575t set which developed the problem after 13 months, just oiutside the warranty period.

Set would reboot every couple of minutes with a firmware version message and "please wait".

Rang the supplier, Currys, and an engineer advised to press and hold the ON button for 30 seconds and then release it.

Set was fine after that. Very surprised when he told us the problem is caused by static build up on the set and by holding the button down it cures the problem.  Still find it hard to believe. Suspect it did some factory type reset to the set. Anyway it fixed the problem so far !!

Higgslane is offline  
post #38 of 45 Old 03-09-2014, 04:56 PM
Newbie
 
wai123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

i have a 50inch LG tv aswell and it does the exact same thing , its in the shop at the moment getting fixed . this is a bull#### problem that LG needs to fix !!!!!!!

wai123 is offline  
post #39 of 45 Old 04-11-2014, 02:27 PM
Newbie
 
swa004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Just hope to help anybody has the same problem. I had the exact same problem after 2 years of purchasing my LG 47LK520. Tried everything from factory reset to update firmware. Didn't work.

Finally, I bought a power supply board from eBay and replaced it myself. It took about 20 minutes. But the problem persists UNTIL I did ANOTHER factory reset. So, a new power supply board + a factory reset fixed it. 

swa004 is offline  
post #40 of 45 Old 05-16-2014, 05:54 PM
Newbie
 
RobRun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi all,

 

I had this problem with my LG 32LD550.    I tried a number of things and none of them worked. 

 

I found the below video about a Samsung TV having a similar problem.  The solution that is presented at 3:27 of the video in the link seems to have worked for me.  The TV has been staying on now for over a week with regular use.   

 

Good luck! 

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H0cG3lzjuw8

RobRun is offline  
post #41 of 45 Old 05-23-2014, 09:59 AM
Newbie
 
Cornish Knocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Higgslane View Post
 

Had same problem with an LG  32ls575t set which developed the problem after 13 months, just oiutside the warranty period.

Set would reboot every couple of minutes with a firmware version message and "please wait".

Rang the supplier, Currys, and an engineer advised to press and hold the ON button for 30 seconds and then release it.

Set was fine after that. Very surprised when he told us the problem is caused by static build up on the set and by holding the button down it cures the problem.  Still find it hard to believe. Suspect it did some factory type reset to the set. Anyway it fixed the problem so far !!


I did the above i.e press and hold the On button for 30 seconds and 3 days after doing this no more problems. Just hope it lasts, so thank you very much for the tip. Had to join to express my thanks and to advise others to try this method too.

Cornish Knocker is offline  
post #42 of 45 Old 09-01-2014, 03:12 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by swa004 View Post
<p>Just hope to help anybody has the same problem. I had the exact same problem after 2 years of purchasing my LG 47LK520. Tried everything from factory reset to update firmware. Didn't work.</p>
<p>Finally, I bought a power supply board from eBay and replaced it myself. It took about 20 minutes. But the problem persists UNTIL I did ANOTHER factory reset. So, a new power supply board + a factory reset fixed it. </p>
Factory reset? How do you perform that? I have replaced the power board and still having the same issue!!

LG42SL90 is my set.

Any help appreciated.

Thanks

MJH101070
MJH101070 is offline  
post #43 of 45 Old 09-01-2014, 03:14 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by swa004 View Post
<p>Just hope to help anybody has the same problem. I had the exact same problem after 2 years of purchasing my LG 47LK520. Tried everything from factory reset to update firmware. Didn't work.</p>
<p>Finally, I bought a power supply board from eBay and replaced it myself. It took about 20 minutes. But the problem persists UNTIL I did ANOTHER factory reset. So, a new power supply board + a factory reset fixed it. </p>
Factory reset? How do you perform that? I have replaced the power board and still having the same issue!!

LG42SL90 is my set.

Any help appreciated.

Thanks

MJH101070
MJH101070 is offline  
post #44 of 45 Old 09-04-2014, 12:29 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Try running it with the back cover off and a fan blowing on it... If it stays on it is overheating.

I have a LG LH5540... Bought in 2011. It would reboot, display white screen and flicker after 20-30 minutes use. Called LG and they said I had to pay for repair.(Over $200) I plugged it into an APC and noticed the TV would draw alot of current when it was happening so I assumed bad Power Supply. I tried replacing the power supply and had the same issue.
  • Used the 1/4" tall heat sinks from a couple of old video cards.
  • Gently laid the TV level where it could sit for a day while Glue cured.
  • Unplugged the TV!
  • Exposed the video processing board and GENTLY removed the tiny factory heatsinks.
  • Made sure all surfaces were clean and glued my "new" Heatsinks in place.
I waited a day - Reassembled the TV and Voila! the TV now works as good as new.

PS. when removing factory heatsinks I made sure not to put any pressure on chip and made sure nothing was touching the new heatsinks other than the chip intended to be cooled.
sdchome is offline  
post #45 of 45 Old 09-12-2014, 06:55 PM
Newbie
 
swa004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJH101070 View Post
Factory reset? How do you perform that? I have replaced the power board and still having the same issue!!

LG42SL90 is my set.

Any help appreciated.

Thanks

MJH101070

Actually the TV start having the same problem about two weeks later. This time I replaced the main board and it is still working now. Somewhere I read that you can keep the power button pressed for 30 secs and release it. That might work.

Good luck.
swa004 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off